From picturesque farmhouses to auburn sunsets, Tuscany is one of the most romantic and visually seductive areas of the world. The pomp surrounding this region isn't pomp, but rather well earned admiration. The rolling hills, the amber grasslands, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 51 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

kmankowski222

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a fantastic day we had as we traveled through Tuscany! Beautiful views, wonderful tastings 9 different wines, food pairings, and an off-roading adventure to a beautiful restaurant on a vineyard in the woods. We learned so much about Chianti region along with the wine, but our favorite part was our wonderful tour guide Lavi! She was so personable and energetic and made the trip so much fun! I would love to go on another tour with her.

Doing what: Taste of Chianti: Tuscan Cheese, Wine and Lunch from Florence

Nora S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing! The views of the Chianti region are beautiful and everyone at the winery was very open and willing to answer questions. The only downside of this was tour was that we were not really able to enjoy the second stop as much, due to the fact that there were a few obnoxiously drunk people on the trip and we had to be chaperoned in the second village. Over all, great tour!

Doing what: Chianti Half-Day Wine Tour from Florence

Kelly T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My boyfriend and I had an amazing time on this tour with our guide, Serena. We met the group 5 total, plus our guide at the tour office, easy to find. We took a beautiful van ride up to the Chianti region to the horse ranch, and rode for about an hour. Everyone was very fun, professional, and helped put my first-time-horseback-riding boyfriend at ease. The ride had amazing views, and the horses were all friendly and easy to ride. Serena took us to a cute little vineyard to describe the wine-making process. She is incredibly knowledgable - a sommelier who really knows her stuff! Next, we went to the castle where we were treated to a delicious home-cooked meal and wine tastings from the vineyards we had visited. Overall an excellent experience, and one of our favorite excursions of the trip! I can't recommend Serena and this tour enough :

Doing what: Horse Riding in Chianti Day Trip from Florence

Brian M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

In general I don't like wine and I am a very picky eater, but even I thought this excursion was AMAZING! It was the best part of our Italy trip yes even better than the big ticket items like the Colosseum and it was well worth the money since you get a full day of activities, a lot of wine and tons of food. You get in depth tours of 2 vineyards/olive groves, a multi-course lunch and visit the small town center of Creve for some shopping. At each stop you get some time on your own to explore and see the FANTASTIC views. It is all very romantic and you feel like you are getting a real taste of Chianti. I was expecting the wine I think you get like 9 glasses in total, but I was surprised how much food you get. The wines are paired with a large variety of cured meats, cheeses, honeys, olive oil soaked bread and other finger foods. There is also a more traditional lunch with full entrees so bring your appetite.
Our tour guide was Martina and she was great. She seems to know everything about everything and we weren't able to stump her with any of our questions. She taught us a bunch, but at the same time she made it fun and didn't overload us with info. She was extremely friendly and helped encourage the tour group members to interact. Her stories about the region helped bring the area alive. I think everyone regardless of their taste for wine or their level of knowledge about the wine making process can have a great time. I would strongly recommend this tour to anyone and everyone!

Doing what: Taste of Chianti: Tuscan Cheese, Wine and Lunch from Florence

Tiffany L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was definitely worth the money. Our tour guide Mateo did a great job teaching us about the Chianti wine region and we explored some beautiful wineries. Overall, this was one of our favorite parts of our trip to Italy and we are looking forward to doing it again on our next visit.

Doing what: Small-Group Tuscany Wine-Tasting Tour from Florence

Shirley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I booked this trip with high expectations and I was not disappointed. We started off meeting at Santa Maria Novella train station and our guide Martina was holding a card which made it really easy to identify her. The group was small, about 5 of us that day. Throughout the journey, Martina was very interactive and friendly, and really knowledgeable not just about the wines, but also the whole Chianti region. Our driver Ricardo was pretty skilled in navigating some of the bumpy roads. We had a total of 9 different wines, 3 in each of the 2 vineyards and another 3 during our lunch. Food was aplenty from beginning to the end, and everything was so delicious! The lunch deserve special mention, you have to be there to experience it, and the view was just splendid. There was no pressure at all to buy the wines or olive oil, and we were also given plenty of time to explore each area we stopped at. This was without any doubt the best part of our trip and I highly recommend anyone to book this tour!

Doing what: Taste of Chianti: Tuscan Cheese, Wine and Lunch from Florence

Brian R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an incredible tour! My girlfriend and I had so much fun riding through the incredibly beautiful Tuscan country side. We learned a ton about the Chianti Classico region, the wine, and the culture. Alex was a great tour guide. He was funny, knowledgeable, and very personable. He gave a lot of the history of Florence and the Tuscan area. We also had the most amazing lunch!! I would recommend this trip to anyone visiting the area.

Doing what: Taste of Chianti: Tuscan Cheese, Wine and Lunch from Florence

juliaanicholson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was done by WalkaboutFlorence and our tour guide was Alex. This was one of the best tours of my trip and Alex was fantastic. He was very knowledgeable and share a wealth of information about the history of Chianti, specifics about the wine region, the wine making process. I also did the Tuscany in One Day tour the day before and I would recommend doing both if you as they do not overlap in any way. The restaurant for lunch had great service along with amazing food and wine. They did not skimp on the food or wine. Alex made this a great tour! Thanks Alex!

Doing what: Taste of Chianti: Tuscan Cheese, Wine and Lunch from Florence

Jennifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was the highlight of our trip. Our driver and guide were great.
Our guide was knowledgeable and passionate about the Chianti region.
Toured three beautiful wineries, samples great wine, great cheese and a lovely lunch.
Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Taste of Chianti: Tuscan Cheese, Wine and Lunch from Florence

Edgar F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was my favorite experience of my entire 10-day trip to Italy. First, you have to understand that the Tuscan countryside, Chianti region, is BREATHTAKINGLY BEAUTIFUL and not to be missed if you are in Florence. The tour meets in the heart of Florence and then the 2 guides take the group in a small bus to a charming, small villa in the Chianti countryside where you get to practice riding the Vespa scooters. Our group was small, 5 people, and I was the only one with any experience on a scooter. No problem the guides very quickly taught us ride with confidence. The Vespas are easier to ride than a bicycle! Yes, really. Were rode for hours on charming, small roads. Around every corner is another amazing view of vineyards, villas, monasteries, etc. The wineries we visited, including Ruffino, were interesting and beautiful. Our guides, Andreas and Lorenzo were always nearby, watching us ride and were so knowledgeable about the reqion and the winemaking process. Andreas had grown up on a nearby farm! After the ride, we enjoyed a very nice lunch, included some delicious cheeses, balsamic vinegar and 2 Chianti Classico wines from Ruffino. The 6-7 hour duration of the tour was long enough for some, but I could've jumped on the Vespa again for the rest of the day the tour was THAT GOOD! Regardless of whether you have any experience on a scooter, this tour is not to be missed. If I go back to Florence, I will do it again and recommend it to everyone who goes.

Doing what: Vespa Small Group Day Trip to the Chianti Wine Region

Abhilasha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing tour. Wine Tasting tour in Tuscany is something that you can't do unless you have a car and so we decided to through Viator. Chianti region was beautiful and the trip allowed us to experience it thoroughly. We visited a castle, wine cellars, a small town. The tasting was also nice, wished there were more types of wines to be tasted :D

This trip is a must do if you are in Tuscany Region :)

Doing what: Chianti Half-Day Wine Tour from Florence

Catherine A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our Taste of Chianti tour was arguably the highlight of our trip to Florence. Lead by our English speaking guide Luca, we had the most fabulous day. Luca is a native of the Chianti region and was a wealth of interesting local information, on both food and wine. Because we were a small group, the mini bus was able to easily negotiate the country lanes and take us into the heart of Tuscany. The 2 wineries we visited were ancient castles and the wine tasting in each stunning. Our splendid lunch was a culinary delight and a perfect setting. Thank you Walkabout tours!!

Doing what: Taste of Chianti: Tuscan Cheese, Wine and Lunch from Florence

Kayan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My friends and I did this day tour and are happy to say that it was a great experience. From the tour of Siena to the world champion gelati makers in San Gimignano there is something there for everyone. The guide was very enthusiastic and offered lots of information about the towns we visited. Our favourite part was definitely the trip to the vineyard in the chianti region. Lunch was really good as was the wine with a selection of two reds and a white.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

m.a.echeverria

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This trip was fantastic! There were multiple tours being set up at the same time, but our group was organized and shown into our transport van quickly and efficiently. We were taken to the starting point of the tour and checked out on the scooters and made a few quick circuits to make sure everyone was comfortable on the road.
We rode through the Tuscan countryside, stopping to take pictures and learn about the Chianti region, then went to a beautiful winery to learn more about Chianti production and to taste some excellent wines. We then went to a very nice local restaurant for a traditional Tuscan lunch.
The guides were knowledgeable and considerate throughout. I would recommend this tour to anyone who wants to get out of the city for a few hours and really enjoy Tuscany.
As a side note, while the Italians have a (not undeserved) reputation for aggressive driving in town, they are more accustomed to sharing the road with scooters than American drivers are, and I felt completely safe at all times.

Doing what: Vespa Small Group Day Trip to the Chianti Wine Region

Sara L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I LOVED this tour!!
The guide Sandra was brilliant. She was interactive/ friendly, funny and gave great little tips on Italian hospitality. (Apparently, if you wish to use a cafe's toilet facilities, buy an espresspo (1 Euro) and drink it at the counter as hey can charge up to triple if you choose to sit down at a table!!)

The tour guide in Sienna was really nice and imformtaive and the Duamo (Church) we visited was out of this world. After that we headed to the Chianti region to this beautiful Organic farm and ate lots of yummy food and endless amounts of wine. For all you grape lovers, make sure you have lots of space in your suitcase as you'll want to buy a few bottles of their white/red...and for the amazing cost of only 5 Euros a bottle!!
San Gimignano was really pretty and you must try the gelato! There is the World best gelato sold there. Pisa was stunning, and because of the way the tour is run, if you go in the winter season like we did, its dusk by the time you get there so its all lit up and looks absolutely stunning.

All in all it was a really well run tour. The group was really friendly, the weather was perfect, the views were stunning and the price was 100% value for money.

Will be planning my extended trip back to Tuscany soon!!!

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Rachel B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was one of the highlights of our trip to Florence. It was terrible weather pouring with rain all day, when we went which spoiled it to begin with. The coached picked us up opposite the train station met by a lovely tour guide who gave us commentary in three languages during our drive out of Florence and up the hills into the Chianti Region. We went to a castle up in the Tuscany hills where we had another tour by one of the proprietors of the vine yard. He gave us an amazing explanation of the wine making process and the extra virgin olive oil. We saw the wine cellars and then we all sat in a stunning old hall in the castle and had a mini wine tasting lesson followed by three glasses of wine, white and two red Chianti. Plus a plate of bead with traditional local toppings including the Extra Virgin oil. It was simple and lovely. When we finished and ventured outside the rain had stopped but it had left a fabulous mist over the hills which made the landscape look like a
film. I will never forget the experience, the views, and the wine! We brought several bottles in the shop afterwards, which please make sure you are not taking back in hand luggage- because I made the foolish mistake of forgetting the rule of liquid in hand luggage and had to pay extra at the airport to check in the bag, but it was worth it the wine and E.V. oil was wonderful. Thoroughly recommend this tour to a wonderful independent wine makers in stunning scenery and such lovely people too, it did not feel commercial I really felt welcome.

Doing what: Chianti Half-Day Wine Tour from Florence

Kathryn G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We spent the day with Barbara, our informative tour guide, and Yuri, our friendly bus driver, touring Tuscany. It was a packed day, seeing all of Tuscany that we could see in 12 hours. It moved a little faster than my husband and I would have typically toured places, however we both realized that we would have never had the time to see all these places if we hadn't done a bus tour (since we were limited on time in the Florence area and did not want to rent a car). The first stop was Siena, which ended up being one of our favorite towns that we saw in Italy, we just wished we had a little more time there, guess we'll just have to go back someday :). The next stop was for lunch at a winery in the Chianti Region. This gave us the opportunity to meet some of the other travelers while we ate lunch together and tasted 4 different wines. After lunch we went on a brief tour of the winery, then loaded back onto the bus to head to San Gimignano. We had some free time in San Gimignano to explore. The tour guide told us about a place in San Gimignano where we could get "the best gelato," however the line was so insanely long that we would have used up all of our free time waiting for gelato. Don't waste your time in a gelato line (you can get amazing gelato anywhere you go in Italy), enjoy exploring San Gimignano, it's a great town! The last stop on our day trip was Pisa. I definitely recommend climbing the leaning tower, it's a crazy sensation when you are climbing it, and there is a great view at the top! If you climb the tower, that is pretty much all you will have time for on the Pisa stop, but it's worth it. All in all, I'd say it was quite a memorable day :) Thanks Barbara and Yuri!!!

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Chris T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My partner and I have heard that the Chianti region is a must-see when we were in Florence. We booked the trip and we were both very glad that we did. It was a 5 hour-ish tour of which 2 hours were for commuting from Florence-Chianti and vice versa (1 hour each way). We loved our tour guide! Her name is Deborah Vannucci. She was fantastic! Very knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful. The tour was well-worth the money. However, IF you absolutely love wine, wine tasting and have a strong desire to explore the region as well as spend more time there, I would recommend doing it on your own. I won't forget to mention the the tour guide (Deborah) also gave me great recommendations for great restaurants/food/wine for Cinque Terre!

Chris T

Doing what: Chianti Half-Day Wine Tour from Florence

Melinda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We really enjoyed this tour of the chianti wine region of Tuscany. In fact, we all thought it was one of the highlights of our trip to Italy. Our tour guides were very knowledgable young men and both were delightful and fun. We really did learn a lot about the process of wine making. The tour included the tasting of 6 different wines and a delicious lunch. Not to mention the beautiful scenery. I would definitely recommend it!!

Doing what: Small-Group Tuscany Wine-Tasting Tour from Florence

Nicole T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The bus ride alone was worth the cost! The Chianti region was breathtaking. Not only did we get to drink fantastic wine but we got to learn about the wine as well. The tour was so much fun and a highlight of our trip to Italy.

Doing what: Chianti Half-Day Wine Tour from Florence

Katie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This wine tour was fantastic! My husband and I love Chianti so we figured a half day trip to the region was a must while we were in Florence. The bus ride wasn't that long and you get to see the beautiful Tuscan countryside. The tour of the castle and wine cellars was very interesting and we took some great pictures. We tasted great wines the whole day. After the castle we went into a small town where there was a festival and we got to wander around and check out local vendors. My husband and I drank more wine at the local winery and bought some amazing bread at a bakery. All in all this tour was great and i would definitely recommend it for those looking for something different and interesting to do in Florence! Ciao!

Doing what: Chianti Half-Day Wine Tour from Florence

Gerardo C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Our guide Becky was charming, warm, very informative. The tour itself is out of this world, I can't believe we saw so much of Tuscany in 12 hours and without feeling rushed! Our Siena tour guide Donatella was great...so funny and nice. Siena is beautifyl as is San G....Chianti Region was great too, nice guide/great wine/good food. Climbing the Pisa tower was a nice way to end this unforgetable trip...I highly recommend it to all!

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

AlexB United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Fantastic day trip from Florence! Glass after glass of beautiful wine (Chianti Classico, Super Tuscan), great food and simply gorgeous scenery. Our guide Matteo was really knowledgeable and friendly -- telling us everything we wanted to know about the region and the wine-making process. We felt like proper wine buffs by the end of the tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Tuscany Wine-Tasting Tour from Florence

Kathleen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

This trip to the Chianti region was honestly the highlight of my trip! The tour guide was the best that I have ever had and the wine is delicious, along with that snacks. I would recommend this excursion to anyone visiting the Florence area.

Doing what: Chianti Half-Day Wine Tour from Florence

Sherry M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

This was the best day of our trip! The Chianti region is sooo beautiful! We enjoyed the tour of the winery and the tasting. There were some snacks to go with the wine. We had a little time to walk through two villages and then went to dinner in a third town. The restaurant was in an old stone building. We felt as though we had entered a time machine and came out 500 years earlier. The dinner was very good, but it was the atmosphere that was 5 stars.

Doing what: Chianti Region Wine-Tasting and Dinner Half-Day Trip from Florence

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message