Italians are known for their food, and each province has its specialties. But Florence is widely hailed for its Tuscan-style cuisine, seemingly sent from Heaven itself. And while eating out is a singular pleasure, it can get expensive and leave ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 213 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Alexa S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was an amazing experience that I keep raving to everyone about! Took a 19 day trip to Italy, and did this class on our second day. Started off with Olivia our guide, taking us throughout Florence by foot, showing us how to shop for produce, meats, cheese, and other local specialties at small local shops, and the HUGE Mercato Centrale. Throughout the tour she gave us plenty of interesting and useful information about Florence, Italy, and even tips like how to order coffee like a local which was appreciated and useful for the rest of our trip. After shopping, we took the bus up to the hills of Florence to a hillside farmhouse villa that is in a breath taking location, and also beautifully renovated with a gourmet kitchen, beautiful patio and floor to ceiling glass dining room with panoramic views of the hills of Tuscany. The food that we cooked was simple but the tips on how to make things more authentic were great. We loved being with Carmela and felt that we really learned from the best! Even though I am an advanced level home cook, I still felt like this was a very fun experience with my husband. Would definitely recommend this to everyone! Thank you Olivia, Martina and Carmela for being amazing hosts!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

pam.earl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Five stars is not enough! This was the best tour! We started in small groups of about 12 with our guides, ours was Elisa the other was Lavinia. We walked from near the Ponte Vecchio through the streets of Florence. As we went Elisa explained some of the customs, landmarks and food history of Florence. While we did this we also collected the food for our cooking class. We learnt about the tradition of coffee as well as had a cup Italian style. We went to the central markets where we learnt more about local food and made some more purchases. The two groups then joined together and we were taken by small bus to a Villa up in the hills to start cooking. Our chef for the day was Isaac. He made it all very easy. We made about six courses. Everyone had jobs to do and between eating the fruits of our labours and drinking the wine we had a fantastic day. All the staff were fabulous. We wish we had done this tour when we first arrived in Florence because it gave us a much better insight into Florence the people and the food. A big thank you to Elisa Lavinia and Isaac!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Richard M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We enjoyed our walk through Florence and the Mercado Centrale, then the cooking class in a beautiful kitchen and lovely dining room on a hillside above the city. We learned a little history, ate some great food, and enjoyed Peroni and Chianti classico. We made bruschetta, pasta and ragu, roast pork and roast potatoes, and tiramisu. And we made our own wood-fired pizza that was a work of art. Our guide Julian was knowledgeable and enthusiastic. He was a good host. Carmela the chef was energetic and fun also. And then a week or so after we got home Julian sent all the recipes so we can try to do it all over again at home. Very nice.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Diana M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My husband and I recently took the cooking class at the Tuscan farmhouse just outside of Florence. After 2 weeks in Italy, doing a variety of things, we consider the day we spent cooking one of the highlights of our trip. The guide, Molly, could not have been better. She was funny, charming and informative. She helped everyone in our group feel welcome and connected very quickly. The farmhouse is gorgeous and the chef and his assistants were wonderful. We are all ready planning our next trip to Italy and arranging various tours with your company are at the top of our to do lists. Thanks to the company and please relay our great appreciation and good wishes to Molly. Ciao'!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Nancy A N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a great day! And Valeria, our guide, was knowledgeable, patient, and had a great sense of humor. The tour started with a walk around Florence and Valeria was informative and helpful. We stopped at a small market to buy some of the ingredients for our class and then went to the Mercato Centrale to purchase meat, bread and cheese. After that we took taxis to the cooking site which was amazing - and indoor/outdoor space overlooking Florence. We cooked from about noon to 4, eating and drinking as we did so. Valeria translated for the cooking teacher who spoke no English to us but was incredibly lively and personable. At about 4 we all sat down to eat what we had created and it was all delicious. A great day and great fun!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Whitney W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We loved the cooking tour! It was to start off with a short walk in the center of Florence. Martina, our tour guide took the time to learn all of our names and was friendly and warm during the entire tour. We learned about some of the food history and culture of Florence before taking a bus to some beautiful grounds and a farmhouse just outside of the city. We thoroughly enjoyed the cooking demonstration/cooking class.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Laurie Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

What a great time we had, this was one of the highlights of our trip to Italy. Sandra our tour guide was wonderful she was so knowledgeable,very friendly, funny and just a great person. We started off with a food walking tour of Florence, stopping at a produce stand and then going to the market for the rest of the food for our cooking class, it was really fun. Then we boarded a small bus were we met Valerie another wonderful tour guide who was very sweet and friendly. At the Villa we met Carmella our chef who was so much fun. We all got a chance to help with all the courses which were delicious we then ate everything we made served with wine and beer with the pizza.
I just think this was such a great way to spend the day with the beautiful people of Italy.
This tour is for everyone men and women and seniors like us.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Claudia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Absolutely fantastic! Valeria, our guide, and Isaac, our chef/instructor, really made our day. They were very professional, but at the same time made the day such fun. Our cooking class was on a Sunday, so we weren't able to do the market shopping, but everything was ready for us at the Tuscan Farmhouse. Since we couldn't do the shopping, Valeria took us on a great 1 1/2 hour walking tour of some of the oldest parts of Florence, with a special emphasis on food and wine details. No doubt, this was a great highlight of our visit in Florence, and definitely the most fun day we spent there.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Lara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Alessandro was a great instructor. I'm not much for cooking, but signed up for this class for my husband's benefit. It turned out to be a lot of fun. I learned some new techniques and recipes. And the meal itself was delicious! Plus we had a good time visiting with others in our class over dinner. It's a great way to spend an evening in Florence!

Doing what: Tuscan Cooking Class and Dinner in Florence

Jkrause

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a wonderful time with Val, Sandy and Carmella! The day was beautiful. Starting with the educational walk to the market through the streets of Florence, we knew that we were going to have a wonderful time. The view from the cooking area was absolutely gorgeous! Val and Sandy were so patient and kind with all of our questions, making us laugh. Carmella is an incredible force of nature! SO fun. We learned without even trying! I would do this class again in a heartbeat.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

jrluciano2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I would recommend this cooking class in Florence. The Tuscan meal is really different, not the usual pasta and dessert. The chef is very talented and experienced with groups, kitchen was ultra clean and everything was ready for us to begin right away. The Tuscan hunters stew was excellent as was the vegetable millefoglia and spinach raviolis plus choc mousse. Enjoyed meeting and working with other visitors and relaxing afterwards with the group to savor our dinner.

Doing what: Tuscan Cooking Class and Dinner in Florence

Rebecca C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a fantastic tour and excellent cooking class. We first had a guided walk through Florence from the meeting point to the market with stops enroute for specific food purchases, then a short drive to the property. Georgeous location and setting. Excellent facilities. Carmela the cook/teacher provided very clear instructions - via our guide's translations - and was very knowledgeable and entertaining. And the food 'we' made was excellent! Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

dnebuloni

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Different evening in Florence with this cooking class: a couple of hours to cook (from starter to dessert) and then relaxing time to taste all the plates! The chef was fun and good - we prepare even a gluten free plate (gnocchi) and everything was tasting amazing. The kitchen was clean and all tools are available - we also had a small recipe book about what we cooked during the night. Totally recommended if you want to have a special and fun dinner in Florence!

Doing what: Tuscan Cooking Class and Dinner in Florence

Andrea P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This experience was FANTASTIC - the highlight of my trip!! My guided Lavinia, was extremely friendly, personable and knowledgeable and I very much enjoyed learning about the history of Florence and it's food. It's a genuinely Italian experience!! The estate is stunning and the chef is a riot. I love to cook and this was by far the best cooking class I've taken. I highly highly recommend this tour. Bring your appetites!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Paden H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazing cooking class! Best day we had in Florence. The day was perfectly planned. Our tour guides Valeria and Julian were awesome. Valeria knew a ton about the wine industry and was able to provide rich history and cool facts in her early morning market tour. We learned a lot. Julian looked the cooking process and was helpful in aiding us in the process throughout the day. I was honestly pleasantly surprised that they were able to get through all the recipes as promised. It was a lot, but with many glasses of wine and tasting throughout the day had a very great flow and you never felt rushed or pressured. 5 star experience. I would do it again in a heart beat!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Anne Marie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My friend Fleur and I thoroughly enjoyed our class from start to finish! The meeting location was very easy to find with your directions and once we arrived, Gloria, our guide, greeted up and we started our tour with the rest of our group. Gloria took us to the market to get the local ingredients for our cooking class, all the while filling us in on the history of Florence. We stopped for coffee along the way and then we were off the meet our bus which took us up to the hills to meet Chef Carmel. She was delightful and kept the group entertained! Gloria was great at translating and even helped with the food preparation. Everyone in our group were very involved and jumped right in to prepare the meal - pasta from scratch, bruschetta, pizza, gelato, tiramisu, pork and roasted potatoes! And of course there was the wine! A beautiful table was set and we feasted the foods of our labour, Upon receiving our diplomas, we boarded our bus and headed back down the mountain. This class with Gloria as our guide, definitely rated 5 star!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Brittany D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My husband was initially resistant to attending the cooking class but we are so glad I convinced him. This tour was the highlight of our trip to florence. Julian was an amazing tour guide. Carmella was an incredible cook and we learned so much! Not only did we learn a lot about cooking, but we also learned a lot about Florence. The farmhouse was absolutely beautiful. Would highly recommended this to anyone!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Jean R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This cooking class was recommended by a good friend who raved about it after she went with her two grown sons. When my daughters and sister planned our trip to Florence I knew this was a must do!
I never imagined that it would be one of the most amazing experiences ever! Our total group consisted of about a dozen people from all over the USA. We met our guide Olivia for a walking tour of Florence and a shopping trip to the market to pick up fresh ingredients for our cooking class. Olivia was friendly and informative and we learned many interesting facts about Florentine history and traditions. We stopped in an exquisite bakery where, with Olivia's recommendation, I discovered my new favorite coffee drink! Machiatone is espresso with a little bit of cream and I am still going through withdrawal since I haven't found a good one back home. Anyway, we then took a short van ride to a gorgeous Tuscan farmhouse where we met Carmela, the chef, and her daughter. Carmela was obviously an amazing cook, but her sense of humor needed no translation. We broke into Italian song without notice while preparing our meal. She taught us, hands on, to make everything from bruschetta to fresh pasta to roast pork and tiramisu and gelato! We even learned how to make pizza dough and create personal pizzas in the outdoor brick oven with Carmela's nice and her assistant. They were adorable and very amusing. Finally we sat down in a beautiful dining room with an incredible view and enjoyed local wines along with the delicious foods we prepared. This was a perfect day and I would recommend this tour to everyone and already have to anyone who will listen! The experience was amazing, the people were unforgettable and the food was superb!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Lyndsay F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was such a fun day, and I highly recommend this small group cooking class! Alex and Daniel make learning about Italian, and specifically Tuscan, cooking fun and exciting. After an educational tour through the central market, we went back to their cooking school to learn how to make different pastas, multiple sauces, and the best tiramisu I have ever had. The wine was fantastic as well! Also, I'm a vegetarian, and they were prepared for that and flexible when they learned another participant was pregnant and couldn't have raw eggs. I will definitely take another class if I'm back in Florence again. Thanks guys!!!!

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class in Florence

Kathleen Joy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Highlight of the trip so far!! We were just expecting a trip to the market and a fun cooking class, but was also a great tour of Florence. Eliza was amazing!! She was funny, engaging and helpful. Carmela was such as great teacher (and singer!). Fantastic tour, fun class, lovely setting! Must go!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

aarti.mistry10

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Absolutely loved this experience!! Amazing chefs and had some really great company. For someone who is traveling solo, I had a great time getting to know others who were part of the cooking class and we all had fun learning how to make pizza, although some of us really struggled! Looks easy but practice makes perfect!! Highly recommend this to anyone who simply wants few hours of the most memorable experience in Florence.

Doing what: Florence Cooking Class: Learn How to Make Gelato and Pizza

Amie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

My friend and I spent a week in Florence together and this class was definitely a highlight of our trip. Antonella, the guide was amazing. Very knowledgeable, friendly and sweet, she added a lot to the day. First we went on a walking tour of the food market and some shops along the way to buy everything we would be cooking. Then after a short ride to a beautiful farmhouse in Tuscany, we cooked a fantastic meal under the directions of Carmela. Although she spoke no English, with Antonella's translations and Carmela's enthusiasm, the day was fantastic. Lots of wine, fun people and a gorgeous backdrop, the day was very memorable. Would highly recommend to anyone that would like to experience something a little different while in Florence.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Katelyn D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We did a 2 week trip to Italy Monterosso, Venice, Florence, and Rome and besides all of the wonderful sites we got to see, this cooking class was by far one of the best memories we will have. You start the tour off by walking through Florence stopping historic landmarks i.e., Michelangelo's house he grew up in!, one of the oldest bakeries in the city, the downtown market, and so much more.

Next you go off to a farmhouse outside of the city where the views are unimaginable. There you learn how to make a few dishes from the homemaker who lives on the property. This cooking class was so much fun and we spent the entire time laughing and chatting with the others in the group. The food was delicious!!

If we ever make our way back to Florence, we will definately sign up for this cooking class again!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Sanjay G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This experience was way more than I expected. Our guide Antonella was so wonderful, friendly and so knowledgeable. She shared so many little details of the city and the history of Florence. When we got to the farmhouse, Carmella, the chef was a perfectly Italian. We made all of the dishes listed and cooked, drank and ate for hours. I am an avid cook at home, but still learned a new technique during this class. My husband was the only guy there and he is not much of a cook, but he really enjoyed all of it. I would highly recommend this tour, although its a disgrace to call it that. This was an amazing experience and will cherish it for a very long time.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Richard B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This trip can only be classed as a sensational day out. What fun we had. Food, drink and laughter in abundance. Martina, our guide could not have made the day more interesting, fun and informative.

This is one of the best trips we have been on and there were no hidden extra costs. We shopped for our own ingredients whilst Martina explained what each vegetable and fruit was used for. We took morning coffee and a bun with the locals in a historical café in the centre of Florence. A private luxury bus took us the scenic route to a farmhouse high in the hills to have our 'Cookery Lesson' which was unbelievably good fun. All the staff were very attentive to our group. We all made our own fresh pasta and the making of the Pizza and the wine flowing made this day out just the best part of our holiday in Florence.

Martina was the perfect hostess, the chef showed us how to make Ragu and fresh pasta, and the very experienced young lady that taught us to make a Pizza all made the day an incredible experience. If you are going to Florence and only have time to go on one trip I would recommend you book this one.

Richard

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message