Italians are known for their food, and each province has its specialties. But Florence is widely hailed for its Tuscan-style cuisine, seemingly sent from Heaven itself. And while eating out is a singular pleasure, it can get expensive and leave ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 190 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Katelyn D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We did a 2 week trip to Italy Monterosso, Venice, Florence, and Rome and besides all of the wonderful sites we got to see, this cooking class was by far one of the best memories we will have. You start the tour off by walking through Florence stopping historic landmarks i.e., Michelangelo's house he grew up in!, one of the oldest bakeries in the city, the downtown market, and so much more.

Next you go off to a farmhouse outside of the city where the views are unimaginable. There you learn how to make a few dishes from the homemaker who lives on the property. This cooking class was so much fun and we spent the entire time laughing and chatting with the others in the group. The food was delicious!!

If we ever make our way back to Florence, we will definately sign up for this cooking class again!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Sanjay G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This experience was way more than I expected. Our guide Antonella was so wonderful, friendly and so knowledgeable. She shared so many little details of the city and the history of Florence. When we got to the farmhouse, Carmella, the chef was a perfectly Italian. We made all of the dishes listed and cooked, drank and ate for hours. I am an avid cook at home, but still learned a new technique during this class. My husband was the only guy there and he is not much of a cook, but he really enjoyed all of it. I would highly recommend this tour, although its a disgrace to call it that. This was an amazing experience and will cherish it for a very long time.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Richard B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This trip can only be classed as a sensational day out. What fun we had. Food, drink and laughter in abundance. Martina, our guide could not have made the day more interesting, fun and informative.

This is one of the best trips we have been on and there were no hidden extra costs. We shopped for our own ingredients whilst Martina explained what each vegetable and fruit was used for. We took morning coffee and a bun with the locals in a historical café in the centre of Florence. A private luxury bus took us the scenic route to a farmhouse high in the hills to have our 'Cookery Lesson' which was unbelievably good fun. All the staff were very attentive to our group. We all made our own fresh pasta and the making of the Pizza and the wine flowing made this day out just the best part of our holiday in Florence.

Martina was the perfect hostess, the chef showed us how to make Ragu and fresh pasta, and the very experienced young lady that taught us to make a Pizza all made the day an incredible experience. If you are going to Florence and only have time to go on one trip I would recommend you book this one.

Richard

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Timothy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our cooking class and our Chef Francisco was truly amazing, his knowledge and humor made this very fun and a highlight of our time in Florence that we are still talking about, the ingredients where very fresh and of an excellent quality and his cooking expertise showed his deep knowledge and the art involved in cooking along with his enthusiasm and professionalism was very much appreciated and please pass along mine and my Girlfriend thanks for an excellent experience

Doing what: Tuscan Cooking Class and Dinner in Florence

Susie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Brilliant fun and a superb value! Our guide, Alisa, took us on a short walk before taking us to the market to get the fresh ingredients for our class. She is very knowledgeable and put us at our ease immediately. Carmella, our chef, was a hoot! She likes to sing as she cooks, and we were all singing by the end of the day. Carmella made cooking fun and the end result was fantastico! Grazie mille, Walkabout Florence!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Melanie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was the BEST decision we have made on our trip to Italy. We took a day trip from Rome to do this class and it did not disappoint. Elize and Olivia were amazing leaders! They were very knowledgeable about Florence, food and coffee. At the Farmhouse, we met Carmela and her team, who were enthusiastic and passionate about italian cooking. They seemed eager to teach and everyone was eager to learn. We made all the Italian dishes we could have possibly wanted to make in one day and it was nice getting to know the group. The beer and wine went down a treat too. The cherry on top was the magnificent view from the farmhouse. A beautiful backdrop for the class.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

italytravels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Dec 1, 2015
Taste of Italy: Best Cooking Class Ever!!!!
I found this cooking class on viator.com along with several others and this one stood out to be one of the top rated. I have taken several cooking classes and this one was by far the best!!!!! The guides Gloria and Julian did an amazing job sharing history of the city during the market/city tour and also did a great job translating for the chef. During the course we learned to make several Italian dishes pork roast, gelato, bruschetta, pizza, pasta, and tirimisu which all turned out amazing. The class was very hands on and extremely entertaining. You are sure to have a lot of fun throughout the tour! The Italian chef can't remember her name was VERY vibrant, enthusiastic, and exhibited a true passion for cooking. Although the chef did not speak much English the guides did a great job translating everything. If you are ever in Florence do not pass up on the opportunity of taking this class. YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED! I would suggest taking any tour this local tour operator offers because it will be worth it. I am so glad I chose this tour. What a wonderful experience

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Douglas G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour was excellent and one of the highlights of our 2 week trip to Italy. What an incredible value. Basically a full day tour that includes a walking tour of Florence, a cooking class in the hills surrounding Florence where you learn to make bruschetta, pizza, pasta, ragu sauce, tiramisu and gelato. Then you get to eat all of it! The class is hands on and very fun whether you are a cook or not. The location of the cooking class had great views and was setup specifically for cooking and eating. Olivia and Carmela were fantastic.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This is the most comprehensive cooking class you can take. Shopping for ingredients in the streets of Florence was a perfect way to start the morning. The kitchen/dining building in the hillside was also incredibly beautiful. We scheduled this cooking class in the offseason, and had a rather private experience 6 people vs. the usual 20-30, allowing all of us to be very involved in the cooking. Gloria, the guide, was terrific at answering questions about Italian life. Jason, the chef, was terrific at answering questions about different cooking techniques, even those we weren't doing on this day. I highly recommend this event.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Molly D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Just wow! This cooking class was a dream come true. Not only did we learn to cook some amazing Tuscan food, but we learned so much about Tuscany/Florence in the process! All of my friends are jealous and cannot wait for me to replicate these dishes for them. It was the highlight of my trip and it'll be a story for me to tell for many years to come. Oh and of course we had the most amazing guide Sandra! She was fantastic. Thank you Sandra!!!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Rebecca B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I think this was simply one of the best tours I've ever done! We did a food tour through historical Florence and then went to the place where we did the cooking class which was in a stunning setting. We learnt so much, ate so much and know this was an experience we will not forget.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

racquelmateo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had the BEST time with this tour. Valeria was an amazing host, provided key information we needed to shop and eat in Florence as well as great historical nuggets as we walked by buildings and attractions. Once we gathered our ingredients for our cooking class from local vendors, we headed out to the Tuscan farmhouse which has the most breathtaking view of Florence. The kitchen itself was quaint, cozy and modern. Chef Isak took us through 4 delicious recipes while the group we were with laughed, drank wine and chatted about our own individual stories from all parts of the world. I could not have chosen a better tour for Florence and highly recommend Walkabout and their hospitable staff. Thank you to Valeria and Isak for an unforgettable evening!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Susan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was my second cooking class with this tour operator. The staff was wonderful to work with and the chefs fun, informative, and helpful. I will definitely sign up again if I have the chance to be in Florence again.

Doing what: Florence Cooking Class: Learn How to Make Gelato and Pizza

Rudy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great class. Not only where the chefs and staff friendly, the other people taking the class were fun too. You start by cooking the meal then you sit down and eat. It's a wonderful way to spend a night in Florence if you are into food.

Doing what: Tuscan Cooking Class and Dinner in Florence

ck100 Egypt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Julian for sure was best tour guide gave us a walking tour idea about Florence while market shopping for our food stuff as well enjoyed much the cooking class of Camilla which has her lovely spirts in way she cook and fantastic atmosphere for all of our lovely group , I have delay my review till I cooked all what we had to family which let all my family and friends wishing to have same chance for booking same cooking program with Julian and Camilla best regards for all especially Pizza great boss and her assistance

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Mardell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My husband and I were on a two-week trip, and this was our final tour. We had been looking forward to it, and we were not disappointed! Gloria and Molly were our guides and did a fantastic job. The group of approximately 25 were divided into two, and we were with Gloria's group. Gloria led us on a great walking tour through the historic center of Florence. We stopped at a vegetable market to buy tomatoes and fresh basil for the bruschetta we would be making later that day. Then, off to a bakery to buy the bread for our bruschetta and to enjoy a cappuccino. Our final stop before heading to the farmhouse was the Mercata Centrale--what an amazing place! We bought Parmagianno Reggiano sampled some, too and the beef, which was ground fresh as we waited. Off to the farmhouse in Tuscany! Our chef, Carmella, was a ball of energy and thought us how to make bruschetta, pizza, homemade pasta, ragu sauce, roast pork, rosemary potatoes, tiramisu and gelato! The hands-on experience was so much fun! We were able to enjoy our new Italian culinary skills as we ate all of the amazing dishes we made--complemented nicely by plenty of Chianti Classico! I highly recommend this tour--you will not be disappointed!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

KimTrang N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Amazing time learning to cook and shop around Florence. Jullian was our guide. He was very informative on the city history and spoke English well. The view of the farmhouse was amazing! It made the cooking class more enjoyable. We were able to shop around the market for our ingredients which was great. Good wine and company

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Tiani K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was such a delight to spend the day with Lavi, Val and Camilla. The ladies were extremely welcoming, taking the time to get to know each and every one of us on the tour. By midday, the group was one big Italian family, laughing together, singing together and, of course, cooking together. I'm very thankful for the memories and, whenever I'm back in Florence, I will definitely book this class again.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Chris J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The cooking class tour with Walkabout Florence was truly one of the most amazing experiences of our European trip. The staff went above and beyond for us since we were initially lost in the city, not able to find a place to park to meet up with the group - so one of their staff Nickoli came out to find us, took us to meet up with the group and drove our rental car all the way up to where the cooking facility was so we could join the group in the bus! We truly were overwhelmed with joy and endless gratitude! The class was absolutely incredible - educational as we walked around Florence learning the history of the city and background for all the local ingredients we would be using in our class as we toured through the bustling marketplace. Our guide Antonella was an absolute joy the entire time, she made us feel extremely welcome and even took time to catch us up on what my husband and I had missed since we joined the group a bit late. She was incredibly informative, knowledgeable, and so warm you felt that you've known her for years. After the tour in the city we all took a bus up to the gorgeous Florence hills where they have renovated a state of the art cooking facility that overlooks the valley, it's stunning! And we had the pleasure of learning how to cook from Carmella - a wonderfully seasoned local Italian cook who's charm and wit made everyone smile and laugh the whole time along with her wonderful translators Antonella and Levi that all made us feel at home. We had the pleasure of making bruschetta, fresh pasta, ragu, roasted pork, our own pizze napolitana in a wood burning ovens worked by the professionals : and gelato and tiramisu! And of course all was accompanied by incredible Chianti wine the entire time. We got to dine in the beautiful floor to ceiling glass dining room with amazing Tuscan views. What a phenomenal experience this was - cooking with wonderful people in a gorgeous setting- the AMAZING staff - this is highly recommended!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Hannah S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had the greatest time at this cooking class! Antonella was an incredible guide, so funny and full of information. Carmella, the incredible chef, kept us all entertained, taught us a few words in Italian, and showed us how to make some incredible food that we can even do at home! The day was absolutely perfect, and we made many friends with the other people in the class, as well as everyone working with the walkabout crew. Highlight of our trip to Florence! DO NOT MISS OUT!!
Antonella and Carmella are some of the greatest people you will ever meet

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Elizabeth F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Sandra, our guide, took us for a lovely walk through Florence, giving us insights into various buildings while we were shopping for our groceries. Our ultimate goal was the cooking class given by Daniela who, despite lack of English, was able to show us everything we needed to learn about making bruschetta, pasta, ragu meat sauce and our desserts. I am highly allergic to nuts - Sandra was able to provide an alternate to the amaretto gelato which kept me safe and part of our awesome group.
Eliza, the second guide, was funny and helpful, and along with Sandra kept us focused on the task at hand which was making some amazing food.
I would absolutely recommend this to anyone looking for an intimate cooking class in a beautiful location with amazing people making it all work beautifully. I loved this - our favorite part of our unbelievable trip to Italy - and that's saying a lot :

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Deborah S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this all day tour and cooking class. Antonella and Lavinia were wonderful as our guides. The shopping trip through Florence was so much fun. As restauranteurs, we were really impressed with the way the cooking class was conducted. Carmela was a skillled and delightful cook who never lost her sense of humour thoughout the day Volare!. Her recipes were delicious and the wine flowed freely. We would recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Martin A United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour and cooking class was the highlight of our time in Florence! The staff at Walkabout tours is second to none in making you feel like family. Our guides and chef were genuine and informative, but most of all, they were fantastic hosts. The amount of food and fun that was packed into this tour was incredible and the setting at the Farmhouse is just breathtaking. We can't wait to return to Florence and take this tour again!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Carly United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was amazing! It started off with a 2 hour tour of Florence, but not the usual churches and boring parts, all of the food history and fun little stories which included a stop off at a coffee shop for some Italian coffee. The farmhouse was beautiful and the cooking class was so much fun, it was informal and informative, we learned loads of tips and interesting facts about Italian food and cooking. Our tour guides Lavinia and Sandra were AMAZING and made the trip. I would do this again in a heart beat if I came to Florence again, it's a must do trip!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Rosanne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was absolutely the highlight of our trip in Florence. Cannot recommend Walk About Tours and Lavinia and Gloria enough. They were spectacular tour guides, and interpreters for the day. We loved the cooking class, the city tour, the people on the tour, the entire day was a win! win! win!....my only regret was that we did not have enough time to go on the tour again......we absolutely loved it. And, my husband, who does not like to cook, could not get enough of this class and tour. He is still talking about this with all of our friends! It was a blast! Yes!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message