Italians are known for their food, and each province has its specialties. But Florence is widely hailed for its Tuscan-style cuisine, seemingly sent from Heaven itself. And while eating out is a singular pleasure, it can get expensive and leave ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 115 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our chefs were from Giovanni's Italian Cooking Class by Food and Wine Academy of Florence. Alain and Alessio were engaging which made the course even more fun. There were people of all ages fro children to retirees. Everyone seemed to enjoy themselves.

I was impressed to be able to create my own dough from scratch under the chef's guidance. It was interesting to see them make the gelato. I appreciated the hints they gave us for recreating both recipes at home.

We ate our own pizzas, tasted some others they created with truffle oil toppings which were also tasty, then finished with the chocolate gelato created earlier.

A nice touch at the end was a booklet with all the recipes plus a certificate to say we passed!

I throughly enjoyed this class and would recommend it to aspiring cooks of all ages. The children in my class seemed to particularly enjoy making their own pizzas.

Grazie Alain and Alessio

Doing what: Florence Cooking Class: Learn How to Make Gelato and Pizza

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I checked out a few classes before deciding on this one and picked it because of the glowing reviews. I am so glad I did because the reviews were so right the class was one of the highlights of our trip to Italy.
We had the best time with our guides Gloria and Molly and Chef Carmen. First, we met in the morning and Gloria took us on a walking tour of the markets while we shopped for the ingredients, all the while she shared little tidbits of interesting stories about the history of Florence and Tuscany. Then we bused to a nearby picturesque farmhouse where we spent the rest of the day having fun, cooking, laughing, drinking wine and totally enjoying ourselves. The cooking class was hands on, friendly, well paced, not intimidating, and the food was delicious. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this tour. It was a nice change of pace from visiting museums, ruins, and churches. I highly recommend taking this class we had a wonderful time and would do it again!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an excellent way to see parts of Florence you would not think of going to see. The cooking class at the Tuscan farm house was a wonderful experience. Everything we made was delicious. We can't wait to receive the recipes that we made that day.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing!!!!

We started off with a mini tour and history lesson on the food of Florence. Our tour guide, Antonella, was hilarious, engaging, warm and welcoming. Loved her!

After stopping by several markets to pick up groceries, we went onto the bus for our ride to the farm. Oh, the farm... Absolutely breathtaking! I wish I could take it back to New York with me. There is a modern kitchen and dining room covered in glass windows that overlooked the acres of beautiful green hills as far as the eye can see.

The chef/cook teaching the class was an enthusiastic, boisterous, and hilarious Italian lady who's husband used to own the farm. She decided to sell it to the tour company in exchange that she be allowed to work in the kitchen whenever she wanted. Good deal!

We made bruschetta, tiramisu, pizza, gelato, pasta, bolognese sauce, roasted pork and potatoes. Really hands on class where you have to roll your own pizza and pasta doughs and make your own tiramisu. Other times, it was relaxing, where you just watched several volunteers do all the chopping, cutting, and mixing. No worries about being bored though! There was plenty of red wine and beer flowing. If you're not a drinker, you could just watch the chef dance and sing happy Italian songs.

After you stuff your face with all the food, they send you off with a cookbook, apron and certificate. Then it's nap time on the bus...

Definitely do this if you're in Florence!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our morning guide through Florence Center was just perfect. Martina was very kind and had a great knowledge of the tour.
The cooking class was just perfect! Carmela is just A PERFECT ITALIAN! Her cooking class was fun, enjoyable and the group had tons of fun!!!!
A sure must have tour!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I purposely booked the cooking class on the day of our 10th wedding anniversary, and boy, what a celebration that was! Our tour guide, Antonella, was absolutely knowledgeable, sweet and super fun. As soon as we arrived at the farm house, the party really began. The staff was so nice and our chef, Carmella, was just awesome. We had so much fun cooking, eating and drinking not necessarily in that order. We met so many nice people from our group and made new friends hello Canada!. If you go to Florence, I highly recommend taking this cooking class with the company WalkaboutFlorence. They are simply the best. Love. Love.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My husband and I had an amazing day with this Walkabout Florence tour. Our day started with our guide Molly and what we thought would be a simple market tour turned out to be a much longer-than-expected walking tour through quite a bit of historical/old city center Florence. Molly's art background also helped in that we got so much historical information and context on the sights we were seeing - it really helped us enjoy Florence so much during the days we spent there afterward. The cooking class was fantastic - everyone had fun, and together both Molly and Lavinia really pepped up the experience. The day really far exceeded our original expectations.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Outstanding! A Must! Olivia did a excellent job and the morning walking tour was very helpful and entertaining. The cooking class was outstanding and fun...now that I am home, I can't wait to put on my own Italian Feast!
Don't leave Florence without this tour..

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Where to begin, this tour was one of the best days I had in Italy. The food the company all amazing.
I cant recommend this tour highly enough to people who enjoy a nice day out and of course love to cook.
Camela the traditional Italian cook even though she didn't speak English was so welcoming and lovely she helped everyone to make their dishes.
Our tour guide Lavinia was equally amazing - her knowledge of Florence and she was so bubbly and fun.
The food: You wont be eating dinner after this class is done so much food: Bruschetta,Home made pasta with ragu, a pork roast with potatoes, pizza then gelato and tiramusu for dessert all made by you for you.
If your going to do anything in Florence its this class such a fun day.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I booked this class for both me and my husband. I would give this a 5 star rating. The shopping trip, the explanations and the cooking class itself was not only informative but entertaining. Next time I'm in Florence i will definitely book another class.

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class in Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The cooking class was truly a, if not the, highlight of our trip to Florence. The tour exceeded every expectation not only well orchestrated but the staff gave a true sense of the hospitality, warmth and fun that is part of Italian cooking and way of life.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Can I give this a 10? Carmella is a fun and wonderful cook and the whole Walkabout Florence staff with our guide for the day Lavinia made the day great. Lavinia made the walk through town to pick up our groceries interesting with a mix of history and today. We needed that after all the museums and churches! We learned a lot and I am looking forward to seeing what they do with the gorgeous villa and if Carmella will teach multi-day classes some day. Oh, and thanks for sending all the recipes!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I have actually done this tour twice I loved it so much. The people who run it are amazing. The food is incredible and you truly get a sense of authentic tuscan cooking. The location of the class is absolutely breathtaking. I would do this tour a third, fourth and even a fifth time if I was in Florence for longer. It is very hands on and truly informative. You learn a ton but enjoy every single second of it. Definitely one of the best tours I have ever done in Florence! HIGHLY HIGHLY RECOMMEND

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

There are no words to summarize the great experience of cooking class. That day designed by professional and was the highlight of our trip to Tuscany. Lavinia our guide was amazing! Carmela was so nice, funny, singing and it was her birthday! We were a group of 24 people from around the world, the morning tour was very interesting going in Florence on the way to the market while Lavinia explains with lots of patient about everything. The farm is 10 minutes from Florence and there is a bus that wait for you at the end of the market and take the group. The farm is amazing, best equipment, VERY CLEAN and we used best materials. The Pizza oven and team that made the Pizza with us was very professional. Bottom line if you go to Tuscany don't miss that cooking class. All was perfect !!!!!!!!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

My husband and I had a wonderful time in this tour/class. The teacher Carmela is a very enthusiastic Italian homemaker and the guide Lavinia is a friendly girl.
The tour started with an amazing walk in Florence to buy some ingredients that we needed. We went to the bakery and to the Local Market. During the walk, Lavinia gave us a lot of history information about Florence/Tuscan and advices on how to buy fresh ingredients.
The Tuscan Farmhouse has a huge and amazing kitchen where we had the cooking class. We learnt how to make bruschetta, pasta, pizza, desserts, among others. Of course, we had some typical wine Chianti while we were cooking.
We had an excellent time there and we really recommend this cooking class!!!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A fantastic day and definitely recommended. The cooking class is quite simple but really fun and the food is amazing. Also loved the walk through Florence and the little tips from our guide Olivia.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Wonderful day. Elisa and Lavi, the tour guides, were super friendly and super knowledgeable. The farm house just outside of Florence was more of a specialized cooking and eating pavillion, with wonderful views. First class. The only possible negative was that the group was large, and this surprised me, although everyone did have many hands-on chances to prepare the food and cook. But I still give it five stars because it was a wonderful day, relaxing, the wine flowed, everyone was super friendly and we ate tons.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

What did I like about Walkabout Florence? Everything. But I know that won't be enough for you so here goes...
1 Antonella -She was our guide for two days in a row - lucky us! Here's what I noticed about her other than the fact she has a master's degree in art history and speaks 4 languages. She cares! She made sure she talked to each person in our group and really got to know them. And after I asked her a question about a local artist Clet, she not only told me all about him, that she'd met him, that he was charming, clever, and funny, but she also arranged for his gallery to stay open late so that my husband and I could go there after our tour on our last day in Italy. How special and thoughtful of her! You see? This had nothing at all to do with our paid tour and everything to do with her being a wonderful, caring young woman!
2 The format of the tours - my husband and I are not tour people. I heard a couple other people in our group say the same thing. Walkabout converted us ALL and I guess we are now tour people. OK, maybe we are just Walkabout people! One day we had about 20 in our group and the next day we had 10 or so. But we felt as though Antonella was our very own private guide, our friend, our long lost Italian cousin taking us around her city. The days are well thought out. Just enough down time, more information than you expect, like a Rick Steves' Italy book come to life.
3 Carmela - omg, I don't know what to say! She was our chef for our cooking class day. She also dances and sings! LOL! She is a TREASURE! And an amazing cook! You should see my noodles I made in class! I was a rock star!! Ha! So was everyone else! Every last detail of her class is perfection including the building, the AMAZING STOVE AND OVEN you will not believe it!, the flow of the class - everything! You will learn things you cannot learn in your own country about Italian cooking, that is a guarantee!
4 The Walkabout staff - my husband and I got into a conversatio

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Not sure why it's called a cooking class with a local market tour. It was so much more than that. From the moment I met Carmela, Olivia and the rest of the staff, I know I was going to be in for something special. Olivia, our tour guide and translator spoke perfect English and gave a really great walking tour. From the short pit stop at the cafe to taking a tour of the local market, I would have been satisfied with that alone. We were shuttled up the hills of Florence to the most picturesque farmhouse. The kitchen alone was to die for. Then we met Chef Carmela. She didn't speak English, but it didn't matter. She was so much fun!!!! And I learned a great deal from her. Nice touch when her staff served all of the food we made in a nice, fancy setting. I made almost every dish we learned at home. Came out perfect! The group I took the class with were great! I highly recommend anyone visiting Florence to take this class. Even if you don't cook! Best cooking experience I have had!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We had an absolutely wonderful time on our once in a lifetime cooking to class in the hills of Tuscany. We walked through the streets of exciting Florence, visiting several markets to gather our fresh ingredients to make our lunch pizza and a hugh several course dinner. We than boarded a very comfortable van to ride to Tuscan hills. They have a beautiful setup to cook and eat our meal in the heart of Tuscany. Our guide was wonderful and it was definetly worth they money!!! Thank you Walk About tours! .

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent day starting with a tour around the markets of Florence and the history behind the delivery of food and wine to houses in the 1800s. The cooking class out at the farm was well worth the money - very clear explainations and a lot of fun as well. I have since made the pasta from memory (recipes are sent out to you after completing the tour) and after errors on the 1st batch, produced a more eatable batch. We left the day very full, and happy. Strongly recommended!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

On our last visit to Florence we decided to experience the Tuscan Farmhouse cooking class and local market tour. This was one of the best organized events, catering to a small group that I have ever experienced. You might think that taking a day to spend on this tour is a lot of time but let me tell you it goes by way too fast. At the end of the day you are wanting more. You first start out by meeting your tour guide and the other guests in what is generally a small group of persons (our group was 6). Elisa, our tour guide, could not have been more interested in making each and every person feel as if she was your personal tour guide. We first walked about Florence and Elisa pointed out some historic building, churches, streets, traditions and tragedies. This was happening all the while we were enroute to visiting a few local markets including a stop at the central market to pick up the ingredients we would be using in our cooking class. Before I forget, what is a morning in Italy without coffee "Italian Style"? So while traversing the city streets Elisa introduced us to a very nice local pastry and coffee shop. But what's most important about this stop is that in order to blend in Elisa taught us the secrets of drinking coffee "Italian Style" (take the tour to learn). After a nice walkabout the city we jumped into two taxis and headed out of the city walls and up the hill to the Farmhouse. We walked through the gates and came upon a wonderful view overlooking the city of Florence through a notch in the olive trees adorning the property. Now as you move further onto the property you start to smell the smoke of the wood burning pizza oven. We next met our two celebrated chef's (another secret) who embraced you like you were their long lost Italian brother or sister. Out of space but the kitchen is wonderful; we cooked, Bruschetta, homemade pasta, Ragu Meat Sauce, Pizza (so much fun), Roast Pork, Patata al rosamarino, Tiramisu and Florentine Gelato. Great

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour was amazing from start to finish! Our guide Mara was great - super friendly and extremely knowledgeable as she led us on a mini-walking tour through Florence, which included a few stops to buy some of the ingredients we would need later. The farmhouse was only about a 15 minute drive from the train station, and was outfitted with a beautiful, modern kitchen. Chef Camilla was super sweet and only spoke Italian (which made for an even more fun experience, especially when she would break out in spontaneous song), so Mara helped translate her instructions and our questions throughout the day. One of the best things about this class is that it was completely hands-on. Camilla walked us through the steps of the recipe, and everyone in the class was able to participate somehow regardless of experience or skill. It was also nice to be able to make so many different courses, rather than just pizza or pasta, and having beer and wine as we cooked was a nice touch. At the end of the day the group sat down to enjoy the meal we all made together, and we were presented with a certificate of achievement before heading back to the city. Not only did we leave with recipes we could recreate at home, it also felt as if we made new friends that day. Thank you, thank you Mara, Camilla and Arla (who helped us perfect our pizza technique) for such a great experience that I would absolutely recommend to everyone who visits Florence.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

From beginning to end this experience was the high point of our trip. Our tour guide met us right on time, we walked through the streets of Florence and she told us some interesting facts about Florence itself as well as even pointing out a building where Michaelangelo lived at one time. We stopped at a bakery to pick up the bread for the bruschetta and sat there for a bit to also enjoy an espresso. Next we stopped and bought some fresh tomatoes and basil for the bruschetta and the potatoes. Then on to the meat market for the beef for our bolognese sauce as well as the roast pork. We also bought the fresh mozzarella for our pizza. Upon arrival where our class was to take place the setting looked like something out of a picture book. Our chef along with the help of our tour guide/ translator got us going on our cooking. We were all having so much fun drinking chianti, making home made pasta, sauce, bruschetta, roast pork, potatoes, pizza, gelato and tiramisu. Once all the food was prepared we sat down and enjoyed the marvelous food and wonderful company. I should also mention that the kitchen had all the modern conveniences as well as a view looking over the rolling hills. The dining room where we ate was a beautiful glassed in room again looking out ate the gorgeous view. I seriously can say that everything was done perfectly and I would not have changed a thing!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The cooking class was so much fun! We works in small groups to create a fabulous meal. I would highly recommend doing this while in Florence!

Doing what: Tuscan Cooking Class and Dinner in Florence

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message