Italians are known for their food, and each province has its specialties. But Florence is widely hailed for its Tuscan-style cuisine, seemingly sent from Heaven itself. And while eating out is a singular pleasure, it can get expensive and leave ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 124 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I worried about committing an entire day to this cooking class while in Florence, but it turned out to be possibly the best day we spent in Europe in three weeks. The day started with a two-hour walking tour through the city exploring the history of Florence through its food. We bought bread, vegetables, cheese and meat in four different traditional open air vendors, then boarded a bus to just outside the city for an amazing afternoon of cooking, drinking and laughing. Carmella didnt speak English, but she was such a joy as she communicated with her hands and made us all sing as we made noodles, bruschetta, ragu sauce, pizza and dessert. Our English speaking guides were a delight, and staff cleaned and prepped so that we had plenty of time to learn, laugh and socialize. So much food and wine, we didnt eat again until the next day!

If you are in Florence, dont miss this tour.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour and cooking class were excellent! Molly was out tour guide and she was phenomenal! She was incredibly knowledgable and personable! We had so much fun during the cooking class getting to meet so many new people from all over the world. would definitely recommend to anyone going to Florence!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

MJ
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed this all-day cooking tour and class. Valeria was our primary guide and Martina was the other guide and both assisted and translated for Carmella the Italian chef that shared her joy and passion for Italian cooking with us. They all made it an enjoyable and fun experience. We left promptly at 10am from the Walkabout Office in Florence for which we appreciated the timeliness. We had a 1 1/2 hour walking tour of Florence which included a treat to coffee of our choice, learning some of the history related to food and other relevant info about Florence as well as a trip to the Central Market to purchase the goods to prepare our meal. We met our bus around 12pm to take us to an estate about 20 minutes outside of Florence where there was a beautiful kitchen and gorgeous views. The walk to and from the bus was steep but manageable. All who wanted to participate in the preparation for the bruschetta, ragu for the pasta, pork, tiramisu and gelato were able to. There were 25 of us as individuals who wanted to jump in did. Each of us made our own handmade pasta and pizza which was fun. They did provide me with pasta pomodoro and cheese as a vegetarian option and did provide an option for another person who was a vegan. The cooking class itself was from about 12:30 to 4:30 with a short break to eat the pizza we prepared. We were offered wine and water through out the class and beer with the pizza. We ate our main lunch meal around 4:45pm 16:45 overlooking the beautiful Tuscan hills and left the estate around 5:30pm back to Florence. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Cathy Q
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My husband and two teens Boy, 13 yrs, girl 18 yrs did the Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse tour. The title does not do the experience justice. We started with a small group 11 people quick walking tour through Florence with our tour guide Molly an absolutely GREAT energetic, friendly, informative tour guide!, with stops to get cappuccino, and go through the market place where we picked up the fresh ingredients for the meal we would make. Then a short bus ride to the farmhouse where we met with the other half of the group and met Carmela, our chef and the Italian grandmother everyone wants. Even though she doesn't speak English, she is so expressive and Molly and Martina did a great job interpreting everything else for us. The language barrier was no barrier at all! Then we spent the rest of the afternoon learning to make the most delicious dishes and snacking along the way with plenty of water, wine and beer. We made bruschetta, pasta and sauce, pizza, a pork roast and potatoes, and finally gelato and tiramisu. All of it from scratch. Everything was amazing, but the pork roast was the absolutely best I've ever tasted. Carmela informed and entertained with song, everyone participated, and even my 13 yr old son had a great time and learned a lot. This ended up being my family's favorite experience of our entire two-week European vacation. Oh, and a word of advice - DON'T make any dinner reservations for that evening, because you will be absolutely stuffed from all the delicious food you ate throughout the day! The bruschetta and pizza serve as an early lunch, and the final foods are served around 4:00 or so, returning to Florence around 6:00.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was the highlight of my trip to Italy! A really fun day, full of food and wine, and really good value too. You start with a market tour, but our guide Molly also gave us a mini historical tour on the way which was a great bonus. This part was great, d a great way to see a more local side of the city. The class itself takes place in the most stunning setting of the Tuscan hills. Carmela the chef was absolutely fantastic and was so passionate about cooking that her lack of english skills didn't matter at all. We had a great group of people, 24 of us but that really wasn't too many, we all bonded really quickly and had great fun together. We learnt so much on the day and i've already used some of the recipes we learnt at home! The class is very relaxing, despite all the cooking that was happening, it was all very hands on and we didn't stop laughing all day. Throughout the day we made and ate loads from bruscetta to pizza, roast pork, pasta, ragu to tiramisu and gelato, this was accompanied by lots of wine and beer and we finished the day with a four course meal of the food we had cooked in a lovely outdoor dining room. I simply cannot recommend this tour highly enough, if you do one thing in Florence it should be this!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

did this with my girls age 12 and 15. We had a great time. The staff were professional and funny, but still kept the class authentic. We had 4 days in Florence and I would definatley recommend this class if you have a couple days and if you love cooking!!! Great memories.. Very excited to use the Truffle sauce/oil and salt I purchased.

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class in Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Can't say enough about this cooking class. Wife and I really enjoyed the whole experience from selecting the ingredients at the Central Market to preparing all the different courses under the watchful eye of Carmela, our cooking class chef. Molly, our tour guide was exceptional. She gave us a great walking tour of Florence on the way to the Central Market and did a great job translating Italian to English during Carmela's cooking instructions. All in all a great day and time well spent.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My wife and I went on the Walkabout Florence cooking class and had a great time. Two guides split the total group of 25 and took us on a walk through Florence stopping to get an espresso, pick up some meat and produce at the markets, and get to the bus stop. Our guide Molly was fun and engaging and we were grateful for her knowledge of the city and funny British accent.
The cooking class was a good mix of hands on and observation. The facility was nice and well set up for the class. We learned how to cook a variety of foods and sat down for a great dinner afterwards. The value of the class was very good. I couldn't eat another thing after pizza, bruschetta, pasta, beer, wine, gelato, tiramisu... I highly recommend this class.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My family and I were in Italy for about three weeks visiting Rome, Venice, Florence, Milan, and Sorrento. This cooking class in Florence was by far the highlight of our trip! Sandra, Martina, and Carmela could not have been nicer or more fun. The day was perfect starting with a nice walk through Florence with some food-related historical facts and of course an espresso. Then we hopped on a very nice bus and were driven up to the most picturesque location where we started cooking. Our hosts were so much fun and we laughed and ate and drank and laughed. We made bolognese sauce, bruschetta, pizza, pasta, pork, potatoes, gelato, and tiramisu. We got to know a lot of other great people from all over and like I said - we ate... A LOT! Everyone was so sweet and nice and honestly, the next trip I would do it all over again. Thanks to Sandra, Martina, Carmela, and their entire crew for some unforgettable memories. Giuseppe and Sally send their best!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our chefs were from Giovanni's Italian Cooking Class by Food and Wine Academy of Florence. Alain and Alessio were engaging which made the course even more fun. There were people of all ages fro children to retirees. Everyone seemed to enjoy themselves.

I was impressed to be able to create my own dough from scratch under the chef's guidance. It was interesting to see them make the gelato. I appreciated the hints they gave us for recreating both recipes at home.

We ate our own pizzas, tasted some others they created with truffle oil toppings which were also tasty, then finished with the chocolate gelato created earlier.

A nice touch at the end was a booklet with all the recipes plus a certificate to say we passed!

I throughly enjoyed this class and would recommend it to aspiring cooks of all ages. The children in my class seemed to particularly enjoy making their own pizzas.

Grazie Alain and Alessio

Doing what: Florence Cooking Class: Learn How to Make Gelato and Pizza

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I checked out a few classes before deciding on this one and picked it because of the glowing reviews. I am so glad I did because the reviews were so right the class was one of the highlights of our trip to Italy.
We had the best time with our guides Gloria and Molly and Chef Carmen. First, we met in the morning and Gloria took us on a walking tour of the markets while we shopped for the ingredients, all the while she shared little tidbits of interesting stories about the history of Florence and Tuscany. Then we bused to a nearby picturesque farmhouse where we spent the rest of the day having fun, cooking, laughing, drinking wine and totally enjoying ourselves. The cooking class was hands on, friendly, well paced, not intimidating, and the food was delicious. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this tour. It was a nice change of pace from visiting museums, ruins, and churches. I highly recommend taking this class we had a wonderful time and would do it again!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an excellent way to see parts of Florence you would not think of going to see. The cooking class at the Tuscan farm house was a wonderful experience. Everything we made was delicious. We can't wait to receive the recipes that we made that day.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing!!!!

We started off with a mini tour and history lesson on the food of Florence. Our tour guide, Antonella, was hilarious, engaging, warm and welcoming. Loved her!

After stopping by several markets to pick up groceries, we went onto the bus for our ride to the farm. Oh, the farm... Absolutely breathtaking! I wish I could take it back to New York with me. There is a modern kitchen and dining room covered in glass windows that overlooked the acres of beautiful green hills as far as the eye can see.

The chef/cook teaching the class was an enthusiastic, boisterous, and hilarious Italian lady who's husband used to own the farm. She decided to sell it to the tour company in exchange that she be allowed to work in the kitchen whenever she wanted. Good deal!

We made bruschetta, tiramisu, pizza, gelato, pasta, bolognese sauce, roasted pork and potatoes. Really hands on class where you have to roll your own pizza and pasta doughs and make your own tiramisu. Other times, it was relaxing, where you just watched several volunteers do all the chopping, cutting, and mixing. No worries about being bored though! There was plenty of red wine and beer flowing. If you're not a drinker, you could just watch the chef dance and sing happy Italian songs.

After you stuff your face with all the food, they send you off with a cookbook, apron and certificate. Then it's nap time on the bus...

Definitely do this if you're in Florence!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our morning guide through Florence Center was just perfect. Martina was very kind and had a great knowledge of the tour.
The cooking class was just perfect! Carmela is just A PERFECT ITALIAN! Her cooking class was fun, enjoyable and the group had tons of fun!!!!
A sure must have tour!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I purposely booked the cooking class on the day of our 10th wedding anniversary, and boy, what a celebration that was! Our tour guide, Antonella, was absolutely knowledgeable, sweet and super fun. As soon as we arrived at the farm house, the party really began. The staff was so nice and our chef, Carmella, was just awesome. We had so much fun cooking, eating and drinking not necessarily in that order. We met so many nice people from our group and made new friends hello Canada!. If you go to Florence, I highly recommend taking this cooking class with the company WalkaboutFlorence. They are simply the best. Love. Love.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My husband and I had an amazing day with this Walkabout Florence tour. Our day started with our guide Molly and what we thought would be a simple market tour turned out to be a much longer-than-expected walking tour through quite a bit of historical/old city center Florence. Molly's art background also helped in that we got so much historical information and context on the sights we were seeing - it really helped us enjoy Florence so much during the days we spent there afterward. The cooking class was fantastic - everyone had fun, and together both Molly and Lavinia really pepped up the experience. The day really far exceeded our original expectations.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Outstanding! A Must! Olivia did a excellent job and the morning walking tour was very helpful and entertaining. The cooking class was outstanding and fun...now that I am home, I can't wait to put on my own Italian Feast!
Don't leave Florence without this tour..

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Where to begin, this tour was one of the best days I had in Italy. The food the company all amazing.
I cant recommend this tour highly enough to people who enjoy a nice day out and of course love to cook.
Camela the traditional Italian cook even though she didn't speak English was so welcoming and lovely she helped everyone to make their dishes.
Our tour guide Lavinia was equally amazing - her knowledge of Florence and she was so bubbly and fun.
The food: You wont be eating dinner after this class is done so much food: Bruschetta,Home made pasta with ragu, a pork roast with potatoes, pizza then gelato and tiramusu for dessert all made by you for you.
If your going to do anything in Florence its this class such a fun day.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I booked this class for both me and my husband. I would give this a 5 star rating. The shopping trip, the explanations and the cooking class itself was not only informative but entertaining. Next time I'm in Florence i will definitely book another class.

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class in Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The cooking class was truly a, if not the, highlight of our trip to Florence. The tour exceeded every expectation not only well orchestrated but the staff gave a true sense of the hospitality, warmth and fun that is part of Italian cooking and way of life.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Can I give this a 10? Carmella is a fun and wonderful cook and the whole Walkabout Florence staff with our guide for the day Lavinia made the day great. Lavinia made the walk through town to pick up our groceries interesting with a mix of history and today. We needed that after all the museums and churches! We learned a lot and I am looking forward to seeing what they do with the gorgeous villa and if Carmella will teach multi-day classes some day. Oh, and thanks for sending all the recipes!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I have actually done this tour twice I loved it so much. The people who run it are amazing. The food is incredible and you truly get a sense of authentic tuscan cooking. The location of the class is absolutely breathtaking. I would do this tour a third, fourth and even a fifth time if I was in Florence for longer. It is very hands on and truly informative. You learn a ton but enjoy every single second of it. Definitely one of the best tours I have ever done in Florence! HIGHLY HIGHLY RECOMMEND

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

There are no words to summarize the great experience of cooking class. That day designed by professional and was the highlight of our trip to Tuscany. Lavinia our guide was amazing! Carmela was so nice, funny, singing and it was her birthday! We were a group of 24 people from around the world, the morning tour was very interesting going in Florence on the way to the market while Lavinia explains with lots of patient about everything. The farm is 10 minutes from Florence and there is a bus that wait for you at the end of the market and take the group. The farm is amazing, best equipment, VERY CLEAN and we used best materials. The Pizza oven and team that made the Pizza with us was very professional. Bottom line if you go to Tuscany don't miss that cooking class. All was perfect !!!!!!!!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

My husband and I had a wonderful time in this tour/class. The teacher Carmela is a very enthusiastic Italian homemaker and the guide Lavinia is a friendly girl.
The tour started with an amazing walk in Florence to buy some ingredients that we needed. We went to the bakery and to the Local Market. During the walk, Lavinia gave us a lot of history information about Florence/Tuscan and advices on how to buy fresh ingredients.
The Tuscan Farmhouse has a huge and amazing kitchen where we had the cooking class. We learnt how to make bruschetta, pasta, pizza, desserts, among others. Of course, we had some typical wine Chianti while we were cooking.
We had an excellent time there and we really recommend this cooking class!!!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A fantastic day and definitely recommended. The cooking class is quite simple but really fun and the food is amazing. Also loved the walk through Florence and the little tips from our guide Olivia.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message