Italians are known for their food, and each province has its specialties. But Florence is widely hailed for its Tuscan-style cuisine, seemingly sent from Heaven itself. And while eating out is a singular pleasure, it can get expensive and leave ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 203 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

jrluciano2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I would recommend this cooking class in Florence. The Tuscan meal is really different, not the usual pasta and dessert. The chef is very talented and experienced with groups, kitchen was ultra clean and everything was ready for us to begin right away. The Tuscan hunters stew was excellent as was the vegetable millefoglia and spinach raviolis plus choc mousse. Enjoyed meeting and working with other visitors and relaxing afterwards with the group to savor our dinner.

Doing what: Tuscan Cooking Class and Dinner in Florence

Rebecca C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a fantastic tour and excellent cooking class. We first had a guided walk through Florence from the meeting point to the market with stops enroute for specific food purchases, then a short drive to the property. Georgeous location and setting. Excellent facilities. Carmela the cook/teacher provided very clear instructions - via our guide's translations - and was very knowledgeable and entertaining. And the food 'we' made was excellent! Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

dnebuloni

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Different evening in Florence with this cooking class: a couple of hours to cook (from starter to dessert) and then relaxing time to taste all the plates! The chef was fun and good - we prepare even a gluten free plate (gnocchi) and everything was tasting amazing. The kitchen was clean and all tools are available - we also had a small recipe book about what we cooked during the night. Totally recommended if you want to have a special and fun dinner in Florence!

Doing what: Tuscan Cooking Class and Dinner in Florence

Andrea P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This experience was FANTASTIC - the highlight of my trip!! My guided Lavinia, was extremely friendly, personable and knowledgeable and I very much enjoyed learning about the history of Florence and it's food. It's a genuinely Italian experience!! The estate is stunning and the chef is a riot. I love to cook and this was by far the best cooking class I've taken. I highly highly recommend this tour. Bring your appetites!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Paden H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazing cooking class! Best day we had in Florence. The day was perfectly planned. Our tour guides Valeria and Julian were awesome. Valeria knew a ton about the wine industry and was able to provide rich history and cool facts in her early morning market tour. We learned a lot. Julian looked the cooking process and was helpful in aiding us in the process throughout the day. I was honestly pleasantly surprised that they were able to get through all the recipes as promised. It was a lot, but with many glasses of wine and tasting throughout the day had a very great flow and you never felt rushed or pressured. 5 star experience. I would do it again in a heart beat!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Anne Marie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My friend Fleur and I thoroughly enjoyed our class from start to finish! The meeting location was very easy to find with your directions and once we arrived, Gloria, our guide, greeted up and we started our tour with the rest of our group. Gloria took us to the market to get the local ingredients for our cooking class, all the while filling us in on the history of Florence. We stopped for coffee along the way and then we were off the meet our bus which took us up to the hills to meet Chef Carmel. She was delightful and kept the group entertained! Gloria was great at translating and even helped with the food preparation. Everyone in our group were very involved and jumped right in to prepare the meal - pasta from scratch, bruschetta, pizza, gelato, tiramisu, pork and roasted potatoes! And of course there was the wine! A beautiful table was set and we feasted the foods of our labour, Upon receiving our diplomas, we boarded our bus and headed back down the mountain. This class with Gloria as our guide, definitely rated 5 star!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Brittany D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My husband was initially resistant to attending the cooking class but we are so glad I convinced him. This tour was the highlight of our trip to florence. Julian was an amazing tour guide. Carmella was an incredible cook and we learned so much! Not only did we learn a lot about cooking, but we also learned a lot about Florence. The farmhouse was absolutely beautiful. Would highly recommended this to anyone!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Jean R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This cooking class was recommended by a good friend who raved about it after she went with her two grown sons. When my daughters and sister planned our trip to Florence I knew this was a must do!
I never imagined that it would be one of the most amazing experiences ever! Our total group consisted of about a dozen people from all over the USA. We met our guide Olivia for a walking tour of Florence and a shopping trip to the market to pick up fresh ingredients for our cooking class. Olivia was friendly and informative and we learned many interesting facts about Florentine history and traditions. We stopped in an exquisite bakery where, with Olivia's recommendation, I discovered my new favorite coffee drink! Machiatone is espresso with a little bit of cream and I am still going through withdrawal since I haven't found a good one back home. Anyway, we then took a short van ride to a gorgeous Tuscan farmhouse where we met Carmela, the chef, and her daughter. Carmela was obviously an amazing cook, but her sense of humor needed no translation. We broke into Italian song without notice while preparing our meal. She taught us, hands on, to make everything from bruschetta to fresh pasta to roast pork and tiramisu and gelato! We even learned how to make pizza dough and create personal pizzas in the outdoor brick oven with Carmela's nice and her assistant. They were adorable and very amusing. Finally we sat down in a beautiful dining room with an incredible view and enjoyed local wines along with the delicious foods we prepared. This was a perfect day and I would recommend this tour to everyone and already have to anyone who will listen! The experience was amazing, the people were unforgettable and the food was superb!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Lyndsay F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was such a fun day, and I highly recommend this small group cooking class! Alex and Daniel make learning about Italian, and specifically Tuscan, cooking fun and exciting. After an educational tour through the central market, we went back to their cooking school to learn how to make different pastas, multiple sauces, and the best tiramisu I have ever had. The wine was fantastic as well! Also, I'm a vegetarian, and they were prepared for that and flexible when they learned another participant was pregnant and couldn't have raw eggs. I will definitely take another class if I'm back in Florence again. Thanks guys!!!!

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class in Florence

Kathleen Joy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Highlight of the trip so far!! We were just expecting a trip to the market and a fun cooking class, but was also a great tour of Florence. Eliza was amazing!! She was funny, engaging and helpful. Carmela was such as great teacher (and singer!). Fantastic tour, fun class, lovely setting! Must go!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

aarti.mistry10

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Absolutely loved this experience!! Amazing chefs and had some really great company. For someone who is traveling solo, I had a great time getting to know others who were part of the cooking class and we all had fun learning how to make pizza, although some of us really struggled! Looks easy but practice makes perfect!! Highly recommend this to anyone who simply wants few hours of the most memorable experience in Florence.

Doing what: Florence Cooking Class: Learn How to Make Gelato and Pizza

Amie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

My friend and I spent a week in Florence together and this class was definitely a highlight of our trip. Antonella, the guide was amazing. Very knowledgeable, friendly and sweet, she added a lot to the day. First we went on a walking tour of the food market and some shops along the way to buy everything we would be cooking. Then after a short ride to a beautiful farmhouse in Tuscany, we cooked a fantastic meal under the directions of Carmela. Although she spoke no English, with Antonella's translations and Carmela's enthusiasm, the day was fantastic. Lots of wine, fun people and a gorgeous backdrop, the day was very memorable. Would highly recommend to anyone that would like to experience something a little different while in Florence.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Katelyn D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We did a 2 week trip to Italy Monterosso, Venice, Florence, and Rome and besides all of the wonderful sites we got to see, this cooking class was by far one of the best memories we will have. You start the tour off by walking through Florence stopping historic landmarks i.e., Michelangelo's house he grew up in!, one of the oldest bakeries in the city, the downtown market, and so much more.

Next you go off to a farmhouse outside of the city where the views are unimaginable. There you learn how to make a few dishes from the homemaker who lives on the property. This cooking class was so much fun and we spent the entire time laughing and chatting with the others in the group. The food was delicious!!

If we ever make our way back to Florence, we will definately sign up for this cooking class again!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Sanjay G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This experience was way more than I expected. Our guide Antonella was so wonderful, friendly and so knowledgeable. She shared so many little details of the city and the history of Florence. When we got to the farmhouse, Carmella, the chef was a perfectly Italian. We made all of the dishes listed and cooked, drank and ate for hours. I am an avid cook at home, but still learned a new technique during this class. My husband was the only guy there and he is not much of a cook, but he really enjoyed all of it. I would highly recommend this tour, although its a disgrace to call it that. This was an amazing experience and will cherish it for a very long time.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Richard B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This trip can only be classed as a sensational day out. What fun we had. Food, drink and laughter in abundance. Martina, our guide could not have made the day more interesting, fun and informative.

This is one of the best trips we have been on and there were no hidden extra costs. We shopped for our own ingredients whilst Martina explained what each vegetable and fruit was used for. We took morning coffee and a bun with the locals in a historical café in the centre of Florence. A private luxury bus took us the scenic route to a farmhouse high in the hills to have our 'Cookery Lesson' which was unbelievably good fun. All the staff were very attentive to our group. We all made our own fresh pasta and the making of the Pizza and the wine flowing made this day out just the best part of our holiday in Florence.

Martina was the perfect hostess, the chef showed us how to make Ragu and fresh pasta, and the very experienced young lady that taught us to make a Pizza all made the day an incredible experience. If you are going to Florence and only have time to go on one trip I would recommend you book this one.

Richard

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Timothy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our cooking class and our Chef Francisco was truly amazing, his knowledge and humor made this very fun and a highlight of our time in Florence that we are still talking about, the ingredients where very fresh and of an excellent quality and his cooking expertise showed his deep knowledge and the art involved in cooking along with his enthusiasm and professionalism was very much appreciated and please pass along mine and my Girlfriend thanks for an excellent experience

Doing what: Tuscan Cooking Class and Dinner in Florence

Susie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Brilliant fun and a superb value! Our guide, Alisa, took us on a short walk before taking us to the market to get the fresh ingredients for our class. She is very knowledgeable and put us at our ease immediately. Carmella, our chef, was a hoot! She likes to sing as she cooks, and we were all singing by the end of the day. Carmella made cooking fun and the end result was fantastico! Grazie mille, Walkabout Florence!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Melanie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was the BEST decision we have made on our trip to Italy. We took a day trip from Rome to do this class and it did not disappoint. Elize and Olivia were amazing leaders! They were very knowledgeable about Florence, food and coffee. At the Farmhouse, we met Carmela and her team, who were enthusiastic and passionate about italian cooking. They seemed eager to teach and everyone was eager to learn. We made all the Italian dishes we could have possibly wanted to make in one day and it was nice getting to know the group. The beer and wine went down a treat too. The cherry on top was the magnificent view from the farmhouse. A beautiful backdrop for the class.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

italytravels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Dec 1, 2015
Taste of Italy: Best Cooking Class Ever!!!!
I found this cooking class on viator.com along with several others and this one stood out to be one of the top rated. I have taken several cooking classes and this one was by far the best!!!!! The guides Gloria and Julian did an amazing job sharing history of the city during the market/city tour and also did a great job translating for the chef. During the course we learned to make several Italian dishes pork roast, gelato, bruschetta, pizza, pasta, and tirimisu which all turned out amazing. The class was very hands on and extremely entertaining. You are sure to have a lot of fun throughout the tour! The Italian chef can't remember her name was VERY vibrant, enthusiastic, and exhibited a true passion for cooking. Although the chef did not speak much English the guides did a great job translating everything. If you are ever in Florence do not pass up on the opportunity of taking this class. YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED! I would suggest taking any tour this local tour operator offers because it will be worth it. I am so glad I chose this tour. What a wonderful experience

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Douglas G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour was excellent and one of the highlights of our 2 week trip to Italy. What an incredible value. Basically a full day tour that includes a walking tour of Florence, a cooking class in the hills surrounding Florence where you learn to make bruschetta, pizza, pasta, ragu sauce, tiramisu and gelato. Then you get to eat all of it! The class is hands on and very fun whether you are a cook or not. The location of the cooking class had great views and was setup specifically for cooking and eating. Olivia and Carmela were fantastic.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This is the most comprehensive cooking class you can take. Shopping for ingredients in the streets of Florence was a perfect way to start the morning. The kitchen/dining building in the hillside was also incredibly beautiful. We scheduled this cooking class in the offseason, and had a rather private experience 6 people vs. the usual 20-30, allowing all of us to be very involved in the cooking. Gloria, the guide, was terrific at answering questions about Italian life. Jason, the chef, was terrific at answering questions about different cooking techniques, even those we weren't doing on this day. I highly recommend this event.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Molly D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Just wow! This cooking class was a dream come true. Not only did we learn to cook some amazing Tuscan food, but we learned so much about Tuscany/Florence in the process! All of my friends are jealous and cannot wait for me to replicate these dishes for them. It was the highlight of my trip and it'll be a story for me to tell for many years to come. Oh and of course we had the most amazing guide Sandra! She was fantastic. Thank you Sandra!!!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Rebecca B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I think this was simply one of the best tours I've ever done! We did a food tour through historical Florence and then went to the place where we did the cooking class which was in a stunning setting. We learnt so much, ate so much and know this was an experience we will not forget.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

racquelmateo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had the BEST time with this tour. Valeria was an amazing host, provided key information we needed to shop and eat in Florence as well as great historical nuggets as we walked by buildings and attractions. Once we gathered our ingredients for our cooking class from local vendors, we headed out to the Tuscan farmhouse which has the most breathtaking view of Florence. The kitchen itself was quaint, cozy and modern. Chef Isak took us through 4 delicious recipes while the group we were with laughed, drank wine and chatted about our own individual stories from all parts of the world. I could not have chosen a better tour for Florence and highly recommend Walkabout and their hospitable staff. Thank you to Valeria and Isak for an unforgettable evening!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Susan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was my second cooking class with this tour operator. The staff was wonderful to work with and the chefs fun, informative, and helpful. I will definitely sign up again if I have the chance to be in Florence again.

Doing what: Florence Cooking Class: Learn How to Make Gelato and Pizza

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message