So much can be said for Rome and the surrounding south of Italy. But those who would sing the praises of its cobbled alleyways, ancient aqueducts, and bustling air of Italian joie-de-vivre, can only help but fall in love with its sister, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 147 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

M Carter B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The day we took our tour it was rainy so we did not get to take the boat from Manarola to Vernazza. However the tour was still great and conveniently the quickest way from Firenze to Cinque Terre. Overall it is the best way to see CT from Florence.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Small Group Day Trip from Florence

Misti C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The highlight of this tour for me was seeing the church where St. Francis ministered in the 1200's. That said, there were a lot of other beautiful sights along the way. It's important to know that both of the towns visited are hilltop towns, so not only is there a lot of walking- it's uphill. Was fine for us, but may not be ideal for someone elderly or with any sort of mobility issues. Our tour guide was nice, and the one who showed us around Assisi was knowledgeable. We enjoyed the tour overall - maybe would have liked to have more time in Cortona. It was raining the whole day, so that was a bit of a downer, but that wasn't the tour or guide's fault of course. This is a good and fairly inexpensive tour that will take you places from Florence you may not have had the opportunity to access.

Doing what: Assisi and Cortona Day Trip from Florence

Mark F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The best of all of our tours during our 12 days in Italy, this is not to be missed! Gabriele was fantastic. He adjusted each of the bikes, and showed us how to use them. The electric bikes take a bit a getting used to, but are amazing and take all the work out of going up hills. We started at the bike shop in old-town Florence and made our way up to an olive farm in the hills near Friesole called Fattoria di Maiano. Gabriele was careful to take routes away from cars where possible and keep tabs on us. He also explained interesting sites and landmarks along the way. Don't try to be macho, wear a helmet, trust me! From there, we biked over to Piazza Michelangelo for some incredible views of Florence, and a bit further up to the Benedictine Monastery of San Miniato al Monte, where we took in the amazing church and heard the Gregorian chants for Vespers. The monks opened the shop afterwards and we bought some snacks. Gabriele was funny and entertaining, but creative and persistent with inevitable equipment issues, and took us to a local wine bar afterwards.

Doing what: Florence Electric Bike Tour with Farm and Wine Bar Visit

Adele G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour I think was extra special as we were the only 2 people on it at this time of day early start so we had our own private guide an tour - saw everything relevant in Florence to the Dan Brown book and Guila our guide was fantastic and very knowledgeable she made the tour. Now home and reading the book again makes it even more vivid and brings the book to life

Doing what: Dan Brown 'Inferno' Tour of Florence

Ian Alexander P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What was the guide's name? Veronica? Allisandra?
I only know she was excellent - providing a highlighted sense of the Uffizi while bringing the Corridor to life. I wasn't yet in tourist mode so didn't think until it was over that she should have been tipped. Sometimes we're a slave to our culture... If you're reading this, I apologise.

I'd read my Vasari before the holiday, but it's not enough: the Uffizi is like the Louvre - if you like art you could spend months in there. When I return to Florence I'm certainly going to look for a longer, specific tour.

Paradoxically, the combined tour is too much and not enough. I felt 'art-bombed' even as we were moved steadily on past artworks that I could almost name, towards something equally familiar.
My only regret is that by taking the tour, I didn't get a chance to visit the Uffizi Bookshop...and the rooftop cafe. If the tour allowed a gelato-break, I would certainly demand 6 stars!

I've heard that the Corridor might be changing - at least the content might as it's not properly climate controlled. As the paintings are a unique collection of artists portraits, I fully recommend a visit before it's turned into a 'sculpture tour'.
Mind you, it's not as though Florentine Sculpture is actually bad. Kind of jaw dropping actually.

Expensive? Yes. And worth every Euro.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

pammyd

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We went on this tour on our last day in Florence and we all agreed that it was the best way to end our trip. It was a beautiful day for seeing this amazing collection of coastal villages. A little disappointed that the boat tour was cancelled because of the choppy seas but all in all a wonderful experience.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Day Trip with Transport from Florence

Alice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide was very good. The tour took us all over Florence. It gave us a good start for the rest of the day on our own.

Doing what: Renaissance Florence Walking Tour

Stacy M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a fantastic day with Gabriel touring around Florence. We particularly loved riding up in the hills. Bikes are super easy to operate and Gabriel is a delightful guide.

Doing what: Florence Electric Bike Tour with Farm and Wine Bar Visit

Hung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The local tour company selected by Viator is top notch the morning hotel pick-up was right on time, and the day trip to Florence from Rome was excellent, especially the tour guide in Florence was well prepared and knowledgeable, as matter of face, she was from Florence with ultimate knowledge about the history of Florence.

Doing what: Florence Day Trip from Rome

COLIN S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Well worth doing the first day in Florence. We stayed on the bus first for the complete tour of one hour, then went round again in order to get off and on the bus at the places we wished to see more. It was excellent.

Doing what: Florence City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Patricia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The city sightseeing hop-on hop-off tour was excellent. The stops are convenient and the bus was clean and audio working well. English-speaking attendants and polite and courteous. No complaints! Priced fairly and an excellent way to get about the city of Florence. A three day ticket isn't much more than a one or two day ticket and it is well worth it as a means of transportation around the city.

Doing what: Florence City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Paul J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic experience, we almost decided not to do this tour due to the time commitment as we were only in Florence for 3 nights. Cinque Terre was one of the highlights of our Italy holiday. Tour guide was knowledgeable and genuinely interested in each of his guests. Breathtaking scenery, would absolutely recommend thus one.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Small Group Day Trip from Florence

Gina S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Exceptional tour of the Cinque Terre. We only had one day to see the area and this tour was a perfect blend of convenience, information, and relaxation. Adrianno speling? was our guide from Florence and he was fabulous!!!! He had everything timed out and met us when/where he said he would be every time. This tour exceeded our expectations, which were high to begin with.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Small Group Day Trip from Florence

Joshua L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very nice day trip to see some of the more influential areas of Florence. The tour guide was very passionate about the city and was a great resource. We got to see the statue of David, then we saw some of the town squares. Lunch was very good with several portions of pasta, then a meat and potato dish, and finally dessert. Finally we had about an hour on our own to shop or frequent one of the town pubs. Very good experience.

Doing what: Florence Day Trip from Rome

nancy s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A delightful way to get out of the busyness of Florence and see a lot in a day! The tour of Siena was great, although it would have been nice to go inside the duomo. San Gimignano is a great little town. The dinner was absolutely wonderful. And our tour guide, Elizieo, was very kind and full of interesting information about the area, history, etc.

Doing what: Tuscany Small-Group Day Trip with Chianti Dinner: Siena and San Gimignano

Chris M Gilmore G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I am so happy that we decided to book this trip. We only had a few more days in Florence and were pretty exhausted from all the activities of the past three weeks, so had sort of decided that we had had enough. So glad that we changed our minds. The villages were beautiful and delightful to visit. So much fun to travel by bus, boat and train. The tour guide was great - didn't talk us to death! We had lots of time on our own in each village to explore and go where we chose. I highly recommend this adventure.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Day Trip with Transport from Florence

Leslie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Amazing bike tour! My friends and I did this tour the first day we were in Florence. A perfect way to see several Florence sights in a small amount of time, gain knowledge about the history of the city and get a great idea of where you may want to spend more time. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Florence Bike Tour

Judy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was a drizzly day and while waiting to meet our guide we were secretly hoping it would get canceled. But when Alessi got us out on the bikes, it was love at first pedal, as it made going up the hills of Florence a breeze . She was so nice and gave us tons of information along the way. This truly became one of our favorite activities while in Italy. We would not hesitate to do this again or suggest it to others. Electric bike was nicer than a Vespa tour in that it was slow enough to enjoy the sights and quiet so we could hear our host, yet effortless pedaling. LOVE LOVE LOVE! Thanks again Alessi!

Doing what: Florence Electric Bike Tour with Farm and Wine Bar Visit

TammyJW

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The inferno tour was brilliant! The book was the reason I wanted to go to Florence and being able to go to the places from the book was fantastic. Our tour guide Mario was amazing, he really brought the story to life as well as teaching us some of the history of Florence. We done the full day tour, which just wasn't long enough, I did't want it to end. The afternoon is also an art tour, me and my partner are not art people but we found it very interesting and learnt a lot. We weren't able to use our ticket to go into the dome, bell tower or the crypt as we didn't have time. The ticket lasts for 24 hours but the next day we went to Rome so we couldn't use them then either. If we go back to Florence and I really hope we do, I would happily go on this tour again and would make sure that we had no other plans so we could do everything.

Doing what: Dan Brown 'Inferno' Tour of Florence

Carla R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Had a wonderful day an took some beautiful pictures. The tour was very organized and our guide was excellent. It was summer and hot so was nice to ride in the large air conditionined Ford van to and from Florence and in between most of the towns when needed. The boat ride was cancelled due to rough waters but the trains and van got us where we needed to go as back up. Don't miss Cinque Terra!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Small Group Day Trip from Florence

Brisgirl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was one of the best tours I have ever done. Totally enjoyed our morning. The bikes are in great condition and so easy and fun to operate. Alessi was so helpful, sharing info about Florence and the places we visited. We have visited Florence before but we saw so much more and learnt so much more taking the bikes. This would be a great tour to do first day into Florence.

Doing what: Florence Electric Bike Tour with Farm and Wine Bar Visit

Judith R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was an excellent choice for us because we weren't in Florence very long and by riding the hop on and off bus and taking the tour of the city was just perfect. We saw things and places that we wouldn't have seen had we not taken the tour and also by taking the tour we was places that we wanted to see in greater depth later in the day. I would recommend this tour without reservation.

Doing what: Florence City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

cobra60 Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

If you have time in Florence then this tour should be on your bucket list. Fortunately for us we had an amazing sunny day and this made the day so enjoyable with the sun hitting the deep blue ocean just made us want to stay longer. If you do consider going to Cinque Terre look at staying over night as it is a 21/2 hour drive each way from Florence so to get the full experience stay overnight. Our tour guide Paulo was very helpful and knowledgable. Mark and Anne Sydney Australia

Doing what: Cinque Terre Small Group Day Trip from Florence

Michael P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

As a very brief exposure to the beauty of the Cinque Terre, this day trip was well managed and our guide did a very good job of herding her 54 'cats' from bus to train station to boat to 4 of the 5 villages and back again to Florence. Not enough time in each village, of course, and the villages were overrun with tourists including us but that couldn't be avoided. Next time, we'll take a week to tour the villages. The experience itself was very worthwhile - excellent day trip.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Day Trip with Transport from Florence

Linda

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We took this tour on our day of arrival into Florence in the mid afternoon. Since we were only in Florence for that day it was a great way to relax and see the sites.

Doing what: Florence City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message