No matter where you go in Italy, you're sure to encounter fabulous meals about which you may literally write home. Florence, Tuscany’s historic capital, however, offers its own creative ways to please your taste buds that will have you talking for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 731 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great Tour. Very fun and enjoyable. A great experience!

Doing what: Florence Cooking Class: Learn How to Make Gelato and Pizza

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Absolutely lovely experience. Beware of the concept of the center of the city-it is the center of Florence, but not where you expect it to be. Allow yourself 15-20 minutes by cab to arrive at their home. Food was magnificent and she was such a nice hostess and she was experiencing tremendous back pain. A must whilst in Florence.

Doing what: Experience Florence: Tuscan Dinner in a Florentine Home

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was the best part of our trip. A fantastic day. From the visit to the cafe (included with treats) to the trip through the market to picking the tomatoes in Tuscany to cooking pork, bolanese sauce, potatoes, bruchetta, pasta, pizza, tiramisu, and gelato, everything was perfect! The estate was beautiful and the food perfect. We even left with our aprons and a brand new cookbook I totally recommend! Wish I could go again!!!!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Words cannot express how amazing this tour was. This was a full 10 hour tour starting at the train station in Florence, and going all around the Tuscan countryside of Chianti. The wine was amazing, the food was spectacular, the scenery and views were breathtaking, and our tour guide, Martina, was fantastic. The tour ended up being just myself and my wife, so we really received the VIP treatment I felt.
Without giving away any spoilers or surprises, the tour consists of 2 wineries (on opposite ends of the success spectrum). One is a very large-scale operation, with centuries of wine-making under their belt. The other is a very small winery that sometimes struggles to break even. Seeing both of these wineries was amazing because the comparison between how both of them do business really helps you understand the wine alot more. The destination that you go to for lunch is an experience in an of itself. You will NEVER forget your lunch. In addition to those 3 stops, there is an extra stop in a small town in the middle of no where, that you get to explore on your own - simply amazing.
Like I said in the beginning, this was the absolute best day of our entire 16 days in Europe. We learned so much, experienced a side of Italy we were not expecting to, saw some amazing views, ate delicious foods, drank spectacular wines, and had an absolute blast with Martina. I cannot recommend this tour enough!!!!

Doing what: Taste of Chianti: Tuscan Cheese, Wine and Lunch from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I highly recommend it. I was attending on my own and was a little apprehensive that I was not going to have a cooking partner etc but that was not the case. The class was in English, the visit to the market was great. We each made 2 types of pasta which we are later, great fun. Do it!

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class in Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very friendly and knowledgeable host by the name of Martina who took us to the wineries. We loved the wine, and even sent some home (hope it gets here soon!). We were lucky to have only four of us on the tour (my family!)

Doing what: Small-Group Tuscany Wine-Tasting Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour! Mara and Carmela were the perfect hosts for this fun day in Florence. Eating, drinking, cooking, and meeting interesting people all while enjoying the awesome view from the hilltop farm. It was a perfect day, we highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Tour was awesome, Stephano was very knowledgeable on the history of the area and wine pairings. The family at the farm were so friendly and accommodating -- dinner was fabulous, the nighttime tour of Firenze was a bonus -- it was a fun experience!!

Doing what: Wine and Dine in the Tuscan Countryside Including a Night Tour of Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

WOW, WOW, WOW! This tour was awesome!!! Such a great day with tour guide Martina, Chef Carmela and Pizza Cook Arla. The whole experience was from start to finish was fantastic...from the local market tour in the morning to the picking of fresh ingredients in the garden to the cooking lessons with Carmela and the hands on cooking session in making a complete meal. The breath taking view of Tuscany was just incredible as we sat to eat the lunch that we just prepared while we enjoyed a glass of wine with our meal. Martina (our guide) was so knowledgeable in Tuscan history and shared many stories and facts with us throughout the day. As the day unfolded Martina and Carmela soon became our friends (not just our hostesses for the day) and saying goodbye at the end of the day was as if we were saying goodbye to family.

We strongly recommend this tour to everyone and we look forward to doing this tour again on our next trip to Italy.

From Bruno and Laura Pitocco.
Mississauga, Ontario, CANADA

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

What a fantastic day - definitely the highlight of our holiday! We first had a little tour of Florence and learnt some food related history (this wasn't expected so was an extra treat). We had coffee in a lovely bar, wine in a fantastic little shop (which I will definitely be visiting again) and perused the huge indoor market. And this was all before the cooking class! The Farmhouse was just outside of the centre of Florence (not far at all) and was beautiful. We harvested our own vegetables, ate figs straight from the tree, then commenced the cooking class with a lovely Italian woman, Carmela. The food was fantastic (bring a large appetite) and well spread throughout the day. We made our own pasta from scratch (without a pasta machine), and got to have a go with the wood fire oven. To top it all off we sat down outside for the remaining courses overlooking the beautiful Tuscan countryside. It was such a fun day - I'd recommend it to anyone who loves to cook, or eat! I certainly felt like I took home a little piece of Italy (along with a book, apron and certificate).

Thank you Mara and Carmela for a fantastic day :) !!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was my fifth cooking class in Florence and undoubtedly the best I have done so far. Unlike many of the other courses offered in Florence, this class takes you around the centre of Florence, allowing you to make a connection between the city, it's culture and food. Lavi was a great tour leader, as she was so informative and passionate about tuscan cuisine. We had coffee in a local florentine bar, ate cheese tastings at centrale mercato, and drank wine before we took a private transfer to the tuscan farmhouse where we were welcomed by our italian chef, Carmella. She was a lovely lady who had so much energy and was full of laughter. the class was very hands on, I was so happy that we were able to do everything, as in my past classes, you usually are only able to do half the work and the chefs complete the final production. we made a delcious five course meal of bruschetta, homemade pizza, taglietelle alla ragu, roast pork with rosemary potatoes, tiramisu and gelato. We were able to enjoy this meal while overlooking carmella's garden. I cannot fault anything about this tour, except that they don't offer another one! If you only have the opportunity to do one cooking class in your stay in florence, I recommend this one. This tour is run by some very passionate and kind people who love what they do, it makes you wish that every tour you went on was like this.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was the highlight of my entire trip to Europe!
We started with an educational walk through down town Florence and then to the market to buy a few ingredients for the day. We got to do many taste tests!
Then we hopped into Taxi's and made our way to a BEAUTIFUL farm where our chef was waiting for us. We got to pick our tomatoes and herbs fresh from her garden!
Our Chef didn't speak any English but our guide would translate. Everything was so hands on and you definitely walk away from the day with the skills you will need to be able to make all of these dishes at home by yourself.
We then were served the meal we had just created by our lovely hosts.
There was plenty of wine, beer and cheese to munch on during the entire day.
It was an experience I will never forget, and one of the best meals I have ever eaten!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I would HIGHLY recommend this experience! Davide was great! I learned a lot about wine, olive oil, and balsamic in the tasting portion and the gelato and pizza cooking class was very enjoyable. Even though the class was full, we still had a lot of personal attention and overall it was a memorable experience I would encourage others to pursue. Oh, and it's great for all ages! We had kids as young as 5 in our cooking class!

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Wine and Olive Oil Tasting Plus Gelato and Pizza Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

An Excellent trip to a lovely city, a charming young lady vintner for our wine tasting who joined in the humour that abounded in our small group trip: Ciao Bella

Doing what: Tuscany Small-Group Day Trip with Chianti Dinner: Siena and San Gimignano

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a small tour, only 5 of us and absolutely incredible! Matteo was our guide and he was very informative, and welcoming. Beautiful country up in Tuscany, great wine and lunch and we had a terrific time! A must do!

Doing what: Small-Group Tuscany Wine-Tasting Tour from Florence

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message