No matter where you go in Italy, you're sure to encounter fabulous meals about which you may literally write home. Florence, Tuscany’s historic capital, however, offers its own creative ways to please your taste buds that will have you talking for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2259 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

bohannont

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Out of our 17 day trip to Italy, this was definitely a highlight! The hosts from the tour company made everyone feel comfortable. Beautiful location of the farmhouse cooking class. Loved Carmela, the chef. So energetic and fun! We enjoyed it so much, we signed up for the Wine and Dine with them the following evening. Everyone was top notch!!!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Brenda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This trip was a wonderful highlight of our italy vacation Our tour guide, Francesco was terrific. He was so knowledgable about the topic of wine, olive oil and the Tuscan region and was extremely invested in making sure we had a wonderful time. I would recommend this tour and especially our tour guide. He took a personal interest in every person on the tour, getting to know us by name, where we were from and what we were interested in learning about. He truly made the tour as wonderful as it was

Doing what: Taste of Chianti: Tuscan Cheese, Wine and Lunch from Florence

Sonia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Sandra, Olivia, Carmella and all of the staff were friendly, hospitable, fun and truly appear to love their work. Oh, yes, the food and vino were delicious and plentiful, as well!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Naylr04

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Elisa and Lavania were absolutely a delight. They were patient,informative, spoke English well and most of all - they had a great sense of humor to keep us smiling all day long.
Isaac stepped in for Carmela as the Chef for the day and provided great guidance and a terrific meal. The day before we were on another tour visiting wineries with a different company than WalkAbout and the guide was horrible. Would book Walk About Florence every time from now on.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

D.bmitchell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Super trip. Guides Alisa and Lavinia were superb, informative and helpful. Chef Isaac was warm and delightful. Trip starts with about a 90 minute walk from office through a couple of historical stops, vegetable market, bakery, espresso break and on to Mercato Centrale to pick up some cheese and meat. From there a bus ride to the hills overlooking Florence. In the modern kitchen we pitched in to make Ragusa sauce, then bruschetta. Made pizza dough, fashioned pizzas, made pasta, gelato and tiramisu. Ate pizza then at end of day enjoyed the meal of pasta with rage, roast pork and the desserts. Wine available all along. Food excellent and more than enough! Unforgettable. Need to be able to do the walking.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

kbmc525

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Tour guides were awesome - absolutely enhanced the day. Would definitely do this again.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Alison B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My husband and I did this tour after a friend suggest we do so on our trip to Florence. We are so happy we heeded her suggestion. This tour was provided by a local tour company....We had so much fun and are eager to make the food for family and friends at home we even made bruscetta two nights after our experience while still on vacation. Our guide, Lavenia, was TERRIFFIC and the historical lessons she provided throughout our tour of the city while picking up ingredients made this trip even better. Would recommend to anyone looking to do something authentic with a hint of history in it.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Blanca United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour in the Tuscan countryside. Our guide was very nice and knowledgeable, which really helped to us having a great time. Very nice food and wine too, and great being able to visit the wineries. Would really recommend this tour!

Doing what: Taste of Chianti: Tuscan Cheese, Wine and Lunch from Florence

Anna C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Clara was very welcoming! I highly enjoyed making gnocchi and risotto from scratch.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

lisa.benefiel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour, the class, the location, the chef, our tour guide Gloria..... all amazing!!!
Highly recommend this to anyone visiting Florence. It will not disappoint.
Only thing to mention to Viator is that we never received the recipes that we were promised would be emailed to us. Can you please send?

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Richard S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My wife and I really loved this cooking class. I would certainly recommend it to anyone who has the time.

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class in Florence

Alexa S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was an amazing experience that I keep raving to everyone about! Took a 19 day trip to Italy, and did this class on our second day. Started off with Olivia our guide, taking us throughout Florence by foot, showing us how to shop for produce, meats, cheese, and other local specialties at small local shops, and the HUGE Mercato Centrale. Throughout the tour she gave us plenty of interesting and useful information about Florence, Italy, and even tips like how to order coffee like a local which was appreciated and useful for the rest of our trip. After shopping, we took the bus up to the hills of Florence to a hillside farmhouse villa that is in a breath taking location, and also beautifully renovated with a gourmet kitchen, beautiful patio and floor to ceiling glass dining room with panoramic views of the hills of Tuscany. The food that we cooked was simple but the tips on how to make things more authentic were great. We loved being with Carmela and felt that we really learned from the best! Even though I am an advanced level home cook, I still felt like this was a very fun experience with my husband. Would definitely recommend this to everyone! Thank you Olivia, Martina and Carmela for being amazing hosts!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Susan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Beautiful and our guide Franceso was so knowledgeable. We enjoyed going to 3 different wineries. Lunch was just okay, but all the wines were superb. The views unbelievable! It was the best tour we booked on our 12 day visit to Italy. I would highly recommend

Doing what: Taste of Chianti: Tuscan Cheese, Wine and Lunch from Florence

Joan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The favorite day of our two week trip to Italy! We so enjoyed our time with our tour guides, especially Valeria. She knows her subject topics of food, wine and Florence, and made us all feel special and welcome in the class. From the stunning location of the class, to the delicious food we made, and the great company, we had a great time! What a fun way to spend a day in Florence. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

pam.earl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Five stars is not enough! This was the best tour! We started in small groups of about 12 with our guides, ours was Elisa the other was Lavinia. We walked from near the Ponte Vecchio through the streets of Florence. As we went Elisa explained some of the customs, landmarks and food history of Florence. While we did this we also collected the food for our cooking class. We learnt about the tradition of coffee as well as had a cup Italian style. We went to the central markets where we learnt more about local food and made some more purchases. The two groups then joined together and we were taken by small bus to a Villa up in the hills to start cooking. Our chef for the day was Isaac. He made it all very easy. We made about six courses. Everyone had jobs to do and between eating the fruits of our labours and drinking the wine we had a fantastic day. All the staff were fabulous. We wish we had done this tour when we first arrived in Florence because it gave us a much better insight into Florence the people and the food. A big thank you to Elisa Lavinia and Isaac!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Olga F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was the highlight of our return trip to Florence! Repeating what others have said .. this was truly a magical evening not to be missed. Don't be put off by the initial meeting spot for the tour nothing scary or weird -- don't worry!, because what came after that was amazing. The 8 of us were transported to an estate perched on the hills above Florence. As we enjoyed our aperitifs, we were treated to breathtaking views and lovely terraced gardens. Inside the state-of-the art kitchen facilities at the site, we met our private chef for the evening and were escorted into a beautiful glass enclosed outdoor dining room with views of the city. Spectacular setting. The next 2 hours were foodie heaven. Chef Isaac brought out 4 different courses, explaining the history of each dish and how it was prepared. Our guide, Angel, who was an extremely knowledgable sommelier, introduced the wines chosen for each course. They were very generous pours of high quality wines from the Tuscan region -- a Chianti Classico, a Brunello di Montalcino, etc. Wonderful. I'm sure I can speak for the others in the group when I say we hated to see the evening come to an end. On the way home, we were treated to a nighttime tour around the city. Have no hesitation when booking this tour. Exceeded our expectations!

Doing what: Wine and Dine in the Tuscan Countryside Including a Night Tour of Florence

Leyaini C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour! The food was amazing, the wine was to die for. Highly recommended!! It does run late, at least until 11:30pm so be sure to plan accordingly.

Doing what: Wine and Dine in the Tuscan Countryside Including a Night Tour of Florence

Connie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

5 stars in not nearly enough for this fabulous day!! This was, by far, the highlight of our trip. Our guide, Martina, took us on a walking tour of Florence, highlighting foodie spots such as a local cafe coffee bar, and some local vegetable markets and some food history like the reason why Tuscans don't put salt in their bread. Then we went to the central market to buy the rest of our ingredients for our cooking day fabulous, fresh meats, breads and cheeses. After gathering our ingredients, we took a short bus ride to an absolutely beautiful location in the Tuscan countryside, a converted farmhouse with a DREAM kitchen! We joined another group, led by Valeria, and started our cooking experience. Our chef, Carmela, was an absolute joy! We had some much fun making bruschetta, pizza, handmade pasta my favorite, sauce, pork roast, tiramisu and gelato. Then we sat down as a group to eat all of this wonderful food and drink some great Chianti. We met so many wonderful people and made many memories! Don't miss this one! Ask for Martina and Valeria...they were fantastic!!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Jordan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great day visiting vineyards in the Chianti region. Our guide, Stefano, was very knowledgeable, attentive, and entertaining. We thoroughly enjoyed the lunch provided as well as Stefano's input on how to taste the wine in order to get the most out of the tour. The beautiful scenery of Tuscany was the cherry on top. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone looking for a day out in the Tuscan countryside.

Doing what: Taste of Chianti: Tuscan Cheese, Wine and Lunch from Florence

Donald L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

If you have only one tour in Italy, this is the one you should choose! We had an excellent guide in Alexandro who was very knowledgible about Tuscany , it's food and wine . Our group enjoyed three stops for food tasting and wine, including a superb lunch at ' La cantina de Rignana' not far from the town of Greve in the picturesque Tuscany countryside.

Doing what: Taste of Chianti: Tuscan Cheese, Wine and Lunch from Florence

Karl S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic, high class tour. Our guide Martina was knowledgeable and amazing!

Doing what: Taste of Chianti: Tuscan Cheese, Wine and Lunch from Florence

JENNIFER C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

An absolutely amazing experience!!! Not to be missed!!

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class in Florence

Richard M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We enjoyed our walk through Florence and the Mercado Centrale, then the cooking class in a beautiful kitchen and lovely dining room on a hillside above the city. We learned a little history, ate some great food, and enjoyed Peroni and Chianti classico. We made bruschetta, pasta and ragu, roast pork and roast potatoes, and tiramisu. And we made our own wood-fired pizza that was a work of art. Our guide Julian was knowledgeable and enthusiastic. He was a good host. Carmela the chef was energetic and fun also. And then a week or so after we got home Julian sent all the recipes so we can try to do it all over again at home. Very nice.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Daniel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was the highlight of our three week vacation! Angel was our tour/wine/dinner guide for the evening. He is awesome! Made everything fun while teaching us so much about Florence, Tuscan food and wine, and how to enjoy the aforementioned. It is a great value as well. In addition to the tour and transportation, we enjoyed a five-course gourmet meal with a flight of four delicious local red wines, an aperitif and a fantastic high-alcohol, but very smooth dessert libation made from verbena! Bellissimo! Angel and Chef Isaac worked seamlessly in unison to describe each wind and dinner course, and also provided a lot of detail about the origins of each wine and dish...and a lot of it was very amusing as well! Best dinner tour ever!

Doing what: Wine and Dine in the Tuscan Countryside Including a Night Tour of Florence

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message