No matter where you go in Italy, you're sure to encounter fabulous meals about which you may literally write home. Florence, Tuscany’s historic capital, however, offers its own creative ways to please your taste buds that will have you talking for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1095 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was such a fun class. I was traveling alone in Florence and it was a great way to meet others and have a different type of experience as opposed to the typical tourist attractions. One of my favorite memories of my trip.

Doing what: Florence Cooking Class: Learn How to Make Gelato and Pizza

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Good class. Fun time was had by all. Best pizza I have ever eaten.

Doing what: Florence Cooking Class: Learn How to Make Gelato and Pizza

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Loved it and the teacher even though she did not speak English .

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Yes, the Tuscan countryside is beautiful, the Chianti is excellent, the locations that this full day tour takes you to are breathtaking, but the best part of the tour was the people. Martina was a great guide explaining everything we wanted to know, she is also a fun and very interesting person. The small group of strangers quickly became friends and had the best day touring vineyards, castles and restaurants that we never could have seen otherwise. If you are near this part of the world, book this tour.

Doing what: Taste of Chianti: Tuscan Cheese, Wine and Lunch from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our tour guide, Martina was so good and so her partner Eliza and chef Carmela. In fact, this tour was the highlight of our Florence trip. We strongly recommend this tour to all food lovers.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

What did I like about Walkabout Florence? Everything. But I know that won't be enough for you so here goes...
1 Antonella -She was our guide for two days in a row - lucky us! Here's what I noticed about her other than the fact she has a master's degree in art history and speaks 4 languages. She cares! She made sure she talked to each person in our group and really got to know them. And after I asked her a question about a local artist Clet, she not only told me all about him, that she'd met him, that he was charming, clever, and funny, but she also arranged for his gallery to stay open late so that my husband and I could go there after our tour on our last day in Italy. How special and thoughtful of her! You see? This had nothing at all to do with our paid tour and everything to do with her being a wonderful, caring young woman!
2 The format of the tours - my husband and I are not tour people. I heard a couple other people in our group say the same thing. Walkabout converted us ALL and I guess we are now tour people. OK, maybe we are just Walkabout people! One day we had about 20 in our group and the next day we had 10 or so. But we felt as though Antonella was our very own private guide, our friend, our long lost Italian cousin taking us around her city. The days are well thought out. Just enough down time, more information than you expect, like a Rick Steves' Italy book come to life.
3 Carmela - omg, I don't know what to say! She was our chef for our cooking class day. She also dances and sings! LOL! She is a TREASURE! And an amazing cook! You should see my noodles I made in class! I was a rock star!! Ha! So was everyone else! Every last detail of her class is perfection including the building, the AMAZING STOVE AND OVEN you will not believe it!, the flow of the class - everything! You will learn things you cannot learn in your own country about Italian cooking, that is a guarantee!
4 The Walkabout staff - my husband and I got into a conversatio

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We had an outstanding cooking experience in Florence! Antonella and Lavigne were wonderful tour guides, providing us with an informative walking tour prior to taking us to an exquisite location overlooking Florence, where we cooked with the Charismatic Carmella!! The food was delicious, and everyone was friendly, making it the highlight of our Italian vacation!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Beautiful scenery, incredible food and wine and olive oil. Francesco was a wonderful guide!

Doing what: Taste of Chianti: Tuscan Cheese, Wine and Lunch from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

the absolute highlight of our trip!!!!!!!!!!! our guides were amazing!!!!!!!! antoinetta la lubi were amazing and carmela......... there are NO words to describe carmela!!!!!! What a trip and what an experience!!!!!!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was the highlight of our trip! Our guide Antoinella was so knowledgeable and you could tell that she truly loved her job. The location could not have been more spectacular, overlooking the beautiful tuscan countryside and the food surpassed all expectations. I cannot recommend this tour highly enough! If you are only going to do one thing in Italy, this should be it!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This is a must have day trip, if you like wine and didn't know much about the wine produced in Chianti.
The guide was very nice, we end up tried 8-10 different bottle of wines. And seriously full at the end. Make sure you have light breakfast, since you will be eating a lot and drinking a lot. The cheese were not bad too.

Doing what: Taste of Chianti: Tuscan Cheese, Wine and Lunch from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was outstanding. In addition to the cooking portion, we received a guided walking tour on the way to the market where we learned about some of the history of Florence and the impact of food and wine. We cooked pizza, pasta, Bolognese sauce, bruschetta, meat, potatoes, gelate and tiramisu. The beer and wine was poured generously and we left stuffed. This is a full day 9:30 to 6:30. If I could take only one tour, this would be my pick.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Not sure why it's called a cooking class with a local market tour. It was so much more than that. From the moment I met Carmela, Olivia and the rest of the staff, I know I was going to be in for something special. Olivia, our tour guide and translator spoke perfect English and gave a really great walking tour. From the short pit stop at the cafe to taking a tour of the local market, I would have been satisfied with that alone. We were shuttled up the hills of Florence to the most picturesque farmhouse. The kitchen alone was to die for. Then we met Chef Carmela. She didn't speak English, but it didn't matter. She was so much fun!!!! And I learned a great deal from her. Nice touch when her staff served all of the food we made in a nice, fancy setting. I made almost every dish we learned at home. Came out perfect! The group I took the class with were great! I highly recommend anyone visiting Florence to take this class. Even if you don't cook! Best cooking experience I have had!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our favourite day in Florence hands down and maybe the most fun all holiday. Met great people. The wine and food were abundant and Antonella, Lavinia and Carmella were wonderful hosts. Everything about the trip was entertaining, engaging and relaxing. Without doubt would recommend. We went as mother and teen daughter.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message