No matter where you go in Italy, you're sure to encounter fabulous meals about which you may literally write home. Florence, Tuscany’s historic capital, however, offers its own creative ways to please your taste buds that will have you talking for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1005 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Forrest
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

THIS IS A MUST BOOK TOUR! My girlfriend and I took a four day break in Early December, and when we booked this tour there were less than 50 reviews, to our amazement all five star- now we know why! The lovely Mara was our guide for the day, so friendly and extremely passionate about the food and history of such in Florence and its fine buildings. Her walkabout with us was very informative whilst gathering fresh produce from the local markets for us to use that day. After a welcome coffee break we took to a minibus for a 15 min journey to the farmhouse in the hills with lovely views of the city, especially at night on the return (Winter months). The purpose built kitchen, diner and surroundings is any chef's dream and as most of the day is spent here they have certainly got the atmosphere spot on. Our group size was eleven and we had so much fun together all shared by Mara and our chef Camella who were just brilliant. We ate everything we cooked during the day, (so keep breakfast to a minimum) and the wine and beer were part of the deal as were the apron we had worn and the cookery book presented on departure. How they do it for this price is beyond me, we both agreed we would have happily paid double and not felt cheated. MARA and CAMELLA are so passionate about what they do and are an absolute credit to their employers, WALKABOUT. We had a fantastic day and if you get a good group you can't fail to enjoy it, you may even leave feeling sufficiently inspired to build a Pizza oven in your own garden!!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

On our last visit to Florence we decided to experience the Tuscan Farmhouse cooking class and local market tour. This was one of the best organized events, catering to a small group that I have ever experienced. You might think that taking a day to spend on this tour is a lot of time but let me tell you it goes by way too fast. At the end of the day you are wanting more. You first start out by meeting your tour guide and the other guests in what is generally a small group of persons (our group was 6). Elisa, our tour guide, could not have been more interested in making each and every person feel as if she was your personal tour guide. We first walked about Florence and Elisa pointed out some historic building, churches, streets, traditions and tragedies. This was happening all the while we were enroute to visiting a few local markets including a stop at the central market to pick up the ingredients we would be using in our cooking class. Before I forget, what is a morning in Italy without coffee "Italian Style"? So while traversing the city streets Elisa introduced us to a very nice local pastry and coffee shop. But what's most important about this stop is that in order to blend in Elisa taught us the secrets of drinking coffee "Italian Style" (take the tour to learn). After a nice walkabout the city we jumped into two taxis and headed out of the city walls and up the hill to the Farmhouse. We walked through the gates and came upon a wonderful view overlooking the city of Florence through a notch in the olive trees adorning the property. Now as you move further onto the property you start to smell the smoke of the wood burning pizza oven. We next met our two celebrated chef's (another secret) who embraced you like you were their long lost Italian brother or sister. Out of space but the kitchen is wonderful; we cooked, Bruschetta, homemade pasta, Ragu Meat Sauce, Pizza (so much fun), Roast Pork, Patata al rosamarino, Tiramisu and Florentine Gelato. Great

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

A perfect day; I was traveling alone and joining this group made me feel like I was truly a part of Florence. I can't think of another thing I've done that was as much fun!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

I just want to say that this was a first-rate tour! Olivia (our tour guide) was exceptional! She was fun, well versed, and pleasant. The rest of the staff was the the same. The food, the cooking, the beautiful farmhouse and property, and the great people we met, will be cherished for a long time! This truly is one of my favorite memories of Italy!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

My husband and I took our 9 year old and 13 year old boys to the cooking class and had a wonderful evening. Great memories were made.

Doing what: Florence Cooking Class: Learn How to Make Gelato and Pizza

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

THE BEST TOUR/EXCURSION I HAVE EVER DONE! PERFECT. Our guide and interpretor Olivia was so awesome and Carmella our teacher was priceless. If you want and authentic Italian experience this is a must.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Fantastic experience! Wonderful guide, delightful group, very fun chef Carmella made it all very enjoyable and my favorite day in Florence. I highly recommend this experience. The pasta, pizza, and wine were my favorites.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

When all the other reviewers said that this was the highlight of their trip in Italy, they weren't kidding! I spent 10 days in Italy, 3 days in Florence and this was definitely the best activity I did. Lavinia was a great tour guide with excellent spoken English, very friendly and knowledgeable about the local culture and cuisine. We went through the markets where she explained what are some of the highlights and must-trys of Florentine food. The farm house was beautiful (my dream kitchen) and we had so much fun with the chef despite her not being able to speak English nor us, Italian. Lavinia was a superb translator and we managed really well. We made pasta from scratch, pizza in a wood-fired oven, roast pork, gelato and tiramisu! It's all very hands-on so you'll definitely learn how all the ingredients come together. Be sure to eat very little for breakfast as you'll be munching non-stop throughout the tour!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour was by far the highlight of the Florence portion of our trip. What made it special? The people (both the leaders and the attendees), the atmosphere, the surprise of what we learned on the walk to the market, and the food.. just overally a really fun day that we would all (there were 8 of us) highly recommend

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

AWESOME!!!! Absolutely brilliant tour... if one is to experience the complete Tuscan and Florentine life, then one must do it as Italians do, from their heart and with their love of food...Everything surpassed my expectations, from our beautiful and friendly guide Lavi to the wonderful Carlotta and her niece Avi, it was the most brilliant day.. The farmhouse was on top of a beautiful hill and the sight was awesome, the whole day was the best tour I have done in Italy.. and I have done so many brilliant tours... Highly must recommend that one does this... don't miss it!!!!!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The most amazing tour I have ever taken. Our guides and chef were amazing. If you only have one day in Florence, book this tour.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message