Florence has come to maintain its rich cultural history amidst the hustle and bustle of modernity. Despite being one of Italy's largest cities, Florence has remained to be a symbol of the Renaissance -- selectively accepting innovations while ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 742 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was the second of two wonderful tours. Luca (one c and not two) was our guide for the day and made this a great experience. Happily endured the amount of wine served at the three wineries along with Lunch. If you're looking for a fun-filled day with enough wine to drive the breathalizer off the scale, then this is the trip for you. Luca had all the answers........and even us guys liked him

Doing what: Taste of Chianti: Tuscan Cheese, Wine and Lunch from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This tour was amazing! The wine, the food, the Tuscan scenery, they all were great. Our tour guide Stefano was terrific! He was funny, educational, and knowledgable about the region, the wines, the food. All in all a great tour. Not an inexpensive tour, but well worth it. So glad we did it!!

Doing what: Taste of Chianti: Tuscan Cheese, Wine and Lunch from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

A beautiful day with lovely wines, lovely scenery, amazing history, awesome cheeses, brilliant information and very cool guides!!

Doing what: Small-Group Tuscany Wine-Tasting Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Great tour. Luca was very informative and friendly. We sampled some many wonderful wines and the setting for lunch was gorgeous. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Taste of Chianti: Tuscan Cheese, Wine and Lunch from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Did this tour on a rainy day, but it almost didn't matter. This tour was lots of fun even without the sun! Great tour director, Martina, was extremely knowlegable and made the tour special. All stops were worthwhile and all food and drink were delicious. Definitely took me to places I have never been, even after 6 trips to Tuscany. A really great day!

Doing what: Taste of Chianti: Tuscan Cheese, Wine and Lunch from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This tour was the best day of our 10 day Italy vacation and that is saying something as the entire trip was great. Great wine, great food and a very good tour director (Chris).

Doing what: Taste of Chianti: Tuscan Cheese, Wine and Lunch from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Great tour and Luca was a great guide. He was very knowledgeable about the region and the wines, as well as very entertaining. My husband and I really enjoyed this tour and would recommend it to others.

Doing what: Taste of Chianti: Tuscan Cheese, Wine and Lunch from Florence

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Awesome views and great exercise!

Doing what: Tuscany Bike Tour from Florence

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Great intro to our stay in Florence - guide very interesting

Doing what: Renaissance Florence Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

This trip was very scenic and a great way to see the countryside. One piece of advise is to let you know that it is not " apiece of cake". The ride was at times quite challenging. Our guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. We did it on a Sunday so there was not a lot of action at the winery we went to but it was interesting to see. If you like biking and are up for the challenge, this is a fun way to spend the day. We finished with a buffet lunch and then ride back to Florence.

Doing what: Tuscany Bike Tour from Florence

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2014

To be brutally frank, the tour provides a limited view of pretty Tuscan countryside that finishes with a (typical) non-memorable Tuscan lunch at a restaurant owned by the Tour company.

The first winery (Gabbiano) is pretty, and the tasting well conducted. However, this is a mass producer and nothing really exceptional. The sommelier initially seemed authoritative, but on deeper investigation we were surprised by his dismissive and somewhat condescending attitude since his understanding of well-known Tuscan wines, when queried, was missing.

The second winery (Ruffino) was just “fill time” in that we had a quick look at some cellars, no tasting and a view of some steel fermentation units. The guide, at this point, was not interested and essentially said ‘my colleague - the “sommelier” - told you all this before, so here it is’. We felt that this guide simply wanted to move the small group on as quickly as possible and had no interest.

The hard sell – well in fact the encouraged purchase at the tour company’s restaurant – of a limited selection of relatively poor quality Tuscan wines at inflated prices then followed. What really annoys me is being led to believe that you’re getting something special – they offer a 10% discount - but in fact it is for average wine and can be bought significantly (25%+) cheaper in the UK… and that includes the heavy UK taxation charges on wine.

There are better wine tours and better sightseeing tours available and, unfortunately, I wouldn’t recommend it. If you go for the reasons of a day out and some wine tasting introduction, you make get more from the experience. But for me, I’d look elsewhere. Sorry!

Doing what: Small-Group Tuscany Wine-Tasting Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Loved our guide Mario! He took us up into the hills to overlook Florence. The bikes were easy to ride and it surprised me that we made it through the crowded city with such ease. Bedsides seeing " David", it was the highlight of my thee days. Thank!

Doing what: Florence Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Makes for a great day. Tour guide, Chris, very helpful and knowledgeable. Most importantly he displays a genuine passion for his work. A highlight of our Italian vacation.

Doing what: Taste of Chianti: Tuscan Cheese, Wine and Lunch from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We did the Ancient Rome and Vatican your with Dina and it was just great! She was super knowledgable about the sights and history and lovely to deal with! I highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Tuscany Wine-Tasting Tour from Florence

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message