The days of Florence being a mighty republic ruled by one family for generations may be long over, but the influence of the Medici is felt in every corner of the city. It’s for this reason that although the Medici family no longer governs Florence, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 32 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a very special event for us. I recommend this tour. Skip the que was a real plus. Thoroughly enjoyed the Vasari corridor knowing we were walking in the footsteps of the Medici's. The guide really gave a thorough recount of the history.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The Medieval times were dark and mysterious, but our tour guide helped us unravel some of the family fights and history in Florence before the Medici. My favorite part was trying the original flavors of Gelato at the Santa Trinita Gelateria.

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is fantastic tour. Our guide, Anika, was extremely knowledgeable with a great sense of humor. The Uffizi is crowded with group tours even before it opens, but the crowds are nothing compared to later in the day. After a stop on the terrace for breakfast, we entered the Vasari Corridor, which our small group had to ourselves. Walking above the Ponte Vecchio is a unique experience. The self-portraits of artists commissioned by the Medicis that line its walls are fascinating. Definitely worth the price.

Doing what: VIP Experience: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour Including Terrace Breakfast

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a great tour to go on. The crowds in the Uffizi (August 2014) were suffocating. So the first part of the tour was in the Uffizi but we still had to fight the crowds to see some of the main works of art. The second half was the Vasari Corridor. It was a relief to get out of the crowds. The Corridor itself is lined with paintings sent in by the 'who's who" in the days of the Medici's. Very interesting to hear the various history of some of the paintings as well as the purpose of the Vasari Corridor. Our guide was very knowledgeable and informative. I have found that we learned so much more by using a guide versus just walking through ourselves.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A very interesting look at a tourist site that is different..
Being a small tour group makes this event..like a trip back in time.
For a while you may even allow yourself to be a Medici!

Elaine and Harris

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our guide Eleanora took us through the Piazza Vecchio to the Uffizi where she led us through a very crowded gallery to works of art. My favorites were the Botticelli paintings and the room dedicated to Micelangelo's work. The Medici sculpture room, which we could only look at from the entrance, was another favorite. Our guide was very knowledgable in the arts and you could see and hear her passion for the artists. Next she brought us to a locked door which was the entrance to the Vasari Corridor, a corridor built in the 1500s running from the Palazzo Vecchio, through the Uffizi Gallery, above the Ponte Vecchio across the Arno and ending at the Palazzo Pitti. The door was unlocked and guards (one in front and one in back of our tiny group) escorted us through the corridor filled with self-portraits of artists. Not many get to go through this corridor and we loved that we had the chance to do this. Dan Brown's book Inferno came to life with the Vasari Corridor, the little grey door and the secret side door of the Palazzo Vechhio. Unfortunately, no photos could be taken...even without flash. I would recommend this tour just for the chance to walk the steps of the Medici family through the Vasari Corridor!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent. Mario was both knowledgable and enthusiastic, giving a good overview of themes and trends found throughout the collection. The corridor itself is really cool, and even casual art lovers will recognize and appreciate the self-portraits. The point of view you get from the corridor is neat, too, and gives a good glimpse into the life of the Medici.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This is a wonderful tour. It was well planned and worth the time. Our guide was a highly informed and charming young lady who was a Florence native. The chance to glance into this part of the Medici family's history is truly unique.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

If you really, really want to visit the Vasari Corridor - this is the tour I can highly recommend!
The tour included a bit of sightseeing and explanations around the Piazza Signoria - so we were able to understand Florence (and Italy) in historic times.
As well, a brief tour of some of the highlights at the Uffizi (no waiting in line - we entered through a side entrance into the building) was included.
The Vasari Corridor, basically, is another section of an art gallery with very nice paintings of all ages.
However, for me it was just magical to walk in the footsteps of the Medici along the Vasari Corridor while the "common folk" was strolling underneath us in the streets.
We had a knowledgeable guide, and had additional guides in the Vasari Corridor - they were to make sure that no one took pictures in the corridor, but just through the windows to the outside...that was a little strange at first, but understandable.
Sure, everyone expects different things from a vaccation:
The Vasari Corridor was a true highlight for me on our visit to Florence!
I even would do it again!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Michele (how he told us it was spelled, though he pronounced it Me-kel) was excellent. One of the "ideas" of the tour is to emulate the famous "Jack the Ripper" evening walking tours in London, and Michele did his best to do that. Of course, the Medicis killed lots more people than Jack ever did, but they did it in pre-sensationalist-newspaper days and so there were no gory stories and hype written anywhere that could be preserved (though I'm sure the rumor-mill of the day did much the same). Fortunately, after mentioning the deaths (and their usual politically complicated contexts), Michele moved right on to explain the city and its sights, and the little peculiarities -- 15-story towers in pre-elevator days, little "wine windows" -- that make it so interesting. And the 2.5-hour tour ended with a stop for excellent gelato (included in the price!) where we got to sit and speak with Michele for a while and learn what it is like to live in Florence (a difficult place economically).

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

It was even better than I'd hoped, because Mario was such an engaging and committed guide to the art within the Uffizi. I'm a lifelong art student, and he brought ideas to me that were new. The Vasari Corridor was very interesting, full of great artists' self-portraits, many of them just superb. As it happened that day, the tour did not end at the Pitti, but returned us to the Uffuzi, where I personally spent another 2 to 3 hours. It was a thrill to enter this very private territory and think about Medicis passing through it every day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

VASARI Corridor

After reading Inferno, by Dan Brown and spending much time in Florence, we decided to do Florencetown’s Vasari Tour. Although the cost was 85 Euros it was well worth it for the incredible three hour tour that began in Palazzo Vecchio and ended in the Boboli Gardens. The main factor that made the tour so good was our amazing tour guide, Mario Gesu. Mario’s passion for the arts was contagious as he led us through the Palazzo Vecchio explaining how to identify when the various paintings were created, by which artist and who influenced whom. The entire tour was a class in Medieval, Renaissance, Post Renaissance and Reformation paintings. It was magical and we did not want the tour to end.
Walking through the Vasari Corridor (above the Ponte Vecchio) as the Medici did hundreds of years ago was an exhilarating step back in time. Mario’s descriptions of the self-portraits of famous artists were again splendid. He explained ‘color’ versus ‘drawing’ in such a way that everyone in the group understood and could identify which characteristic was being utilized.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

This tour was wonderful! Our guide, Eleanora, was amazing - informative, enthususiatic, insightful and charming, too! We saw so many amazing and memorable sights and hear such details about the art, the Medicis, and the mysterious Ito us) Corridor. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

My mother recommended this tour to me, and I'm glad we did it. Having seen the Uffizi a couple of times before, without a guide, seeing just the highlights in a guided format was just perfect. My partner isn't a huge art buff, so it was perfect for him too. For us, the Vasari Corridor was the main attraction and the reason we booked. It was a fascinating insight into the Medicis way of doing things; we really felt we were walking in their shoes, being a part of that history. The only negative was the "sound machines" (as our guide called the personal audio devices) were truly awful and very difficult to hear; fortunately once we entered the corridor we were a small group and we were able to ditch them. Nevertheless, a great tour and highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

Jeff
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

This tour was in incredible experience. Unless you are an art historian, a guide is a must to appreciate the collection. The Vasari tour was unbelieveable; we feel priviledged to be some of the few who have walked through the corridor and followed the path of the Medicis.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message