Among the many kinds of things we can collect when we travel, some of them are more about checking things off lists than acquiring trinkets. Passport stamps, for instance, or UNESCO World Heritage Sites. If you’re someone who “collects” the latter, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 777 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our guide for this tour was Angelo, a archaeologist by education and experience. He had a good sense of humor and was entertaining as well as informative. By the end of the tour, we had not only seen Michaelangelo's David and the Duomo, but we knew the history and background of the art and architectural works, had a great overview of Florence history and contemporary aspects. This was an oustanding tour.

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our tour guides Kate and Barbara gave us two thorough and enjoyable tours that included the Accademia, Uffizi and walking tour of Florence. We learned so much during the day and thoroughly enjoyed their passion and ability to explain much of the art history and stories in relation to the culture and personalities of the times.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The Accademia and the Uffizi Gallery are the most see in Florence. The art is amazing. Our guide Federica was absolutely wonderful. David from Miguel Angel. One of the most famous sculptures on the planet for good reason! You just can't pull your eyes away from him. The rest of the museum was ok.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was the best tour we've done in 9 weeks of holidays! All thanks to our morning guide, Paul Costa! He was very engaging and managed to enthuse everybody about the history, art and religion of Florence. He continually asked us questions about our general knowledge as well as what he'd told us earlier, so we were kept on our toes, but not in a threatening or intimidating way...he even encouraged us to have wild guesses. Paul was not only passionate and very knowledgable but very entertaining as well. Often other toursits would try to join us to listen in on his speil. in such cases he handed them his business card and suggested they hire him at some time in the future -as we had done today. ( We all thought that was clever of him.)
We learnt much about the influence of the Medici family in Florence as we ambled through the streets they one ruled.
We spent 30 mins on Michelangelo's statue of David at the Accademia and every moment was worthwhile. A short visit into the duomo (cover up ladies as no sarongs available to use here) and then some time in the Piazza Vecchio before finishing at the Ponte Vecchio.
We then had a 2hr break before a different guide took us on our afternoon tour of the Uffuzzi Gallery. Lots of tour groups and tourists with Firenze passes were trying to enter at the same time so we didn't get in until at least 230pm (tour started at 2:15). We were given lots of information about different artists and different styles of art, as it evolved through history. We spent extra time on a few worthwhile pieces and went through most of the second floor. At 4:00 Barbara left us to our own devices to explore the first floor-pointing out some ' must see' pieces before she finished. Not quite the two hours scheduled, but probably enough time if you're not an art lover.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Loved the front of the line experience and the transmitters really helped us to hear the tour guide over the sometimes noisy conditions. Both our morning tour of Accademia with Anise and Angelo was filled with fascinating details. They brought history, art and the artist alive for us.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Best way to see all that Florence has to offer. You can see the major sights in Florence in half a day and skip the very lengthy lines to see the Statue of David and at the Duomo. The tour guide was fantastic explaining the history behind these major accomplishments. He was also great at pointing out and explaining structures all over Florence as we walked through the streets...things I probably never would have seen and enjoyed without this tour. I highly recommend this tour. You will get more than your money's worth on this tour.

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a great tour given by Valentina, an excellent tour guide. The inside view of Brunelleschi's Duomo is breathtaking with the view of the frescos, Dante's interpretation of Paradise, Purgatory, and Hell in The Divine Comedy. Finally, walking up the Duomo is an exciting experience,added to Valentina's story of Brunelleschi's temperament and genius. In the end, the view of the city of Florence, an extraordinary moment.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was a great way to get a glimpse of the beautiful city of Florence via bus and also have a guide's perspective on all the amazing art. The Acadamia and Uffizi Gallery had some truly beautiful art pieces and our guide gave us some great insight on some of the artists.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is fantastic tour. Our guide, Anika, was extremely knowledgeable with a great sense of humor. The Uffizi is crowded with group tours even before it opens, but the crowds are nothing compared to later in the day. After a stop on the terrace for breakfast, we entered the Vasari Corridor, which our small group had to ourselves. Walking above the Ponte Vecchio is a unique experience. The self-portraits of artists commissioned by the Medicis that line its walls are fascinating. Definitely worth the price.

Doing what: VIP Experience: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour Including Terrace Breakfast

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Not for the faint of heart since you do have to walk up over 400 steps, but that's part of ther adventure. Valentina our guide was quite informative about the history of the Duomo and kept a reasonable pace taking us up. I would love to have done the tower, too, if only to get a better photo of the Duomo's exterior, but that wasn't part of the deal and will have to be done on another trip.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Transportation from cruise ship to start of tour a squeaker. Great tour of Accademia, time to study "David" and other sculptures, not enough time to see all paintings. Afternoon with new guide to Uffizi-wish I could have spent the afternoon there, but had to hurry out for transportation to ship on time. Better to spend an afternoon or whole day at Uffizi ! As with any tour, buy a VIP skip the line !

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Two fabulous tours of two very important art galleries/museums. In the morning, Sue (I think that was her name - she is an older women with a British accent, I think she may have been an Art/History teacher - she was quite passionate about the history of what we were seeing), took us through the Accademia tour and regaled the group with a great deal of Michelangelo history. I enjoyed her detail and passion very much. In the afternoon, William, provided us with an extensive art lesson on some of the very important paintings hanging in the Uffizi Gallery. Both guides gave me the information/knowledge to really appreciate, understand and translate the meaning of the works of art that I was viewing. I recommend this tour and Sue and William.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia and Uffizi Gallery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour. The guides were fantastic. Just felt bad that our tour was not able to go inside the Duomo because of a holiday. Other than that couldn't ask for anything better.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Can't say enough how enjoyable this walking tour of Florence, Accademia Gallery and Uffizi gallery were. There is no better way to learn about the fine arts of Italy while soaking it all during a day's walk.
Guide was so passionate about the subject matter and had funny stories along the way; spoke perfect English. Totally worth the $ and time.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Paul Costa was an amazing, engaging, informative guide for our Academia/Duomo/Ponte Vecchio walking tour! I learned so much about the Medicis, Michaelangelo, and the history of Florence! Paul really made Florence come alive by engaging our group with questions, legend, and humor! A must do!

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message