The Centre Pompidou is a museum dedicated to European contemporary and modern art. Featuring a music hall with live performances, films, theatre, literature, spoken word, and visual art, the Centre Pompidou is one of the most culturally significant ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 17 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was the perfect "hands on" way to learn about and enjoy the cheese of Paris. The shop is a two generation family affair (Father and Daughter) and the large cellar level under the store which houses the maturation room (wall to wall cheeses) is where everything takes place. Pierre, who also has a winery background, has set up the homey space with all sorts of displays that bring his story of the history of cheese to life. He is warm, extremely knowledgeable and made both the art and science of cheese making come to life in the "presentation" portion of the session. The cheese tasting part was fabulous and set up just like a great wine tasting. It included generous helpings of six very different (and fabulous) cheeses, baguette, apples (for palate cleansing) and both a red and white wine. As both a wine and cheese expert, Pierre provided great insights on the art of pairing wine and cheese, in addition to his guidance on the cheese tasting itself. It was a great way to savor one of the best Paris foods in a relaxing atmosphere, and the time of day/area made it easy to fit this activity into a packed schedule of site seeing. It is very near the Picasso and Pompidou museums in the Marais district.

Doing what: Cheese and Wine Tasting in a Paris Cheese Cellar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We met our tour guide, Bart, at the place de la Concorde. He was prompt, friendly and very knowledgeable. This tour was marvelous and memorable. We strolled down narrow streets, walked through charming Passages, visited churches and theaters and points of interest we may have missed or spent precious time trying to locate on our own ... enjoying Bart's comments along the way. We stopped at one place and enjoyed a delicious macaroon. Later, we stopped and enjoyed a delicious assortment of cheeses with that marvelous French bread!!! Our tour ended at the Pompidou. Bart was very helpful in pointing out metros and directions. My friend and I were so glad we chose this tour. VIATOR is very helpful in scheduling their tours

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Secret Sites and Hidden Gems

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our guide, Bart, was so friendly, considerate and knowledgeable. Awesome tour. It started at the Place de la Concorde and ended in the Marais at the Pompidou. Along the way, we stopped at a shop and enjoyed picking out a delicious macaroon Later on in the walk we enjoyed sampling various cheeses with that wonderful French bread. Both are included in the price of the tour. The walk was well paced so older travelers can manage this three hour tour easily. We saw so many famous sights and many hidden gems we may have missed on our own. Do this tour.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Saint-Germain-des-Prés and Latin Quarter, including Charcuterie Tasting and Pétanque

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

My tour was supposed to be on Friday, but the guide, Arthur, called and asked if I could do it on Saturday with other people. I'm so glad he suggested it. There were just 3 of us, and despite the rain, it was a delightful experience. Arthur was wonderful, a charming young man who took us into the 8th arr. These were indeed "hidden gems"; I never would have found the spots we visited. The tour included a stop to try macaroons and a visit to a cheese shop for samples; because we were all a bit wet, we decided to stop at a café for coffee. We walked through old shopping arcades, passed unique works of public art and ended up at Pompidou Centre. Again, our guide made it a very special morning for us all. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Secret Sites and Hidden Gems

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

The weather detracted from this tour. Paul, our guide, did an excellent job under some very trying conditions, heavy rain. Marais is an old and interesting section of Paris that we would visit again. The area also includes the Pompidou Center, a museum of modern art, the Hotel De Ville (City Hall), and a Holocaust Museum.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

The weather detracted from this tour. Paul, our guide, did an excellent job under some very trying conditions, heavy rain. Marais is an old and interesting section of Paris that we would visit again. The area also includes the Pompidou Center, a museum of modern art, the Hotel De Ville (City Hall), and a Holocaust Museum.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

It was a gray day with the Paris skies periodically crying on us. However, our guide Gil Soltz made the trip well worth the visit. We started at the Pompidou Center of Art (which looks like it's still under construction...with all it's 'insides' hanging out). We ended at the site of the Bastille. In between, we wandered the Paris streets, a warren of randomly connected neighborhoods. We lingered at the the Hotel de Ville, the city hall and heard of its many lives. We saw preservation efforts, sites saved, sites lost and replaced with character-less buildings, a church, a Kosher neighborhood, and an eclectic array of shops, restaurants, and architecture. Our guide lives not far from the end of our journey and his love for the area was evident. With our small group of four, it was easy to ask questions and have the tour adapted to our needs. We return to Paris in two week and plan to return to the Marais District to do further looking since we have been well oriented by our guide. Paris is so big, being able to take a 'small bite' like this is very helpful in appreciating why Paris is so well loved.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

good

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

I bought the 6-day Paris Pass, and while it probably didn't actually save me any money, it did save a LOT of time being able to skip some very long lines and walk right into a lot of monuments and museums. You don't actually get a metro card, but enclosed metro tickets. Just pass them in and out of the validator every time you board the bus or metro, and you're good. Arc de Tromphe, Musee D'Orsay, and Centre Pompidou had quite a long line for tickets, so very convenient to bypass and just flash my pass. A trick for entrance to the Louvre - there are two stairwells to the right and left of the arch facing the Pyramid that leads you down into the Carousel du Louvre (shopping center) and you can literally walk right into the entrance. No lines!! Paris Pass pays for itself in its ease of use and convenience!

Doing what: Paris Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

Well worth the money. The fact that you bypass the lines at the Louvre, D'Orsay, and Pompidou center is unbeatable.

Doing what: Paris Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

It's a good walking tour. However too long time spent in louvre museum hence not sufficient time for other places' visits. If we visit orsay, arc de triomphe, champs de elysses, les halles, centre pompidou, st georges, though only a glimpse to take quick pictures, it would be more perfect and meaningful.

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2009

Saved some time, but it was a slower season so lines were not long. It was very convenient and if there was time to do it all it would have great savings. We loved having it for many reasons: easy to use, moving ahead of the lines, and information on the maps. At the Pompidou, we were disappointed that we could not use it to get in to the shows. It was an extra cost.

Doing what: Paris Pass

Anonymous

Anonymous

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

For someone who has no idea of Paris, this is good, but it is too repetitive and causing confusion in some areas. We were not impressed with the Monmartre section, and felt that the Pompidou Centre could easily have been included in city centre tour. But then again I know paris.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

Kiwi Genie
New Zealand

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

With a group of nine, it was not always easy to hear our guide - a Vox or Whisper machine would have helped. Our guide was personable and we did visit some interesting places - the passages and foodie street where I enjoyed the wine tasting. However I would have liked to have been taken to Le Bon Marche which I was told about when I got home. I also felt that the group should have been taken to see the fountain near the Pompidou Centre as it was so close.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Secret Sites and Hidden Gems

Tim W
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2009

In principle the Paris Pass is a very good idea, but the reality is a little different. There are literally a handful of places where you 'jump the queue', and usually that is purely to get tickets, not actual admission. One thing which left a particularly bad taste was in the book it says you get priority seating in the Hard Rock Cafe where you pick up the pack, only to be told that they've never done that and we could wait an hour like everyone else. Other disappointments included the additional charge for the crypt at Notre Dame and both galleries at the Pompidou - you only get into the museum section with the pass.

One unexpected bonus was that the Metro card just kept working on the third day - can't argue with that! Overall you have to route-march round everything to get good value for money, which can be tiring but also has its benefits - if you paid individually for each museum or gallery you'd feel compelled to stay there longer than maybe you would choose when you've got the pass. It's OK and good for ease of use, but it's not the massive money saving, skip all the queues pass that the sellers would have you believe.

Doing what: Paris Pass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message