Insider's Guide to France

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

In France, Bastille Day is a national holiday that commemorates the storming of the Bastille on 14 July 1789. An open act of rebellion against the monarchy that ushered in the beginning of the French Revolution, the storming of the Bastille was the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 172 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Molly W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My daughter and I agree this tour with Gil was our favorite part of our trip! His knowledge of the French Revolution was amazing both from the grand picture to the intimate details of the lives of those who were affected. The history was so interesting and he built a platform for the revolution by informing us of the early history and society which led to the breakdown of the Royal family and Paris itself. Fantastic.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

Flaming

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A thoroughly enjoyable experience. Guide Antoine was prompt and efficient and shared his very comprehensive knowledge of the attractions visited. Many thanks to him for being so informative.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

Sylvia J. S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had an excellent tour guide I believe from California, originally who was so knowledgeable and gave us so much information. He had an excellent speaking voice and delivery. He was just wonderful! I would say that The French Revolution tour was my favorite. Thank you!

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

Sheila O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Antoine was amazing. Even kept the 8 year old excited about the French Revolution. Definitely would recommend this tour!

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

Fiona C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Fantastic tour leader who made the French Revolution come alive. Highly recommended

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

Phong P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was simple, easy to walk and informative. Our guide was from the states living in Paris to get his masters degree, so his English and description of the historic evenst were easy to understand. The tour was conducted by a local tour operator. We had another tour with this company, so we highly recommend them.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

Barbara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Guide Christine from Fat Bike Tire Tours was excellent. A lot of walking involved but seen many sites along the way. Very knowledgeable - highly recommend. A great way to get a better understanding of the history of the French Revolution.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

cnp.drp

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Gil took us on a great walk of some key locations that he used to tell a story of the 1789 Revolution. I really liked the length and pace of the tour. Two hours was just enough history and information to spark my curiosity and want to come home and read more but not so long that I got tired or bored. At my request, Gill recommended a couple of books to further my understanding of this subject.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

Dylan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had an excellent guide, who was very knowledgeable and friendly. She was willing to answer all our questions with enthusiasm, even those which were not related to the French Revolution. This is an excellent tour for someone who wants to understand better why the Revolution took place, and what happened during the revolution.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

Kathryn L

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Missed this one due to luring rain.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

Jennifer R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Gil's knowledge was thorough and his style of delivery was clear and entertaining. We were absorbed in his stories from the start. An easy walk and beautiful weather made for a very interesting and enjoyable afternoon. Thank you Gil and Viator.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

Erikah H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Antwan was an excellent guide - welcoming, knowledgable and entertaining. Very good tour for anyone interested in Parisian history.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

Janice C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Gil was a super, accommodating guide. Had great knowledge and was open to questions and requests. Very interesting tour.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

Julien F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Would 100 recommend this tour to anyone. Antoin the guide was great and made learning fun!

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

Europe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

Lucy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The guide was clearly knowledgable and he enjoying sharing his insights! Totally worth it

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

Theodonohuefamily

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fabulous! Our guide was awesome - even our teens ages 14 and 16 thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

Mandi United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was great! Our guide was very knowledgeable and funny. It was awesome to walk through Paris and see the sites where major events of the French Revolution took place. I definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

Angela A

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

This tour included an extremely knowledgeable guide who did an excellent job telling us stories from the French Revolution, but we did not get to see many sights at all. All of the places on this tour were extremely popular and easy to find on your own.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

SHAUNDA C USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Absolutely fantastic!!!!!!! Guide was so knowledgable .. A must tour!!!

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

Norman S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Very informative and interesting. Guide was great. Enjoyed it very much.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

joanne b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Sensational! Our guide named Will did a tremendous job sharing about the history of the French Revolution. He certainly made it interesting. We walked a long distance so it was great to see so many historical sites.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

rbruechle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent - a 2-2.5 hr walking tour that gives you solid history with your sightseeing. Highly recommended and well priced.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

Lynn B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Punctual and efficient tour guide. Very friendly and knowledgeable. Some prior knowledge presumed but very enjoyable and would recommend to others.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

Breaca M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Fun and interesting tour

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message