Your time in France is not complete without a visit to the world-renowned Palace of Versailles (Château de Versailles), located just 15 miles (25 km) southwest of Paris. This impressive estate, built by Louis XIV as a symbol of absolute ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 7722 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jameswebb99

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The small group tour gave us access to areas not open to the public and it was well worth the price. We were alone in the hall of mirrors, so definitely book the morning tour. Our guide was fantastic as she worked at Versailles and knows the history inside and out.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Betty W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a fabulous time on this excursion with Yaelle! She was engaging as we toured the Palace and Gardens, and she shared many stories about Louis XIV, Louis XV, and Louis XV. She kept us moving through the crowded Palace, yet we didn't feel rushed. We had our questions answered throughout, and she was knowledgeable about French history, how the Palace came to be built in Versailles, the architects, materials, artwork, artists, etc. Loved every minute, and the train ride a short 30 minutes! From beginning to end, no hassle, we could relax and enjoy! Don't miss the gardens!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

olivia_fannin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Nasim was very knowledgable and we highly recommend taking a tour with her specifically! She provided just the right amount of attention to our group. This tour to Versailles requires a fair bit of walking which we really loved!! Thanks so much!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

ANA MARIA E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great way to get to cover the whole Versailles Palace and Gardens.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

radtechjlc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We loved Monet's house. The flower beds were beautiful his home amazing..Versailles was the palace of palaces awesome

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

Aysu C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had an extremely enthusiastic and knowledgeable tour guide. The line outside of Versailles was more than a 2.5 hour wait, so I highly recommend the skip the line. Additionally, the train ticket you're given by your tour guide for the return ride can be used in the metro for an additional 2 times after you return.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

Ted United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Better than expected. Good van, great driver. Had a great time and saw all the good stuff. Other passengers were the best too.

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Irene C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The palace of Versailles is spectacular. Our guide, Herve, was fantastic. His knowledge and love of history came through with flying colors. He was our favorite!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

sergio a s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Bit expensive but great tour! You really use in a smart way your time.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

William R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Every detail provided by Viator, was accurate:, meeting place,directions to get you to the meetingarea, the summary of the tour. The tour guide knowledge was outstanding .Great value too!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

kathleen s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Such an awesome day!!! It is a trip that puts the whole of Versaille in perspective. The route was charming and not so difficult for a gal who hasn't ridden a bike in years! Our guide Nathan was fun and knowledgeable. The Hameau was fabulous and a spot you wouldn't see as a walk on tourist to the Chateau. The picnic lunch was brilliant and the goodies in the market and boulangerie made the day. As always the splendour of the interiors is overwhelming. It was a full day but so well worth it.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

loreen h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Good day, weather was great. Tour was well organized. Lunch was great at the Moulin de Forges. Very picturesque. Versailles was very busty, but our guide was knowledgable and pleasant. Gardens are impressive with the water features. All in all, a good day

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

karinaeld

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Had a fabulous time. Bus was great, loved Monets gardens, absolutely breathtaking !
Lunch was great, lovely place, good food, once we got to Versailles there was a little wait but once we got in it was amazing !, lots of people specially since it was the weekend but that's to be expected.
We'd do it again in a heartbeat

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

debra n

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

this was the best way to see Versailles, the small group, priority access, and a great tour guide. Well worth the cost.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Ilana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Lovely tour guide, fun meal.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

Rekha S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was simply superb. Both the guides were friendly and knowledgeable - wonderful experience

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Bing Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Believe the hype! This is the best way to experience Versailles!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

David V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Good organisation - great clarity getting a group of disparate nationalities to Versailles from Paris. Hervé was possibly the best tour guide I've ever encountered bringing, charm, wit and a thorough knowledge of Versailles. His passion and communication were first class. Versailles itself was very busy!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

Trisha B United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The shear size of this venue is overwhelming. I can't imagine trying to navigate it on my own. Our guide was great! it was well paced so plenty of time for photos and a bit of looking around on your own time as well.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Nancy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a fabulous tour. Our guide, Frederick, was outstanding. He picked us up and explained history, details, etc. the whole way there, in between the two locations, and on the way home. He also included what I believe to be a couple extra drive-bys on the way home, which really made you feel like you got your moneys worth. It was evident that he was knowledgeable and passionate about what he does. Versailles was gorgeous, as was Giverny. I think a full day at either location would be too much - this gave us a perfect taste of each. The lunch location is also unbelievably gorgeous and quaint, although it was't my favorite meal while eating in Paris. Do not hesitate to book this tour, it was wonderful!

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

avr186

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a wonderful tour-guide! Claire was so energetic, knowledgeable, and entertaining. We covered so much ground and enjoyed the palace and gardens thoroughly. There was some confusion ours about what time to meet for the tour, and when we called, the woman on the phone was very helpful and reassuring. It was a delightful day!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

DHIRENDRA S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Worth every penny of it.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

glennsara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Guided transfer from Paris to Versailles and to our tour guide was excellent, thank you Michael Aussie, Aussie, Aussie. The tour was handled exceptionally well by Joshua. He drew us into the history and story of the palace and gardens and timed the walk perfectly for best viewing of the fountains.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

Lennix Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was amazing. Wish I could give 10 stars. Our guide has worked at Versailles for 30 years. She was knowledgable, entertaining and extremely passionate about her subject matter.
The highlights of this tour were getting into the hall of mirrors while it was still empty and touring the private quarters and he chapel, where the general public are not allowed. After the tour of the Palace, we were given 3 hours to lunch and view the gardens. This is the only way to see Versailles. PS. Do the morning tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message