Your time in France is not complete without a visit to the world-renowned Palace of Versailles (Château de Versailles), located just 15 miles (25 km) southwest of Paris. This impressive estate, built by Louis XIV as a symbol of absolute ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 6123 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We chose the tour which included being picked up where we were staying in central Paris. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and spoke perfect English. The three course lunch with wine was included in our tour and exceeded our expectations. Lunch was at a beautiful little restaurant on the grounds near the Grand Canal. It was a chance to talk with the other six people that joined us on the tour. By the end of the tour we felt as though we had seen everything at a very nice pace. It was a perfect experience, one we highly recommend.

Doing what: Versailles Small-Group Tour from Paris with Audio Guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great, dramatic and interesting tour guide. Very thankful we were able to bypass the 3 hour long lineup!! Highly recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Tour was great. It was as described and our tour guide Peter expressed his passion for the history of the palace and the people. The local market was great and ride itself was very easy. This tour is a great way to appreciate more than just the palace but the gardens, pheasants village and the history. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was one of the highlights of our week in Paris. Rick was a great guide, and it was amazing to see so much of the grounds that many people miss. Getting picnic snacks at the market and eating at the royal picnic grounds next to canal was amazing.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

What a great way to see this wonderful place. Anya, our guide was exceptional and taught us how to dominate while riding our bikes to the town markets and back. She also told us about the history of Versailles, the palace and the royals who resided there. Picnicking by the lake was very relaxing. If you can ride a bicycle then I would recommend seeing the palace this way as its a lot of fun and very relaxing.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very convenient way to see Giverny and Versaille. Pick up and drop off in van at hotel. Congenenial driver- guide, Magnus, who told us about the sites and there history while in transport, but did not actually take us through the sites, but made sure we were admitted and knew what to see. Giverny was a place you need to see, but a bit of a let down. had a nice lunch en route from Giverny to Versaille. Versaille was terrific. We enjoyed the gardens, more than the interiors however. A fellow tour member told us to watch Coppola's "Marie Antoinette" movie, which was filmed at Versaille, which we did that night. It helped put everything in context.

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing. The perfect guide, Claudia, with all her knowledge and wit. Great small group to ride with.
Loved going to the market , riding the trails of Versaille, exploring Marie Antoinette's Hamlet and settling next to the lake for our lunch. And topped it all off with the Chateau.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was true to its description and definitely worth doing. The driver (Cecilia) was friendly, polite and professional and handled the Paris traffic with great skill. The tour gave us plenty of time at both locations and the opportunity to see the countryside outside Paris. The lunch was nice and in a fantastic setting. Whilst I was glad I saw Versailles for its huge significance in France's history, Monet's garden was the highlight for me. It was serene and exceptionally beautiful. Visiting this encouraged me to seek out his paintings at L'Orangerie and Musee d'Orsay and they were as amazing as his garden. This tour was one of the most memorable on my trip.

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Exellent combination of activities - really appreciated the input of our driver who added a lot to the trip. A good way to get a "tourists view" of these places in a short time frame. Lunch was very good!

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour coordinators (3 of them) met us outside the Invalides station, had our train tickets ready to go for us (which were included in the price) and gave us our audio guides before we got to the palace. The tour guide, Chloe, was knowledgeable and gave us great insight into the history of the time of Louis XIV and the building of the palace. The fountain show was fun to watch but the gardens themselves were a bit plain, just a lot of tall hedges and a few statues here and there. The view from the back steps of the palace is spectacular, as are the rooms inside the palace itself. Definitely get a nice picture of the hall of mirrors from the entrance! We only had about ten minutes to go through the gift shop since we wanted to leave with the tour coordinators, but we had the option of just getting our return train ticket from them and taking our own time to go back to Paris. We felt very well-taken care of!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Not only was our Viator tour guide very well versed about Versailles our actual tour guide inside Versailles was awesome. Since we took the tour upgrade it was well worth seeing the Opera House, bed chambers and additional rooms upstairs. It was awesome. Diane

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was truly amazing! My husband, two sons (11 and 13) and I found it yo be the highlight of our entire vacation! Taking a train from Paris to Versailles, riding bikes to a French countryside market to but hot baguettes, pate, cheese, and wine followed by beautiful bike ride!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The garden is very beautiful. It is filled with fountains and sculptures. Versailles is spectacular and the rooms they have restored so far are wonderful. The audio guide is easier to use but with few information. Victor our guide was absolutely wonderful. He was so knowledgeable and so friendly

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message