Your time in France is not complete without a visit to the world-renowned Palace of Versailles (Château de Versailles), located just 15 miles (25 km) southwest of Paris. This impressive estate, built by Louis XIV as a symbol of absolute ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 7070 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great tour. Our guide, Sam, was awesome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide was just amazing! So nice to meet a guide at a cafe and have them assist you onto the Metro
station. IF you do not speak the language or are familiar with the area
The place is over over- whelming... A guide is really helpful! The entire family learned SO much.
If only History teachers were that interesting!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

Jose Morales
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour, Catherine was an excellent guide. Very knowledgeable about the history of the palace. She kept the pace of the tour relax, fun and also showed us some extra beautiful areas in the gardens. Overall an amazing place and a fun tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our driver picked us up right on time outside our apartment rental. He was very pleasant and the group included our family of four, along with three other people. Giverny was beautiful, but somewhat crowded the morning we were there. The crowds, however, did not detract from our enjoyment of the gardens and home. Absolutely beautiful! We then had lunch at an old mill which is now a restaurant. The food was wonderful and the atmosphere very picturesque and quaint. We then traveled to Versailles, which was definitely crowded, but we were able to see everything we wanted to see. Our tour guide was knowledgeable and communicated with us through headsets throughout our tour. We had a little time after touring the palace to visit the gardens on our own. There wasn't a lot of time left to do this, but we found it to be enough time to walk around and see the highlights. This was one of our favorite excursions the entire week we were in Paris. It was fun to get out of the city for a little while and enjoy the countryside. Overall, we would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We really enjoyed the tour, our guide "declan" was informative, friendly, and had good sense of humor. The shopping at the Village market place was an amazing experience and the food was delicious. The bicycle was smooth and easy to ride. Details were well thought of.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour did not go on the June 25 2015, it went on June 26 2015 because of Paris taxi strikes. On June 26 2015 our tour guide picked us up from our Hotel and picked other two families. The tour guide was very nice explained everything, took us to Giverny where we were on our own pace going through the gardens, which were beautiful and the house which was quaint, the gift shop which i bought something and the little museum and gardens that surround it, not forgetting the poppy field in the back, everything was just exquisite. Next stop was at a restaurant, beautiful place and three course lunch with red wine, delicious.
Then we went to Versailles palace, the tour guide explained everything and we also had free time in the gardens to take pictures. At the end of the day we were all dropped off at our Hotel. It was a great and a beautiful day. I would take Viator again.

Lala

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour is a full on day tour to explore both Giverny and Versailles. You are given plenty of information from the guides and you have plenty of time to explore on your own both of the places.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Sam was a fantastic guide! This tour was well worth the skip the line feature alone! Sam's knowledge and personable demeanor was the icing on the cake! Definitely recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I rate this tour as one of the best things I did on vacation. Although we were unable to stay with the group I wanted to add my son and his girlfriend but the outfit couldn't accommodate the 2 extra people we went on our own and had the same experience, renting our bikes on-site. This place is amazing! Picnic in the Gardens of Versailles, cycle around the lush landscaping and enjoy a piece of country-side in Paris.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Nice and relaxing trip. I avoided a lot of problems and waiting with regard to visiting the Versailles Palace. I would definitely do this trip again.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

ben was awesome. He did a great job and was fun.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

With all the crowds we were glad to skip the line and get Tanya who provided an excellent and insightful tour!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great guide, well worth it. The initial meeting at the train was unorganized.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Both the bus coordinator and the French guide through Versailles were good. The palace guide was especially knowledgeable, answered all questions and was quite funny. This tour was the highlight of our visit to Paris.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour guide and a great introduction to Versailles. Nice balance of garden and tour of the palace itself. Tour guide was very friendly and good at explaining significance of small details that would otherwise go unnoticed. Highly recommend. You won't regret it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a great experience! We really enjoyed touring the gardens via a bike and enjoying a picnic lunch along the water which we had purposed earlier at the market. We could have just spent the rest of the afternoon relaxing there! Our tour guide was interested in educating on us the history in a fun way and providing us the opportunity to enjoy the spectacular grounds. The chateau was a little disappointing as the crowds were very large and people were more interested in getting pictures then the experience. Overall, a great tour!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Best way to explore Versailles! The structure of the day works really well - gardens first allow you to hear about the history of the palace before entering. It is incredibly crowded inside the palace, so it works well to have the audio guide and go at your own pace. We were grateful that we booked this tour after considering navigating Versailles on our own. Just the skip the line alone is worth the price!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Daniele was a great tour guide and we really enjoyed the behind the scenes look at the gardens which only a bike tour could provide. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour and guide were great. This is a full day tour. Be sure to bring water.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Sandra A
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Wonderful!

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The gardens are breathtaking, every time I turned around there was something else to see, the fireworks were fantastic , the sculptures were classical and beautiful the new art of Anish Kapoor fitted in seamlessly. It is something to see and I would go again. I had my advanced ticket and could go straight through to the gardens without queuing.

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Fountains Night Show and Fireworks with Optional Royal Serenade Dance Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We enjoyed this tour immensely. This was one of our most memorable experiences during our 4-city trip in Europe. What made it stand out was our tour guide, Fraser, who was above what you would normally expect from a tour guide. He was funny, entertaining and warm. You feel like you're biking with a friend, instead of being part of a tour. He peppered his interpretation of history with pop culture analogies, making it interesting even to our 10-year old.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a wonderful time touring the Versailles castle and gardens.From the time we met up with our guide Pablo who escorted us to Versaillles, we were in good hands. Our tour guide through the castle and Gardens was Katherine, and she was excellent. So very friendly, and knowledgable. We were able to see the musical fountains show and it was delightful. All in all, between the helpful guides who helped us skip through very long lines, and all the interesting history, the trip was definitely worth the price!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour and Aurora was wonderful . Being able to skil the line made things so much easier.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message