Your time in France is not complete without a visit to the world-renowned Palace of Versailles (Château de Versailles), located just 15 miles (25 km) southwest of Paris. This impressive estate, built by Louis XIV as a symbol of absolute ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 7083 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

SAM was our tour guide. He was amazing. He was a great storyteller and knew a lot about the history of the Palace and its previous occupants. He kept everyone in the group involved. He is very personable and engaging. He made our visit to the Palace much more educational and enjoyable than it would have been on our own.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We loved our day tour to Monets house and gardens and Versailles. Our guide Vincent was great fun and in particular brought Versailles to life for us.

The lunch was in a beautiful location and gave us the opportunity to talk with our fellow travelers from all over the world.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Hannah was our tour guide. She was actually from London and had been in Paris for nearly a year. Very knowledgeable and took us through the gate and had a lovely tour of the Gardens with her. Then she tookus to the group gate for fast admission and made sure we were set with our audioguides. Definitely would recommend this excursion to Versailles.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The most wonderful trip ! Very organized and followed neat schedule. First we visited Giverny. Breathtaking views the entry of Monet house and gardens was like a trip in the past. These people actually lived here! Secondly we visited Versailles. The palace was beautiful in every way . We needed more time in the gardens though since they are big and soooo beautiful.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is a geat tour and well worth doing it for a day. Versaille is huge and beautiful. Very impressive . My favorite was Giverny to Monet home and garden. The day before we went to the Musee d'Orsay to see Monet's painting and to see the lilly pond with the bridge at his home was such a great experience. The garden was in full bloom which made it really pretty. If your time in Paris permits do this day trip.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour of the palace was fabulous...well worth the extra for the small group and guide was excellent. It was rainy and cold the day we went so really didn't get to see the grounds.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was one of my favorite tours. Our tour guide, Vincent, did an excellent job and looked out for our group especially at Versailles.

Giverny was absolutely beautiful.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great tour. Our guide, Sam, was awesome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide was just amazing! So nice to meet a guide at a cafe and have them assist you onto the Metro
station. IF you do not speak the language or are familiar with the area
The place is over over- whelming... A guide is really helpful! The entire family learned SO much.
If only History teachers were that interesting!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

Jose Morales
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour, Catherine was an excellent guide. Very knowledgeable about the history of the palace. She kept the pace of the tour relax, fun and also showed us some extra beautiful areas in the gardens. Overall an amazing place and a fun tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our driver picked us up right on time outside our apartment rental. He was very pleasant and the group included our family of four, along with three other people. Giverny was beautiful, but somewhat crowded the morning we were there. The crowds, however, did not detract from our enjoyment of the gardens and home. Absolutely beautiful! We then had lunch at an old mill which is now a restaurant. The food was wonderful and the atmosphere very picturesque and quaint. We then traveled to Versailles, which was definitely crowded, but we were able to see everything we wanted to see. Our tour guide was knowledgeable and communicated with us through headsets throughout our tour. We had a little time after touring the palace to visit the gardens on our own. There wasn't a lot of time left to do this, but we found it to be enough time to walk around and see the highlights. This was one of our favorite excursions the entire week we were in Paris. It was fun to get out of the city for a little while and enjoy the countryside. Overall, we would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We really enjoyed the tour, our guide "declan" was informative, friendly, and had good sense of humor. The shopping at the Village market place was an amazing experience and the food was delicious. The bicycle was smooth and easy to ride. Details were well thought of.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour did not go on the June 25 2015, it went on June 26 2015 because of Paris taxi strikes. On June 26 2015 our tour guide picked us up from our Hotel and picked other two families. The tour guide was very nice explained everything, took us to Giverny where we were on our own pace going through the gardens, which were beautiful and the house which was quaint, the gift shop which i bought something and the little museum and gardens that surround it, not forgetting the poppy field in the back, everything was just exquisite. Next stop was at a restaurant, beautiful place and three course lunch with red wine, delicious.
Then we went to Versailles palace, the tour guide explained everything and we also had free time in the gardens to take pictures. At the end of the day we were all dropped off at our Hotel. It was a great and a beautiful day. I would take Viator again.

Lala

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour is a full on day tour to explore both Giverny and Versailles. You are given plenty of information from the guides and you have plenty of time to explore on your own both of the places.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Sam was a fantastic guide! This tour was well worth the skip the line feature alone! Sam's knowledge and personable demeanor was the icing on the cake! Definitely recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I rate this tour as one of the best things I did on vacation. Although we were unable to stay with the group I wanted to add my son and his girlfriend but the outfit couldn't accommodate the 2 extra people we went on our own and had the same experience, renting our bikes on-site. This place is amazing! Picnic in the Gardens of Versailles, cycle around the lush landscaping and enjoy a piece of country-side in Paris.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Nice and relaxing trip. I avoided a lot of problems and waiting with regard to visiting the Versailles Palace. I would definitely do this trip again.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

ben was awesome. He did a great job and was fun.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

With all the crowds we were glad to skip the line and get Tanya who provided an excellent and insightful tour!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great guide, well worth it. The initial meeting at the train was unorganized.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Both the bus coordinator and the French guide through Versailles were good. The palace guide was especially knowledgeable, answered all questions and was quite funny. This tour was the highlight of our visit to Paris.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour guide and a great introduction to Versailles. Nice balance of garden and tour of the palace itself. Tour guide was very friendly and good at explaining significance of small details that would otherwise go unnoticed. Highly recommend. You won't regret it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a great experience! We really enjoyed touring the gardens via a bike and enjoying a picnic lunch along the water which we had purposed earlier at the market. We could have just spent the rest of the afternoon relaxing there! Our tour guide was interested in educating on us the history in a fun way and providing us the opportunity to enjoy the spectacular grounds. The chateau was a little disappointing as the crowds were very large and people were more interested in getting pictures then the experience. Overall, a great tour!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Best way to explore Versailles! The structure of the day works really well - gardens first allow you to hear about the history of the palace before entering. It is incredibly crowded inside the palace, so it works well to have the audio guide and go at your own pace. We were grateful that we booked this tour after considering navigating Versailles on our own. Just the skip the line alone is worth the price!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message