San Francisco is a city of neighborhoods, full of steep hills and overflowing with well-known attractions. It’s impossible to see all of it on your first visit, but you’ll have a great time trying. There’s nothing more San Francisco than the Golden ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

What a wonderful tour! Everything was way beyond our wildest expectations. We were lucky to get a private tour, since noone else was booked that day. Our guide Peter was the nicest tour guide we've ever had, and made every moment special. Baden-Baden is an amazingly special little town, one of those you can't believe exist. And the Strasbourg tour between the lakes was magical. I recommend it to everyone who visits Germany.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was an excellent tour. It was only a group of 6 so it was like a private tour. The van was very comfortable which was key as there is a lot of driving. Baden-Baden is really beautiful and provided a quick visit - would love to go back and spend more time. The Black Forest was enjoyable and there was time to eat Black Forest Cake - definitely recommend. Strasbourg is just lovely with a cathedral that will take your breath away. Our tour guide was wonderful - very friendly, knowledgeable and made for an enjoyable day.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

I really enjoyed this tour, there was much too see and the time went by so quickly. The trip started with a trip through the spa town of Baden-Baden. We briefly went into the Casino, walked some of the streets, saw the hot waster source and it was time to return to the car. I wish we had some time to look into the stores and explore a bit on our own. The drive to the black forest was beautiful, we were lucky to not have fog during the drive. We stopped at a sad tourist trap and mediocre hotel. The Lake which was frozen when we visited was not much to see and the waitress in the restaurant was not very pleasant. I would have much preferred to have the 45 minutes allotted to visit this stop changed to our stop in Baden-Baden.
Strasbourg was an amazing stop. The city was beautiful, the cathedral breath taking. I could have spent the day here, exploring the streets, restaurants and shops. The weather was beautiful and everyone in town was outside enjoying the sunshine. The only down side of this trip was that the melting snow had made the level of the water in the river rise so high the boat tour was not operating. This probably allowed us the time to explore on our own so I am not that sad.
The tour guide, Peter, was an excellent guide, very informative, knowledgeable and pleasant. He found us a parking place everywhere we went which was an amazing feat in Strasbourg.
A sandwich and drink were provided by the tour, if I were going again, I would pack a snack and bring another drink. The walking was lengthy but not difficult and the temperature changed dramatically from stop to stop.
All in all, I was very glad I took this trip and look forward to my next Viator Tour.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Also went with a group to Strasborg for a river cruise. Was great. Black forest was very nice with the views back down into the valley a spectacular.Baden-Baden would require more time to see. This tour was excellent.

Doing what: Black Forest and Baden-Baden Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

I went on this trip with my 19 year old son and enjoyed it very much. I wish we had had more time in the Black Forest area. However, considering the places we went were not that close together, it is understandable that we could not stay long in any of the places. At the end of the trip the guide wanted to leave Baden-Baden rather quickly. I asked him if we couldn't stay long enough to have a drink at a cafe and he let us stay 45 minutes longer. A suggestion is that if the guide wants to leave earlier than necessary, to ask for more time.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

Mario S
Malta

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This is a very scenic trip to two famously picturesque areas, one in France and the other in Germany. The problem was that it was too much to fit in Strasbourg, Baden-Baden and the Black Forest all in one day's trip. Strasbourg is such a lovely city, that it merits a whole day trip to itself to properly enjoy all that it has to offer and not be pressed for time. That said, we got enough time to visit the Cathedral and take a scenic boat ride on the canals. However, back in Germany, we made a stop-over in Baden-Baden, and then there was only time left for a drive through a part of the Black Forest. Perhaps on this trip, the stop at Baden-Baden could be eliminated, and more time spent experiencing the Forest, and maybe visiting a Cuckoo Clock workshop. All in all, though, the experience was unforgettable.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

We were part of a small group traveling in a van, our guide was great and helpful. Baden-Baden was beautiful and more time would have been good to look around and enjoy such a pretty place.The lake at the forest was nice but doesn't need much time allocated to it, a bit touristy with the shops etc. Strasbourg was a fabulous place to visit, a sunny day and lovely vibe. We were very Disappointed that the canal trip around the city didn't happen because the queues were so long and advance tickets aren't available to tour guides. We could have had more time to do this with less at the lake or different sequencing of the day. Sandwich and drink so basic it would be better to grab something yourself. Well worth doing this tour!

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

We really enjoyed this trip. Baden-Baden and the Black Forest were amazing and the guide even stopped at a wonderful bakery to buy Black Forest Cake and, of course, other irresistible goodies. We loved Strasbourg and the our boat ride on the river. If we had been there a few days earlier the river would have been too high to make the trip, but the boats were running again when we arrived and this boat ride is something you don't want to miss. A sandwich and drink were provided, but if you are picky bring your own. Only around 45 minutes were allowed to see Strasbourg on our own, so don't waste time eating. I wish we had more time, but it is a really long trip with lots to see. We will return on our own sometime.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

I had paid for this trip as I was really looking forward to go to Strasbourg. It was a small tour group only 3 of us which was interesting. We went to Baden-Baden first where we had a look around the casinos and spas which wasn't too bad. Then went up to Black Forest in order to see an 800yr old castle and then to go to mumlesee. While in mumlesee I asked our tour guide when we were going to Strasbourg when I was then informed that it's too big of a day and we won't be going. If that was th case I feel that I should have been told at the very beginning of the day what our tour would include. I had paid to go to Black Forest and Strasbourg so I was very disappointed that this was not the experience I got to have.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2012

Overall, the trip was ok. The guide, Peter, was excellent - very knowledgable in all 3 towns we visited. However, the trip was overpriced for what it was and I would not recommend it to others. In Strasbourg, there was no boat tour (due to a strike), yet there was no offer of compensation back for this missed portion of the trip. We did tour Strasbourg (supposedly as plan B), but as I understand it from another family that took the tour earlier in the week, they toured Strasbourg and had the boat tour, and their comments were that if you didn't have the boat tour, that was the highlight of the trip. The Black Forest was excellent, and probably the best part of the trip. Baden-Baden was ok, although not overly stimulating - a nice German spa town, but saw shops, many of which I could have seen in Frankfurt. I would recommend a Black Forest only trip, but not the Strasbourg and Baden-Baden portion of it. The lunch was VERY disappointing - if you're going to include lunch, make it better than packaged sandwiches (which no one liked) and juice boxes. Overall, the trip was disappointing and very overpriced.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message