Although the Black Forest is located in the sunniest area of Germany, its name dates from a time when thick tree cover shielded the forest floor from light. There are more clearings now but the country’s largest and most renowned forest remains a 3D ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 216 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

angbiansiew

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Too much time was given at Titisee as not much things to do

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

lwcsylvia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Baden-Baden was very nice, Black Forest trip was great, just that the time was too short in Strasbourg. The guide is very nice, friendly and knowledgeable. Overall, I enjoyed myself very much.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

BARRY C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This tour was amazing, Strasbourg was beautiful, the Black Forest was absolutely fantastic, snow everywhere and wonderful Black Forest cake. Baden-Baden Christmas markets were lovely as well. Our tour guide Oliver was fanatastic

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

Vichuda Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Amazing tour and the guide was great.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

Saadia M G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour was amazing and the guide excellent and fun. Everything was prompt friendly, the hotels were great for the price. The breakfasts were surprisingly very good, wide selection, service was better than I expected. The sights and itinerary was the best!!!!! What a great trip, will book another tour as soon as possible.

Doing what: 7-Day European Highlights Tour From Frankfurt: Germany, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Austria And Switzerland

Melissa S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Peter was our gracious, educated, patient host for the day who spoke good English thoughout the tour. It was only a 2 hours drive from Frankfurt to the pretty and quaint town of Baden Baden. We then proceeded to the castle which had a good view of the Black Forrest. However the highlight was Lake Mummelsee, such a gorgeous lake where we had the famous Black Forret Cake and the opportunity to shop for local souveniers such as the cuckoo clock. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Black Forest and Baden-Baden Day Trip from Frankfurt

Bruneau.claude

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Even the morning rain couldn't ruin the day we had an amazing tour. Our guide Danielle took us to some spectacular spots along the Black Forest wine route. The scenery was truly unbelievable. If you only have time for one day tour I would highly recommend this one.

Doing what: Private Tour: Baden-Baden and Black Forest Day Trip from Strasbourg

Ee Seng L

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

Not back if you like to understand how is the world famous cuckoo clocks is make.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Erika P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was amazing!
Absolutely beautiful! Ana and Armando were great. They are very warm and friendly. I was traveling alone so that made a huge difference. Love the falls too, but my favorite was the forest and the way to the forest. I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Zalfa H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I loved the tour! We got to see many attractions in a short period of time. Our tour guide was Danny, who was very helpful, friendly, and went out of his way to ensure we have a great tour. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: 7-Day European Highlights Tour From Frankfurt: Germany, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Austria And Switzerland

Jingwen Cindy Y

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Overall, we enjoyed the tour! Rhine Falls was beautiful and the time spent there was adequate. Black Forest Village was great but more time there would be great. There are people who weren't on time and the tour guide/bus driver were going to leave them behind which we were surprised. We weren't too impressed with the tour guide as we thought she was quite abrupt and narky with her comments.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Mary C USA

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

It is a beautiful place to see. However we missed the casino tour by 15 minutes, which was a disappointment after reading all the wonderful reviews. I felt this could have been avoided had our guide not let us stop to take pictures and stroll to the casino. The Christmas market was lovely. There was snow and the lake was pretty my grandkids 12 and 9 loved it. Oliver was our guide and did a good job. He was very pleasant. The company in Frankfurt runs the tours, and should invest in an audio system for the vans because it is hard to hear the driver and if you are in the back can hardly hear at all.

Doing what: Black Forest and Baden-Baden Day Trip from Frankfurt

Chris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

What an experience! Thanks to a wonderful guide, Peter!

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

Faris Lebanon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Hi it was fantastic trip the land scape view was fabulous the guide was very good we really enjoyed our time it deserve the money paid for this trip

Doing what: Black Forest and Baden-Baden Day Trip from Frankfurt

Sam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wonderful! Beautiful locations and Anna was a fantastic guide.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Vachan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had an excellent time. The guide Mr. Peter was very informative. Thanks.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

annewright57

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

This is an enjoyable day trip but there is a lot of time spent in the coach. We only had 7 people on the tour and our tour guide was terrific. He changed the order of the day, after consulting with everyone, because it was a Sunday and there would be lots of traffic. So we went to Strasbourg the furthest destination for he day first. It made sense.We had at most 2 hours in Strasbourg. There was a little free time. We didn't do the canal cruise as advertised in the itinerary but did a mini train trip throughout the town, which was probably better than a canal cruise but I'm sure it didn't cost as much. At the Black Forest we had lunch but there was no time to walk around the lake. Baden-Baden was interesting and our guide took us on a walking tour of the town but most places were closed by the time we got there. Some time spent by ourselves would have been nice. Overall a pleasant day.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

Janaki S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

As many others have also said, the tour is a little rushed, but a lovely places to visit - so the rush cant be helped! Ours was a very nice tour guide. Just to note, in Baden-Baden, we did not exactly enter the casino - i was not really interested in it, so was happy with that, but maybe can be more clear in the details published.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

Carrie G

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

This tour should have been longer. We should have left at 10:00 instead of noon to allow us more time in the German village. You could only shop or eat lunch - there was not enough time to do both and it was such a cute village for eating and shopping - not enough time. When we got to the Rhine Falls - that was enough time however the boat cost should be included in the price of the excursion. It was frustrating having to find Francs to pay the tour guide for the boat on the Rhine to see the falls closer.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Patricia M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

The drive thru the countryside to the Black Forest was lovely. The Cuccko clock demonstration was canned and a plug for purchases. The entire town visited was touristy and not an example of a unique German town. Disappointing.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Jo-Ann C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

Didn't find this trip worth the money. The Rhine Falls were disappointing although the largest in Europe, if you've been to Niagara Falls in Canada, they are nothing in comparison. A lot of driving for nothing worth seeing.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Victoria B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

Guide was grumpy and did not treat some of the passengers with respect. She should have told us we could do a boat ride on the lake.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

db.iitbmonash

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour was well planned and comfortable. Our tour guide, Peter, happened to be a very knowledgeable and friendly person, who took care to ensure that we enjoyed our trip. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Black Forest and Baden-Baden Day Trip from Frankfurt

willie c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Fantastic! Worth our money! All hotels mostly are in Mariott and good hotels, though there are some not but its about the city availability. Well managed, highly recommended! Stressful and adventurous trip...

Doing what: 7-Day European Highlights Tour From Frankfurt: Germany, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Austria And Switzerland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message