Although the Black Forest is located in the sunniest area of Germany, its name dates from a time when thick tree cover shielded the forest floor from light. There are more clearings now but the country’s largest and most renowned forest remains a 3D ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 161 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Beautiful town and countryside! We loved seeing the quintessential German forest and countryside. George was a great tour guide too.

Doing what: Black Forest and Baden-Baden Day Trip from Frankfurt

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The Black Forest part of the tour was a bit boring but we enjoyed the Rhine Falls segment.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The idea was nice, however we found it very controlled and rushed. I would have liked more time to walk around the town and perhaps the forest rather than the cuckoo demo which we couldnt see properly anyway due to so many people And perhaps going to the toilet toilet should have been included in our spare time rather than waiting for the whole group to go? The falls was a bonus, but again all very rushed. would have enjoyed a full day alot more and not so much rushing

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

we enjoyed our day trip especially our time with our guide Florence. Florence was personable., very knowledgeable about the area and the people. The vans should have back up cameras especially for indoor parking.

Doing what: Private Tour: Freiburg and Black Forest Day Trip from Strasbourg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We enjoyed this tour with Anna, our guide. She is very knowledgeable. It was an overcast day, but we still managed to enjoy the Swiss Alps, all the views and most important - Black Forest Cake!

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing , we had a great day , my only criticism would be by the time we arrived at Rhine falls all the shops and cafe's were closed so we couldn't even buy a drink.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A tout I would do it over and over and over! Our tour guide Flo Desvernois was just amazing! She was SUPER nice and professional. Once of a lifetime experience!

Doing what: Private Tour: Baden-Baden and Black Forest Day Trip from Strasbourg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A good trip and Peter was a marvelous guide good in explaining to us the history of the place and the landscape. Unfortunately, it was a holiday and we encountered several jams along the autobahn.

Doing what: Black Forest and Baden-Baden Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was quite a long day, but we knew what we were signing up for, so no grumbles there. However, the tour company office - apparently incorrectly - told the driver some clients wanted to visit Strassburg - that would have meant a VERY long day. After some discussion on the bus, it was decided to just do Heidelberg and Baden-Baden.

Both H and B-B were good to visit and wander around, and the driver provided good background in each. We had a crisis when one tour member got separated from the rest of the party in B-B, but we managed to find her after searching. I was greatly impressed by the driver's professionalism in coordinating the search. The final segment in the mountains south of B-B was magic.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Baden-Baden Tour from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was nice. Our guide explained everything in detail. Liked boating near Rhine falls and also enjoyed Blackforest trip.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Highly recommended. Beautiful. Don't forget to taste Black Forest Cake. Strasbourg France is a must. Very charming city. Good commendation for tour co.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful trip, it was very relaxing. Our guide Peter was very interactive.

Doing what: Black Forest and Baden-Baden Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What more can i say, the Black Forest Cake certainly lived up to its reputation, it tasted amazing

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Hi... The tour started at 9.30am as promised. Since the group was small (8), we travelled in a Mini Van instead of a bus/coach. The travel guide drove is well through the motorway to Baden Baden, Black Forest and Strasbourg was included in this trip. It was a nice experience.

Doing what: Black Forest and Baden-Baden Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was great , hope we could spend more time in the Baden Baden. It was a pity that we could not see the Mamelsee, the lake, due to the heavy fog.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Relaxing day out to see a very calming and picturesque landscape.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

A very ill planned Tour left us with a Bill of $400, 5 hours in Bus, 1 hour in Souvinier Shop, half an hour of walk and 1.5 hours of Sight seeing, and the Memories of a Rude uptight Tour Guide.
Any traveller reading this, please don't take this Tour- it's a waste of time and Money. please avoid

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Really good experience .Extremely helpful crew

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

It was really good. The driver/ tourguide Peter is knowledgable and gave us a deep insight into the Baden Baden background. My family really enjoyed this tour and I would recommend this tour. Blackforest is really scenic and we managed to buy our cuckoo clock and try the Blackforest cake there. Thumbs up.

Doing what: Black Forest and Baden-Baden Day Trip from Frankfurt

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Disappointing tour. Firstly for this full day tour, it was quite uncomfortable for 8 persons being put in a mini van.
The tour guide / driver was an absolute let down , with hardly any information coming out of him. Since he had to also fend for parking , we were left with hardly any time at Strasbourg and missed seeing the main Cathedral.Lunch was a sandwich provided to us and the drive through Biack Forest was a complete compromise.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Quite disappointed. We were not shown the casino's beautiful interiors as described online. Why wasn't the tour structured? We didn't get to see the baths, just walked through Baden Baden small city section. We paid too much, we were out for only 8 hrs 39 mins, not the 11 hrs, paid too much.

Doing what: Black Forest and Baden-Baden Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We were a small group (6 in total) and had a fantastic tour guide.

Doing what: Black Forest and Baden-Baden Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

It was very good trip with our helpful guides. The best part was the boat ride at Strasbourg...thought it rained a bit. Overall satisfied with the tour.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message