Although the Black Forest is located in the sunniest area of Germany, its name dates from a time when thick tree cover shielded the forest floor from light. There are more clearings now but the country’s largest and most renowned forest remains a 3D ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 239 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jenifer H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Really enjoyable day tour. It only gives a taste of the black forest when coming from Frankfurt, due to the distance, but what we saw was very beautiful. Baden Baden extremely interesting and beautiful place to stop along the way. We thought that peter was an amazing guide,interesting commentary, easy going and never made us feel rushed.

Doing what: Black Forest and Baden-Baden Day Trip from Frankfurt

Srikanth T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This trip is awesome very professional and very good hotels has been provided...bit hectic but amazing experience ..

Doing what: 7-Day European Highlights Tour From Frankfurt: Germany, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Austria And Switzerland

Trudy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was the perfect day trip into the countryside of both Switzerland and Germany. AND the Rhine Falls were amazing! Add the boat ride that gets you close to the falls and it is perfect!!

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

GOPAL S India

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

-We enjoyed the drive throughout.
-Rhine Falls boat ride is a must see for everyone.
- Though rain played spoil sport, overall the tour operator did justice to the tour. The guide who looked like Henry Kissinger ! gave us enough insight and good sense of humour.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Patrick Ping K L Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Black forest was a let down. The Black Forest was more for bringing business to cookoo clock and watch merchants than sightseeing. Rhine falls is just OK, nothing special.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Kamryz United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Both Blakc forest and Rhine Falls were great experience. Very well organised tour

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Valerie G

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The experience could've been better. One, the weather, which was nobody's fault BUT two, an American couple waited until we were on the way out of the city to mention to the driver that they had to be at the airport an hour before we were due to come back. Instead of asking them to leave the tour, the rest of us had our day shortened to accommodate their needs. This meant no canal cruise in Strasbourg. To top it off, we actually had to leave even earlier in case there was a traffic jam and they missed their plane. They were only waiting for their connection and had no right booking such a long day tour. Peter was a fabulous tour guide, but needs, in future, to cater to the majority not to idiots that potentially ruin everyone else's day. No-one was happy about it. However, disregarding this, and the weather, the tour is to be recommended. They could maybe consider something a little more substantial than a single sandwich for lunch.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

Pamela T

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The Black Forest village was very nice with lots of small shops to visit for souvenirs. The Rhine Falls were spectacular - a smaller version of Niagara Falls and the boat ride to the base of the falls was fun - be prepared to get wet. I enjoyed the trip.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Carole

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Very enjoyable. I'm not sure what I expected on the tour, but I was hoping for more Black Forest. I still recommend the tour though. The scenery was great. This was the second time I was at Rhine Falls, but this tour approached the Falls from the other side of the river. I enjoyed the different perspective! Again, excellent scenery.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Sally C Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour was great to the black forest. the tour guide and the driver were very informative and provided insight of the history of the black forest.
The Rhine falls was alright. the tour package only included a boat ride to the fall not the most expensive ride where people could get off and stand next to the fall.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Diana Lie A

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This trip to blackforest was breathtaking but to Baden Baden was just normal and nothing spectacular, a very small town but the tour guide Peter was awesome.

Doing what: Black Forest and Baden-Baden Day Trip from Frankfurt

shuffy2 United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Tour was amazing! We crossed into Germany and drove through the Black Forest to the lake town of Titisee-Neustadt where we enjoyed the Black Forest cake, learned about cuckcoo clocks, picked up a few souvenirs, and had a beer in an outdoor beer garden. On the way back to Zurich, we stopped at the Rhine Falls and took a boat ride close enough to the waterfall to feel the spray on our faces. Only thing that would have made it better would have been a little sunshine but I need to take that up with Mother Nature!

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Jennifer M

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Though we enjoyed the day , we felt that we didn't 'do' a lot . The weather was drizzly which probably didn't help.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Jennifer M

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Though we enjoyed the day , we felt that we didn't 'do' a lot . The weather was drizzly which probably didn't help.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Marko Medardo L

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Not much to do in Black Forest, nice scenery where the boats are docked, some souvenir shops, but you can't really explore much because you're always rushed. Not enough time to immerse yourself a bit. Riding a boat towards the falls was better. It was a great experience, only spoiled because the boat did not drop us off at the rock landing point at the falls itself, because our guide said there was not enough time. And btw, the cake was nothing special. It tasted kind of bland actually.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

nkknlch.misc

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Rhine Falls was nice, apart from that, nothing really interesting about the Black Forest. Perhaps due to the fact it was raining, thus most of us stayed in the shops and didn't manage to venture around.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Todd Z

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Not a bad trip after all it is the Black Forest and there is a lot of beautiful scenery. Seven of us and a guide in a minivan covered the highlights and saw some beautiful places. A bit disorganized was far as when and where we were doing things. Our lunch consisted of slice of processed turkey with a pickle slice on a couple slices of bread that we ate in the van. I felt there wasn't really good value for the money.

Doing what: Black Forest and Baden-Baden Day Trip from Frankfurt

Mahendra K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

This trip in itself is worth the half day effort But after doing Jungfrau and Mt. Titilis on previous two days, Black forest did not match the excitement. Additionally, the trip started at 12.15 meaning you return by 7.30 in evening. It's not productive. We saw some other tours starting at 8am and checked with local operator but they don't do morning tour. So it was disappointing to lose entire day for what is basically a half day trip!

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Adaariv

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

It was tour operated by a very rough guide who was forcing her views on the crowd . The tour was good my rating would be 2 out of stock 10.

Guide should be someone who cares and share with visitors who are inquisitive to learn more .please train her..

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

angbiansiew

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Too much time was given at Titisee as not much things to do

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

lwcsylvia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Baden-Baden was very nice, Black Forest trip was great, just that the time was too short in Strasbourg. The guide is very nice, friendly and knowledgeable. Overall, I enjoyed myself very much.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message