• USD ($)
  • English
Although the Black Forest is located in the sunniest area of Germany, its name dates from a time when thick tree cover shielded the forest floor from light. There are more clearings now but the country’s largest and most renowned forest remains a 3D ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 96 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Wonderful trip as we manage to experience a variety of places in a day. The guide was excellent too and as there were only the two of us we can explore at our own convenience.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

It was a small tour - so we felt very spoilt
The tour guide knew lots of facts and information which he shared willingly

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We had a great tour with a wonderful guide. Only one problem - we wanted more time! Thanks for everything; hope to return someday.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Started this from lovely Heidelberg. Our excellent guide was Peter.
The group of 7 was very comfortable in a lovely van.
I absolutely loved the atmostphere and beauty of the Black Forest area!
Also Strasbourg was a highlight of the day.
Loved the sights, shopping and boat trip.
This was the quality tour I had hoped for.
I will use Viator again in future travels!
Thanks! Marion from Canada

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Very experienced guide. Best lunch in the black forest and beautiful Rhine falls on the way back.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I nearly missed out on this tour as another party cancelled, leaving just me. Luckily a man from Bangladesh on a day free from business turned up and the tour owner kindly allowed the tour to go ahead. From the moment our driver Peter had us seated in our comfortable private car the day was amazing. As the weather was unsettled the tour was taken in reverse to avoid the rain.. Everything about the tour was interesting, enjoyable and varied. It's a long journey but it's a great way to see and experience so much in one day. Strasbourg was beautiful and the river cruise very informative . It was lovely getting to stroll around the markets and tour inside Notre Dame. We couldn't see anything in the Black Forest drive past the edges of the forest due to fog and rain but that just added to the atmosphere. The cake and quaint cuckoo clocks in the café oozed charm and the souvenir shop had lots of choice. Baden Baden was such a surprise with historical buildings and upmarket shops standing side by side. The casino and spa were highlights of the town. I look back on this day tour with gratitude - to share it with the passionate guide Peter and my Bangladeshi companion was an added bonus.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great tour but a lot of driving. Strasbourg is a beautiful city and the Notre Dame of Strasbourg can't be missed. The Black Forest is beautiful and certainly worth a visit.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was an excellent tour. I was expecting to travel by a large bus but actually we were only 4 people, myself and my wife and two other tourists. The trip was very enjoyable. I would like to especially appreciate the guide cum driver. The person was a real gentle man and tried his level best to keep the tourists informed and happy. I really enjoyed the tour.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great day trip. We had a fantastic day. Only a small group (4 of us) and Peter, our guide was wonderful. He was professional yet personable. He was very knowledgeable about the region and explained many things to us about the local history and culture. Peter is an excellent and capable driver, this is quite a long distance trip and I felt very safe with him at the wheel. Initially, we were a bit reluctant to spend the money for this day trip but it turned out to be the most enjoyable day we had during our 3 weeks in Europe. Well worth what it costs. I will remember this day for a long time to come, especially the Strasbourg Boat Cruise, the Black Forest Cake and the Cuckoo Clocks!

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

SAIKATB
Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A complete washout because of incessant rain but our tour guide was innovative enough to take us to Strasbourg as well. An excellent experience in spite of the weather that day !!

Doing what: Black Forest and Baden-Baden Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A must go. Peter drove us passing nice vineyard, seeing villages in black forest, very beautiful and quite. Strasbourg was excellent, nice boat ride. Don't miss this tour.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Great outing... Really enjoyed it but i think theres still some adjustments to be done from the organisers re this excursion. Should be extended to 8hours... We only had 1hr15mins in titisee and 35mins freetime to see the rhinefalls, the rest travelling by coach. One other thing please... This regrding titisee excurion... Too much walking for older people, just imagine having someone needs assistance to walk or in a wheelchair... Please take note... I hope my suggestions serve to make this trip more enjoyable and relaxing to future customers. Before i go please allow me to thank our tou leader of last monday 9th september for the non stop service and dedication with the group she was awesome.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

driver / guide knew all about where we going and the country

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

Nice trip to the black forest to taste the real black forest cake.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

Generally, it was not very value added.
For a 6hrs trip, too little time was spent - 2hrs at Black FOrest, 45mins at Rhine Falls. It would have been better to have more time spent at RhineFalls to allow us time to take the boat.
Overall, it is not worthwhile to travel for 2hrs on the road just to Black Forest.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message