Although the Black Forest is located in the sunniest area of Germany, its name dates from a time when thick tree cover shielded the forest floor from light. There are more clearings now but the country’s largest and most renowned forest remains a 3D ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 123 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Of my three Viatar trips, this was my favorite (all were fantastic). I was on vacation on business in Brussels and had limited time to vacation in Europe on a travel, tour, and travel schedule. The trip into France, the Black Forest and other locations along the way was fantastic. Lucky to be a part of a small tour of four with a great tour guide who spoke perfect English and was very freindly. Lunch in the Black Forest by a lake, REAL Black Forest Cake. Beautiful picture post card views, opportunities to relax and grab lunch and tour locally. Highly recommended; as well as my tour in Switzerland to the Alps and from Brussels to Luxembourg

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The tour was nice. Tour seemed rushed but there was a lot of driving to the locations. Rhine falls were amazing, got very close which was awesome

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

It was an excellent tour as it made us discover Black Forest and it's panoramic scenes couple up with Rhine falls. However, we spent too much time on the road travelling which made it very tiring.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Good half-day trip from Zurich plus great food and beer in the Black Forest! Definitely recommended!

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Trip was very good except there was not enough time left to have our lunch at the lake and look around the village. The tour to the clock maker was excellent and the tour guide was very interesting fellow and conducted the tour extremely well..

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

good tour. But a bit expensive as too much is covered in the day. Largely exclusive as a small gp joins this trip. Friendly driver and staff.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great experience. Very nice trip. The boat ride at the Rhine falls is a must. Very good tour guide who answered all questions and was very informative. A must do trip.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Jacqueline F
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was great. The tour guide was very informative and helpful.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I thought that this was an excellent tour in most aspects. We were in a group of 6, so it felt as if we got to see more than if we had been in a group. In a small town in France we went on a boat tour that was slightly over an hour long. It was quite informative. However, it was hot so I recommend going on the closed top boat. We went into Baden Baden and had some Black Forest Cake. However, that is all that we did there. We were not given time to walk around. We also didn't get to walk into the Black Forest. All in all I would give this 4 1/2. They should add an extra hour and allow a short trip into the Black Forest, and a short alone time in Baden Baden.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Would like to spend more time in Black Forest

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

More time in Germany would have been nice. If the tour could leave an hour earlier so that we could have more time in Germany, this would be preferable. Otherwise, lovely area.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Mario S
Malta

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This is a very scenic trip to two famously picturesque areas, one in France and the other in Germany. The problem was that it was too much to fit in Strasbourg, Baden-Baden and the Black Forest all in one day's trip. Strasbourg is such a lovely city, that it merits a whole day trip to itself to properly enjoy all that it has to offer and not be pressed for time. That said, we got enough time to visit the Cathedral and take a scenic boat ride on the canals. However, back in Germany, we made a stop-over in Baden-Baden, and then there was only time left for a drive through a part of the Black Forest. Perhaps on this trip, the stop at Baden-Baden could be eliminated, and more time spent experiencing the Forest, and maybe visiting a Cuckoo Clock workshop. All in all, though, the experience was unforgettable.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

It was a beautiful trip to the Black Forest. Perfect weather and nice guide along the way. The boat ride in the Rhine Falls was introduced last minute and we had to pay extra 6 CHF per person, but it was worth it. Overall, me and my parents enjoyed the trip.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message