Stand on the northern shore of the River Neckar and you can see why Heidelberg is such a popular spot for overseas visitors to Germany. This classic view of the city encompasses the old stone bridge with its salt-and-pepper shaker towers guarding ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 250 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My wife and I were in Frankfurt for only 1 day so we needed a tour which would give us the most opportunity to sightsee as possible. This tour fit the bill perfectly. The tour guide was informative, funny, and really enjoyed his work.
Highly recommend this tour for those with limited time.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The trip was well worth it. The driver was on time and very knowledgeable - spoke English. Heidelberg is very beautiful and picturesque. The 1/2 day tour is mainly the castle, although we had time to look around the city itself which was nice.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Greatly enjoyed both tours! Heidelberg highlight was the castle. Rhine valley featured a cruise on the Rhine river (relaxing and picturesque) followed by dinner and wine tasting (the ice wine is worth trying). The guide (Adrian) was fantastic (very knowledgeable and funny)!

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour. Our guide was very entertaining and informative. The castle and the city is a must see when in Germany!

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was quite a long day, but we knew what we were signing up for, so no grumbles there. However, the tour company office - apparently incorrectly - told the driver some clients wanted to visit Strassburg - that would have meant a VERY long day. After some discussion on the bus, it was decided to just do Heidelberg and Baden-Baden.

Both H and B-B were good to visit and wander around, and the driver provided good background in each. We had a crisis when one tour member got separated from the rest of the party in B-B, but we managed to find her after searching. I was greatly impressed by the driver's professionalism in coordinating the search. The final segment in the mountains south of B-B was magic.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Baden-Baden Tour from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great trip, Good guide.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Highly recommended. Will take you also through the romantic road, really beautiful. excellent company.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rothenburg Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide was great. We just wanted a little more free time in the city to explore. Over all it was a very nice half day trip and I would recommend to anyone :

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Lovely Guide with good knowledge of what we were seeing. A great place to visit.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

It was great. We toured the Castle and the old town. Shopped and took wonderful pictures. A trip worth taking.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Don't waste your money. With a good guide book and a train ticket you can get the same experience. Due to the late kick off time 9:30 AM our tour missed Heidelberg - it took 3 hours due to traffic which our guide said was 'normal' and 'expected' and that tours miss Heidelberg all the time and everything was closed when we got there. I thought it was weird when the guide asked if we still wanted to go to Heidelberg, but now I know why. The tour guide is OK but the tour is WAY to expensive. A tour book can give the same info. Oddly, they did provide sandwhiches, but I couldn't understand why as really good sausage and such is easily gotten and consumed while walking the streets. I recommend seeing Heidelberg and Rothenberg but not this tour.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rothenburg Day Trip from Frankfurt

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Very rushed in Heidelberg would've been better to leave earlier, Rhine Valley was really good but the meal was very average. Tour guide was good

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

Love Heidleberg and Rhine River. The tour guide was good and had a good sence of humour. Bus ride was rough and when you present a wine tasting don't do it in plastic cups. Always use wine glasses with a bucket for waste.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

Don't do both cities in one day, too much driving. Started in Rothenburg and it was great, good amount of free time. Drive to Heidelberg was hectic and had very little time to visit city, only Castle. Driver didn't tell us Rothenburg was first stop and we had to force bathroom break after 1.7 hours.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rothenburg Day Trip from Frankfurt

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

I would give it 2 stars. Our driver was Boris - nice enough but was hoping for more personality. He also rushed us through Heidelberg only 20 mins in the old town and NO tour of the town. We had over 2 hours in Rotenburg, clearly his favorite place to visit. Both places are beautiful. So overall it was ok but for the price a bit disappointing.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rothenburg Day Trip from Frankfurt

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

Did not have the English speaking guide we promised. It was only the driver, who did not even understand English well.Did not even come out of the bus with us.

Doing what: Four Day Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

Visiting Heidelberg is amazing, but only around 4 hours to go, to visit the castle, to visit the city, and to go back to Frankfurt are not enough. We were given only 45 minutes to walk around in the beautiful city. We barely had time to eat lunch there at a nice restaurant. That was disappointing.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The transportation was comfortable, and roomy. The Tour Guide was friendly, professional, and knowledgeable with a great sense of humor. Heidelberg is gorgeous and a must see tour.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

we had an afternoon tour and there were only the three of us so it was like a private tour. the quaint little town heidelberg is very nice if you want to have a feel of the old germany. it's really one experience one shouldn't miss. our driver/tour guide peter, was great and even gave us a surprise at the end of the tour. he even dropped us off at our hotel even if it was not included in the package :

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We had a perfect outing to Heidelberg. Gorgeous and interesting city. We needed to adjust the time of our tour a bit and our preferences were easily accommodated. Really nice to be picked up and dropped off at our hotel and with 6 participants, the cost per person was not much more than the group tour offered.

Doing what: Private Tour: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message