Stand on the northern shore of the River Neckar and you can see why Heidelberg is such a popular spot for overseas visitors to Germany. This classic view of the city encompasses the old stone bridge with its salt-and-pepper shaker towers guarding ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 202 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

EXCELLENT TOUR and TOUR GUIDE!

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rothenburg Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We were lucky to be the only people on the tour, so it was much like a private tour with an absolutely fabulous driver called Willy who showed and explained many sites, history and attractions for us to visit. Both towns were beautiful with Rothenburg our favourite. Be prepared for a drive to Heidleburg and then onto Rothenburg and back, but this is the fun and adventure that you will have. Great trip thanks to the expertise of our guide and driver.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rothenburg Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We had a good time on our trip. The car was clean and they prepared 2 boosters for my 2 young kids. The tour guide was very knowledgable and friendly. This makes our trip hassle-free especially traveling with 2 young children.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rothenburg Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Our tour guide Alan was great - had a lovely trip. Shame it rained just when we were going around the shops in Heidelberg

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Heidelberg part of the tour is fine , but the Rhine valley day trip could easily be done independently as the tour basically provides transportation only

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This was a very enjoyable tour through this historic region and grand architecture. The meal at the restaurant was very medicore, but the regional wine tasting was good.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This was a very good trip we had a very good travel rep with us (Adrian). He was very knowledgeable, informative and very entertaining. Heidelberg is a very pretty destination steeped in history. It was a good trip which I would recommend. The Christmas Market was quite small but gave the flavour of Germany at Christmas time.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Before i review the trip i want to clarify that my ratings is based on:-

1) The tour guide - 5 Stars
2) The Bus - 3 Stars
3) The trip and locations- 5 Stars
4) Snacks - 4 stars

My review rating does not include the tour office or office manager as the office was a mess and the office manager was not friendly at all (Maybe because he was working on a Sunday)!

That aside the important part that was the trip itself was great!! The tour guide was amazing...who knew everything about anything and was really funny. Some people might find his sense of humour a bit corny but when you are out on a vacation and on a day trip with strangers...nothing breaks the ice better then jokes!!

The tour guide (whose name i am sadly forgetting) was very informative and also knew the perfect spots for pics. He is an ex-journalist and very well versed with all worldly matters :-)

I would definitely recommend this trip...although i wish the bus had been a bit more newer!!

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We really enjoyed this trip! The tour around the castle was informative and we really enjoyed hearing about it's history. We would have liked a bit more free time in Heidelberg for lunch instead of being given sandwiches on the bus, however the tour was a good taster for this romantic town.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

Great place. Castle tour good but then left to explore town on our own.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Good tour, thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: Frankfurt Combo: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip and Frankfurt City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Great tour but a little short due to the travel time to/from Frankfurt.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Near disaster in that the bus left Munich at 1030 instead of 1050 as listed on the itinerary, but fortunately we were early to the bus station. Driver on first day tried to point things out and played some pre-recorded touring info. Stopped briefly at Augsburg and Dinkelsbuhl. Rothenburg was great and stayed overnight at nice boutique hotel (Goldene Rose). 2nd day driver didn't say squat and no recorded info. Stopped in Wurzburg. Oddly also stopped at upscale outlet mall and more tourists piled onto bus for Frankfurt. Enjoyed Frankfurt and Heidelberg; great, funny tour guide for castle. Intercity Hotel in Frankfurt was ok. Overall I would recommend the tour.

Doing what: Three Day Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Heidelberg, Rothenburg

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We enjoyed the tour, especially the Rhine Valley. When I ordered this I didn't realize that these were actually divided into two separate tours. They took us to the Heidelberg castle in the morning, then drove us back to the office while a few people departed the bus and a few new people came on and then we left for the Rhine in the afternoon. This created a lot of driving for one day. Had I know I would have done it differently. The castle was beautiful as well as the Rhine. We enjoyed the chicken dinner that came with the Rhine tour section. The sandwich provided and eaten in the parking lot at the Heidelberg castle was less exciting. This is a good way to see things when you don't know your way around. I would do it again next time but split the tours into two separate days.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message