Stand on the northern shore of the River Neckar and you can see why Heidelberg is such a popular spot for overseas visitors to Germany. This classic view of the city encompasses the old stone bridge with its salt-and-pepper shaker towers guarding ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 327 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

craigshannon2624

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Everything went well on this trip. Maybe could have used a little less humor and a lot more information.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Arvind A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The boat tour was very relaxing and awesome. The food was also reasonably priced on the boat so it was nice. The bus tour is like any other tour in any other city. It served its purpose

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Arvind A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The boat tour was very relaxing and awesome. The food was also reasonably priced on the boat so it was nice. The bus tour is like any other tour in any other city. It served its purpose

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Jennifer C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful! Beautiful castle with an interesting history and love story. Love it! Adrien, our guide was funny.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Eve B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

I have done multiple Viator tours in multiple different countries. In general I feel like the sights are always worth it, though the variables in logistics control what makes the trip enjoyable: transport method, guide, timing, lunch, fellow tour attendees etc. The more transparent the company is about these changeable elements, the better the trip.
They did change the itinerary on us as other reviewers have said we went to Rothenburg first. Also, Rothenburg is way better than Heidelberg, as others have said. Rothenburg is a cute town with lots to explore, and Heidelberg you take a quick 20 minute tour of the castle and then walk around a much busier town with mostly just shopping. So the itinerary switch did make sense but I could imagine many people wanting to know in advance that you spend waaaay more time in one place and actually switch the order of arrival. This trip was also in a literal 7 seat minivan, which worked out okay since I got the front seat, but I would have been pretty upset to pay all this money and get stuck in a small middle seat for hours and hours of driving. Small group meant you get to know each other better. Our guide was nice, but on the quieter side. Also, the provided lunch is a homemade cheese and pickle sandwich, so expect to buy something while you're out guide gave me a great recommendation in Rothenburg. These are small notes that influence the experience but in the end Rothenburg was so cool, it was totally worth it.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rothenburg Day Trip from Frankfurt

Marlene M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This was two trips placed together - morning/afternoon. The morning trip and tour of the Heidelberg castle and village were superb! Read about the history of the castle before going to have a greater appreciation of the site. The afternoon Rhine River cruise was enjoyable. Beautiful scenery of the river, castles and vineyards. The dinner and wine tasting at a tacky restaurant were a huge disappointment. Our choices for dinner were a baked chicken or vegetarian dish everyone thought the tour guide was joking - he said they were German chickens or schnitzel for extra Euros. At the tasting we were served four different wines but only a sip. Don't expect a true wine tasting experience. If you select this trip, go for the castles and scenery, not for the culinary experience.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Joan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I was the only person on the tour but Peter my guide showed me a great deal of Heidelberg and was very informative and I suppose we could do more because there was not a big group.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Deborah M S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

We learned so much about Heidelberg's history and eat some great food as well as drank some great beer.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Jamie S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Beautiful old city. Great tour group and leader. Did wish we had a little more time to walk the city center etc. maybe add another hour to the tour for more sightseeing and shopping in town.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Lily T

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Overall, this was a good trip although half day may feel a little rushed. I would recommend the full day tour. The local tour operator was knowledgeable and engaged the travellers. Did not expect a sandwich and drink to be included!

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Stephen H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

The tour of Heidelberg with Andy was great! We returned to Frankfurt in time for those on the Rhine tour to get their boat. I was told to come back in 1.5 hours for my bus tour of Frankfurt. Unacceptable.

Doing what: Frankfurt Combo: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip and Frankfurt City Tour

Eric M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I would highly recommend this tour. First, you have a great experience of the autobahn as you ride the van to Heidelberg. Heidelberg is an extremely beautiful old town. The castle is fascinating and we had some time in the city to explore and even catch a bite to eat at a German pub. They do provide you with a bottle of water and sandwich on the van, but the chance to eat a real German meal was too hard to pass up. The guide, Adrian, was wonderful. Helpful, informative, and entertaining. There were only 4 of us on the trip, all together, so it was like a private tour. Worth every penny!

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Kathryn B

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Unfortunately I was too late arriving and missed this tour!

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Rebecca M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Only a group of 7, our guide was great. Not really long enough in the town

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Cody M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was really fun and interesting. Our guide Adrian was very funny and also very knowledgeable. We could have spent more time in Heidelberg, however it was a good time altogether.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Amanda D Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

A beautiful city and a tour that gave plenty of time to see most things.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

smastopo

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

nice tour and very caring guide

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

RANJIT C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Heidelberg isn't recommended. Rothenburg is highly recommended!!!!

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rothenburg Day Trip from Frankfurt

Phillip E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The guide was fantastic. Not only did he provide great information about Heidelberg, he was happy to discuss all sorts of news/sports/history/etc about Germany, in general.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

BARRY C

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Beautiful tour, Heidelberg is a beautiful place. There was also Christmas Markets in Heidelberg as well.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

pie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

we had the best half day Heidelberg trip.Adrian our tour guide was so knowledgeable and very entertaining. They provided us with sandwiches and water. It was really so worth it.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Christina J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I'm so glad I took this short trip. Heidelberg was beautiful and was close enough to Frankfurt that I didn't feel like I wasted an entire day. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and spoke English very well. I had such a great experience that I booked another Viator tour a few days later.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Courtney S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

A good option if you're only looking for a short day trip. Our guide was knowledgeable and funny. Wish we had more time to explore the town and castle as it all felt a bit rushed. But overall it was a good overview of the town and history.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Tyrone M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Awesome time, it was our Wedding Anniversary which made the tour even more memorable. The tour guide was outstanding!!! I would gladly do it again or refer a friend.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message