• USD ($)
  • English
Stand on the northern shore of the River Neckar and you can see why Heidelberg is such a popular spot for overseas visitors to Germany. This classic view of the city encompasses the old stone bridge with its salt-and-pepper shaker towers guarding ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 163 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My wife and I had an amazing time. We loved our driver Oliver. He was very knowledgeable. Vehicle was clean. The sights were amazing with a small group of people. Very enjoyable. A must do tour if you are in the area and have time to spare. Will do it again!!

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Guide should provide better commentary

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Our trip to Heidelberg was wonderful. The castle tour and the tour of Heidelberg were well worth the trip. The views of the city from the castle were amazing. Our free time in Heidelberg was sufficient to sample some of the treats from one of the cafes in town. The only downside was that the tour guide was 10 minutes late in meeting the group. The other downside was that she agreed to take a member of the group to the airport on the way back resulting in the bus returning to Frankfurt a little late. As we were not aware that the bus was to return to Frankfurt before going back out of city to the Rhine Valley, those on the bus spent close to 3 hours on the bus from Heidelberg to the Rhine before going onto the boat. The Rhine cruise was a pleasant experience with wonderful scenery. The dinner option at the restaurant was disappointing (chicken or a vegetarian dish) and any other option was extra.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A trip to Heidelberg is a must when you're in Frankfurt. The guide was lovely and took us to all the quaint shops dotting along the Old Town.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Heidelberg is a beautiful city and the castle overlooking the town is of historic significance. The tour guide we had spoke very clear English, was very knowledgeable, and ran the tour at a pace that allowed plenty of time to take pictures. Our tour took place on a very hot day (95F) and we were very grateful that the bus carried with it a supply of mineral water bottles sufficient for everyone to quench their thirst. The tour even supplied us with a snack of decent sandwichs. Overall I think we got a great tour at a fair price.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Heidelberg is what I think of when I think of Germany. Very picturesque, charming and romantic. Highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Really like the time to explore Rothenburg, which is a fabulous experience. Highly recommend the night watchman's tour!

Doing what: Three Day Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Heidelberg, Rothenburg

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Was a fun city tour, the duration was just right

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Good tour however we were not informed that it is actually 2 separate tours. We did the Heidelberg trip which was good but then we went all the way back to Frankfurt only to get back on the bus 15 minutes later and head off to the Rhine cruise tour which was very relaxing and lovely scenery. Only down side was the dinner after the cruise..very rushed and would have been great if we were given traditional German food..which we were not...also found staff at the restaurant very rude. Too much time spent on the bus.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

The tour of Heidelberg was very beautiful an our guide was informative. The lunch was simple and non appealing. They could definitely leave it out of the itinerary.
The boat ride on the Rhine was spectacular. Could not hear the tour unless you were on top of the speakers.
The town you stop for dinner is quaint and scenic. However the restaurant was atrocious. The staff was rude and sloppy. The restaurant was filthy and fake fruit hanging from everywhere. We didn't participate in the wine tasting because we couldn't bare to spend one more minute in this den of horror.
Just footsteps away were many more desirable restaurants. We had our dessert at a lovely outdoor cafe. Dessert and beverage was an additional charge at the tour's restaurant.
The tour took two hours longer than advertised. We were exhausted and had to wait for others to be dropped at their hotels. Also not mentioned in the description. My recommendation is to find another tour.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

Disappointed in time management. Tour bus departed Frankfurt behind schedule for no apparent reason, as all guests were present and waiting to board. Once at the castle, tour guide had to take a call on cell, so she left our group for 15 minutes to wait for her return. Too much time wasted waiting for the castle photographers to solicit purchasing of group photos. Were only given 30 minutes to explore the town, which had us back in Frankfurt 30 minutes ahead of the advertised return time. So, all in all I feel that our time allotted was shorter than advertised.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We enjoyed the Heidleberg tour very much. The tour guide was great for the entire day. He was friendly and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was an incredible tour of beautiful Castle Heidelberg. Peter our driver/tour guide was perfect. We were not prepared for the luxury service and attention we received.We assumed we'd be riding in a crowded bus with a gaggle of loud tourists (we are quiet tourists), but were astonished to realize we were being chauffeured in a private auto. Peter was knowledgeable and accommodating. He didn't rush us and actually seemed to be on the tour with us (but with vastly more information!). He was even patient when we lost track of time and ended up being a bit late meeting back up with him after our dinner extended beyond our agreed upon meet up time. To top it all off, he returned us to our doorstep at our lodging! Again we assumed we'd have to find our own way back after the conclusion of the tour. Please take this trip and hope you get Peter (I'm sure someone else would be wonderful, but we are now biased).

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was an incredible tour of beautiful Castle Heidelberg. Peter our driver/tour guide was perfect. We were not prepared for the luxury service and attention we received.We assumed we'd be riding in a crowded bus with a gaggle of loud tourists (we are quiet tourists), but were astonished to realize we were being chauffeured in a private auto. Peter was knowledgeable and accommodating. He didn't rush us and actually seemed to be on the tour with us (but with vastly more information!). He was even patient when we lost track of time and ended up being a bit late meeting back up with him after our dinner extended beyond our agreed upon meet up time. To top it all off, he returned us to our doorstep at our lodging! Again we assumed we'd have to find our own way back after the conclusion of the tour. Please take this trip and hope you get Peter (I'm sure someone else would be wonderful, but we are now biased).

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message