Stand on the northern shore of the River Neckar and you can see why Heidelberg is such a popular spot for overseas visitors to Germany. This classic view of the city encompasses the old stone bridge with its salt-and-pepper shaker towers guarding ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 306 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

pie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

we had the best half day Heidelberg trip.Adrian our tour guide was so knowledgeable and very entertaining. They provided us with sandwiches and water. It was really so worth it.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Christina J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I'm so glad I took this short trip. Heidelberg was beautiful and was close enough to Frankfurt that I didn't feel like I wasted an entire day. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and spoke English very well. I had such a great experience that I booked another Viator tour a few days later.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Courtney S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

A good option if you're only looking for a short day trip. Our guide was knowledgeable and funny. Wish we had more time to explore the town and castle as it all felt a bit rushed. But overall it was a good overview of the town and history.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Tyrone M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Awesome time, it was our Wedding Anniversary which made the tour even more memorable. The tour guide was outstanding!!! I would gladly do it again or refer a friend.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Joshua B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Andreas was a great guide. The castle alone is worth the trip. So much history and the view is amazing.

Doing what: Private Tour: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Pui Shan M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Heidelberg city is worth visiting because of the very good preservation of this ancient city architecture and the magnificent city-view! I did not enjoy the Rhine valley trip when it was arranged in the afternoon or the sunset time because it was dark at the end and chilly outside. The dinner and the wine tasting was ok but not that extraordinary. Thanks Adrian for being a very funny and informative tour guide!

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

John M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

I only had one day and night in Frankfurt. I did a walking tour w/ another group in the mid-morning to early afternoon of Frankfurt. I used this half day tour in the p.m. to get out of Frankfurt and see beautiful Heidelberg. I felt like I got to see a more authentically German part of the country w/ this tour. This group made the experience very easy.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

mariana m

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

It was very nice. Rothenburg is worth visiting. It is a lovely medieval town. Georgeous. We were taken in a mini van, only 4 of us, the driver was really nice and gave us a lot of info.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rothenburg Day Trip from Frankfurt

Mary C USA

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

It is a really a great city to see it was sleeting/snow when we went on and off, the ruins of the castle were grand and the city was quaint and so pretty. The Christmas market was on, enjoyed the Glufewein hot wine very tasty. Had a good time. The sweets in Germany are delicous. The people are very friendly. Again, it was hard to hear the guide - the company needs to invest in the whispers or something for the tours. There was a large tour group at the castle and it was hard to always hear our guide. It is worth the trip to see the castle. I wish there would have been more time to roam around the castle ruins, but it was the ruins or the town/market. Should have done the whole day there.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Ernest M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Heidelberg and the castle were a real treat. Our guide was very knowledgeable of the history and made the trip quite interesting. I recommend it!

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Wendy Wallace

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Enjoyed this tour and found the guide very knowledgeable and great personality. Involved everyone. Liked the stop in town with time to look around, about right amount of time between town and castle.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Craig M W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Heidelburg and Rhine Valley were beautiful/surreal. Our tour guide was insightful and blended in some great humor to make it interesting. Advenerous road trip not to be missed.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Faris

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Hi tis trip was fantastic we enjoyed our time the guide was good and funny it deserve the money paid

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Airin C

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

this didn't happen due to not enough numbers required. So we went to Rhine Valley instead which was quite a fabulous trip.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

John D

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Excellent value for the money. Heidelberg was enjoyable. Even the bus/walk tour of Frankfurt was educational.

Doing what: Frankfurt Combo: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip and Frankfurt City Tour

Margaret W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

I found the guide very entertaining and informative. Enjoyed hearing about the history of the various sites visited.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Rick C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

Tour guide and driver was okay. Dinner was lousy. Service staff was rude. We were surprised that the wine tasting was behind the restaurant instead of at the vineyard. Did not get to see the vineyard at all. Certainly not worth the value.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

john t

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

Trip was a bit rushedwith no chance to explore the town or castle.Front office in Frankfurt is awful and manned by rude staff.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Kristina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It had the right amount of structured time with the tour guide, the right amount of rest time, and the right amount of exploring at our own leisure time. Also, the tour guide we had was hilarious, very knowledgeable, and was able to deal with some difficult tourists we had on our trip. I would recommend this to anyone!

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

jtrenwith

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great trip and handsome and lovely driver . Would recommend if you are into history and not time poor to do a full day at both locations. If only interested in Christmas shopping then this tour would be more suitable. in say this we only had limited time in Frankfurt and this tour tucked all the boxes lovely views old history highly recommend!!

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rothenburg Day Trip from Frankfurt

Mary C United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent guide and tour. Those who are less mobile and energetic will manage this trip easily.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Linda Lorraine H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Fantastic tour,great tour guide, very funny man had us all laughing.
He was also very knowledgeable on all the sites visited.
Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

K A B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Adrian our Tour Guide was absolutely brilliant. Heidelberg is an amazing place with History and the food is to die for.Great Vibe in the Markets in the old town.

Doing what: Frankfurt Combo: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip and Frankfurt City Tour

Miguel United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

joncom

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

Heidelberg tour had to be considerably shorter than hoped, due to heavy holiday traffic

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message