Stand on the northern shore of the River Neckar and you can see why Heidelberg is such a popular spot for overseas visitors to Germany. This classic view of the city encompasses the old stone bridge with its salt-and-pepper shaker towers guarding ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 171 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was a wonderful tour. The tour guide, Dirk and the bus driver, Gunter, were excellent! The hotels were all very nice and the sights were beautiful. I would definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Romantic Germany: 7-Day Tour from Frankfurt to Munich, Neuschwanstein Castle and Heidelberg

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

Tour was NOT informative. Tour guide barely talked. Tour guide showed us a few good spots for photos and she did not spend much time in the Heidelberg castle after such a long ride. I did NOT learn anything from the tour. Services in the restaurant (for dinner) was extremely bad. One of the waitress was very ruide. Not sure why we had to go there for dinner. The waitress tried to sell us some wine after the dinner, however, no one bought them. I can feel other tour members were not satisfy with the services in the restaurant too.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My wife and I had an amazing time. We loved our driver Oliver. He was very knowledgeable. Vehicle was clean. The sights were amazing with a small group of people. Very enjoyable. A must do tour if you are in the area and have time to spare. Will do it again!!

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was great. It rained during our time at the castle so that was a bummer, but everything was beautiful. The river cruise was the best part. I wish there had been more time on the cruise.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We loved the tour. Zolt was very nice and accomodating. It was a great day.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rothenburg Day Trip from Frankfurt

Mario S
Malta

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A very enjoyable trip to the lovely city of Heidelberg, with a thorough commentary from tour guide Krista while visiting the ruins of the Castle and the walking tour of the town centre. The Rhine Valley tour in the afternoon provided a pleasant trip on the River Boat, with a good dinner at the Zum Anker Restaurant afterwards.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

No trip to Frankfurt is complete without a day trip to Heidelberg! This was a very beautiful castle, even though it rained. We were shown the world's largest wine barrel, which was quite amusing! Anyone who likes history would enjoy the tour, as we learned some great facts.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

We enjoyed this 3 day trip so much. Our tour guide and bus driver were very knowledgable and personable. The bus was comfortable and we even got to buy samples of the wine and beer from the regions we drove through. I would definitely recommend this trip for anyone who visits Germany.

Doing what: Three Day Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Heidelberg, Rothenburg

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Guide should provide better commentary

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Our trip to Heidelberg was wonderful. The castle tour and the tour of Heidelberg were well worth the trip. The views of the city from the castle were amazing. Our free time in Heidelberg was sufficient to sample some of the treats from one of the cafes in town. The only downside was that the tour guide was 10 minutes late in meeting the group. The other downside was that she agreed to take a member of the group to the airport on the way back resulting in the bus returning to Frankfurt a little late. As we were not aware that the bus was to return to Frankfurt before going back out of city to the Rhine Valley, those on the bus spent close to 3 hours on the bus from Heidelberg to the Rhine before going onto the boat. The Rhine cruise was a pleasant experience with wonderful scenery. The dinner option at the restaurant was disappointing (chicken or a vegetarian dish) and any other option was extra.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

I was left wondering a bit when I booked the tour I was told all meals were inclusive ,but my guide dirk who was very good got in touch with touring the company who viator booked it with and I myself also sent viator e mails from Germany but received no reply from either touring or from viator as a dead silence was maintained --the driver and itinerary and the guide were excellent -I liked the hotels except in fossen they wanted me to pay for wifi -and we stayed two nights .in munich wifi was not free as well and hotel was in suburbs than centre -the last straw was the hotel in Heidelberg was changed we were sent on last moment to Darmstadt because an event of formula racing was happening in Heidelberg -it meant we spent the last day mostly in the coach travelling -if everything had happened as I was told by viator I will rate it as 4.5 but these were irritable and rather poor planning on part of both firms so I would look forward to an explanation -the event in Heidelberg must have been planned months before so was that not known to tour organisers .

Doing what: Romantic Germany: 7-Day Tour from Frankfurt to Munich, Neuschwanstein Castle and Heidelberg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A trip to Heidelberg is a must when you're in Frankfurt. The guide was lovely and took us to all the quaint shops dotting along the Old Town.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Heidelberg is a beautiful city and the castle overlooking the town is of historic significance. The tour guide we had spoke very clear English, was very knowledgeable, and ran the tour at a pace that allowed plenty of time to take pictures. Our tour took place on a very hot day (95F) and we were very grateful that the bus carried with it a supply of mineral water bottles sufficient for everyone to quench their thirst. The tour even supplied us with a snack of decent sandwichs. Overall I think we got a great tour at a fair price.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Heidelberg is what I think of when I think of Germany. Very picturesque, charming and romantic. Highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Really like the time to explore Rothenburg, which is a fabulous experience. Highly recommend the night watchman's tour!

Doing what: Three Day Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Heidelberg, Rothenburg

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message