Stand on the northern shore of the River Neckar and you can see why Heidelberg is such a popular spot for overseas visitors to Germany. This classic view of the city encompasses the old stone bridge with its salt-and-pepper shaker towers guarding ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 320 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Joan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I was the only person on the tour but Peter my guide showed me a great deal of Heidelberg and was very informative and I suppose we could do more because there was not a big group.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Deborah M S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

We learned so much about Heidelberg's history and eat some great food as well as drank some great beer.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Jamie S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Beautiful old city. Great tour group and leader. Did wish we had a little more time to walk the city center etc. maybe add another hour to the tour for more sightseeing and shopping in town.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Lily T

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Overall, this was a good trip although half day may feel a little rushed. I would recommend the full day tour. The local tour operator was knowledgeable and engaged the travellers. Did not expect a sandwich and drink to be included!

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Stephen H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

The tour of Heidelberg with Andy was great! We returned to Frankfurt in time for those on the Rhine tour to get their boat. I was told to come back in 1.5 hours for my bus tour of Frankfurt. Unacceptable.

Doing what: Frankfurt Combo: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip and Frankfurt City Tour

Eric M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I would highly recommend this tour. First, you have a great experience of the autobahn as you ride the van to Heidelberg. Heidelberg is an extremely beautiful old town. The castle is fascinating and we had some time in the city to explore and even catch a bite to eat at a German pub. They do provide you with a bottle of water and sandwich on the van, but the chance to eat a real German meal was too hard to pass up. The guide, Adrian, was wonderful. Helpful, informative, and entertaining. There were only 4 of us on the trip, all together, so it was like a private tour. Worth every penny!

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Kathryn B

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Unfortunately I was too late arriving and missed this tour!

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Rebecca M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Only a group of 7, our guide was great. Not really long enough in the town

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Cody M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was really fun and interesting. Our guide Adrian was very funny and also very knowledgeable. We could have spent more time in Heidelberg, however it was a good time altogether.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Amanda D Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

A beautiful city and a tour that gave plenty of time to see most things.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

smastopo

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

nice tour and very caring guide

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

RANJIT C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Heidelberg isn't recommended. Rothenburg is highly recommended!!!!

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rothenburg Day Trip from Frankfurt

Phillip E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The guide was fantastic. Not only did he provide great information about Heidelberg, he was happy to discuss all sorts of news/sports/history/etc about Germany, in general.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

BARRY C

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Beautiful tour, Heidelberg is a beautiful place. There was also Christmas Markets in Heidelberg as well.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

pie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

we had the best half day Heidelberg trip.Adrian our tour guide was so knowledgeable and very entertaining. They provided us with sandwiches and water. It was really so worth it.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Christina J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I'm so glad I took this short trip. Heidelberg was beautiful and was close enough to Frankfurt that I didn't feel like I wasted an entire day. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and spoke English very well. I had such a great experience that I booked another Viator tour a few days later.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Courtney S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

A good option if you're only looking for a short day trip. Our guide was knowledgeable and funny. Wish we had more time to explore the town and castle as it all felt a bit rushed. But overall it was a good overview of the town and history.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Tyrone M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Awesome time, it was our Wedding Anniversary which made the tour even more memorable. The tour guide was outstanding!!! I would gladly do it again or refer a friend.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Joshua B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Andreas was a great guide. The castle alone is worth the trip. So much history and the view is amazing.

Doing what: Private Tour: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Pui Shan M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Heidelberg city is worth visiting because of the very good preservation of this ancient city architecture and the magnificent city-view! I did not enjoy the Rhine valley trip when it was arranged in the afternoon or the sunset time because it was dark at the end and chilly outside. The dinner and the wine tasting was ok but not that extraordinary. Thanks Adrian for being a very funny and informative tour guide!

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

John M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

I only had one day and night in Frankfurt. I did a walking tour w/ another group in the mid-morning to early afternoon of Frankfurt. I used this half day tour in the p.m. to get out of Frankfurt and see beautiful Heidelberg. I felt like I got to see a more authentically German part of the country w/ this tour. This group made the experience very easy.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

mariana m

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

It was very nice. Rothenburg is worth visiting. It is a lovely medieval town. Georgeous. We were taken in a mini van, only 4 of us, the driver was really nice and gave us a lot of info.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rothenburg Day Trip from Frankfurt

Mary C USA

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

It is a really a great city to see it was sleeting/snow when we went on and off, the ruins of the castle were grand and the city was quaint and so pretty. The Christmas market was on, enjoyed the Glufewein hot wine very tasty. Had a good time. The sweets in Germany are delicous. The people are very friendly. Again, it was hard to hear the guide - the company needs to invest in the whispers or something for the tours. There was a large tour group at the castle and it was hard to always hear our guide. It is worth the trip to see the castle. I wish there would have been more time to roam around the castle ruins, but it was the ruins or the town/market. Should have done the whole day there.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Ernest M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Heidelberg and the castle were a real treat. Our guide was very knowledgeable of the history and made the trip quite interesting. I recommend it!

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Wendy Wallace

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Enjoyed this tour and found the guide very knowledgeable and great personality. Involved everyone. Liked the stop in town with time to look around, about right amount of time between town and castle.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message