Stand on the northern shore of the River Neckar and you can see why Heidelberg is such a popular spot for overseas visitors to Germany. This classic view of the city encompasses the old stone bridge with its salt-and-pepper shaker towers guarding ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 272 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Perfect and impressive trip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

scooby_singh
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide Peter was outstanding. We had a small group of 7, he took the time to walk with us through the streets of Baden Baden and Heidelburg. He always made us stay while he went and got the mini van and save us from walking the extra mile. Outstanding service by Peter, he never rushed us and provided excellent commentary on Heidelberg, Baden-Baden and Black forest. Ask for Peter, it will be worth it.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Baden-Baden Tour from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

4 1/2 stars. Very good tour, well organised, managed and lead by the tour guide Dirk. My only criticisms were i some of the hotels did not have air-conditioning, which was uncomfortable in South Germany in August it might be better at cooler times of the year, ii the air-conditioning on the bus could be temperamental, iii on the final day I was expecting a panoramic city tour of Frankfurt, but we just spent a longer time in Rudesheim instead, before dropping people off in Frankfurt. I wasn't sure whether to rate the tour 4 or 5 stars - 4 1/2 - but generally recommended.

Doing what: Romantic Germany: 7-Day Tour from Frankfurt to Munich, Neuschwanstein Castle and Heidelberg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The combination tour to Heidelberg and the Rhine Valley was fantastic -- it was my last full day in Europe and I could not have asked for a better send off. The Rhine Valley cruise especially was amazing -- so romantic and gorgeous. I was lucky to have perfect weather. I met some very nice and fun people on the tour, so I felt like I made some new friends even though I joined the tour myself.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very informative trip. Sorry that it was only half day. The guide was full of character, quite pleasant, funny, and very respectful of one's time. Extremely knowledgeable. I would definitely do it again.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Great tour guide. Heidelberg is a must see but yes im glad i didnt book a hotel there and just opted for a daytrip.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

The guide was very funny and had an amazing knowledge of Heidelberg and the University. The day itself was really rushed, it spent only about 30mins at the castle and 45mins in Heidelberg itself. If you are really interested in the history and want to see more of the castle and town I would not take this tour as there is not enough time.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Half-day was too short for this trip! We were rushed through the trip and air-conditioning in the van did not work well on a very hot day. The guide was knowledgeable about the area and gave us nice tips about photo locations.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My wife and I were in Frankfurt for only 1 day so we needed a tour which would give us the most opportunity to sightsee as possible. This tour fit the bill perfectly. The tour guide was informative, funny, and really enjoyed his work.
Highly recommend this tour for those with limited time.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour of the Heidelberg castle, was able to spend some time in the main square of Heidelberg, beautiful river tour where we saw many castles, and good meal for dinner and wine for a wine tasting.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We were only four people in the Minibus and they didn't cancel the tour, our guide was very sympathic and joyfull. He was a great guy. Thanks a lot for this trip, just looking forward to others...

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

hmg0060
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

LOVED this tour. We got stuck in traffic on the way out so we didn't get as much time in the city most was spent in/at the castle, but it was beautiful. The sandwiches they served - i did not like, but that is really a minor grievance. Out tour guide was FANTASTIC! This was the first time I used Viator to book an excursion and I'm so glad I did. If you are a fan of architecture and history, this tour is right up your ally.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide was Thomas and we thought him knowledgeable, friendly and engaging. Heidelberg is a great destination, definitely worth a visit for those staying in Frankfurt. We toured both the nearby castle as well as a the town, both were terrific. The drive to and from was enjoyable, that was our only time to experience the famed German autobahn. Although we might have preferred transportation in the left lane via a Mercedes AMG S-Class sedan, the tourist minibus was just fine a couple of lanes to the right. So we have nothing but good things to say!

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

While this tour felt a little rushed in some of the smaller towns/stops along the way, booking the trip this way made the logistics very simple. All the connections and accommodations were clearly laid out and very well planned for our comfort along the way. The stops in Rothenburg ob der Tauber and Hohenschwangau were long enough for us to both see everything that was of interest to us and have time to meander the streets and the mountain trails just for the sheer enjoyment of the environment.

Doing what: Four Day Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

Marian S
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was actually two consecutive trips. Different experiences, both wonderful. Our time was limited in Frankfurt, and this was perfect.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This is a wonderful tour if you want to make the most out of one day. Our tour guide, George, was wonderful and very knowledgeable about all the sights and their history. Bus driver, Alfredo, was very friendly as well. Although I don't see anything wrong with spending a full day in Heidelberg, a half day is fine if you are seeing many other German towns. The view from the bridge is spectacular! The Rhine River Valley boat tour is also a great experience. The ride is certainly long enough for you to feel like you've seen many castles and it's very peaceful. My only recommendation for the second half of the tour is that they should clarify what's included in the dinner at the time of booking. Dinner is included but you pay extra for anything that's not the vegetarian meal, and you pay for dessert and drinks. I'm vegetarian anyway so it didn't affect me as much but others had to pay extra if they wanted schnitzel, etc. Otherwise, a great time! I recommend buying some EisWein....

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

though time constrained and on a Sunday shops are closed what we saw was beautiful. Our guide, Peter was very knowledgable on the subject matter and shared some interesting facts even on the bus drive there

Doing what: Frankfurt Combo: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip and Frankfurt City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Overall, the tour package gave me an overview of Germany that I would not have been able to experience on my own with the limited planning time that I had for this trip. There was a mix-up at the office in Frankfurt when I picked up my vouchers and I was told to meet at the bus stands by the train station at 8 AM when in reality we were meeting at a different tour operators office at 9:30 ---- not a good start with rain falling all morning, and I'm schlepping my bags around Frankfurt. The day tour to Heidelberg was great with a fantastic tour guide that blended the ancient and recent history, not to mention a wicket sense of humor! The tour to Rothenburg from Frankfurt was comfortable with several stops with guided tours/ the ability to wander on your own. This was mostly due to the great bus driver for this leg that spoke very good English and German, and was very polite and generous. The time in Rothenburg was fantastic with cozy accomodations, a town festival, and the Night Watchman tour in the evening. Also a great place to do some shopping for souveniers to take home.

Now comes the not so nice part of the tour ---- the bus ride from Rothenburg to Newschwanstien. The bus driver was surly, and we weren't sure if he really knew how to drive the bus since he kept gunning the engine and slowing down, giving a less than comfortable ride. He didn't stop at some of the guide points due to falling behind due to traffic on the road, and didn't seem to know anything about where he was supposed to stop. We ended up in a short stop in Munich the only WC stop all day to find that they were under construction --- you mean to tell me that someone who drives this every week didn't know???Needless to say, we were relieved to get off the bus at the Muller House at Neuschwanstein, which is charming and very hospitable with beautiful views! The interior castle tour was not as I expected, but the outer access and horse carriage ride down was very nice.

Doing what: Four Day Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Fun day, a little hot

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

very good arrangement. Hotel Goldene Rose at Rothenburg is a very nice hotel and the staff offer the best and warmest services.

Rothenburg and Heidelberg is a very good place.

Doing what: Three Day Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Heidelberg, Rothenburg

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Both Heidelberg and the Rhine Valley are must see, but spend a whole day on each instead of both in one day if you can. Also, the food was incredibly disappointing! So much of the travel experience is the food of the place you're visiting and this tour's food was awful. A cheese sandwich on the bus that could be bought at a gas station and the dinner was a lousy piece of chicken and fries, pathetic!

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Suzanne W
Singapore

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

This tour did not live up to expectations. We took the afternoon option and were disappointed in a number of areas. Firstly as there were only 7 people on the tour, we got no air conditioned coach - only a mini-van whose air conditioning did not work, blowing hot air and adding to the already warm 30 degree day - it was a very uncomfortable trip. Secondly, we did not get a proper guide - just a driver whose English was limited and who was not able to provide any commentary or suggestions on the places we visited. Thirdly, most of the shops except bars and restaurants close by 6pm so we were not able to browse any of the lovely local stores. The driver also seemed to be in a rush to return to Frankfurt so we had very limited time and arrived back almost 1 hour earlier than scheduled. Perhaps the morning tour would be better, but for such a lovely town, I would recommend taking a day tour.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

We got terrible information from the tour office in Frankfurt. Sent us to a bus stop when we really needed to go to a different tour office nearby. Our bus ride after Rothenberg was 8 HOURS to the castles that are really 4 hours away. No schedule until the day the tour start. Never again.

Doing what: Four Day Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The trip was well worth it. The driver was on time and very knowledgeable - spoke English. Heidelberg is very beautiful and picturesque. The 1/2 day tour is mainly the castle, although we had time to look around the city itself which was nice.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message