Flowing 527km between Mainz and Bamberg, and passing through 3 German states (Bavaria, Baden-Württemberg and Hesse), the Main River is one of the main tributaries of the mighty Rhine River. Running through the heart of Frankfurt, the river is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 19 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mario S
Malta

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our trip to Wiesbaden and Mainz was a private tour, as there were only the two of us and the driver/guide, who took us around in a limo, and we visited these two very picturesque historic cities not too far from Frankfurt. Teddy (the guide) took us to see and explained all about the important sites, and gave us also free time to browse around as much as we felt we needed. It was a relaxing trip, and quite satisfactory.

Doing what: Wiesbaden and Mainz Day Trip from Frankfurt

Mario S
Malta

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A very interesting private tour to two historic and picturesque towns not too far from Frankfurt. As my wife and I were the only tour partecipants, we were taken around in a limo, and had the driver/guide all to ourselves. He took us to visit the important sites, and we were also given free time to further explore any place that caught our fancy.

Doing what: Wiesbaden and Mainz Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

It was an enjoyable tour of the city as we had only one day in Frankfurt. The bus driver did not inform us that the bus tour took two different routes as he could not speak very much English. We found out by accident after hopping off at the Galerie shopping district and hopped onto another bus only to discover that the second bus took a different route from the earlier bus we were on. If one were to study the guide map given out when you board the bus, you would notice that there are two different colored routes marked out, one in Green and another in Red. We ended up riding the second bus for another complete round trip which showed us another interesting side of the city. The audio guide was good and the earphone jack sockets were working. Contrary to the starting time stated in our voucher, the bus service began at 0930 hours in summer and not 1000 hours as indicated in the voucher. Overall, it was a very good experience of seeing the "dull and uninteresting" city of Frankfurt as is often said of Frankfurt, especially the twin mirrored glass towers of Deutsche Bank sometimes referred to as Debit and Credit. We found the overall tour to be very interesting although the city is not as interesting as other German cities that we visited on this trip like Munich and Berlin.

Doing what: Frankfurt City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

This was a great way to avoid a long layover in Frankfurt. Our driver was right on time...waiting for us outside of customs. He had suggestions on what to see and a great restaurant for lunch. All seven of us enjoyed ourselves. Our driver was excellent. Thank you for offering this experience

Doing what: Frankfurt Layover Private Sightseeing Tour with Round-Trip Airport Transport

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

I was impressed by the organization, the info package, the punctuality and the wonderful hotel in Rotterburg.
What I didn't like is that this suppose to be trip with panoramic view but the drivers use the best seats on the coach for their leaflets and personal stuff (4 front seats) and make people that have paid to seat behind. This is very upsetting.

Doing what: Overnight Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

driver very helpful and friendly

Doing what: Frankfurt City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Overall it was very good. The first bus driver was good to explain everything as we went along. The 2nd bus driver was a drip. He never said anything and was not very clear about break times. Except for that it was a nice trip. Of course our weather was perfect so that made a big difference because you do spend a lot of time outside.

Doing what: Three Day Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Heidelberg, Rothenburg

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

The tour was pleasant, but the driver drove way too fast. It seemed he wanted to end the tour quickly. Frankfurt is beautiful, but small. So with a fast driver and a small city, the tour was over before I knew it. I had to do it again to see what I missed the first time (I think he even drove faster the second time).

Doing what: Frankfurt City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2010

Rothenburg is a bit commercialised - try the smaller towns to stay in. The first driver was excellent - the second was really cranky and refused to tell us where to access taxis in Munich due to lack of interest.

Doing what: Overnight Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2009

Day one was not spent much on the Romantic Road, but the stay in Rothenburg was worth it alone. It is a very nice walled village. Day 2 was nice on the Romantic Road, but our driver was a bit impatient on narrow roads. The coordination of bus, taxi, and hotel was a breeze. The tour ended about 4:30 pm, though, so that threw us off some.

Doing what: Overnight Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Good hotel at Rothenburg...very cosy and convenient to walk around the city center. Didn't like the 1st driver from Frankfurt to Rothenburg...he didn't tell the timing that we should spend in each place. We had to ask for it. But the 2nd driver to Munich was great.

Doing what: Overnight Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2012

The driver did not stop at each stop. Passengers had to clamber down the steps and ask him to stop at a designated otherwise he would drive straight past.

Doing what: Frankfurt City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

it did not follow the map and the stops, the driver was rude and overall not a good experience.

Doing what: Frankfurt City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

It was unclear on where to meet the driver so there was some time wasted. The first driver/guide had back issues so we basically rode around in the car until a second guide/driver was ready. No commentary by the first driver at any point; we had to ask questions to get him to talk. We finally exchanged driver/guide who basically put us in a restaurant for lunch, then led us on a walk through the "center of town" which apparently is a pedestrian mall. If I wanted to shop I could have stayed at the airport. Instead I was hoping for some kind of "private sightseeing tour" of Frankfurt attractions with commentary. Instead, I spent money for time at a mall and at a restaurant just to kill time between flights.

Doing what: Frankfurt Layover Private Sightseeing Tour with Round-Trip Airport Transport

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

Worst tour from Viator. Bus did not stop for every 30 mins. Waited at one stop for 1 hour+. At another stop, bus came and the driver did not allow us to ride, saying this bus is for a private tour and we should get on the next one for 10 mins. But, we waited for another 30 mins to get on the bus.
There is another Hop-on/off bus seems run more often and operated better.

Doing what: Frankfurt City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message