Rothenburg ob der Tauber, to give it the full name which distinguishes it from Germany’s other two Rothenburgs, has few equals as a fairy tale destination. This perfectly preserved medieval town looks like a film set, and indeed the town’s tumble of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 574 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

AMAZING! This was by far my favorite stop in Germany on our 10 day European vacation. Rothenburg is exactly what you want to see while in Germany. It holds a quaint feeling with all of its specialty shops and adorable buildings. I would almost have liked to spend the night here, not that the tour felt rushed. I just enjoyed it here that much! Harburg was a surprise! I suppose I did not research this tour enough, because I did not realize we were stopping there. It turned out to be my husbands favorite castle that we saw (also went on the Royal Castles tour). It was nice to see a castle that was functionally old and not just built to look old. I would definitely recommend this tour and the Royal Castles to anyone staying in the Munich area. We enjoyed touring outside of the city more then we enjoyed Munich itself.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

EXCELLENT TOUR and TOUR GUIDE!

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rothenburg Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We were lucky to be the only people on the tour, so it was much like a private tour with an absolutely fabulous driver called Willy who showed and explained many sites, history and attractions for us to visit. Both towns were beautiful with Rothenburg our favourite. Be prepared for a drive to Heidleburg and then onto Rothenburg and back, but this is the fun and adventure that you will have. Great trip thanks to the expertise of our guide and driver.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rothenburg Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

My family of 5 Adults enjoyed this tour very much. It was relaxing and informative. The hotel in Rothenburg was quaint and perfectly located to tour the walled city. We were there during their Medevial Days celebration so were able to enjoy the many period acts. So historic and took us back to a very different time. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Overnight Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a fantastic day, we loved both Harburg and Rothenburg. Our bus driver was a magician at times as had to negotiate closed roads with an alternate route. Our tour guide was amazing. We would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The castle in Harburg and the town of Rohenburg are incredible and certainly worth the visit. I'm glad we took the tour that freed us from the hassles of navigation and allowed us to relax between destinations. The guide was friendly and helpful and tour itself was in my opinion okay with enough information during the travel to keep it interesting but not with any great depth.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We had a good time on our trip. The car was clean and they prepared 2 boosters for my 2 young kids. The tour guide was very knowledgable and friendly. This makes our trip hassle-free especially traveling with 2 young children.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rothenburg Day Trip from Frankfurt

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2014

Rothenberg is a beautiful place but too far to travel from Munich.Our tour guide was awful ,he was the worst guide I've ever had .No information the whole trip.Over 7 1/2 hours on the coach.we travelled on the 29/10/14.This trip needs an overstay to make the traveling worth while .

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Beautiful towns on the Romantic Road journey, great accommodation staying with wonderful hosts, great food, amazing scenery. Munich with all the hustle and bustle of a modern day city was fabulous as was our accommodation and proximity to transport.

Doing what: Three Day Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Tour was great. Unfortunately we had awful weather. I would recommend longer in Rothenberg if it is a nice day

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide was excellent, very knowledgeable. Had time on our own for shopping and lunch. Very relaxing

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Salzburg and Lake District day trip brought us through stunning views of the alps and the lakes! Our guide was very informative and made the experience a very pleasant one for us.
Our guide on the Romantic Road and Rothenberg day trip was quite elderly and he kept repeating the same information during the journey. However, we had a good time interacting with him when he took some of us to the city walls during the free and easy time. We enjoyed his guided walk to the city walls.

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: Salzburg and Lake District Day Trip plus Romantic Road and Rothenburg Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was an amazing tour. The tour guide Ana was superb. The buses were luxurious and the driving was safe and sound.
overall a fabulous experience.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message