Rothenburg ob der Tauber, to give it the full name which distinguishes it from Germany’s other two Rothenburgs, has few equals as a fairy tale destination. This perfectly preserved medieval town looks like a film set, and indeed the town’s tumble of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 519 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was a wonderful tour. The tour guide, Dirk and the bus driver, Gunter, were excellent! The hotels were all very nice and the sights were beautiful. I would definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Romantic Germany: 7-Day Tour from Frankfurt to Munich, Neuschwanstein Castle and Heidelberg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great and strongly recommended, everything is good, including the coach, guide, lunch and visit

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Loved every minute! The Goldene Rose Boutique Hotel in Rothenburg was sensational. Beautifully refinished rooms and a delicious breakfast.

Doing what: Overnight Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour for us was magic. The hotel in Rothenburg was very comfortable, and the "old town" simply amazing. So much wonderful history, not only here, but along the whole route. Weikersheim was very special. As we proceeded down the Romantic Road we saw the increasing richness of the countryside. Wonderful rich, rich farmlands surrounding beautiful centuries old towns. It was a great way to go, from north to south. To finish in Hohenschwangau, and stay the night at the magnificent Hotel Muller was a terrific surprise, with a view of the "Fairy Tale Castle" from our hotel room window. Many thanks to all those involved, who made this tour so wonderful. The tour leaders, the drivers and the hotel employees who looked after us so well. It went like clockwork.

Doing what: Three Day Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

A wonderful overview of the beauty of Bavaria. The historic towns and tours were fascinating. We had to make a change in itinerary to end in Munich instead of Frankfurt - it was easy to do by phone, so the support was great. The bus drivers on the Romantic Road buses were generally helpful but it varied by day.

The combination of reserved transportation and hotels, plus lots of free time to wander the cities, was just right for us. We really enjoyed those days more than the first tour day of two castles and a tourist town! It was too rushed with little time for exploration, questions, etc. The slower pace of the next three days was much more pleasant.

The start was confusing. We didn't realize we were to take the bus tour from Munich to Neuschwanstein and the drivers/tour guides weren't sure what to do with us either. Once we got going we realized how it worked. But more information at the beginning would have been very helpful.

Our overall impression was very positive, again, once we figured out how it worked. Thanks for a wonderful introduction to the history of the region. We want to come back again soon.

Doing what: 4-Day Tour from Munich to Frankfurt: Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Augsburg, Neuschwanstein Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Salzburg was crowded and the guide was so so....Wolfgangsee was beautiful.... the romantic road day was incredible and we really enjoyed it. The guide was very good and knowledgeable. Would highly recommend this trip to others.....

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: Salzburg and Lake District Day Trip plus Romantic Road and Rothenburg Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Harburg was interesting and Rothenberg fantastic but not enough time to see everything. Rothenberg needs at least 4 hours.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

this tour was great! beautiful views of Harburg castle and Rothenburg. Well worth it!

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

It was a rainy day so that put a damper on things but other than that it was fantastic. It was hard to understand the guide sometimes through her thick accent but she gave us a great suggestion of where to have lunch in Rothenburg which was such a charming town even in the rain.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

It was labeled as a guided tour however; it turned out to be a self guided tour. Extremely misleading and nerve racking for my parents (whom I bought this for). Everything turned out wonderfully however, be prepared to "figure" it out.

Doing what: 5-Day Tour from Munich to Frankfurt: Rothenburg, Augsburg, Zugspitze

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The places in itself are very nice, but we felt that there was no enough time to spend in Rothenburg specially that it is a far trip. The guide that we had on that day, was an old guy, he didn't close his mouth a second in the bus, speaking about every single think, the weather, the car accident that we found on our way, no one was happy from him at all, he made our trip unpleasable, unprofessional.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

A nice trip in general. Rothenburg was awesome, great place to see!!!! Harburg was a waste of time though. Nothing special there... a very old castle not very good preserved and also the guide was a very good guy but was over too repetitive and could not not let us relax a little bit in the bus.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The Harburg castle tour was awesome!

Rothenburg was ok, there were lots of neat Christmas shops, places to eat, and plenty of time to walk around, however the description of "The oldest preserved medieval town in Europe" seemed a stretch. There were too many tourists to really feel like you were transported back in time.

Romantic Road is only a highway that the bus drives on to get to Rothenburg. It was a pretty drive but nothing special.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

This was a long drive for a few hours in Rothenburg. Driver was lost, guide did not speak English very well. She spent more time speaking German to the German guests then English on an English tour. Also, the guide told us she would go ahead with the group, and be back with us when we got to the town square, since my mom needed extra time to get there, but we never saw her until we were walking back to the bus. She was nice enough to stop at someone else's hotel and drop them off on the way back to the station, delaying the rest of us. The town was great. Wish we had more time there.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

I was extremely disappointed with the organisation of this trip. I knew I could organise this trip for a lot less than the cost that I was charged and it would have been easier and less problems. However I thought having this part of my trip organised for me would have been worth the extra cost. However, I the wrong vouchers were faxed to my hotel, then I went to the pick up point for my vouchers, there was nothing there for me. I could not get in touch with the company to enquire and then was put through to America's help desk where I was told that everything would be fine with my voucher that I had which after some every expensive phonecalls, did not get any answers. The only way I got my vouchers was through the help of a lovely lady who worked at one of the hotels I stayed at. The lady at the hotel also said that the next couple that were coming were having the same problem. I would not book this trip again. It is much easier and cheaper to complete this tour on your own. I did do another tour with this company which was fabolous but while I was waiting for the tour a group came in and there was no communication between them and the tour and the tour was cancelled for them. I suspect there can be problems when booking through this company. I did however have a perfect tour while completing the Wachau Wine Tour but was very disappointed in the organisation and the help that I was given through this company while doing this 3 day Romantic Road Trip. This is very sad to say, as Rothenburg was spectacular as with Hohenschavangau.

Doing what: Three Day Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message