• USD ($)
  • English
Rothenburg ob der Tauber, to give it the full name which distinguishes it from Germany’s other two Rothenburgs, has few equals as a fairy tale destination. This perfectly preserved medieval town looks like a film set, and indeed the town’s tumble of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 454 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Tour was good but on the way coming back the van we were on had stole car problem so the we were on the emergency road next to high way for one hour. It was dangerous situation because every time when the automobile pass by whole car was shaking. The tour company should have provided service quick.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rothenburg Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We had a great time, very informative tour guide! We did have to wait for 6 people for 30 min at the last castle due to the short time allotted to return to the bus from the time scheduled on the tour

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

My good friend and I had an enjoyable time with this trip. Salzburg is worth the trip - we returned for a night stay after our experience.

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: Salzburg and Lake District Day Trip plus Romantic Road and Rothenburg Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Both of these tours were great. We had Bridget, a light-hearted tour guide. The scenery was gorgeous. We didn't feel like we had enough time to spend in Salzburg but the boat ride on the Wolfgangsee was spectacular. Rothenburg was amazing too, but you'd better be prepared for quite a long bus ride.

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: Salzburg and Lake District Day Trip plus Romantic Road and Rothenburg Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! This little town takes you back 500 years in time. Bus ride is fairly long but well worth it. I wish we had a little extra time in Rothenburg but overall an awesome tour and a must do...

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Well thought out and gave us enough time to explore on our own with recommendations of where to go.

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: Salzburg and Lake District Day Trip plus Romantic Road and Rothenburg Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was an informative and very pleasant journey. Our guide was knowledgeable and pleasant. It was a long day but worth the time.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Absolutely delightful! The most charming or all our excursions. Not to be missed.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Salzburg was a long bus ride, but the town is just so cute, I highly recommend this tour. However, you're really just paying for transportation, you're left to your own devices once you arrive. You'll want to decide in advance which sights are priority because there isn't enough time to see everything. We took the elevator up to get some fantastic photos overlooking the city and fortress, so definitely don't miss that, but get lunch elsewhere. The restaurant just above the lookout is a little overpriced and if you sit outside, the bees will swarm you. The old cemetary below the cliff is quiet and very beautiful and the main pedestrian street is really something else. Our favorite part of this day was the boat trip on the lake, but don't forget extra euros, its not included in the tour price. It was a sunny beautiful day and very relaxing after so much walking.

The Romantic Road / Rothenburg trip was probably the highlight of our vacation for me. You make a short stop first at Harburg Castle and take a short, interesting tour of the fort. Then on to Rothenburg which is the epitome of what you'd think Old Bavaria should look like. I don't care if people say its touristy, if you're on vacation then you're a tourist, get over yourself and enjoy it for what it is... a cute, quaint, fun, beautiful little village with a bunch of other tourists. If you have the time and money, I recommend staying here for a night or two because an afternoon will just leave you wanting more. You're left to your own devices upon arrival, so don't expect a guided tour, but its more fun exploring on your own anyway. Don't miss a walk along the defensive wall and try a Schneeballen, they're not super sweet and they come in all kinds. If you're looking for a great souvenir, this is the place to get it. The Anneliese Friese Cuckoo Clock store is THE BEST hands down! Best service, best prices and its all German-made, not from China. Go here first!

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: Salzburg and Lake District Day Trip plus Romantic Road and Rothenburg Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Beutiful trip I will reccomend to every body. I am not happy about the hotel acomadation.

Doing what: Romantic Germany: 7-Day Tour from Frankfurt to Munich, Neuschwanstein Castle and Heidelberg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This is a well organized tour. My only complaint would be that more info about Rothenburg itself might have helped us navigate the small city more efficiently. Unfortunately, it was a cold and wet day which did not allow the beauty of the town to shine through. We enjoyed the visit to Harburg Castle where we had the best tour and guide of any sight during our 3 week stay in Germany. The tour guide was excellent! Her English was excellent! Her humour and charm were excellent. Her knowledge of the Castle was excellent. Just a very good experience with only 25 in a group. Many tours have too many people with a tour guide with poor English. Not so this one! Well done!

The tour guide on the bus was also very good and competent as well. Overall, except for the weather, this was a good day. Good value for the price.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A very scenic and very interesting tour. Really liked the guided information at Harburg. The bus guide's tour was very informative about Rothenburg and the map that we were provided was very helpful to navigate the city. Great tour!!!!!

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The countryside along the Romantic Road was very scenic and beautiful. The village of Rothenburg seems to be frozen in time, and allows a historical glimpse of the past. We enjoyed the entire day.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message