• USD ($)
  • English
Rothenburg ob der Tauber, to give it the full name which distinguishes it from Germany’s other two Rothenburgs, has few equals as a fairy tale destination. This perfectly preserved medieval town looks like a film set, and indeed the town’s tumble of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 499 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Tour was very good, guide was Markus, he had lots of information to share, this was a lovely day trip from Munich. Totally recommended.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

Tassie Bev
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We really enjoyed this tour. Amazing and beautiful places, good steady coach drivers, adequate bathroom stops (and a toilet on the coach if necessary), all transfers efficient and smooth, lovely hotels booked for us with good rooms and excellent breakfasts, and yet we were still largely independent. Yes, we could have done much of the same tour for a somewhat cheaper price if we had booked each bit ourselves, as we have done for the majority of our travels, but for once it was good to have it all organised for us and it would have been difficult getting back to Munich in the evening after a wonderful day in Hohenschwangau. All 3 meals that we ate at Hotel Muller were excellent and they catered extremely well for my gluten-free diet, as did Hotel Spitz for my Rothenburg breakfast. Viator had informed the kitchens of both hotels and they were ready and aware of my requirements.

Doing what: Three Day Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Unique Bavarian style architecture,great selection of beer and a tasteful food make this place relax and memorable. Splendid experience.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Wonderful , charming and enjoyable city. The guide did his best but had a slightly mental tourist to deal with.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Rothenburg is so lovely. It's worth the long trip.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Salzburg was a fairy tale city, and Rothenburg was absolutely beautiful. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: Salzburg and Lake District Day Trip plus Romantic Road and Rothenburg Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great trip, guide was excellent, everything we hoped for

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great trip, guide was excellent, everything we had hoped for

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Everything went as expected. The four of us (wife and two grandchildren, ages 10 and 14) had a good time.

Doing what: Overnight Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour. Walking around on the city walls was the best part.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

I would have rated this tour higher except for two things.
First, the agency where we collected the vouchers the day before told us to wait in the wrong area for the bus - It was only as 8am approached that I went back to the agency and spoke to another member of staff and was given directions to the correct bus stand. We then raced around the corner with our suit cases to the correct stop followed by another family. I told the driver and he did stop at the first stand where it picked up more passengers. We had all been given the wrong instructs in the agency.
Second, the hotel in Rothenburg was substandard. Our intinerary indicated that we would stay at Hotel Spitzweg or similar. That hotel looks lovely with quality furnishings etc - on Tripadviser it ranks as no 6 in Rothenburg. We had to stay at Goldene Rose - really a basic B and B, not a hotel. Apart from a pretty exterior, it lacked charm and was very basic and not very comfortable. A real disappointment and not in the same class as Hotel Spitzweg so I felt we had been mislead.
On the positives, the route is terrific - the stops are well chosen. Rothenburg is gorgeous with its city walls and mediaeval buildings and the night watchman walk is very entertaining and great fun. The second night is spent at Hotel Mueller - this was a lovely hotel. We had a comfortable room, great breakfast and the hotel staff were so well organised and efficient. They had tickets ready in the morning to visit Neuschwanstein Castle and we got them to buy us extra tickets to Hohenschwangu Castle as well.
This is a great tour but needs fine tuning - perhaps options can be given to select from a rage of accommodation. I would recommend it if they can fix up the accommodation in Rothenburg.

Doing what: Three Day Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Marguarite the guide was excellent - very informative, organised and friendly. I recommend if you have time to stay overnight, it's much better as it's a 3 hour dive from Munich so really there is very limited time there. I would have rathered stay longer than leaving at 4pm and got back later, but some people may think that's too long for a day trip to get back after 9pm.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

Kerri M
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

A long, but interesting day trip. Meeting point was centrally located and easy to find. A large double decker bus was new and comfortable but almost 60 people in our group. Guide was interesting and informative along the journey. Harburg Castle was smaller than I expected, but very pretty and the local guide there told good stories about life back in Medieval times and how the castle was used back then. Then another hour or so up to Rothenburg which was very pretty with lots of history and intriguing architecture, lots of eating options and great shopping, Kathe Wolfhart Christmas Museum and shop can't be missed! The time in Rothenburg was just right. About 500km round trip, a long day, but worth it for something a bit different.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message