Rothenburg ob der Tauber, to give it the full name which distinguishes it from Germany’s other two Rothenburgs, has few equals as a fairy tale destination. This perfectly preserved medieval town looks like a film set, and indeed the town’s tumble of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 511 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was a wonderful tour. The tour guide, Dirk and the bus driver, Gunter, were excellent! The hotels were all very nice and the sights were beautiful. I would definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Romantic Germany: 7-Day Tour from Frankfurt to Munich, Neuschwanstein Castle and Heidelberg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Loved every minute! The Goldene Rose Boutique Hotel in Rothenburg was sensational. Beautifully refinished rooms and a delicious breakfast.

Doing what: Overnight Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Salzburg was crowded and the guide was so so....Wolfgangsee was beautiful.... the romantic road day was incredible and we really enjoyed it. The guide was very good and knowledgeable. Would highly recommend this trip to others.....

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: Salzburg and Lake District Day Trip plus Romantic Road and Rothenburg Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Harburg was interesting and Rothenberg fantastic but not enough time to see everything. Rothenberg needs at least 4 hours.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

this tour was great! beautiful views of Harburg castle and Rothenburg. Well worth it!

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

It was labeled as a guided tour however; it turned out to be a self guided tour. Extremely misleading and nerve racking for my parents (whom I bought this for). Everything turned out wonderfully however, be prepared to "figure" it out.

Doing what: 5-Day Tour from Munich to Frankfurt: Rothenburg, Augsburg, Zugspitze

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The places in itself are very nice, but we felt that there was no enough time to spend in Rothenburg specially that it is a far trip. The guide that we had on that day, was an old guy, he didn't close his mouth a second in the bus, speaking about every single think, the weather, the car accident that we found on our way, no one was happy from him at all, he made our trip unpleasable, unprofessional.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Tour was very good, guide was Markus, he had lots of information to share, this was a lovely day trip from Munich. Totally recommended.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

Tassie Bev
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We really enjoyed this tour. Amazing and beautiful places, good steady coach drivers, adequate bathroom stops (and a toilet on the coach if necessary), all transfers efficient and smooth, lovely hotels booked for us with good rooms and excellent breakfasts, and yet we were still largely independent. Yes, we could have done much of the same tour for a somewhat cheaper price if we had booked each bit ourselves, as we have done for the majority of our travels, but for once it was good to have it all organised for us and it would have been difficult getting back to Munich in the evening after a wonderful day in Hohenschwangau. All 3 meals that we ate at Hotel Muller were excellent and they catered extremely well for my gluten-free diet, as did Hotel Spitz for my Rothenburg breakfast. Viator had informed the kitchens of both hotels and they were ready and aware of my requirements.

Doing what: Three Day Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Unique Bavarian style architecture,great selection of beer and a tasteful food make this place relax and memorable. Splendid experience.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Wonderful , charming and enjoyable city. The guide did his best but had a slightly mental tourist to deal with.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Rothenburg is so lovely. It's worth the long trip.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Salzburg was a fairy tale city, and Rothenburg was absolutely beautiful. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: Salzburg and Lake District Day Trip plus Romantic Road and Rothenburg Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great trip, guide was excellent, everything we hoped for

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great trip, guide was excellent, everything we had hoped for

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message