Rothenburg ob der Tauber, to give it the full name which distinguishes it from Germany’s other two Rothenburgs, has few equals as a fairy tale destination. This perfectly preserved medieval town looks like a film set, and indeed the town’s tumble of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 527 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

We loved the tour. Rothenburg was romantic, charming and beautiful. Our tour guide suggested a lunch restaurant which was disappointing. Maybe she got a free or discounted lunch there but the food was expensive and not tasty, although the ambiance was great. The tour guide did very little to ensure that we toured Rothenburg. She just quoted very limited directions of the town layout and then we were on our own for hours. It was not a tour led by a guide but rather driving to a locations, with suggestions on arrival and on your own to figure it out.
Harburg Castle was a surprise as we did not know we would have as extensive and elaborate tour. Yes, the castle was interesting and the castle guide great. Our tour leader was basically directing us how to leave the bus and where to meet up with the tour guide at the castle.
We loved the whole day and the other bus passengers who were fun to talk to.
Our tour guide seemed to lose interest in us. But Rothenburg is a traffic place to visit.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The first day was simply checking in to the hotel and entertaining ourselves for the day. The second day to Zugspitz was a bit of a disappointment as the mountain was enclosed in fog...nothing one could do about the weather though. The Augsburg day was also unfortunate in that the walking tour ended up being in heavy rain. However, the stops on the tour were very interesting, and we would have liked to spend more time in Augsburg in nice weather of course. Because there were only two of us English speaking persons on the walking tour, the guide spoke first in German and then in English. This made the tour seem quite long. Rothenburg was a highlight, and we really enjoyed our time there. We arrived in Frankfurt quite late on the last day. The bus drivers were friendly, but there was a tour guide for only a short portion of the trip. There were recorded informations given as we drove past some of the towns, but it would have been nice to have a bit more stories about what we were seeing along the way. The hotels were excellent, and the staff very helpful and friendly.

Doing what: 5-Day Tour from Munich to Frankfurt: Rothenburg, Augsburg, Zugspitze

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

If the weather had been more favorable the Salzburg segment would have been more enjoyable. Also, we would have liked to had more information from our tour guide on the Salzburg day. We throughly enjoyed dining at Rothenburg.

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: Salzburg and Lake District Day Trip plus Romantic Road and Rothenburg Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

the tour is good, the transportation from hotel to hotel was terrible. from munich to neuschwanstein the bus had a non working toilet, from neuschwanstein to ausburg the bus had a broken air conditioner; also instead of using a tourbus they used a municipal bus and traveling from neuschwanstein to ausburg they had to go to munich to pick up extra passengers this extended the length of time to get to ausburg.
from ausburg to rothenburg i got a driver that acted like an idiot screaming at me and raising his voice like i was a little child because according to him i was not at the bus stop on time . what happened is that my paperwork said they would pick me up at 12.25 at the bus station and we were there at 12:10 but at 12:35 they did not show up so i went into the hotel to inquire about it but they said they didnt know anything about it. by the time i came outside here was this driver acting stupid.
overall the trip was great, the places we visited were nice, just remind this driver that without tourists he would not have a job. the driver from rothenburg to frankfurt was very nice and polite, in fact he discovered that i had been charged round trip from munich to frankfurt and back by the touring co even though i was not returning to munich.

Doing what: 4-Day Tour from Munich to Frankfurt: Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Augsburg, Neuschwanstein Castle

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

This tour was a total rip off!! Had to pay to get into the castles.had to transport our own luggage from certain places.way too long on the bus with hardly any stops..room in Rothenberg was like a hostel.no washroom on bus.nor air conditioning.I feel ripped off

Doing what: Four Day Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Linderhof, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was a wonderful tour. The tour guide, Dirk and the bus driver, Gunter, were excellent! The hotels were all very nice and the sights were beautiful. I would definitely recommend this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great and strongly recommended, everything is good, including the coach, guide, lunch and visit

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Loved every minute! The Goldene Rose Boutique Hotel in Rothenburg was sensational. Beautifully refinished rooms and a delicious breakfast.

Doing what: Overnight Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour for us was magic. The hotel in Rothenburg was very comfortable, and the "old town" simply amazing. So much wonderful history, not only here, but along the whole route. Weikersheim was very special. As we proceeded down the Romantic Road we saw the increasing richness of the countryside. Wonderful rich, rich farmlands surrounding beautiful centuries old towns. It was a great way to go, from north to south. To finish in Hohenschwangau, and stay the night at the magnificent Hotel Muller was a terrific surprise, with a view of the "Fairy Tale Castle" from our hotel room window. Many thanks to all those involved, who made this tour so wonderful. The tour leaders, the drivers and the hotel employees who looked after us so well. It went like clockwork.

Doing what: Three Day Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

A wonderful overview of the beauty of Bavaria. The historic towns and tours were fascinating. We had to make a change in itinerary to end in Munich instead of Frankfurt - it was easy to do by phone, so the support was great. The bus drivers on the Romantic Road buses were generally helpful but it varied by day.

The combination of reserved transportation and hotels, plus lots of free time to wander the cities, was just right for us. We really enjoyed those days more than the first tour day of two castles and a tourist town! It was too rushed with little time for exploration, questions, etc. The slower pace of the next three days was much more pleasant.

The start was confusing. We didn't realize we were to take the bus tour from Munich to Neuschwanstein and the drivers/tour guides weren't sure what to do with us either. Once we got going we realized how it worked. But more information at the beginning would have been very helpful.

Our overall impression was very positive, again, once we figured out how it worked. Thanks for a wonderful introduction to the history of the region. We want to come back again soon.

Doing what: 4-Day Tour from Munich to Frankfurt: Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Augsburg, Neuschwanstein Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Salzburg was crowded and the guide was so so....Wolfgangsee was beautiful.... the romantic road day was incredible and we really enjoyed it. The guide was very good and knowledgeable. Would highly recommend this trip to others.....

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: Salzburg and Lake District Day Trip plus Romantic Road and Rothenburg Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Harburg was interesting and Rothenberg fantastic but not enough time to see everything. Rothenberg needs at least 4 hours.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message