Rothenburg ob der Tauber, to give it the full name which distinguishes it from Germany’s other two Rothenburgs, has few equals as a fairy tale destination. This perfectly preserved medieval town looks like a film set, and indeed the town’s tumble of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 562 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide was excellent, very knowledgeable. Had time on our own for shopping and lunch. Very relaxing

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Salzburg and Lake District day trip brought us through stunning views of the alps and the lakes! Our guide was very informative and made the experience a very pleasant one for us.
Our guide on the Romantic Road and Rothenberg day trip was quite elderly and he kept repeating the same information during the journey. However, we had a good time interacting with him when he took some of us to the city walls during the free and easy time. We enjoyed his guided walk to the city walls.

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: Salzburg and Lake District Day Trip plus Romantic Road and Rothenburg Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was an amazing tour. The tour guide Ana was superb. The buses were luxurious and the driving was safe and sound.
overall a fabulous experience.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Beautiful trip! Tour guide Ana was fun and informative. We had a great time!

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Rothenburg was the most interesting little town I could ever imagine...the quaint shops, the great architecture, the whole atmosphere took us back in time...a whole different world...lots of great food and so many interesting craft shops ---that shoppers could probably spend a few days here! Harburg was fascinating ...but was not so romantic...unless you were part of the family in the castle, I suppose...the buildings were well preserved...even the areas where punishments were given...a great day trip.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Sometimes tours like this try to go too many places in a day. This is perfect, a little bit guided tour and a lot of time to explore on your own. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Both days were super long but very beautiful. Would have loved to see more Sound of Music sights or been given time to do that tour on our own while there.

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: Salzburg and Lake District Day Trip plus Romantic Road and Rothenburg Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

I didn't understand that this was an individual tour, riding together on a bus with others on individual tours. That said, once I understood that I was on my own, I enjoyed the freedom and flexibility. The hotels booked for each of my two nights were lovely.

Doing what: Three Day Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Our day trip to Rothenburg was fantastic. This is the cutest town. The buildings are so beautiful and there are plenty of shops and places to eat. I wish we would have stayed a few days here!

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

A town not to be missed. The tour should be extended by 1 hour to better enjoy the town.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Very informative guide. Taking the bus was an easy way to see Rothenburg and the country side.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Most of the tour was great and highly recommend it to anyone wanting see the Romantic Road. Rothenburg and Neuschanstein castle portions were the highlights. Augsburg's self guided tour was only a one star - one of the hand held devices didn't work and we need up having to share. The directions given on the hand held devices was not always clear and it became frustrating as we weren't quite sure where we were supposed to be. Augsburg should be toured just not a self guided tour.

Doing what: 4-Day Tour from Frankfurt to Munich: Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Augsburg, Neuschwanstein Castle

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Most of the tour was great and highly recommend it to anyone wanting see the Romantic Road. Rothenburg and Neuschanstein castle portions were the highlights. Augsburg's self guided tour was only a one star - one of the hand held devices didn't work and we need up having to share. The directions given on the hand held devices was not always clear and it became frustrating as we weren't quite sure where we were supposed to be. Augsburg should be toured just not a self guided tour.

Doing what: 4-Day Tour from Frankfurt to Munich: Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Augsburg, Neuschwanstein Castle

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

This tour is recommendable because Rothenburg is an exquisite city and well worth the visit. However, our tour guide never introduced herself and kept repeating herself throughout the journey to Rothenburg. There was no history of the city offered during her long dissertations. Upon arrival, she then recommended a restaurant in town which many of us visitied; however, she failed to mention that the restaurant did not accept Visa or any credit cards!!!! This caused a problem for those of us who did not have the Euros to pay the bill. This was definitely not our favorite tour, but our experience may have been better with a more capable tour guide.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

I wish I had understood that the bus was a regular scheduled bus and not a tour bus. In some of the locations that were interesting there were only 5 to 15 minutes at the stop meaning you really could only stretch your legs. The night in Rothenburg was the best. It was more of a bed and breakfast without all the amenities but it was quaint, rustic, and the people were extremely nice.

Doing what: Three Day Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message