On first glance, the city of Frankfurt, formally known as Frankfurt am Main, appears to be merely a transit hub and center for international commerce. And given that its prominence in the Frankfurt/Rhine-Main Metropolitan area, the city’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 444 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Blossom
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Loved it, beautiful, scenic, and our Driver/ Guide, was very helpful.
Only negative, I would spend a whole day next time instead of 1/2 a day.
Was very enjoyable.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We took instead the full day rhine tour, which was unbelievable, a tour not to be missed, castles and vineyards everywhere, amazing, and then we took the full day heidelberg tour, also amazing, the castle, the town ,the bridge, wow so glad we split this tour into two separate days to see as much as we could see of both these world heritage sites, incredible!!!!

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This your was amazing! Our tour guide was excellent, and funny! We had a fantastic day. The ONLY reason that 5 stars were not awarded by me is because at the end of the tour they go to the airport and to many hotels to drop people off from the bus. This annoyed me to no end!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Baden baden is very nice. I wish i could stay abit longer.

Doing what: Black Forest and Baden-Baden Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

we fully enjoyed this tour, not only the weather is great, but our tour guide is so wonderful! Very interesting information and great arrangement of the places to see. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Great tour, heidelberg is soooo beautiful and you just feel like you were transported back in time, really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

It's a nice scenic bus ride to the river but it was so peaceful once you got on the river, get to see a lot of castles. You also do a wine tasting which is informative.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The tour and wine tasting were good. I think there should have been more narration and more history. Decent tour though. Guide was nice and respectful.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

All in all, the tour was very disappointing for the money we spent. We spent more time on the bus, waiting for the boat, and in the tacky restaurant and obligatory wine tasting than we did on the boat. (Sure, the wine tasting was "optional," but the other option was waiting on the bus for everyone else to return.)

The reviews I read before booking the tour were glowing. Now I know to look at ALL the reviews, not just the first ones. It seems the tour guides were a big part of the event for others. Our tour guide was nice, but offered very little information and engaged in little conversation other than asking us where we were from.

The view from the boat was also nice, but it was the same view we saw driving down on the bus. The boat turned out to be little more than a barge with metal picnic tables on it.

Would I book this tour again? No.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Mark S
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

The lunch was just edible- why in Germany would a restaurant serve barbeque chicken and french fries- come on, for the money a schnitzel and slaw would be more appropriate. Everything else extra! The wine tasting was ok. Towards the end of the tour we did not appreciate being held captive in the bus while the tour director went systematically down the aisle shaking a box for tips for himself and the bus driver. The chair lift ride should be included- 6 euro extra per person, but surely viatour would have got a group discount of 20 or more, so felt like we were ripped off. The tour guide was knowledgeable and that gives it 2 stars.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

Poorly planned and operated tour. Spent over 9 hours on the bus and Barely had anytime at the locations. Tour operator knew very little history or information regarding the sites. Absolutely the worst tour I have ever been on.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Of my three Viatar trips, this was my favorite (all were fantastic). I was on vacation on business in Brussels and had limited time to vacation in Europe on a travel, tour, and travel schedule. The trip into France, the Black Forest and other locations along the way was fantastic. Lucky to be a part of a small tour of four with a great tour guide who spoke perfect English and was very freindly. Lunch in the Black Forest by a lake, REAL Black Forest Cake. Beautiful picture post card views, opportunities to relax and grab lunch and tour locally. Highly recommended; as well as my tour in Switzerland to the Alps and from Brussels to Luxembourg

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

excellent trip, wether helped, comfy coach, very good trip host, friendly humourus and good area knowledge.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour was fantastic! My family took the half-day afternoon tour and we ended up getting a private tour. George, our guide was really great; very knowledgable and funny. What a beautiful town. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fabulous tour and fabulous tour guide! A must do tour in Germany!

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message