On first glance, the city of Frankfurt, formally known as Frankfurt am Main, appears to be merely a transit hub and center for international commerce. And given that its prominence in the Frankfurt/Rhine-Main Metropolitan area, the city’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 728 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Judy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I missed the full day tour and took the afternoon tour. I enjoyed every minute! It was just wonderful.
The guide was so friendly and informative and the other passengers were delightful. We had a beautiful day. The scenery was magnificent. Great value!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Lisa P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a lovely time. Our tour guide was Michael who was very informative and had a great sense of humor. We would recommend this tour to anyone and it was well worth the money. It was a great day!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Kelly W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a fabulous day trip out of Frankfurt. The sites were incredible and the tour guide, Michael was terrific, friendly and knowledgeable. The food was great. I loved that white asparagus was in season and we could upgrade our lunch request to include that. The only comment is that unless you were really listening which apparently I wasn't I didn't catch that the lift ride down to the village costs 5 Euro and is not included in the trip price. If you opt not to do that, the bus will take you down at no charge of course. But the lift ride was well worth every bit.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Barbara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour. We really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Joan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A lovely day. It was sunny and pleasant looking at the castles as pretty towns from the boat.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Joan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I was the only person on the tour but Peter my guide showed me a great deal of Heidelberg and was very informative and I suppose we could do more because there was not a big group.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Deborah M S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The trip down the Rhine tour was great. Wonderful to see that region with the vineyards and all the castles.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Deborah M S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

We learned so much about Heidelberg's history and eat some great food as well as drank some great beer.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Neil M

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The Rhine River cruise was a very pleasant experience. Our guide, Michael, provided an interesting, entertaining and knowledgeable presentation on the day. We we fortunate to have good weather for the cruise and viewing the landscape and sights. The lunch which was included in the cost, was a little disappointing and certainly not an example of the local cuisine. Perhaps, a drink or water could be included in the price. Otherwise, a very worthwhile experience.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Aimee A.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Really nice excursion. The bus was prompt and the tour guide was very friendly. The only thing that I would like to warn people about is lunch. The only thing included is the actual food. Beverages of any type must be purchased. Also, there is a lift that you have the opportunity to take down the mountain at your first stop that is very nice, but is an extra charge. It was 5 Euros. Just make sure you bring some extra cash with you as neither the lift or the restaurant took credit cards.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Carmen Lucia S Brazil

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

I took half day tour. Cruise very short.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Lily T

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Overall, this was a good trip although half day may feel a little rushed. I would recommend the full day tour. The local tour operator was knowledgeable and engaged the travellers. Did not expect a sandwich and drink to be included!

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Betty G

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The tour aspect of this trip was good. We got a good view of the Rhine Valley from both land and water. The lunch was very poor. Over cooked chicken with french fries. Dessert was an extra charge. I think Germans would be upset to learn that was the standard we experienced. The wine tasting was less than successful. A teaspoon of 4 wines presented in 20 minutes. Sub standard wine tasting.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Lily T

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Unfortunately, this was my worst ever tour experience. When I booked via Viator, my booking confirmation gave instructions to collect tickets from the ticket office. However, when I reached the tour office on Sat, they did not have my tickets and said the bus driver will have it. On Sun day of tour, I tried the tour office again in the morning in case the tickets arrived/emailed/faxed overnight. Again, I was told to the bus driver will have it. However, the bus driver didn't allow me on the bus because I didn't have a ticket. I ended up running between the tour office and the bus on multiple trips and be on the phone with the tour operator to try and sort this out. I was abused by the tour operator for delaying the departure of the bus and she said it was my fault. I was eventually allowed on the bus but the communication was terrible. The bus driver told me I won't be going back to Frankfurt that night because the bus goes all the way to Fussen. This was supposed to be a day trip. I spent the next couple of hours on the phone to work out what is going on, where I'm supposed to have this included 2 course lunch, where/when I'm supposed to have this included guided city tour and whether I will be able to get back to Frankfurt that night. The sole reason I booked a tour is because I don't want to deal with all the admin but I think I ended up having to deal with more admin than if I didn't go with a tour!!! This caused considerable stress and frustration and needless to say, I did not have an enjoyable experience at all throughout the day.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Rothenburg

Cynthia T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Every part of this trip was wonderful. Our guide was above and beyond the best guide of all the trips I have been on. The location of stops to eat and shop were great, and of course we loved being on the cruise. The scenery along the Rhine was spectacular. So many castles in such a short distance was more than what I expected. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone visiting the Frankfurt area.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Chensong C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The river cruise is quite nice and my tour guide Michael is also very friendly and makes the trip fun and informational. I had a wonderful day with this trip.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Chensong C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The river cruise is quite nice and my tour guide Michael is very nice and makes the trip fun and informational. I had a wonderful day with this tour.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Jeffrey R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very cool...the highlight of my trip to Europe and highly recommended to take the tour...Exceptional in every way

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Eric M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I would highly recommend this tour. First, you have a great experience of the autobahn as you ride the van to Heidelberg. Heidelberg is an extremely beautiful old town. The castle is fascinating and we had some time in the city to explore and even catch a bite to eat at a German pub. They do provide you with a bottle of water and sandwich on the van, but the chance to eat a real German meal was too hard to pass up. The guide, Adrian, was wonderful. Helpful, informative, and entertaining. There were only 4 of us on the trip, all together, so it was like a private tour. Worth every penny!

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Kathryn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an amazing trip down the Rheine! So many castles to see! Very good day!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Nikoleta A

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

As expected. The service was nice. I would recommend a little bit more history and information to be shared.

Doing what: Frankfurt Sightseeing Cruise

Larry M

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Enjoyed the tour enormously. However we were not pleaded to get back to Frankfurt so late. Our bus detoured to take three different groups to their hotel which extended our trip by at least an hour. We had to catch a train to Bad Homberg and travel from the station to our hotel. We sat in at a bus stop for 45 minutes in the dark while it was raining. We finally took a taxi which cost more since we had purchased round trip bus tickets. We did not get to our hotel until after 9:30 - we should have reached our hotel by 7:00 PM. We were very aggravated.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Eric M

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

It is well worth taking a trip to the Rhine if you are in Frankfurt. The river cruise was delightful and you got to see a lot of villages and castles. The tour guide/bus driver, Michael, was informative and entertaining. If you don't want the hassle of planning the trip yourself, this is the way to go. However, the train system in Frankfurt is pretty easy to figure out. I would suggest skipping this tour, taking the train to Rudesheim and catching a boat from there. That way you'll skip the tourist trap lunch/wine tasting. The lunch is chicken and fries. Really?! I'm in Germany. Drinks, even water, cost extra.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Kathryn B

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Unfortunately I was too late arriving and missed this tour!

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message