On first glance, the city of Frankfurt, formally known as Frankfurt am Main, appears to be merely a transit hub and center for international commerce. And given that its prominence in the Frankfurt/Rhine-Main Metropolitan area, the city’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 606 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My wife and I were in Frankfurt for only 1 day so we needed a tour which would give us the most opportunity to sightsee as possible. This tour fit the bill perfectly. The tour guide was informative, funny, and really enjoyed his work.
Highly recommend this tour for those with limited time.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Beautiful town and countryside! We loved seeing the quintessential German forest and countryside. George was a great tour guide too.

Doing what: Black Forest and Baden-Baden Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Nice Guide, funny and informative. Very well organized. Views lived up to our expectations. Wine tasting was very limited but dinner was excellent. Worth the trip!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour of the Heidelberg castle, was able to spend some time in the main square of Heidelberg, beautiful river tour where we saw many castles, and good meal for dinner and wine for a wine tasting.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour. Tour guide was excellent!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We were only four people in the Minibus and they didn't cancel the tour, our guide was very sympathic and joyfull. He was a great guy. Thanks a lot for this trip, just looking forward to others...

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Just great, easy planning and works on time.

Doing what: Frankfurt Sightseeing Cruise

hmg0060
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

LOVED this tour. We got stuck in traffic on the way out so we didn't get as much time in the city most was spent in/at the castle, but it was beautiful. The sandwiches they served - i did not like, but that is really a minor grievance. Out tour guide was FANTASTIC! This was the first time I used Viator to book an excursion and I'm so glad I did. If you are a fan of architecture and history, this tour is right up your ally.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide was Thomas and we thought him knowledgeable, friendly and engaging. Heidelberg is a great destination, definitely worth a visit for those staying in Frankfurt. We toured both the nearby castle as well as a the town, both were terrific. The drive to and from was enjoyable, that was our only time to experience the famed German autobahn. Although we might have preferred transportation in the left lane via a Mercedes AMG S-Class sedan, the tourist minibus was just fine a couple of lanes to the right. So we have nothing but good things to say!

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very happy with the tour. Wish the boat ride was longer. Wine tasting is very quick. For the price its hard to beat.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very relaxing and enjoyable. Our first day in Frankfurt we did this. Beautiful scenery. Very informative

Doing what: Frankfurt Sightseeing Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very nice tour! Restaurant was awesome and the ride to the restaurant on a cable car was spectacular with awesome views! River Cruise was excellent. It was very hot. Boat did not have much ice and lower deck was not a/c. Be prepared to buy lots of water with no gas @ 2.50 Euros each. By the end of the trip, we purchased 6 bottles.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Marian S
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was actually two consecutive trips. Different experiences, both wonderful. Our time was limited in Frankfurt, and this was perfect.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Trip was beautiful. Our tour guide Richard was excellent and informative. It is a long day but saw a lot.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

Heather T
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Loved this chance to see some of the Rhine, the castles and small towns were very scenic and we did get time off the boat to wander as well. The wine tasting is brief and no pressure to purchase. I realise they have to have a meal to suit the majority but thought chicken, chips and coleslaw was a bit basic. Where was the schnitzel, strudel etc? The delicious Riesling made up for it though. Overall a great day.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

the tour guide was the X factor ! very well informed who took a personal interest to ensure a great tour for all !

Doing what: Black Forest and Baden-Baden Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

It is beautiful town.
I loved it

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Rothenburg

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This is a wonderful tour if you want to make the most out of one day. Our tour guide, George, was wonderful and very knowledgeable about all the sights and their history. Bus driver, Alfredo, was very friendly as well. Although I don't see anything wrong with spending a full day in Heidelberg, a half day is fine if you are seeing many other German towns. The view from the bridge is spectacular! The Rhine River Valley boat tour is also a great experience. The ride is certainly long enough for you to feel like you've seen many castles and it's very peaceful. My only recommendation for the second half of the tour is that they should clarify what's included in the dinner at the time of booking. Dinner is included but you pay extra for anything that's not the vegetarian meal, and you pay for dessert and drinks. I'm vegetarian anyway so it didn't affect me as much but others had to pay extra if they wanted schnitzel, etc. Otherwise, a great time! I recommend buying some EisWein....

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

A perfect day. Everything was ontime. Didn't care for the wine tasting event. Thought it would be at an outside vineyard.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Very enjoyable trip to the Rhine Valley and the tour guide was excellent. The tour includes lunch and wine tasting at a quaint restaurant in one of the towns along the river. After lunch we got on the ferry and cruised along the river for a couple of hours. We stopped by another town after the cruise and were given half an hour to shop. We didn't stop at any other towns along the river - this was OK for me as I only had a day in Frankfurt and this tour is the most time efficient way to explore the Rhine Valley.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Fun day, a little hot

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This was a fun trip with a knowledgeable guide. It felt a bit overbooked and our fellow sightseers were not quite as friendly and interactive as they were on other tours. The Rhine Valley was amazing and not to be missed!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Both Heidelberg and the Rhine Valley are must see, but spend a whole day on each instead of both in one day if you can. Also, the food was incredibly disappointing! So much of the travel experience is the food of the place you're visiting and this tour's food was awful. A cheese sandwich on the bus that could be bought at a gas station and the dinner was a lousy piece of chicken and fries, pathetic!

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Suzanne W
Singapore

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

This tour did not live up to expectations. We took the afternoon option and were disappointed in a number of areas. Firstly as there were only 7 people on the tour, we got no air conditioned coach - only a mini-van whose air conditioning did not work, blowing hot air and adding to the already warm 30 degree day - it was a very uncomfortable trip. Secondly, we did not get a proper guide - just a driver whose English was limited and who was not able to provide any commentary or suggestions on the places we visited. Thirdly, most of the shops except bars and restaurants close by 6pm so we were not able to browse any of the lovely local stores. The driver also seemed to be in a rush to return to Frankfurt so we had very limited time and arrived back almost 1 hour earlier than scheduled. Perhaps the morning tour would be better, but for such a lovely town, I would recommend taking a day tour.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message