On first glance, the city of Frankfurt, formally known as Frankfurt am Main, appears to be merely a transit hub and center for international commerce. And given that its prominence in the Frankfurt/Rhine-Main Metropolitan area, the city’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 692 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

peg's Travel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Even in winter this is a pretty area. Our drive and guide were wonderful and he was able to share his knowledge about the area and what happened over the historical time with the castles. Well worth the trip. Excellent.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

jfrieze

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

One word, EXCELLENT

Doing what: Cologne Day Trip from Frankfurt

Peter S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

We had excellent guide and if the weather had been better, the day would have been perfect.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Mark W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

ah, not that good cold day and lunch was not that good

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Melissa S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Peter was our gracious, educated, patient host for the day who spoke good English thoughout the tour. It was only a 2 hours drive from Frankfurt to the pretty and quaint town of Baden Baden. We then proceeded to the castle which had a good view of the Black Forrest. However the highlight was Lake Mummelsee, such a gorgeous lake where we had the famous Black Forret Cake and the opportunity to shop for local souveniers such as the cuckoo clock. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Black Forest and Baden-Baden Day Trip from Frankfurt

pie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

we had the best half day Heidelberg trip.Adrian our tour guide was so knowledgeable and very entertaining. They provided us with sandwiches and water. It was really so worth it.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Christina J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I'm so glad I took this short trip. Heidelberg was beautiful and was close enough to Frankfurt that I didn't feel like I wasted an entire day. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and spoke English very well. I had such a great experience that I booked another Viator tour a few days later.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Ata M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The whole trip was very good. The lunch and wine tasting was very good especially the atmospher of restaurant was fabulouse. But the Rhine cruise was not as I expected to be, it was too short a just a few almost 5 castles of the way.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Steve D USA

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Awesome!! The only reason that it is a four star is because we did the tour the second week of November and a lot of the little shops and restruants were closed for the season. The guide and driver was awesome!! The scenery was simply amazing as well as the castles that we were able to view. We did not go inside any of them.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Courtney S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

A good option if you're only looking for a short day trip. Our guide was knowledgeable and funny. Wish we had more time to explore the town and castle as it all felt a bit rushed. But overall it was a good overview of the town and history.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Jim Sherwon C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Tour trip was good because it was organized and instructions were very clear. Our tour guide was informative as well giving us some good information not only about the tour but about Germany as well. He would crack some jokes which made made the tour funny. He would answer to questions by tourists as well.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Thomas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour, we enjoyed everything about it.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Tyrone M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Awesome time, it was our Wedding Anniversary which made the tour even more memorable. The tour guide was outstanding!!! I would gladly do it again or refer a friend.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Lang Eng C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Enjoyed the full day tour which included a delicious lunch and wine tasting. River cruise was fun.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Eric L

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The trip was enjoyable and efficient, and Michael was an excellent guide and tour leader. I thought the trip was a good value.

The only negative comment I would have is that the trip felt rushed. We seemed to move too quickly through some of the events surrounding the river cruise. Too much was packed into too short of a time period such that each phase was rushed. We wanted to buy some wine after the wine tasting but felt we were slowing down the rest of the travelers.

But I want to again mentioned that Michael was outstanding. Thank you.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Donald K

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

For those that like more independent sightseeing, the city has lots of charm and the time to see what you really want and not be hurried.

Doing what: Wurzburg Day Tour from Frankfurt

Pui Shan M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Heidelberg city is worth visiting because of the very good preservation of this ancient city architecture and the magnificent city-view! I did not enjoy the Rhine valley trip when it was arranged in the afternoon or the sunset time because it was dark at the end and chilly outside. The dinner and the wine tasting was ok but not that extraordinary. Thanks Adrian for being a very funny and informative tour guide!

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

John M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

I only had one day and night in Frankfurt. I did a walking tour w/ another group in the mid-morning to early afternoon of Frankfurt. I used this half day tour in the p.m. to get out of Frankfurt and see beautiful Heidelberg. I felt like I got to see a more authentically German part of the country w/ this tour. This group made the experience very easy.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Matthew B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Good tour. Does what it says on the tin.

Doing what: Best Frankfurt Sightseeing Cruise

Mary C USA

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

It is a beautiful place to see. However we missed the casino tour by 15 minutes, which was a disappointment after reading all the wonderful reviews. I felt this could have been avoided had our guide not let us stop to take pictures and stroll to the casino. The Christmas market was lovely. There was snow and the lake was pretty my grandkids 12 and 9 loved it. Oliver was our guide and did a good job. He was very pleasant. The company in Frankfurt runs the tours, and should invest in an audio system for the vans because it is hard to hear the driver and if you are in the back can hardly hear at all.

Doing what: Black Forest and Baden-Baden Day Trip from Frankfurt

Mary C USA

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

It is a really a great city to see it was sleeting/snow when we went on and off, the ruins of the castle were grand and the city was quaint and so pretty. The Christmas market was on, enjoyed the Glufewein hot wine very tasty. Had a good time. The sweets in Germany are delicous. The people are very friendly. Again, it was hard to hear the guide - the company needs to invest in the whispers or something for the tours. There was a large tour group at the castle and it was hard to always hear our guide. It is worth the trip to see the castle. I wish there would have been more time to roam around the castle ruins, but it was the ruins or the town/market. Should have done the whole day there.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Meechai C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

The driver was good and friendly.
The lunch was bad. Small portion. Seats were not comfortable. The extra drinks water and wine were very expensive. It was a real rip-off. Very disappointing.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Chris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

What an experience! Thanks to a wonderful guide, Peter!

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

Ernest M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Heidelberg and the castle were a real treat. Our guide was very knowledgeable of the history and made the trip quite interesting. I recommend it!

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Faris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Hi it was fantastic trip the land scape view was fabulous the guide was very good we really enjoyed our time it deserve the money paid for this trip

Doing what: Black Forest and Baden-Baden Day Trip from Frankfurt

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message