• USD ($)
  • English
With a huge number of domestic and international flights landing in Frankfurt, the lively metropolis makes a strategic base for exploring central Germany, with excellent transport links to Bavaria, Baden-Württemberg and the Rhine Valley. If ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 21 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mario S
Malta

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A great day trip to this lovely city with its enormous Cathedral. We had time enough for personal sightseeing, and visiting the Cathedral at our leisure. The stop in Limburg on the way back to Frankfurt was a pleasant break, and a chance to see an untouched medieval town.

Doing what: Cologne Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great day trip. We had a fantastic day. Only a small group (4 of us) and Peter, our guide was wonderful. He was professional yet personable. He was very knowledgeable about the region and explained many things to us about the local history and culture. Peter is an excellent and capable driver, this is quite a long distance trip and I felt very safe with him at the wheel. Initially, we were a bit reluctant to spend the money for this day trip but it turned out to be the most enjoyable day we had during our 3 weeks in Europe. Well worth what it costs. I will remember this day for a long time to come, especially the Strasbourg Boat Cruise, the Black Forest Cake and the Cuckoo Clocks!

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Very special. Overnight stay in Rothenburg wonderful, especially as all the day trippers have left. Time to walk the town, do the Night Watchman's Tour and walk the wall which surrounds the village. Simply lovely overnight stay in Hohenschwangau and despite huge numbers of people tour of Neuschwanstein Castle extremely well organised and orderly. Very pretty spot. Although there are short stops along the way bus trip from Rothenburg to Hohenschwangau a very long day.

Doing what: Four Day Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

A fantastic half day trip. The tour guide was affable and knowledgeable and ensure each and every passenger had a great day out. Would thoroughly recommend this tour and tour company.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I really enjoyed my day trip to Neuschwanstein. It is an extremely long day with a lot of time on the road. If you are not put off by spending 4-5 hours on the road each way, I highly recommend this trip. The castle is one of the most stunning things in Europe that I have seen and the region of Bavaria it is located in is gorgeous. Additionally our guide stopped for pictures in Rothenburg on the way back which is an experience not to be missed. The guide Wolfgang was professional, knowledgable, and even went out of his way to try to converse with me in German to help improve my language skills even though he spoke flawless English.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great half-day trip from Frankfurt. It is perfect if you want to see Heidelberg but don't have an entire day to spend. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and efficient.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Mario S
Malta

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This is a very scenic trip to two famously picturesque areas, one in France and the other in Germany. The problem was that it was too much to fit in Strasbourg, Baden-Baden and the Black Forest all in one day's trip. Strasbourg is such a lovely city, that it merits a whole day trip to itself to properly enjoy all that it has to offer and not be pressed for time. That said, we got enough time to visit the Cathedral and take a scenic boat ride on the canals. However, back in Germany, we made a stop-over in Baden-Baden, and then there was only time left for a drive through a part of the Black Forest. Perhaps on this trip, the stop at Baden-Baden could be eliminated, and more time spent experiencing the Forest, and maybe visiting a Cuckoo Clock workshop. All in all, though, the experience was unforgettable.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The day trip was excellent and the guide great this castle is probably the highlight of the castles we visited as it is mainly in its original state. a bonus was the little town on the Moselle where we had lunch had a local food festival in action which added to the colour of the day

Doing what: Eltz Castle Tour from Frankfurt with Rhine River Dinner

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

This is a good day trip. Both Black Forest and Baden Baden are interesting places to visit. Our guide, Peter is knowledgeable. The only thing is that we were not informed that Strasbourg was included, otherwise we could have more time to spend in the intended places.

Doing what: Black Forest and Baden-Baden Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Good day trip. Great scenery. Didn't really care for the ice wine tasting.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

wigzellm
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

An excellent day trip from Frankfurt. Our guide spoke english, and was fantastic. Lunch and wine tasting a little rushed and commercial, but that wasnt what we came for. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

It was a very pleasant and relaxing day trip to Heidelberg and the Rhine tour. It would be better if the whole trip was linked and we did not have to waste time by returning to the office in Frankfurt before leaving for the Rhine tour!

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

I would recommend this trip for everyone. I enjoyed this trip with my husband and 2 twenty something sons. A very relaxing day trip! Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and considerate.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Our guide Ken was very informative..very well worth day trip, we were out for almost 12 hours.. baden baden town was nice, view at the blackforest was amazing and surprisingly it was snowing at the mummelsee hill! great views there unfortunately not much time to spend there, only about 20mins. Then we went down to the town to grab the delicious blackforest cake and head to strassbourg for boat ride and 15 min walk around the beautiful town. A wonderful trip with a taste of both german and french, not to be missed..

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

The Rhine River trip does cover beautiful countryside. The castles are amazing. However, the full day trip isn't really worth a "full day." Lunch and the wine tasting could be combined in some way. The guide was very good and it was great that the bus took us directly to our hotel on the return. A full written schedule with points of emphasis should be provided in writing or online with directions to print before arrival (as we are directed regarding the vouchers).

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message