With a huge number of domestic and international flights landing in Frankfurt, the lively metropolis makes a strategic base for exploring central Germany, with excellent transport links to Bavaria, Baden-Württemberg and the Rhine Valley. If ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 26 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This day trip was a great way to experience the beautiful medieval town of Rothenburg. Peter, our Tour Guide, was wonderful - he suggested that we travel from Frankfurt to Rothenburg via the scenic route which meant that we were able see many of the picturesque villages that dot the River Main. In Rothenburg itself, Peter was able to give us information and tell us stories that would not accessible in tourist books or brochures. There were only three people on this tour and I was expecting to be told that the trip would be cancelled. This, however, was not the case and the three of us travelled very comfortably in a large car. I can thoroughly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Guided Rothenburg Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

No trip to Frankfurt is complete without a day trip to Heidelberg! This was a very beautiful castle, even though it rained. We were shown the world's largest wine barrel, which was quite amusing! Anyone who likes history would enjoy the tour, as we learned some great facts.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Mario S
Malta

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A great day trip to this lovely city with its enormous Cathedral. We had time enough for personal sightseeing, and visiting the Cathedral at our leisure. The stop in Limburg on the way back to Frankfurt was a pleasant break, and a chance to see an untouched medieval town.

Doing what: Cologne Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great day trip. We had a fantastic day. Only a small group (4 of us) and Peter, our guide was wonderful. He was professional yet personable. He was very knowledgeable about the region and explained many things to us about the local history and culture. Peter is an excellent and capable driver, this is quite a long distance trip and I felt very safe with him at the wheel. Initially, we were a bit reluctant to spend the money for this day trip but it turned out to be the most enjoyable day we had during our 3 weeks in Europe. Well worth what it costs. I will remember this day for a long time to come, especially the Strasbourg Boat Cruise, the Black Forest Cake and the Cuckoo Clocks!

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Very special. Overnight stay in Rothenburg wonderful, especially as all the day trippers have left. Time to walk the town, do the Night Watchman's Tour and walk the wall which surrounds the village. Simply lovely overnight stay in Hohenschwangau and despite huge numbers of people tour of Neuschwanstein Castle extremely well organised and orderly. Very pretty spot. Although there are short stops along the way bus trip from Rothenburg to Hohenschwangau a very long day.

Doing what: Four Day Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

A fantastic half day trip. The tour guide was affable and knowledgeable and ensure each and every passenger had a great day out. Would thoroughly recommend this tour and tour company.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I really enjoyed my day trip to Neuschwanstein. It is an extremely long day with a lot of time on the road. If you are not put off by spending 4-5 hours on the road each way, I highly recommend this trip. The castle is one of the most stunning things in Europe that I have seen and the region of Bavaria it is located in is gorgeous. Additionally our guide stopped for pictures in Rothenburg on the way back which is an experience not to be missed. The guide Wolfgang was professional, knowledgable, and even went out of his way to try to converse with me in German to help improve my language skills even though he spoke flawless English.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great half-day trip from Frankfurt. It is perfect if you want to see Heidelberg but don't have an entire day to spend. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and efficient.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The trip was outstanding! We had a great tour guide who was knowledgeable and entertaining. The lunch and wine tasting was in a quaint little restaurant that was pretty enjoyable. The cruise up the river was not too long, but still provided plenty of opportunities to soak in the scenery. I highly recommend taking the ski lift down the hill to get a view of the Rhine from up high. Only thing I would have improved was a little more free time in one of the towns we stopped in though. Overall, it was a great, relaxing day trip that I would probably do again.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The Rhine river day trip was an excellent way to get a peak at the beauty of the Rhine river valley with its castles and towns nestled in the hillsides. The motor coach ride from Frankfurt was conformable and painless allowing you to get a view of the country around Frankfurt. Lunch was very well organized with a chance to stretch your legs. The optional chair rider (2 euros each) made "arrival" in the small town unique with an opportunity for a short walk around town before arriving at the restaurant. The boat was spacious and gave great views of the river banks. While the 1.5 hours seemed short, I believe that was due to the fact that the entire ride was filled with wonderful scenery. On the way back, the second stop a the restaurant and its wine tasting room provided and opportunity to try the region's wine selection. The second stop on the trip back allowed us to spend 30 great minutes to explore and do some souvenir shopping. The only negative issue of the trip was rush hour traffic getting back to Frankfurt. However, our guide and the bus driver did a wonderful job in working around the traffic and returned us close to on time back to Frankfurt. I would recommend this trip to anyone who wants to see the Rhine river valley, but does not have the time to stay in one of the quaint towns along the river.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Mario S
Malta

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This is a very scenic trip to two famously picturesque areas, one in France and the other in Germany. The problem was that it was too much to fit in Strasbourg, Baden-Baden and the Black Forest all in one day's trip. Strasbourg is such a lovely city, that it merits a whole day trip to itself to properly enjoy all that it has to offer and not be pressed for time. That said, we got enough time to visit the Cathedral and take a scenic boat ride on the canals. However, back in Germany, we made a stop-over in Baden-Baden, and then there was only time left for a drive through a part of the Black Forest. Perhaps on this trip, the stop at Baden-Baden could be eliminated, and more time spent experiencing the Forest, and maybe visiting a Cuckoo Clock workshop. All in all, though, the experience was unforgettable.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The day trip was excellent and the guide great this castle is probably the highlight of the castles we visited as it is mainly in its original state. a bonus was the little town on the Moselle where we had lunch had a local food festival in action which added to the colour of the day

Doing what: Eltz Castle Tour from Frankfurt with Rhine River Dinner

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

This is a good day trip. Both Black Forest and Baden Baden are interesting places to visit. Our guide, Peter is knowledgeable. The only thing is that we were not informed that Strasbourg was included, otherwise we could have more time to spend in the intended places.

Doing what: Black Forest and Baden-Baden Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Good day trip. Great scenery. Didn't really care for the ice wine tasting.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message