With a huge number of domestic and international flights landing in Frankfurt, the lively metropolis makes a strategic base for exploring central Germany, with excellent transport links to Bavaria, Baden-Württemberg and the Rhine Valley. If ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 41 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A fantastic day trip from Frankfurt. Though a full on itinerary, it was well planned out and covered the best bits of the region. Our guide Peter was excellent, his expertise, knowledge and helpful recommendations made the tour a really memorable one. We would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a wonderful day trip along the Rhine. It started with a one-hour bus ride from just off of the Frankfurt HBF station to Aulhausen where we took a ski lift down the side of the hills into the Rhine valley. The views were great, overlooking the vineyards and the river. The lift took us to the village of Assmannshausen where we walked to the restaurant for lunch. The food was good and the waitress was delightful. The restaurant is decorated with nautical themes and is fun to browse. We then boarded the boat for a 1.5 hour trip down the Rhine. The boat's PA system described all the castles and towns in about 4-5 languages so that everyone knew what we were seeing. The boat made three stops along the way to allow passengers to get on or off. When we arrived at our stop in Sankt Goarshausen, we got back on our bus and drove back to Assmannshausen for the wine tasting. Then to the village of Aulhausen for a brief shopping stop. Finally, we boarded the bus to arrive back in Frankfurt at 7:00 pm. Our guide on the Bus, Michael, was delightful and made a point of talking to every passenger to answer their questions. Overall, a very nice day!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Highly recommend this one day trip. Such a beautiful country. Guide and driver were awesome!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Suzanne W
Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic day trip from Frankfurt. We had a wonderful guide in George, who gave excellent commentary and facts throughout the trip. The places we visited were lovely and the Rhine Valley cruise delightful - what a lovely part of the world. If you have limited time this is a great option for a day trip from Frankfurt.

Doing what: Frankfurt Super Saver: City Highlights Tour plus Rhine Valley Cruise and Wine Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide was very good. The scenery was amazing and it was the perfect amount of time for the half day trip. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Reliable and comfortable transportation. The tour guide was very friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. This day trip is a must for anyone visiting Germany...amazing sites, views, and food.

Doing what: Frankfurt Super Saver: Neuschwanstein Castle and Rothenburg Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

this day trip is a must, absolutely breathtaking. Our tour guys was a delight. We drove to the valley and had lunch at a charming quaint restaurant bathrooms a must see then a wine tasting. We then went down the Rhine for a wonderful cruise stopped on the way home to shop in a little village or grab a sweet and cap - I am so happy we went on this tour

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This day trip was a great way to experience the beautiful medieval town of Rothenburg. Peter, our Tour Guide, was wonderful - he suggested that we travel from Frankfurt to Rothenburg via the scenic route which meant that we were able see many of the picturesque villages that dot the River Main. In Rothenburg itself, Peter was able to give us information and tell us stories that would not accessible in tourist books or brochures. There were only three people on this tour and I was expecting to be told that the trip would be cancelled. This, however, was not the case and the three of us travelled very comfortably in a large car. I can thoroughly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Guided Rothenburg Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

No trip to Frankfurt is complete without a day trip to Heidelberg! This was a very beautiful castle, even though it rained. We were shown the world's largest wine barrel, which was quite amusing! Anyone who likes history would enjoy the tour, as we learned some great facts.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Mario S
Malta

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A great day trip to this lovely city with its enormous Cathedral. We had time enough for personal sightseeing, and visiting the Cathedral at our leisure. The stop in Limburg on the way back to Frankfurt was a pleasant break, and a chance to see an untouched medieval town.

Doing what: Cologne Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great day trip. We had a fantastic day. Only a small group (4 of us) and Peter, our guide was wonderful. He was professional yet personable. He was very knowledgeable about the region and explained many things to us about the local history and culture. Peter is an excellent and capable driver, this is quite a long distance trip and I felt very safe with him at the wheel. Initially, we were a bit reluctant to spend the money for this day trip but it turned out to be the most enjoyable day we had during our 3 weeks in Europe. Well worth what it costs. I will remember this day for a long time to come, especially the Strasbourg Boat Cruise, the Black Forest Cake and the Cuckoo Clocks!

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Very special. Overnight stay in Rothenburg wonderful, especially as all the day trippers have left. Time to walk the town, do the Night Watchman's Tour and walk the wall which surrounds the village. Simply lovely overnight stay in Hohenschwangau and despite huge numbers of people tour of Neuschwanstein Castle extremely well organised and orderly. Very pretty spot. Although there are short stops along the way bus trip from Rothenburg to Hohenschwangau a very long day.

Doing what: Four Day Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

A fantastic half day trip. The tour guide was affable and knowledgeable and ensure each and every passenger had a great day out. Would thoroughly recommend this tour and tour company.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I really enjoyed my day trip to Neuschwanstein. It is an extremely long day with a lot of time on the road. If you are not put off by spending 4-5 hours on the road each way, I highly recommend this trip. The castle is one of the most stunning things in Europe that I have seen and the region of Bavaria it is located in is gorgeous. Additionally our guide stopped for pictures in Rothenburg on the way back which is an experience not to be missed. The guide Wolfgang was professional, knowledgable, and even went out of his way to try to converse with me in German to help improve my language skills even though he spoke flawless English.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great half-day trip from Frankfurt. It is perfect if you want to see Heidelberg but don't have an entire day to spend. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and efficient.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

This was a great tour and gives you a taste of the Rhine and a couple smaller towns along the way. A perfect day trip if you don't have a lot of time in the area.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide was great. We just wanted a little more free time in the city to explore. Over all it was a very nice half day trip and I would recommend to anyone :

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The day trip to Berg Eltz castle with Rhine dinner was very nice. There were only 3 of us taking the tour so our tour guide used his own car which made it very comfortable and personal. The 90 minutes at the castle was enough to take the tour and enjoy the beauty of the surroundings. Our dinner at a restaurant on the Rhine was very good. I would recommend this tour to see this amazing castle and enjoy dinner on the Rhine. It was a perfect day.

Doing what: Eltz Castle Tour from Frankfurt with Rhine River Dinner

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

a very nice half day trip. tour guide were funny and friendly, u won't feel bored during the trip.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Before i review the trip i want to clarify that my ratings is based on:-

1) The tour guide - 5 Stars
2) The Bus - 3 Stars
3) The trip and locations- 5 Stars
4) Snacks - 4 stars

My review rating does not include the tour office or office manager as the office was a mess and the office manager was not friendly at all (Maybe because he was working on a Sunday)!

That aside the important part that was the trip itself was great!! The tour guide was amazing...who knew everything about anything and was really funny. Some people might find his sense of humour a bit corny but when you are out on a vacation and on a day trip with strangers...nothing breaks the ice better then jokes!!

The tour guide (whose name i am sadly forgetting) was very informative and also knew the perfect spots for pics. He is an ex-journalist and very well versed with all worldly matters :-)

I would definitely recommend this trip...although i wish the bus had been a bit more newer!!

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Heidelberg part of the tour is fine , but the Rhine valley day trip could easily be done independently as the tour basically provides transportation only

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The trip was outstanding! We had a great tour guide who was knowledgeable and entertaining. The lunch and wine tasting was in a quaint little restaurant that was pretty enjoyable. The cruise up the river was not too long, but still provided plenty of opportunities to soak in the scenery. I highly recommend taking the ski lift down the hill to get a view of the Rhine from up high. Only thing I would have improved was a little more free time in one of the towns we stopped in though. Overall, it was a great, relaxing day trip that I would probably do again.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The Rhine river day trip was an excellent way to get a peak at the beauty of the Rhine river valley with its castles and towns nestled in the hillsides. The motor coach ride from Frankfurt was conformable and painless allowing you to get a view of the country around Frankfurt. Lunch was very well organized with a chance to stretch your legs. The optional chair rider (2 euros each) made "arrival" in the small town unique with an opportunity for a short walk around town before arriving at the restaurant. The boat was spacious and gave great views of the river banks. While the 1.5 hours seemed short, I believe that was due to the fact that the entire ride was filled with wonderful scenery. On the way back, the second stop a the restaurant and its wine tasting room provided and opportunity to try the region's wine selection. The second stop on the trip back allowed us to spend 30 great minutes to explore and do some souvenir shopping. The only negative issue of the trip was rush hour traffic getting back to Frankfurt. However, our guide and the bus driver did a wonderful job in working around the traffic and returned us close to on time back to Frankfurt. I would recommend this trip to anyone who wants to see the Rhine river valley, but does not have the time to stay in one of the quaint towns along the river.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Mario S
Malta

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This is a very scenic trip to two famously picturesque areas, one in France and the other in Germany. The problem was that it was too much to fit in Strasbourg, Baden-Baden and the Black Forest all in one day's trip. Strasbourg is such a lovely city, that it merits a whole day trip to itself to properly enjoy all that it has to offer and not be pressed for time. That said, we got enough time to visit the Cathedral and take a scenic boat ride on the canals. However, back in Germany, we made a stop-over in Baden-Baden, and then there was only time left for a drive through a part of the Black Forest. Perhaps on this trip, the stop at Baden-Baden could be eliminated, and more time spent experiencing the Forest, and maybe visiting a Cuckoo Clock workshop. All in all, though, the experience was unforgettable.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message