Following an old medieval trade route through the foothills of the Bavarian Alps to the former Imperial cities of Rothenburg, Donauwörth and Dinkelsbühl, the Romantic Road is endlessly scenic and it’s the gateway to many of Bavaria’s top ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 124 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

The places we visited are great and worth visiting.
But I felt this tour is just a combination of bus tickeet and hotels and therefore it seems better to book the bus ticket and hotels separately.
It would be better if we could have lunch at Augsburg or somewhere on day2 and/or we could arrive at Frunkfurt before 1800 on day3.

Doing what: 3-day Munich to Frankfurt Tour - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

While this tour felt a little rushed in some of the smaller towns/stops along the way, booking the trip this way made the logistics very simple. All the connections and accommodations were clearly laid out and very well planned for our comfort along the way. The stops in Rothenburg ob der Tauber and Hohenschwangau were long enough for us to both see everything that was of interest to us and have time to meander the streets and the mountain trails just for the sheer enjoyment of the environment.

Doing what: Four Day Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We were a little nervous traveling without our bus and hotel documents. However like clockwork the bus arrived on time and the driver had all of our information and complete itinerary - all in order. Clean, safe and reliable transportation.

Great trip and wonderful stops along the way. We would recommend this trip to all travelers young and old.

Doing what: Overnight Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

It is beautiful town.
I loved it

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Rothenburg

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Overall, the tour package gave me an overview of Germany that I would not have been able to experience on my own with the limited planning time that I had for this trip. There was a mix-up at the office in Frankfurt when I picked up my vouchers and I was told to meet at the bus stands by the train station at 8 AM when in reality we were meeting at a different tour operators office at 9:30 ---- not a good start with rain falling all morning, and I'm schlepping my bags around Frankfurt. The day tour to Heidelberg was great with a fantastic tour guide that blended the ancient and recent history, not to mention a wicket sense of humor! The tour to Rothenburg from Frankfurt was comfortable with several stops with guided tours/ the ability to wander on your own. This was mostly due to the great bus driver for this leg that spoke very good English and German, and was very polite and generous. The time in Rothenburg was fantastic with cozy accomodations, a town festival, and the Night Watchman tour in the evening. Also a great place to do some shopping for souveniers to take home.

Now comes the not so nice part of the tour ---- the bus ride from Rothenburg to Newschwanstien. The bus driver was surly, and we weren't sure if he really knew how to drive the bus since he kept gunning the engine and slowing down, giving a less than comfortable ride. He didn't stop at some of the guide points due to falling behind due to traffic on the road, and didn't seem to know anything about where he was supposed to stop. We ended up in a short stop in Munich the only WC stop all day to find that they were under construction --- you mean to tell me that someone who drives this every week didn't know???Needless to say, we were relieved to get off the bus at the Muller House at Neuschwanstein, which is charming and very hospitable with beautiful views! The interior castle tour was not as I expected, but the outer access and horse carriage ride down was very nice.

Doing what: Four Day Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Hi,
On July 19th 2015, as part of the 3-day Munich to
Frankfurt Romantic Road tour, we took the bus operated by Touring
Tours and Travel from Munich and this was supposed to cover
both Linderhof and Neuschwanstein castles. However the tour guide said that
Neuschwanstein was very crowded and said that given guided tour slots
available, he will first go to Neuschwanstien and then to Linderhof
castle. We told him that we have accommodation booked at Hotel
Muller but that didn't matter.

At Neuschwantien, the guide hurried us up so much to keep
the tour slot 12:20pm for 20 people and 12:45pm for the
remaining that he made us skip going to the St. Mary's
bridge for a view of the castle. This was very disappointing.


After checking in at Hotel Muller, we enquired on bus facilities
and taxi options if we went to Linderhof but given that
it was a Sunday, these options were limited and the taxi
charges were exorbitant. The people at Hotel Muller were very helpful
in this regard. In the end we chose to skip going
to Linderhof castle as the bus left for Linderhof at around
3pm and there was no easy way of returning to Hotel
Muller that day. We are extremely disappointed for not seeing Linderhof
castle and wanted to bring this to your attention.

On the positive side, the rest of the trip from Neuschwanstien
to Frankfurt was excellent and went according to plan. The hotel
at Rothenburg was very nice as well.

thanks
prasad

Doing what: 3-day Munich to Frankfurt Tour - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

We got terrible information from the tour office in Frankfurt. Sent us to a bus stop when we really needed to go to a different tour office nearby. Our bus ride after Rothenberg was 8 HOURS to the castles that are really 4 hours away. No schedule until the day the tour start. Never again.

Doing what: Four Day Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Meh...this could have been SOOO much better, not because Germany doesn't have beautiful sights, but because the company, Tour and Touring, could have been much more efficient. I've taken many tours before and other companies really have their art down to a science. Not this one. First, I went to pick up my packet at their office as instructed before heading to the bus and the attendant, a Spanish lady, was extremely rude. She didn't acknowledge my presence when I introduced myself and then a few minutes later randomly took the voucher I had in my hand to grab my materials. The bus driver was annoyed when out of all that paperwork it's a decent amount they give you, I couldn't find the exact voucher he needed for me to board the bus. He took the package from me in exasperation no English and took what he needed. The tour guide was nice enough BUT: We only had a tour guide up until Rothenburg, THAT's IT!!! After Rothenburg for the next couple of days, you get a tape that the bus plays automatically when you enter a specific town. No personal touch whatsoever, like taking public transportation. Second, the tour guide was as tactless as they come. Most of the tourists on board were American and yet he made silly comments like how his favorite phrase was that This wasn't made in America and how Americans copied the German highway structure but you know they have more miles, but it has less quality, like for America. Are you Kidding? How old are we?? Rothenburg was beautiful, a must see and the driver in charge of our hotel transportation was extremely friendly and punctual. There are several stops between the main cities but they are all about 20 mins, barely enough to really see anything. And the Romantic Road gimmick is really just that, there's a lot of highway. Oh and there was an error on my pick up time in Augsburg which sent me scrambling an hour early. Don't do this tour, at least not with them You're better off just seeing the main sights on your own!

Doing what: 4-Day Tour from Frankfurt to Munich: Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Augsburg, Neuschwanstein Castle

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

Did not have the English speaking guide we promised. It was only the driver, who did not even understand English well.Did not even come out of the bus with us.

Doing what: Four Day Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

The experiences on the tour attractions/locations etc0 were really good however the local operator was totally inadequate. We never did receive any vouchers/tickets in fact no paperwork at all. When we arrived to get the coach the driver had no record of us at all. Eventaully we had him agree to call the office and he was told we were joining his coach and that our tickets/vouchers would arrive at the first stop. NOTHING was ever given us. We had no vouchers for the coach or any accommodation. Extremely badly organised. Others on the coach had very similar experiences.

Doing what: Overnight Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

It was not a tour, Viator only books everything for you and you pick up the vouchers in an office. You don't see any Viator staff. The bus booked for us was a regular Romantische Strasse line, on the first day there was a friendly informative guide, but on the second day there was no guide at all.

Doing what: Overnight Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

My family of 5 Adults enjoyed this tour very much. It was relaxing and informative. The hotel in Rothenburg was quaint and perfectly located to tour the walled city. We were there during their Medevial Days celebration so were able to enjoy the many period acts. So historic and took us back to a very different time. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Overnight Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Great tour! A few comments though: The time allotted for Linderhof Castle is too short. Although Oberamagau is a great place, I would have wanted to spend a bit more time at Linderhof Castle and a bit less time at Oberamagau.

Doing what: 3-day Munich to Frankfurt Tour - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

I am giving this four stars for only one reason. The bus ride to Rothenburg from Munich was uncomfortable. It was very very warm inside the bus and seemed like very little air was circulating throughout the bus. The bus driver was not very friendly. However, the ride was beautiful and was a great way to see lots of the countryside and the romantic road. Once we arrived in Rothenburg we were totally excited. The Hotel was wonderful and the staff very friendly. The town itself is a must see. Totally incredible. The night watchman tour was superb, don't miss it. The day spent wandering the town was great. Good food, good beer, good shopping, good sightseeing, and very friendly people. On the bus ride to Frankfurt the driver was much more friendly and there was a guide as well. The bus itself was still warm. Maybe that is the standard for busses. I suggest you dress in layers so you can take off clothes to be comfortable. I would absolutely do this tour again

Doing what: Overnight Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Definitely sleep over at Neuschwanstein area and Rothenburg. Only way imo to really enjoy the area or else it would just be too stressful. The bus ride through romantic road was scenic but not much to really explore or do. Was a bit rushed as well.

Doing what: 3-day Munich to Frankfurt Tour - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Most of the tour was great and highly recommend it to anyone wanting see the Romantic Road. Rothenburg and Neuschanstein castle portions were the highlights. Augsburg's self guided tour was only a one star - one of the hand held devices didn't work and we need up having to share. The directions given on the hand held devices was not always clear and it became frustrating as we weren't quite sure where we were supposed to be. Augsburg should be toured just not a self guided tour.

Doing what: 4-Day Tour from Frankfurt to Munich: Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Augsburg, Neuschwanstein Castle

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Most of the tour was great and highly recommend it to anyone wanting see the Romantic Road. Rothenburg and Neuschanstein castle portions were the highlights. Augsburg's self guided tour was only a one star - one of the hand held devices didn't work and we need up having to share. The directions given on the hand held devices was not always clear and it became frustrating as we weren't quite sure where we were supposed to be. Augsburg should be toured just not a self guided tour.

Doing what: 4-Day Tour from Frankfurt to Munich: Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Augsburg, Neuschwanstein Castle

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Whilst Rothenburg itself is a magical town the 4 hour trip each way from and to a Frankfurt on the coach made for an extremely long day.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Rothenburg

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The bus was modern, clean and comfortable and drinks available on board at good price. The tour stopped at great places and we were able to get off the bus and spend adequate time along the way. Day 1 to Hohenschwangau and Neuswanstein castle was fantastic. Mueller Hotel great location,very comfortable, great restaurant and the town itself is a delight once the day tourist buses leave! Multitudes of tourists mean that you have to rigidly adhere to your time to visit the caste. Day 2 took us ultimately to Rothenburg which was even better than the pictures - definitely worth the stopover. Only complaint was the hotel which was not as good as the "named" hotel in the brochures and definitely further from the centre. Day 3 is a long trip after a late afternoon start from Rothenburg. Day 2 actually takes you back to Munich and then a few hours on the autobahn before heading back into the picturesque romantic road itself. Tour guides a bit hit and miss. Best was a local middle aged man who knew the area intimately and provided real insights. Other tour guides just read the basic information to the onboard travellers and didn't seek to connect. Research your stopovers and you will have a great time.

Doing what: 3-day Munich to Frankfurt Tour - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

This tour was a total rip off!! Had to pay to get into the castles.had to transport our own luggage from certain places.way too long on the bus with hardly any stops..room in Rothenberg was like a hostel.no washroom on bus.nor air conditioning.I feel ripped off

Doing what: Four Day Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Linderhof, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

This tour was a disaster. Bus driver did not have our documents, they were sent to Frankfurt. He was extremely rude, was not concerned about leaving us stranded in Munich.

Doing what: Overnight Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Loved every minute! The Goldene Rose Boutique Hotel in Rothenburg was sensational. Beautifully refinished rooms and a delicious breakfast.

Doing what: Overnight Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

When I boarded the bus in Munich they had lost/misplaced all of my vouchers for my stay in Rothenburg (taxi token, hotel ticket etc). They eventually found out my documents were in Frankfurt but it caused a great deal of confusion. For that I am giving this tour only 2 stars. Besides the misunderstanding, the scenery was very beautiful and I got an authentic taste of what Bavaria has to offer. I would recommend taking this bus straight from Munich to Frankfurt without staying the night in Rothenburg as the bus stops in Augsburg, Nordlingen, Dinkelsbuhl, Rothenburg and Wurzburg giving you enough time to take pictures at each place. Rothenburg is very picturesque but you only need about 1-2 hours before realizing you've seen almost everything in the city.

Doing what: Overnight Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Everything went as expected. The four of us (wife and two grandchildren, ages 10 and 14) had a good time.

Doing what: Overnight Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message