• USD ($)
  • English
Imagine a pastoral European countryside of rolling hills and medieval castles, seemingly endless stretches of evergreen trees and blue sky. This fairytale backdrop is known as Bavaria, and it is one of the most picturesque places in all of Europe. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 103 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Except for the tour to neuschwanstein, the rest of the tour was excellent. The procedure for the tour drop off at the first hotel was confusing and not well communicated. The driver was rude and sarcastic and the guide did not explain what we were supposed to do clearly. Expensive for whole tour

Doing what: 3-day Munich to Frankfurt Tour - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

I would have liked to have a guide for the duration of the whole trip and do the route more in detail, with more stops through the small towns, and the drive to be on country roads rather than on main ones. There was no stop in Wurzberg. I felt the bus trip itself was rushed a bit. Rothenburg is absolutely beautiful.

Doing what: Overnight Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was wonderful. It was a recorded tour which was fine. I would do this again with no reservations. Plenty of time in Rothenburg and the night watchman's tour was great. I could have stayed an extra day or may take a longer tour. No issues with the staff, no issues with the hotel. The hotel had free wifi and I was able to Skype with my Wife in the states and let her see was I was seeing live from just out side the hotel. I really look forward to doing this again and bring the Wife.

Doing what: Overnight Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Traveling solo, this tour was nearly perfect. The buses were on time, and the tour guides, where provided, were knowledgeable, helpful, professional, and friendly. Francesca and Krista were great.
The first hotel I stayed at, the Hotel Mueller, Neuschwanstein, was excellent. The room, although small, was sufficient for me, was clean, and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The included buffet breakfast was one of the best I've had. The second hotel was at the Goldene Rose in Rothenburg. What a disaster. I guess they had overbooked the hotel, so they stuck me in their family cottage, telling me I'd have the cottage to myself. Well that was not true; there was another miserable couple downstairs who hated it as much as I. The room had no bathroom (I had to walk down a hallway), there was no Internet (I had to sit outside in the freezing cold and pitch dark to use my phone), the carpet was so dirty it stained my white socks, the bathroom was so dated and dirty I didn't even use the towels as I didn't know if they were clean, the bed was uncomfortable, the 'breakfast' which was included was worth skipping, the furniture outside was filthy and broken. What a complete disappointment. I would say this family cottage was more like a backpacker accommodation, perfect for people desiring a hostel type environment.
The third nights stay was ok. It was a Inter City in Frankfurt just across from the rail station. It was as expected. Clean and sufficient. Breakfast was fine, as expected.
The tour was good. Very interesting. Other than my complaint about the Goldene Rose in Rothenburg, my other critism would be the amount of time spent in the charming towns along the route. To have 20 minutes to discover these beautiful towns is not enough, by the time you locate and use a restroom, you haven't had time to walk around. I realize there's a lot of road to cover, but 15-20 minutes was disappointing.
All in all, my tour was good.

Doing what: Four Day Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Linderhof, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

Bus was delayed first day due to mechanical problems. Did not stop at Donauworth, Nordlingen and Dinkelsbuhl.
Bus was late second day again, Did not arrive until 18:00 (scheduled at 16:30).
Hotel at Rothenburg was lower than expectations.

Doing what: Overnight Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

No doubt it is a very romantic. Well arranged connections at Rotherburg. Mainly doing your own tour. Neverthless, every passing town is interesting.

Doing what: Overnight Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Great tour! Informative and organized and Hotels were perfect. My only suggestion would to allot more time on stops. Had a great time!

Doing what: 3-day Munich to Frankfurt Tour - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Beutiful trip I will reccomend to every body. I am not happy about the hotel acomadation.

Doing what: Romantic Germany: 7-Day Tour from Frankfurt to Munich, Neuschwanstein Castle and Heidelberg

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Excellent trip. Always on schedule and the hotel was excellent.

Doing what: Overnight Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

This is a great tour as we had only one spare day in Frankfurt. The day starts at 8am the Hauptbanhof and the drive to Rothenburg is picturesque. The guided tour was excellent and highly recommended. Excellent value for money.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Rothenburg

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

Overall the romantic tour brought us some really beautiful places in Germany, and we enjoyed the tour very much. However, I think the tour package is slightly overpriced for the quality of the hotels we got. Hotel muller in neuschwanstein was good but the boutique hotel golden rose in rothenburg was not up to our expectations. We were given a room isolated in a guest house a short distance away from the main building and in the middle of the night, I had a spooky encounter. This was indeed terrible and my very first experience. I suggest that viator reviews the hotel rooms provided to their guests as it is indeed sad to associate such a pleasant place with spooky memories.

Doing what: 3-day Munich to Frankfurt Tour - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Arrangement is good and the tour guide is very nice, I enjoyed it very much.

Doing what: 3-day Munich to Frankfurt Tour - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

Michele
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Rothenburg was well worth the visit. The coach trip was just a means of getting there. Nothing special.

Doing what: Overnight Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message