Imagine a pastoral European countryside of rolling hills and medieval castles, seemingly endless stretches of evergreen trees and blue sky. This fairytale backdrop is known as Bavaria, and it is one of the most picturesque places in all of Europe. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 110 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was a wonderful tour. The tour guide, Dirk and the bus driver, Gunter, were excellent! The hotels were all very nice and the sights were beautiful. I would definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Romantic Germany: 7-Day Tour from Frankfurt to Munich, Neuschwanstein Castle and Heidelberg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Loved every minute! The Goldene Rose Boutique Hotel in Rothenburg was sensational. Beautifully refinished rooms and a delicious breakfast.

Doing what: Overnight Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

When I boarded the bus in Munich they had lost/misplaced all of my vouchers for my stay in Rothenburg (taxi token, hotel ticket etc). They eventually found out my documents were in Frankfurt but it caused a great deal of confusion. For that I am giving this tour only 2 stars. Besides the misunderstanding, the scenery was very beautiful and I got an authentic taste of what Bavaria has to offer. I would recommend taking this bus straight from Munich to Frankfurt without staying the night in Rothenburg as the bus stops in Augsburg, Nordlingen, Dinkelsbuhl, Rothenburg and Wurzburg giving you enough time to take pictures at each place. Rothenburg is very picturesque but you only need about 1-2 hours before realizing you've seen almost everything in the city.

Doing what: Overnight Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Everything went as expected. The four of us (wife and two grandchildren, ages 10 and 14) had a good time.

Doing what: Overnight Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Rothenberg was a great place. Hotel was quite small though, no airconditioning for summer. But the hotel was quaint and had a good breakfast experience.

Doing what: Overnight Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Except for the tour to neuschwanstein, the rest of the tour was excellent. The procedure for the tour drop off at the first hotel was confusing and not well communicated. The driver was rude and sarcastic and the guide did not explain what we were supposed to do clearly. Expensive for whole tour

Doing what: 3-day Munich to Frankfurt Tour - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

I would have liked to have a guide for the duration of the whole trip and do the route more in detail, with more stops through the small towns, and the drive to be on country roads rather than on main ones. There was no stop in Wurzberg. I felt the bus trip itself was rushed a bit. Rothenburg is absolutely beautiful.

Doing what: Overnight Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

I was left wondering a bit when I booked the tour I was told all meals were inclusive ,but my guide dirk who was very good got in touch with touring the company who viator booked it with and I myself also sent viator e mails from Germany but received no reply from either touring or from viator as a dead silence was maintained --the driver and itinerary and the guide were excellent -I liked the hotels except in fossen they wanted me to pay for wifi -and we stayed two nights .in munich wifi was not free as well and hotel was in suburbs than centre -the last straw was the hotel in Heidelberg was changed we were sent on last moment to Darmstadt because an event of formula racing was happening in Heidelberg -it meant we spent the last day mostly in the coach travelling -if everything had happened as I was told by viator I will rate it as 4.5 but these were irritable and rather poor planning on part of both firms so I would look forward to an explanation -the event in Heidelberg must have been planned months before so was that not known to tour organisers .

Doing what: Romantic Germany: 7-Day Tour from Frankfurt to Munich, Neuschwanstein Castle and Heidelberg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was wonderful. It was a recorded tour which was fine. I would do this again with no reservations. Plenty of time in Rothenburg and the night watchman's tour was great. I could have stayed an extra day or may take a longer tour. No issues with the staff, no issues with the hotel. The hotel had free wifi and I was able to Skype with my Wife in the states and let her see was I was seeing live from just out side the hotel. I really look forward to doing this again and bring the Wife.

Doing what: Overnight Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Traveling solo, this tour was nearly perfect. The buses were on time, and the tour guides, where provided, were knowledgeable, helpful, professional, and friendly. Francesca and Krista were great.
The first hotel I stayed at, the Hotel Mueller, Neuschwanstein, was excellent. The room, although small, was sufficient for me, was clean, and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The included buffet breakfast was one of the best I've had. The second hotel was at the Goldene Rose in Rothenburg. What a disaster. I guess they had overbooked the hotel, so they stuck me in their family cottage, telling me I'd have the cottage to myself. Well that was not true; there was another miserable couple downstairs who hated it as much as I. The room had no bathroom (I had to walk down a hallway), there was no Internet (I had to sit outside in the freezing cold and pitch dark to use my phone), the carpet was so dirty it stained my white socks, the bathroom was so dated and dirty I didn't even use the towels as I didn't know if they were clean, the bed was uncomfortable, the 'breakfast' which was included was worth skipping, the furniture outside was filthy and broken. What a complete disappointment. I would say this family cottage was more like a backpacker accommodation, perfect for people desiring a hostel type environment.
The third nights stay was ok. It was a Inter City in Frankfurt just across from the rail station. It was as expected. Clean and sufficient. Breakfast was fine, as expected.
The tour was good. Very interesting. Other than my complaint about the Goldene Rose in Rothenburg, my other critism would be the amount of time spent in the charming towns along the route. To have 20 minutes to discover these beautiful towns is not enough, by the time you locate and use a restroom, you haven't had time to walk around. I realize there's a lot of road to cover, but 15-20 minutes was disappointing.
All in all, my tour was good.

Doing what: Four Day Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Linderhof, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

Bus was delayed first day due to mechanical problems. Did not stop at Donauworth, Nordlingen and Dinkelsbuhl.
Bus was late second day again, Did not arrive until 18:00 (scheduled at 16:30).
Hotel at Rothenburg was lower than expectations.

Doing what: Overnight Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

No doubt it is a very romantic. Well arranged connections at Rotherburg. Mainly doing your own tour. Neverthless, every passing town is interesting.

Doing what: Overnight Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Great tour! Informative and organized and Hotels were perfect. My only suggestion would to allot more time on stops. Had a great time!

Doing what: 3-day Munich to Frankfurt Tour - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message