Imagine a pastoral European countryside of rolling hills and medieval castles, seemingly endless stretches of evergreen trees and blue sky. This fairytale backdrop is known as Bavaria, and it is one of the most picturesque places in all of Europe. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 120 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Great tour! A few comments though: The time allotted for Linderhof Castle is too short. Although Oberamagau is a great place, I would have wanted to spend a bit more time at Linderhof Castle and a bit less time at Oberamagau.

Doing what: 3-day Munich to Frankfurt Tour - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

I am giving this four stars for only one reason. The bus ride to Rothenburg from Munich was uncomfortable. It was very very warm inside the bus and seemed like very little air was circulating throughout the bus. The bus driver was not very friendly. However, the ride was beautiful and was a great way to see lots of the countryside and the romantic road. Once we arrived in Rothenburg we were totally excited. The Hotel was wonderful and the staff very friendly. The town itself is a must see. Totally incredible. The night watchman tour was superb, don't miss it. The day spent wandering the town was great. Good food, good beer, good shopping, good sightseeing, and very friendly people. On the bus ride to Frankfurt the driver was much more friendly and there was a guide as well. The bus itself was still warm. Maybe that is the standard for busses. I suggest you dress in layers so you can take off clothes to be comfortable. I would absolutely do this tour again

Doing what: Overnight Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Definitely sleep over at Neuschwanstein area and Rothenburg. Only way imo to really enjoy the area or else it would just be too stressful. The bus ride through romantic road was scenic but not much to really explore or do. Was a bit rushed as well.

Doing what: 3-day Munich to Frankfurt Tour - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Most of the tour was great and highly recommend it to anyone wanting see the Romantic Road. Rothenburg and Neuschanstein castle portions were the highlights. Augsburg's self guided tour was only a one star - one of the hand held devices didn't work and we need up having to share. The directions given on the hand held devices was not always clear and it became frustrating as we weren't quite sure where we were supposed to be. Augsburg should be toured just not a self guided tour.

Doing what: 4-Day Tour from Frankfurt to Munich: Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Augsburg, Neuschwanstein Castle

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Most of the tour was great and highly recommend it to anyone wanting see the Romantic Road. Rothenburg and Neuschanstein castle portions were the highlights. Augsburg's self guided tour was only a one star - one of the hand held devices didn't work and we need up having to share. The directions given on the hand held devices was not always clear and it became frustrating as we weren't quite sure where we were supposed to be. Augsburg should be toured just not a self guided tour.

Doing what: 4-Day Tour from Frankfurt to Munich: Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Augsburg, Neuschwanstein Castle

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Whilst Rothenburg itself is a magical town the 4 hour trip each way from and to a Frankfurt on the coach made for an extremely long day.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Rothenburg

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

The tour itinery is good. We expected the coach would drop off and picked up from each hotel we stayed but didn't. They had arranged a taxi to drop off/pick up the first night at Rothenburg but the access road to the hotel was blocked off due to repair work. We had 2 piece of luggage over 20 kgs each and had to pull them up and down the hotel on the dirt road for 100 meters. The first hotel have no lift and we had to carry our luggage up and down 22 steps to our room. The second hotel was about 5 minutes walk through a busy street and no direction has been given. The third hotel was about 10 minutes away on a busy street from the coach stop. We had to call a taxi ourselves.

Doing what: 5-Day Trip from Frankfurt to Munich: Rothenburg, Augsburg, Zugspitze

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The bus was modern, clean and comfortable and drinks available on board at good price. The tour stopped at great places and we were able to get off the bus and spend adequate time along the way. Day 1 to Hohenschwangau and Neuswanstein castle was fantastic. Mueller Hotel great location,very comfortable, great restaurant and the town itself is a delight once the day tourist buses leave! Multitudes of tourists mean that you have to rigidly adhere to your time to visit the caste. Day 2 took us ultimately to Rothenburg which was even better than the pictures - definitely worth the stopover. Only complaint was the hotel which was not as good as the "named" hotel in the brochures and definitely further from the centre. Day 3 is a long trip after a late afternoon start from Rothenburg. Day 2 actually takes you back to Munich and then a few hours on the autobahn before heading back into the picturesque romantic road itself. Tour guides a bit hit and miss. Best was a local middle aged man who knew the area intimately and provided real insights. Other tour guides just read the basic information to the onboard travellers and didn't seek to connect. Research your stopovers and you will have a great time.

Doing what: 3-day Munich to Frankfurt Tour - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

This tour was a total rip off!! Had to pay to get into the castles.had to transport our own luggage from certain places.way too long on the bus with hardly any stops..room in Rothenberg was like a hostel.no washroom on bus.nor air conditioning.I feel ripped off

Doing what: Four Day Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Linderhof, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

This tour was a disaster. Bus driver did not have our documents, they were sent to Frankfurt. He was extremely rude, was not concerned about leaving us stranded in Munich.

Doing what: Overnight Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was a wonderful tour. The tour guide, Dirk and the bus driver, Gunter, were excellent! The hotels were all very nice and the sights were beautiful. I would definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Romantic Germany: 7-Day Tour from Frankfurt to Munich, Neuschwanstein Castle and Heidelberg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Loved every minute! The Goldene Rose Boutique Hotel in Rothenburg was sensational. Beautifully refinished rooms and a delicious breakfast.

Doing what: Overnight Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

When I boarded the bus in Munich they had lost/misplaced all of my vouchers for my stay in Rothenburg (taxi token, hotel ticket etc). They eventually found out my documents were in Frankfurt but it caused a great deal of confusion. For that I am giving this tour only 2 stars. Besides the misunderstanding, the scenery was very beautiful and I got an authentic taste of what Bavaria has to offer. I would recommend taking this bus straight from Munich to Frankfurt without staying the night in Rothenburg as the bus stops in Augsburg, Nordlingen, Dinkelsbuhl, Rothenburg and Wurzburg giving you enough time to take pictures at each place. Rothenburg is very picturesque but you only need about 1-2 hours before realizing you've seen almost everything in the city.

Doing what: Overnight Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Everything went as expected. The four of us (wife and two grandchildren, ages 10 and 14) had a good time.

Doing what: Overnight Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message