• USD ($)
  • English
Imagine a pastoral European countryside of rolling hills and medieval castles, seemingly endless stretches of evergreen trees and blue sky. This fairytale backdrop is known as Bavaria, and it is one of the most picturesque places in all of Europe. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 95 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Beutiful trip I will reccomend to every body. I am not happy about the hotel acomadation.

Doing what: Romantic Germany: 7-Day Tour from Frankfurt to Munich, Neuschwanstein Castle and Heidelberg

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Excellent trip. Always on schedule and the hotel was excellent.

Doing what: Overnight Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

This is a great tour as we had only one spare day in Frankfurt. The day starts at 8am the Hauptbanhof and the drive to Rothenburg is picturesque. The guided tour was excellent and highly recommended. Excellent value for money.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Rothenburg

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

Overall the romantic tour brought us some really beautiful places in Germany, and we enjoyed the tour very much. However, I think the tour package is slightly overpriced for the quality of the hotels we got. Hotel muller in neuschwanstein was good but the boutique hotel golden rose in rothenburg was not up to our expectations. We were given a room isolated in a guest house a short distance away from the main building and in the middle of the night, I had a spooky encounter. This was indeed terrible and my very first experience. I suggest that viator reviews the hotel rooms provided to their guests as it is indeed sad to associate such a pleasant place with spooky memories.

Doing what: 3-day Munich to Frankfurt Tour - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Arrangement is good and the tour guide is very nice, I enjoyed it very much.

Doing what: 3-day Munich to Frankfurt Tour - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

Michele
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Rothenburg was well worth the visit. The coach trip was just a means of getting there. Nothing special.

Doing what: Overnight Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2013

terrible. i would not recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: 3-day Munich to Frankfurt Tour - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2013

Unfortunately it was a complete disaster. I paid everything on my own account and am waiting For Viator to give me back my money.

Doing what: 3-day Munich to Frankfurt Tour - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

The bus was great, the activities too and also the Hotel in Hohenschwangau. My only comment is about the Hotel in Rothenburg which very awful and uncomfortable, I was expecting a Hotel as good as the one in Hohenswangau.

Doing what: 3-day Munich to Frankfurt Tour - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

We left Munich on August 23rd. The bus driver was disrespectful, not answering our questions, not giving us the appropriate pamphlet when asked. When we started our tour, the bus lurched into reverse before I was seated and I fell. We took the train from Rothenburg to Frankfurt as a result of our experience.
The accommodation was basic and austere. They did not provide soap or shampoo.

Doing what: Overnight Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Very special. Overnight stay in Rothenburg wonderful, especially as all the day trippers have left. Time to walk the town, do the Night Watchman's Tour and walk the wall which surrounds the village. Simply lovely overnight stay in Hohenschwangau and despite huge numbers of people tour of Neuschwanstein Castle extremely well organised and orderly. Very pretty spot. Although there are short stops along the way bus trip from Rothenburg to Hohenschwangau a very long day.

Doing what: Four Day Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

This is a great way to see a lot of the German countryside without driving. It is an independent tour where you are with one large bus group going to the castles on the first day, another bus to Rothenburg on day 2, another group when departing Rothernburg, and another group when going to Hiedelberg. The only reason I did not give the trip 5 stars was an issue on the first day. When departing Munich, I showed my voucher to the tour guide and mentioned I was staying overnight in Hohenschwangau. However, while the bus was driving, the guide explained there were 4 buses going to the castles, so we were going to start in Hohenschwangau and finish in Linderhof. When I reminded the tour guide that I was supposed to be staying in Hohenschwangau, he was helpful, along with the staff at the Hotel Mueller in Hohenschwangau where we stopped first instead of last on the tour. The result was that all 66 people on this bus were rushed through Linderhof with no time to visit the grounds so that I could be dropped off in Oberamerggau to wait alone and catch the last public bus to Hohenschwangau while the tour bus returned to Munich. Despite this issue, the tour was amazing. The castles are a must-see, and it would be hard to see Neuschwanstein and Linderhof without driving yourself. The Romantic Road bus made multiple stops (which was a pleasant surprise) with 15 minutes in some stops and 45 minutes in others. The bus arrived in Rothenburg around 4:30 PM where a taxi took me to the hotel within the medieval walls of the city. There was plenty of time to spend in Rothenburg before being picked up the next day and getting back on the Romantic Road bus to Frankfurt. All of the hotels were nice. Overall a great trip – just make sure when you start in Munich that the tour guide knows you are not coming back to Munich with the rest of the bus, that the last stop is Hohenschwangau, and that the day 1 tour is not being done in reverse.

Doing what: Four Day Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Linderhof, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Our tour was outstanding. The activities and sights that were included in the tour were exactly what we were hoping for on this trip. Our tour guide, Dirk, was incredibly knowledgeable on both the history of the region, as well as current information on the country. It's not easy to accommodate the various needs and meet the expectations of a group of people on vacation, but the consensus of nearly every one of our fellow travelers was that our tour guide was exceptional and went above and beyond to assure that we had an enjoyable experience. We would definitely go on another tour through Viator and Touring Tours and we would recommend this particular trip without reservation.

Doing what: Romantic Germany: 7-Day Tour from Frankfurt to Munich, Neuschwanstein Castle and Heidelberg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Rothenburg is a fantastic little medieval town and the Night Watchman tour is a must. We could easily have stayed another day or two. There was a great little park at one end and from there you can see the whole valley and it was also a nice place to just sit and rest after shopping or hiking around the old town. I would definitely like to go down this again and maybe stay in another town or two along the way.

Doing what: Overnight Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message