The striking Fox Glacier is one of the most accessible glaciers in the world and offers dazzling views of the river of ice as it travels through the valley into the temperate rainforest below. The glacier, along with Franz Josef glacier, moves at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 67 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Absolutely stunning views as long as you're lucky with the weather. We'd organised to go to both glaciers but because of high winds had to settle for 1. First chopper up so we had it all to ourselves for a while. Also did the walks to the base first. Fantastic!!

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The most amazing, spectacular experience! I just wanted to go again, it's not to be missed!

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Best experience of a lifetime :

Doing what: Fox Glacier Neve Discoverer Helicopter Flight

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Great weather made the perfect day. Pilot and staff very personable and professional.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

We were disappointed. Your company made us feel ripped off and stupid !!! The details about the tour on the website and in email that you informed us before the tour start went wrong and made us confused and upset !!! First, you didnt provide hotel pick up and drop off as promised on the first and the last day !!! We just knew that we have to make our own way to bus station before the pick up time one hour !!! And we knew that because we called you !! Your staff told us over the phone that your company mailed by post us two days ago before the tour start to inform the changes !! But we didn't get any mail !!! We have asked the hotel staff ... nobody found any mail !!! I just don't understand why didnt't you call us or email us !!! You asked for those contact detail !!! And my phone was on international roaming service to stand by to get any urgent information from you !!! Second, on website you mentioned that tour will operated by coach. I think it's quite tricky !!! Because coach made us though that you would provide a coach for a specific group of people. But it turn out to be a inter-city bus that opened for the public !! After all, we did research about the cost of everything accommodation, activity, transportation cost and we found out that your company overcharged us 355 per person !!! I know and understand that the travel agent need to make profit from arrangement those kind of things for the customer. But don't you think that too much !!! How can you do that ??? At first I saw your company profile and I though you are a good one. We decided to buy more than one package from you. We bought another two packages Shotover River Extreme Jet Boat Ride from Queenstown Swimming with Dolphins in Akaroa from your company. They were good. And the price are reasonable !!!! However, after experience 3-Day Queenstown to Christchurch including West Coast Glaciers and the TranzAlpine Train
I decided not to recommend anyone to buy your services anymore !!!

Doing what: 3-Day Queenstown to Christchurch including West Coast Glaciers and the TranzAlpine Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Awesome!Beautiful ! Great friendly pilot. Fantastic trip -thank you.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Amazing experience not to be missed

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was very good but it is too short
It would be great if spend more time on the mountain

Doing what: Fox Glacier Neve Discoverer Helicopter Flight

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

fox glacier was fantastic. The ride was smooth and provided a quick way to explore the glacier. The pilot did not say much, and could have provided commentary both during the ride, and on the ground on the glacier.

Doing what: Fox Glacier Neve Discoverer Helicopter Flight

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

The view during the entire trip was truly fabulous! One thing is you would have almost a day off during this trip which you have to plan yourself. I rent a bicycle in Fox Glacier and spend the 1st days' afternoon enjoyed the sun and the Lake Matheson. After the dinner my friend and I went to the nearby forest for glowworm which was so amazing! 2nd day you would only have the valley walk which was interesting and not dangerous at all, so my friend and I went for the helicopter and enjoyed the view of the Glacier during the rest of day which was soooooo awesome! But I have to say helicopter thing cost me a bunch of money, but who cares right! We still got a lot of time left, but my friend was a bit sick so we spend the rest of time relax and wander around the main road and forest. The 3rd day's main point was the TranzAlpine Train! The highlight of the trip! However, I did spend a lot of extra money during the trip as I got a lot of free time while I love to do anything I could possibly do.

Doing what: 3-Day Queenstown to Christchurch including West Coast Glaciers and the TranzAlpine Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Amazing views, well worth the cost

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Quite an excellent trip

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I will give this company top marks for being understanding and tourist friendly. We had to change our booking due to a road closure caused by a slight landslide driving from Wanaka. They were more than happy to change our time. When we arrived there was cloud cover and our booked time was cancelled and rescheduled two hours later. The flight was excellent and we landed on Fox Glacier for photos etc. There was fresh snow which was very soft and almost every step we went down to our knees in the snow. The pilot was very helpful in assisting me around. We then recorded and flew over the ravines and onto Franz Josef Glacier which was just as spectacular and the whole trip was very memorable.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

Fantastic views and informative piolit but we were squashed in like sardines and found it very uncomfortable. We are photographers and barely had space to raise my arms to take photos in the helicopter. I understand the company has to make the most of the fine weather but the amount we paid I would expect a more comfortable experience.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

Infact they did not do everything they promised. They did not give us a hotel pickup, and 10mts time to spent on the glaciers was cut to 5 mnts. The pilot too wasn't very friendly or informative. It was a bit disappointing.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight departing Fox Glacier

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

It was too cloudy we couldn't fly on the day, but used the purchased voucher in Queenstown for an alp landing that was awesome.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

We were unable to take this trip due to Haast Pass being closed down due to a landslide.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The best thing that we did!!!! The beauty of this place is just amazing, being on top of the glacier was like being in another world, our pilot ben was amazing and the whole experience was just great!

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed this trip and it is well worth travelling to Piahia to do so. We even got to see dolphins! Fantastic!

Doing what: Fox Glacier Neve Discoverer Helicopter Flight

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

We went to the Helicopter Office was escorted across the road to the landing pad flew over the glacier and landed stood around for a few minutes the view of the ice was nice and then flew a short flight back, we sat in the back of the helicopter and was disapointed in the view, I like to take photos but they werent much through the windows, overall a bit boring and personally I wish I would of spent the money eleswhere, but you don't know untill you go, it wasn't awful.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Apart from the fact that the day was perfect - no wind, no clouds, the whole experience was 6 stars. Weighing the people was a good safety measure; no baggage was another one. We were impressed with the pilot's concern for the other passengers when one of the passengers brought an ipad, thus tending to block the view of the others. He put a stop to it, very kindly. His knowledge was great, and this is one of the events where I'd say to everyone "Save your pennies and do this trip. Magical! Many many thanks.

Doing what: Fox Glacier Mountain Scenic Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

a wonderful experience

Doing what: Fox Glacier Mountain Scenic Helicopter Flight

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Our first touch of snow...........considering our family at home were suffering through over 40 degree heat we were loving the temperature. Highly recommend to anyone; even those who THINK they may fear heights!!! loved it.... only thing.... wish it took a little longer.... ;-)

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message