Insider's Guide to Franz Josef & Fox Glacier

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

The striking Fox Glacier is one of the most accessible glaciers in the world and offers dazzling views of the river of ice as it travels through the valley into the temperate rainforest below. The glacier, along with Franz Josef glacier, moves at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 65 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Best experience of a lifetime :

Doing what: Fox Glacier Neve Discoverer Helicopter Flight

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Great weather made the perfect day. Pilot and staff very personable and professional.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

We were disappointed. Your company made us feel ripped off and stupid !!! The details about the tour on the website and in email that you informed us before the tour start went wrong and made us confused and upset !!! First, you didnt provide hotel pick up and drop off as promised on the first and the last day !!! We just knew that we have to make our own way to bus station before the pick up time one hour !!! And we knew that because we called you !! Your staff told us over the phone that your company mailed by post us two days ago before the tour start to inform the changes !! But we didn't get any mail !!! We have asked the hotel staff ... nobody found any mail !!! I just don't understand why didnt't you call us or email us !!! You asked for those contact detail !!! And my phone was on international roaming service to stand by to get any urgent information from you !!! Second, on website you mentioned that tour will operated by coach. I think it's quite tricky !!! Because coach made us though that you would provide a coach for a specific group of people. But it turn out to be a inter-city bus that opened for the public !! After all, we did research about the cost of everything accommodation, activity, transportation cost and we found out that your company overcharged us 355 per person !!! I know and understand that the travel agent need to make profit from arrangement those kind of things for the customer. But don't you think that too much !!! How can you do that ??? At first I saw your company profile and I though you are a good one. We decided to buy more than one package from you. We bought another two packages Shotover River Extreme Jet Boat Ride from Queenstown Swimming with Dolphins in Akaroa from your company. They were good. And the price are reasonable !!!! However, after experience 3-Day Queenstown to Christchurch including West Coast Glaciers and the TranzAlpine Train
I decided not to recommend anyone to buy your services anymore !!!

Doing what: 3-Day Queenstown to Christchurch including West Coast Glaciers and the TranzAlpine Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Awesome!Beautiful ! Great friendly pilot. Fantastic trip -thank you.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Amazing experience not to be missed

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was very good but it is too short
It would be great if spend more time on the mountain

Doing what: Fox Glacier Neve Discoverer Helicopter Flight

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

fox glacier was fantastic. The ride was smooth and provided a quick way to explore the glacier. The pilot did not say much, and could have provided commentary both during the ride, and on the ground on the glacier.

Doing what: Fox Glacier Neve Discoverer Helicopter Flight

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

The view during the entire trip was truly fabulous! One thing is you would have almost a day off during this trip which you have to plan yourself. I rent a bicycle in Fox Glacier and spend the 1st days' afternoon enjoyed the sun and the Lake Matheson. After the dinner my friend and I went to the nearby forest for glowworm which was so amazing! 2nd day you would only have the valley walk which was interesting and not dangerous at all, so my friend and I went for the helicopter and enjoyed the view of the Glacier during the rest of day which was soooooo awesome! But I have to say helicopter thing cost me a bunch of money, but who cares right! We still got a lot of time left, but my friend was a bit sick so we spend the rest of time relax and wander around the main road and forest. The 3rd day's main point was the TranzAlpine Train! The highlight of the trip! However, I did spend a lot of extra money during the trip as I got a lot of free time while I love to do anything I could possibly do.

Doing what: 3-Day Queenstown to Christchurch including West Coast Glaciers and the TranzAlpine Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Amazing views, well worth the cost

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Quite an excellent trip

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I will give this company top marks for being understanding and tourist friendly. We had to change our booking due to a road closure caused by a slight landslide driving from Wanaka. They were more than happy to change our time. When we arrived there was cloud cover and our booked time was cancelled and rescheduled two hours later. The flight was excellent and we landed on Fox Glacier for photos etc. There was fresh snow which was very soft and almost every step we went down to our knees in the snow. The pilot was very helpful in assisting me around. We then recorded and flew over the ravines and onto Franz Josef Glacier which was just as spectacular and the whole trip was very memorable.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

Fantastic views and informative piolit but we were squashed in like sardines and found it very uncomfortable. We are photographers and barely had space to raise my arms to take photos in the helicopter. I understand the company has to make the most of the fine weather but the amount we paid I would expect a more comfortable experience.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

Infact they did not do everything they promised. They did not give us a hotel pickup, and 10mts time to spent on the glaciers was cut to 5 mnts. The pilot too wasn't very friendly or informative. It was a bit disappointing.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight departing Fox Glacier

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message