Insider's Guide to Franz Josef & Fox Glacier

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

St Peter's Square

St. Peter's Square (Piazza San Pietro) is the grand colonnaded area in front of St. Peter's Basilica at the Vatican. A visually imposing entry to this great church, the semi-circular colonnades on either side designed by the Roman Baroque sculptor ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 56 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Amazing views, well worth the cost

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Quite an excellent trip

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I will give this company top marks for being understanding and tourist friendly. We had to change our booking due to a road closure caused by a slight landslide driving from Wanaka. They were more than happy to change our time. When we arrived there was cloud cover and our booked time was cancelled and rescheduled two hours later. The flight was excellent and we landed on Fox Glacier for photos etc. There was fresh snow which was very soft and almost every step we went down to our knees in the snow. The pilot was very helpful in assisting me around. We then recorded and flew over the ravines and onto Franz Josef Glacier which was just as spectacular and the whole trip was very memorable.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

Fantastic views and informative piolit but we were squashed in like sardines and found it very uncomfortable. We are photographers and barely had space to raise my arms to take photos in the helicopter. I understand the company has to make the most of the fine weather but the amount we paid I would expect a more comfortable experience.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

Infact they did not do everything they promised. They did not give us a hotel pickup, and 10mts time to spent on the glaciers was cut to 5 mnts. The pilot too wasn't very friendly or informative. It was a bit disappointing.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight departing Fox Glacier

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

It was too cloudy we couldn't fly on the day, but used the purchased voucher in Queenstown for an alp landing that was awesome.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

We were unable to take this trip due to Haast Pass being closed down due to a landslide.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The best thing that we did!!!! The beauty of this place is just amazing, being on top of the glacier was like being in another world, our pilot ben was amazing and the whole experience was just great!

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed this trip and it is well worth travelling to Piahia to do so. We even got to see dolphins! Fantastic!

Doing what: Fox Glacier Neve Discoverer Helicopter Flight

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

We went to the Helicopter Office was escorted across the road to the landing pad flew over the glacier and landed stood around for a few minutes the view of the ice was nice and then flew a short flight back, we sat in the back of the helicopter and was disapointed in the view, I like to take photos but they werent much through the windows, overall a bit boring and personally I wish I would of spent the money eleswhere, but you don't know untill you go, it wasn't awful.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Apart from the fact that the day was perfect - no wind, no clouds, the whole experience was 6 stars. Weighing the people was a good safety measure; no baggage was another one. We were impressed with the pilot's concern for the other passengers when one of the passengers brought an ipad, thus tending to block the view of the others. He put a stop to it, very kindly. His knowledge was great, and this is one of the events where I'd say to everyone "Save your pennies and do this trip. Magical! Many many thanks.

Doing what: Fox Glacier Mountain Scenic Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

a wonderful experience

Doing what: Fox Glacier Mountain Scenic Helicopter Flight

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Our first touch of snow...........considering our family at home were suffering through over 40 degree heat we were loving the temperature. Highly recommend to anyone; even those who THINK they may fear heights!!! loved it.... only thing.... wish it took a little longer.... ;-)

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2013

Hi
We were seated in the back seat behind the pilot and could hardly get a decent view throughout the flight. I have registered a complaint with your customer care team. Expected a lot more for the price paid! Would only recommend to others if they were able to get a front see in the helicopter.

Doing what: Fox Glacier Mountain Scenic Helicopter Flight

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message