Insider's Guide to Franz Josef & Fox Glacier

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

The striking Fox Glacier is one of the most accessible glaciers in the world and offers dazzling views of the river of ice as it travels through the valley into the temperate rainforest below. The glacier, along with Franz Josef glacier, moves at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 61 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Awesome!Beautiful ! Great friendly pilot. Fantastic trip -thank you.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Amazing experience not to be missed

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was very good but it is too short
It would be great if spend more time on the mountain

Doing what: Fox Glacier Neve Discoverer Helicopter Flight

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

fox glacier was fantastic. The ride was smooth and provided a quick way to explore the glacier. The pilot did not say much, and could have provided commentary both during the ride, and on the ground on the glacier.

Doing what: Fox Glacier Neve Discoverer Helicopter Flight

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

The view during the entire trip was truly fabulous! One thing is you would have almost a day off during this trip which you have to plan yourself. I rent a bicycle in Fox Glacier and spend the 1st days' afternoon enjoyed the sun and the Lake Matheson. After the dinner my friend and I went to the nearby forest for glowworm which was so amazing! 2nd day you would only have the valley walk which was interesting and not dangerous at all, so my friend and I went for the helicopter and enjoyed the view of the Glacier during the rest of day which was soooooo awesome! But I have to say helicopter thing cost me a bunch of money, but who cares right! We still got a lot of time left, but my friend was a bit sick so we spend the rest of time relax and wander around the main road and forest. The 3rd day's main point was the TranzAlpine Train! The highlight of the trip! However, I did spend a lot of extra money during the trip as I got a lot of free time while I love to do anything I could possibly do.

Doing what: 3-Day Queenstown to Christchurch including West Coast Glaciers and the TranzAlpine Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Amazing views, well worth the cost

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Quite an excellent trip

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I will give this company top marks for being understanding and tourist friendly. We had to change our booking due to a road closure caused by a slight landslide driving from Wanaka. They were more than happy to change our time. When we arrived there was cloud cover and our booked time was cancelled and rescheduled two hours later. The flight was excellent and we landed on Fox Glacier for photos etc. There was fresh snow which was very soft and almost every step we went down to our knees in the snow. The pilot was very helpful in assisting me around. We then recorded and flew over the ravines and onto Franz Josef Glacier which was just as spectacular and the whole trip was very memorable.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

Fantastic views and informative piolit but we were squashed in like sardines and found it very uncomfortable. We are photographers and barely had space to raise my arms to take photos in the helicopter. I understand the company has to make the most of the fine weather but the amount we paid I would expect a more comfortable experience.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

Infact they did not do everything they promised. They did not give us a hotel pickup, and 10mts time to spent on the glaciers was cut to 5 mnts. The pilot too wasn't very friendly or informative. It was a bit disappointing.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight departing Fox Glacier

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

It was too cloudy we couldn't fly on the day, but used the purchased voucher in Queenstown for an alp landing that was awesome.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

We were unable to take this trip due to Haast Pass being closed down due to a landslide.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The best thing that we did!!!! The beauty of this place is just amazing, being on top of the glacier was like being in another world, our pilot ben was amazing and the whole experience was just great!

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed this trip and it is well worth travelling to Piahia to do so. We even got to see dolphins! Fantastic!

Doing what: Fox Glacier Neve Discoverer Helicopter Flight

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message