One of the fastest moving glaciers in the world, the Franz Josef Glacier is a spectacular river of ice. It is one of the world's steepest glaciers descending 1.5 miles (2.5 kilometers) over its 7.5 mile (12 kilometer) path through the valley, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 291 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

suellis31

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Booking a tour allowed us to hike paths in the woods leading to the glacier that the general public walking on their own could not access. The guide's knowledge of various plants and the history of the glacier definitely made it a good deal as opposed to just walking up to the glacier viewpoint on your own. The ticket also included use of the glacier hot water pools which felt great after all the traveling we had been doing.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Shona P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A memorable activity. Loved scrambling along the valley, we waded through a rushing stream, stood so close to the spray of the wonderful waterfalls. Held chunks of ice from the pounding river. Fabulous guide. Joshua. Gave us such a lot if interesting details. He worked so hard to give the group a brilliant time and it certainly was amazing.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Jane A Israel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great trip, beautiful scenery and the guide was superb, I didn't want a difficult walk and this was perfect. We had great weather.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Martha V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was just a fantastic experience, the tour guides were very helpful and friendly. aA must do for all tourists

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

Joni

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2016

Disappointing trip. Pilot seemed bored. Saw very little on way up to glaciers because of seating. Hoped that we would change seats on way down but were instructed to stay in same seats on way down so saw nothing again. Could have paid less and seen more with other.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

Nish

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2016

Too expensive. Since we are doing the walking.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Sharon P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very much enjoyed getting close to the glacier. Guides were fun and informative. Having company's gear to wear was worth the price of the ticket alone-warm, comfortable and protected us against the elements. No drying of boots and outerwear needed after the walk--just returned it to them.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Catherine J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A wonderful experience, first class service. And the weather was perfect. Would love to do it again.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

Sananda A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

The tour did not go due to weather.

Doing what: Franz Josef Mountain Scenic Helicopter Flight

Pam R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

What a unique and wonderful experience. A must do if you visit Queenstown.

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

Kelly S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great experience! Awesome helicopter flight up to the glacier, knowledgable and entertaining guides, gorgeous scenery! Everyone should go on this glacier walk!

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

anne a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

the guides were excellent-- Josh and Peter i think.
They were interested in the guests and keen to share their extensive knowledge throughout the tour.
it was obvious that you could just walk most of the way without the guides but it was worth the money to pay for the added information from the guides.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Linda P

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Tour guide was very knowledgeable but we didn't realise we could have done this walk by ourselves for free! Very overpriced for what it was

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

quachanhkhanh

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

Very bad. Valley Walk and look Glacier River.
Never booking this tour

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Tzu-ting H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

glacier walk was awesome and great experiece

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

Phil L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour was as advertised, we felt it was well organised and the glacier leader, Nick, was professional and very good as a leader.
The only problem we experienced was the requirement for us the print the e-mailed voucher. As a tourist travelling internationally, we had no access to a printer and could not understand the requirement for the printed voucher as the reception desk already had our details.
Otherwise, a very enjoyable experience.

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

dfossa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

dfossa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Robert C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Absolutely loved the whole experience, fabulous

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

Fee R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very scenic flight and pilots made me feel safe I would highly recommend this scenic flight

Doing what: Franz Josef Mountain Scenic Helicopter Flight

Cara B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

When i booked, it advertised that we would walk up to the terminal face of the glacier. On the day we only got the view the glacier from a 300m distance due to safety. I felt like the advertising had mislead us. the guide was very knowledgable and friendly however we could just as easily have done the public walking track ourselves for free.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

jagdish P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A must do . A word of caution- You have to be moderately fit - I am 60 Years and found the steps and slopes a bit steep - will do it again if I get an opportunity. We visited in in Mid April and had to extend our stay by a day as the weather was bad on the day we originally scheduled the trip.

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

Raymond P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Awesome view from the top, and our pilot flying so close to the mountain. Walking and playing at Mt Cook Glacier remind us of God wonderful creation everywhere. So blessed!

Doing what: Franz Josef Mountain Scenic Helicopter Flight

Linda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic experience

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message