One of the fastest moving glaciers in the world, the Franz Josef Glacier is a spectacular river of ice. It is one of the world's steepest glaciers descending 1.5 miles (2.5 kilometers) over its 7.5 mile (12 kilometer) path through the valley, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 268 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Awesome view from the top, and our pilot flying so close to the mountain. Walking and playing at Mt Cook Glacier remind us of God wonderful creation everywhere. So blessed!

Doing what: Franz Josef Mountain Scenic Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic experience

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Absolutely stunning views as long as you're lucky with the weather. We'd organised to go to both glaciers but because of high winds had to settle for 1. First chopper up so we had it all to ourselves for a while. Also did the walks to the base first. Fantastic!!

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great fun! Our guide Rob was fantastic - very knowledgeable and made the trip more enjoyable with his stories along the way. The helicopter trip to the glacier was outstanding, as was the trek itself. Plenty of time on the glacier to explore. The service from these guys is A

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The most amazing, spectacular experience! I just wanted to go again, it's not to be missed!

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The glacier walk was awesome amd enjoyed whole of 3hrs in ice. The tour group and guide were very friendly and amazing experience. Initially the day we planned the tour was cancel due to bad weather but they arranged it to next day same time. Check for climate before booking the tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

Wayne B
United States of America

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Good trip. Could have spent a little less time on the rocky river course.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

This tour was great itself, however, the booking system of Viator isn't synchronised to the suppliers available time slots. Our tour was meant to depart at 8:15 am (as what we have chosen on the Viator website), but we ended up departing at 12pm, which delayed all our upcoming events... :/

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

The guide was a great character and took us of the main path, however the main patch to the glacier was a pulic walk way so we could have done it for free, not good value

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Great weather made the perfect day. Pilot and staff very personable and professional.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

This was a great hike. Wonderful sunny day and a very knowledgable guide, whose name I forget. Our guide knew the local plants and pointed them out to us. He even went down to the flowing stream and found us a couple pieces of the icy glacier that had broken off. The only negative was when we got back to the shuttle pick up our bus did not arrive for another 45 minutes. We were told the driver had misplace the bus' keys.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

While the tour guide was good and interesting, I found the advertising of this difficult walk to be incredibly misleading, a fat asthmatic could have done that walk, especially at the rate we were going. Also the 'need' to get kitted up was unnecessary as we went no where near the ice and the day was quite warm. For what it was - definitely not worth the money!

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

We were disappointed. Your company made us feel ripped off and stupid !!! The details about the tour on the website and in email that you informed us before the tour start went wrong and made us confused and upset !!! First, you didnt provide hotel pick up and drop off as promised on the first and the last day !!! We just knew that we have to make our own way to bus station before the pick up time one hour !!! And we knew that because we called you !! Your staff told us over the phone that your company mailed by post us two days ago before the tour start to inform the changes !! But we didn't get any mail !!! We have asked the hotel staff ... nobody found any mail !!! I just don't understand why didnt't you call us or email us !!! You asked for those contact detail !!! And my phone was on international roaming service to stand by to get any urgent information from you !!! Second, on website you mentioned that tour will operated by coach. I think it's quite tricky !!! Because coach made us though that you would provide a coach for a specific group of people. But it turn out to be a inter-city bus that opened for the public !! After all, we did research about the cost of everything accommodation, activity, transportation cost and we found out that your company overcharged us 355 per person !!! I know and understand that the travel agent need to make profit from arrangement those kind of things for the customer. But don't you think that too much !!! How can you do that ??? At first I saw your company profile and I though you are a good one. We decided to buy more than one package from you. We bought another two packages Shotover River Extreme Jet Boat Ride from Queenstown Swimming with Dolphins in Akaroa from your company. They were good. And the price are reasonable !!!! However, after experience 3-Day Queenstown to Christchurch including West Coast Glaciers and the TranzAlpine Train
I decided not to recommend anyone to buy your services anymore !!!

Doing what: 3-Day Queenstown to Christchurch including West Coast Glaciers and the TranzAlpine Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Awesome!Beautiful ! Great friendly pilot. Fantastic trip -thank you.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Amazing tour, beautiful scenery, knowledgeable and friendly guide. A great adventure.

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Helicopter ride was fantastic. Really appreciated our Kiwi guide - seemed more authentic (Maori pronunciation and all).
Weather was perfect on the day. Great trip all up - highlight of our travels.

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Amazing experience not to be missed

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Absolutely Spectacular - The experience of a lifetime.

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We did this trip with 4 people and enjoyed it immensely .From check in time at the office this tour is very professionally run,the office staff that fit you out with the climbing gear, the helicopter pilot,ground staff at the helipad and of course our wonderful guide for the day.

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Absolutely amazing! Views to die for! Guides are friendly and helpful. highly recommended and well worth the price.

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Only disappointment was not seeing more of the glacier from the helicopter. Excellent guides. Quite demanding physically. Colours and ice froms amazing. Well worthwhile.

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Great guide Lauren she told us about vegetation and wildlife , it was relaxed and friendly definitely recommend this walk to everyone who visits Franz Joseph glacier

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message