Insider's Guide to Franz Josef & Fox Glacier

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

One of the fastest moving glaciers in the world, the Franz Josef Glacier is a spectacular river of ice. It is one of the world's steepest glaciers descending 1.5 miles (2.5 kilometers) over its 7.5 mile (12 kilometer) path through the valley, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 260 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

This tour was great itself, however, the booking system of Viator isn't synchronised to the suppliers available time slots. Our tour was meant to depart at 8:15 am (as what we have chosen on the Viator website), but we ended up departing at 12pm, which delayed all our upcoming events... :/

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

The guide was a great character and took us of the main path, however the main patch to the glacier was a pulic walk way so we could have done it for free, not good value

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Great weather made the perfect day. Pilot and staff very personable and professional.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

This was a great hike. Wonderful sunny day and a very knowledgable guide, whose name I forget. Our guide knew the local plants and pointed them out to us. He even went down to the flowing stream and found us a couple pieces of the icy glacier that had broken off. The only negative was when we got back to the shuttle pick up our bus did not arrive for another 45 minutes. We were told the driver had misplace the bus' keys.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

While the tour guide was good and interesting, I found the advertising of this difficult walk to be incredibly misleading, a fat asthmatic could have done that walk, especially at the rate we were going. Also the 'need' to get kitted up was unnecessary as we went no where near the ice and the day was quite warm. For what it was - definitely not worth the money!

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

We were disappointed. Your company made us feel ripped off and stupid !!! The details about the tour on the website and in email that you informed us before the tour start went wrong and made us confused and upset !!! First, you didnt provide hotel pick up and drop off as promised on the first and the last day !!! We just knew that we have to make our own way to bus station before the pick up time one hour !!! And we knew that because we called you !! Your staff told us over the phone that your company mailed by post us two days ago before the tour start to inform the changes !! But we didn't get any mail !!! We have asked the hotel staff ... nobody found any mail !!! I just don't understand why didnt't you call us or email us !!! You asked for those contact detail !!! And my phone was on international roaming service to stand by to get any urgent information from you !!! Second, on website you mentioned that tour will operated by coach. I think it's quite tricky !!! Because coach made us though that you would provide a coach for a specific group of people. But it turn out to be a inter-city bus that opened for the public !! After all, we did research about the cost of everything accommodation, activity, transportation cost and we found out that your company overcharged us 355 per person !!! I know and understand that the travel agent need to make profit from arrangement those kind of things for the customer. But don't you think that too much !!! How can you do that ??? At first I saw your company profile and I though you are a good one. We decided to buy more than one package from you. We bought another two packages Shotover River Extreme Jet Boat Ride from Queenstown Swimming with Dolphins in Akaroa from your company. They were good. And the price are reasonable !!!! However, after experience 3-Day Queenstown to Christchurch including West Coast Glaciers and the TranzAlpine Train
I decided not to recommend anyone to buy your services anymore !!!

Doing what: 3-Day Queenstown to Christchurch including West Coast Glaciers and the TranzAlpine Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Awesome!Beautiful ! Great friendly pilot. Fantastic trip -thank you.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Amazing tour, beautiful scenery, knowledgeable and friendly guide. A great adventure.

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Helicopter ride was fantastic. Really appreciated our Kiwi guide - seemed more authentic (Maori pronunciation and all).
Weather was perfect on the day. Great trip all up - highlight of our travels.

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Amazing experience not to be missed

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Absolutely Spectacular - The experience of a lifetime.

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We did this trip with 4 people and enjoyed it immensely .From check in time at the office this tour is very professionally run,the office staff that fit you out with the climbing gear, the helicopter pilot,ground staff at the helipad and of course our wonderful guide for the day.

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Absolutely amazing! Views to die for! Guides are friendly and helpful. highly recommended and well worth the price.

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Only disappointment was not seeing more of the glacier from the helicopter. Excellent guides. Quite demanding physically. Colours and ice froms amazing. Well worthwhile.

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Great guide Lauren she told us about vegetation and wildlife , it was relaxed and friendly definitely recommend this walk to everyone who visits Franz Joseph glacier

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

The view during the entire trip was truly fabulous! One thing is you would have almost a day off during this trip which you have to plan yourself. I rent a bicycle in Fox Glacier and spend the 1st days' afternoon enjoyed the sun and the Lake Matheson. After the dinner my friend and I went to the nearby forest for glowworm which was so amazing! 2nd day you would only have the valley walk which was interesting and not dangerous at all, so my friend and I went for the helicopter and enjoyed the view of the Glacier during the rest of day which was soooooo awesome! But I have to say helicopter thing cost me a bunch of money, but who cares right! We still got a lot of time left, but my friend was a bit sick so we spend the rest of time relax and wander around the main road and forest. The 3rd day's main point was the TranzAlpine Train! The highlight of the trip! However, I did spend a lot of extra money during the trip as I got a lot of free time while I love to do anything I could possibly do.

Doing what: 3-Day Queenstown to Christchurch including West Coast Glaciers and the TranzAlpine Train

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

The leaflets and poster and videos give you false expectations. It seemed long when you are up there and just climbing with very few stops. You get the impression of seeing blue and white pristine ice and glaciers but all you see is muddy,gritty and ice that has been churned up with thousands of boots trekking through it. The ice cave we saw....well I hardly would call it that. It took a few seconds to get through it and compared to what the leaflets and videos invite you to see there was nothing that exciting up there at all. The guide was informative and knowledgeable and loves his job. But overall I would not recommend or do it again myself. The Heli-hike we did 2 years previous was amazing and worth every penny.

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Awesome experience. The only way to see the glacier.

Doing what: Franz Josef Mountain Scenic Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Unfortunately bad weather cancelled our helicopter flight but our guide, Cliff, was upbeat and enthusiastic nonetheless! We did the glacier walk. The wet-weather gear was excellent and Cliff's informative and witty commentary made our day. Amazing views of the glacier itself. A great way to discover the natural beauty of Fox Glacier. Chris and Sarah, UK.

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

An awesome walk to the foot of the glacier. Had a great guide who told us lots about the glacial valley. Note that you do not walk on the glacier.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Misleading ads. No walking on glacier. Information on vocuher all wrong. This walk can be done on your own. Just need to drive 10 minutes from town. Waste of money and time.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

This was the first and only caravan park we stayed in on our trip and it was poor cramped cabin really no value for money the weather closed in on us and our helicopter flight was cancelled however we saw enough of the bush walk and beautiful surrounds to make us want to return in better weather. This is the only place that we saw the Kiwi. Here is the best tip I can give travelers after being told that we should be extremely quiet as the Kiwi was shy we entered the dark enclosure where we looked for 15 minutes without seeing a Kiwi I let out a low whistle between the teeth and the two kiwis in the enclosure came running up to the fence where we could get a good look at this inquisitive bird so much for shy.

Doing what: Franz Josef Neve Discoverer Helicopter Flight

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message