Insider's Guide to Franz Josef & Fox Glacier

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

One of the fastest moving glaciers in the world, the Franz Josef Glacier is a spectacular river of ice. It is one of the world's steepest glaciers descending 1.5 miles (2.5 kilometers) over its 7.5 mile (12 kilometer) path through the valley, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 253 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Awesome!Beautiful ! Great friendly pilot. Fantastic trip -thank you.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Amazing tour, beautiful scenery, knowledgeable and friendly guide. A great adventure.

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Helicopter ride was fantastic. Really appreciated our Kiwi guide - seemed more authentic (Maori pronunciation and all).
Weather was perfect on the day. Great trip all up - highlight of our travels.

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Amazing experience not to be missed

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Absolutely Spectacular - The experience of a lifetime.

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We did this trip with 4 people and enjoyed it immensely .From check in time at the office this tour is very professionally run,the office staff that fit you out with the climbing gear, the helicopter pilot,ground staff at the helipad and of course our wonderful guide for the day.

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Absolutely amazing! Views to die for! Guides are friendly and helpful. highly recommended and well worth the price.

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Only disappointment was not seeing more of the glacier from the helicopter. Excellent guides. Quite demanding physically. Colours and ice froms amazing. Well worthwhile.

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Great guide Lauren she told us about vegetation and wildlife , it was relaxed and friendly definitely recommend this walk to everyone who visits Franz Joseph glacier

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

The view during the entire trip was truly fabulous! One thing is you would have almost a day off during this trip which you have to plan yourself. I rent a bicycle in Fox Glacier and spend the 1st days' afternoon enjoyed the sun and the Lake Matheson. After the dinner my friend and I went to the nearby forest for glowworm which was so amazing! 2nd day you would only have the valley walk which was interesting and not dangerous at all, so my friend and I went for the helicopter and enjoyed the view of the Glacier during the rest of day which was soooooo awesome! But I have to say helicopter thing cost me a bunch of money, but who cares right! We still got a lot of time left, but my friend was a bit sick so we spend the rest of time relax and wander around the main road and forest. The 3rd day's main point was the TranzAlpine Train! The highlight of the trip! However, I did spend a lot of extra money during the trip as I got a lot of free time while I love to do anything I could possibly do.

Doing what: 3-Day Queenstown to Christchurch including West Coast Glaciers and the TranzAlpine Train

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

The leaflets and poster and videos give you false expectations. It seemed long when you are up there and just climbing with very few stops. You get the impression of seeing blue and white pristine ice and glaciers but all you see is muddy,gritty and ice that has been churned up with thousands of boots trekking through it. The ice cave we saw....well I hardly would call it that. It took a few seconds to get through it and compared to what the leaflets and videos invite you to see there was nothing that exciting up there at all. The guide was informative and knowledgeable and loves his job. But overall I would not recommend or do it again myself. The Heli-hike we did 2 years previous was amazing and worth every penny.

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Awesome experience. The only way to see the glacier.

Doing what: Franz Josef Mountain Scenic Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Unfortunately bad weather cancelled our helicopter flight but our guide, Cliff, was upbeat and enthusiastic nonetheless! We did the glacier walk. The wet-weather gear was excellent and Cliff's informative and witty commentary made our day. Amazing views of the glacier itself. A great way to discover the natural beauty of Fox Glacier. Chris and Sarah, UK.

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

An awesome walk to the foot of the glacier. Had a great guide who told us lots about the glacial valley. Note that you do not walk on the glacier.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message