Insider's Guide to Franz Josef & Fox Glacier

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

One of the fastest moving glaciers in the world, the Franz Josef Glacier is a spectacular river of ice. It is one of the world's steepest glaciers descending 1.5 miles (2.5 kilometers) over its 7.5 mile (12 kilometer) path through the valley, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 241 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Awesome experience. The only way to see the glacier.

Doing what: Franz Josef Mountain Scenic Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Unfortunately bad weather cancelled our helicopter flight but our guide, Cliff, was upbeat and enthusiastic nonetheless! We did the glacier walk. The wet-weather gear was excellent and Cliff's informative and witty commentary made our day. Amazing views of the glacier itself. A great way to discover the natural beauty of Fox Glacier. Chris and Sarah, UK.

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Misleading ads. No walking on glacier. Information on vocuher all wrong. This walk can be done on your own. Just need to drive 10 minutes from town. Waste of money and time.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

This was the first and only caravan park we stayed in on our trip and it was poor cramped cabin really no value for money the weather closed in on us and our helicopter flight was cancelled however we saw enough of the bush walk and beautiful surrounds to make us want to return in better weather. This is the only place that we saw the Kiwi. Here is the best tip I can give travelers after being told that we should be extremely quiet as the Kiwi was shy we entered the dark enclosure where we looked for 15 minutes without seeing a Kiwi I let out a low whistle between the teeth and the two kiwis in the enclosure came running up to the fence where we could get a good look at this inquisitive bird so much for shy.

Doing what: Franz Josef Neve Discoverer Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Pricey but sure worth the money spent. Short 5-10min heli flight, couple of hours on the ice. There are several groups that offer this tour but the glacier is big enough for everyone to enjoy in their own respective areas. When you check in, make sure you're in the correct line, there are a few operators immediately next to each other. Knowledgeable and approachable staff, educational experience and also physically engaging. One member of our group knee problems and couldn't continue. I would suggest doing an early flight before winds/weather pick up. Alas, weather is never guaranteed, so can come down to luck and timing. It was a great experience one of the top highlights of our trip, highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Amazing views, well worth the cost

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

Tour was fun,guide very good ,kids enjoyed walking through creeks on the hike through the valley to the glacier face ,shame u can't get too close nowadays,if you can afford it do the heli hikeon top would be great fun but bit pricey as the only way to get up ontop is helicopter

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

we ready enjoy the walk

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

we ready enjoy the walk

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Absolutely fantastic.Recommend to anyone,

Doing what: Franz Josef Neve Discoverer Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great guide (Jagged rocked), great weather, unforgettable scenery. Walking on blue ice is truly magical! The organisation was fantastic, worth every $$$ spent.

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Good trip. Could have included more of a hiked on the glacier.

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

If you think you may only have one chance in your lifetime to visit the glaciers, do everything possible to stretch your budget so you can take a walk amongst the ice. No words or pictures can truly convey the immense size, power and physical structure of this place - you need to experience it for yourself. On the day after our trip we also took a walk to the terminal face of the glacier. While that is impressive, you cannot get any real understanding of the scale of the glacier or see the dramatic columns and crevices that exist at the higher levels. Our trip was handled professionally, and included just enough excitement and challenges to make it interesting. We were fortunate to be amongst a small group of people with similar capabilities - though i guess there is a risk that you may do less if you are unlucky to be in a group where some people struggle. Whatever - if you get a chance to do it, don't miss it.

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message