One of the fastest moving glaciers in the world, the Franz Josef Glacier is a spectacular river of ice. It is one of the world's steepest glaciers descending 1.5 miles (2.5 kilometers) over its 7.5 mile (12 kilometer) path through the valley, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 306 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Karis C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Loved it....so much better seeing it up close than from the bottom at the valley walk. Glad I went on the 2nd morning flight group as there was less people traffic up on the walk. We didn't see other groups til the very end. Short helicopter ride was fun and 3 hrs on the ice was perfect. Fairly easy hike for this low-moderate fit girl, but a few steeper areas that might be hard for someone with bad knees. Next time I want to do the ice climbing to get closer to the serac and have a more challenging hike. Adam was a great guide!
This activity is entirely weather dependent as rain isn't uncommon there so it's luck of the draw. Glad I prebooked knowing I could get a refund thru viator if weather cancellation bc it was raining badly when I arrived to town but sunny and gorgeous the day of the helicopter-hike and all tours were sold out so there were some disappointed tourists.

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

Philippa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Had a wonderful guide who was very knowledgeable and enthusiastically shared his delight in the rocks and minerals and fauna as we walked at a comfortable pace. Only a couple of steep parts to the path as he took us off piste but Aaron was very helpful and sure footed helping those of us who were out of our comfort zone.
Awesome scenery.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Miss K. D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I loved the glacier soo much!!! It was amazing experience, definitely recommended!

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

Nicole M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Awesome flight, we were lucky to have clear weather which made it even better. Tour was really well organised and the pilot was great.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

Deleanu C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was amazing and they also changed our booking to the other town that we been on the other side of the glacierwas a GPS bad location from Here Services and we ended up on the other side 50km, now I always double check with Google maps. I would also go with glacier hiking but for fast pace you can use only this helicopter tour.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

Daniel D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent and enjoyable

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Timothy M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Little interaction between pilot and group, but experience was amazing.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

Charles H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We were fortunate to have beautiful weather, so had a fantastic flight!

Doing what: Franz Josef Mountain Scenic Helicopter Flight

chef.monty1330

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

What an awesome adventure

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

Jing C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

What a Fantastic trip we had! Thank You very much The Road Trip for organising this Amazing and Exciting tour for our family. My wife and I are very grateful for having a great tour guide, and he has become a friend of ours. Our tour guide was eager to show us all the beautiful scenery and activities that are available at the south Island. We can feel that he loves New Zealand and is passionate of New Zealand's natural wonders and cultures, and we feels that there is no better tour guide to have than someone who really knows and loves New Zealand.
Thank You The Road Trip and Simon and we will be back.

Doing what: Private Tour: 8-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch Including Franz Josef, Wanaka and Queenstown

Keith D

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Great trip and knowledgeable guides.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

suellis31

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Booking a tour allowed us to hike paths in the woods leading to the glacier that the general public walking on their own could not access. The guide's knowledge of various plants and the history of the glacier definitely made it a good deal as opposed to just walking up to the glacier viewpoint on your own. The ticket also included use of the glacier hot water pools which felt great after all the traveling we had been doing.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Shona P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A memorable activity. Loved scrambling along the valley, we waded through a rushing stream, stood so close to the spray of the wonderful waterfalls. Held chunks of ice from the pounding river. Fabulous guide. Joshua. Gave us such a lot if interesting details. He worked so hard to give the group a brilliant time and it certainly was amazing.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Edna J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Truly breathtaking!!! Our guide, Connor went above and beyond professional but still very personable and patient to answer all our one thousand questions. The base where we started from was great too with lots of unexpected amenities like a coffee bar and hot tubs. We wouldn't go with any other company! Experience of a lifetime is an understatement!

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Robert C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A stunningly beautiful day up on the glaciers. Our pilot Tyson did a wonderful job of taking us up there and back, and telling us about what we were seeing. We were impressed that he didn't rush us while we were out on the glacier, and offered to take our pix. And he printed off his own pix for us to purchase at a reasonable price. Awesome trip!

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

Abigail C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

Jean-Pierre V

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

3 fantastic days, perfectly organized.
The scenery is fabulous particularly from the TransAlpine despite very mixed weather

Doing what: 3-Day Queenstown to Christchurch including West Coast Glaciers and the TranzAlpine Train

Jane A Israel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great trip, beautiful scenery and the guide was superb, I didn't want a difficult walk and this was perfect. We had great weather.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Martha V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was just a fantastic experience, the tour guides were very helpful and friendly. aA must do for all tourists

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

Joni

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2016

Disappointing trip. Pilot seemed bored. Saw very little on way up to glaciers because of seating. Hoped that we would change seats on way down but were instructed to stay in same seats on way down so saw nothing again. Could have paid less and seen more with other.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

Nish

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2016

Too expensive. Since we are doing the walking.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Sharon P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very much enjoyed getting close to the glacier. Guides were fun and informative. Having company's gear to wear was worth the price of the ticket alone-warm, comfortable and protected us against the elements. No drying of boots and outerwear needed after the walk--just returned it to them.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Catherine J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A wonderful experience, first class service. And the weather was perfect. Would love to do it again.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

Sananda A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

The tour did not go due to weather.

Doing what: Franz Josef Mountain Scenic Helicopter Flight

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message