Insider's Guide to Franz Josef & Fox Glacier

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

One of the fastest moving glaciers in the world, the Franz Josef Glacier is a spectacular river of ice. It is one of the world's steepest glaciers descending 1.5 miles (2.5 kilometers) over its 7.5 mile (12 kilometer) path through the valley, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 245 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Only disappointment was not seeing more of the glacier from the helicopter. Excellent guides. Quite demanding physically. Colours and ice froms amazing. Well worthwhile.

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Great guide Lauren she told us about vegetation and wildlife , it was relaxed and friendly definitely recommend this walk to everyone who visits Franz Joseph glacier

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

The view during the entire trip was truly fabulous! One thing is you would have almost a day off during this trip which you have to plan yourself. I rent a bicycle in Fox Glacier and spend the 1st days' afternoon enjoyed the sun and the Lake Matheson. After the dinner my friend and I went to the nearby forest for glowworm which was so amazing! 2nd day you would only have the valley walk which was interesting and not dangerous at all, so my friend and I went for the helicopter and enjoyed the view of the Glacier during the rest of day which was soooooo awesome! But I have to say helicopter thing cost me a bunch of money, but who cares right! We still got a lot of time left, but my friend was a bit sick so we spend the rest of time relax and wander around the main road and forest. The 3rd day's main point was the TranzAlpine Train! The highlight of the trip! However, I did spend a lot of extra money during the trip as I got a lot of free time while I love to do anything I could possibly do.

Doing what: 3-Day Queenstown to Christchurch including West Coast Glaciers and the TranzAlpine Train

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

The leaflets and poster and videos give you false expectations. It seemed long when you are up there and just climbing with very few stops. You get the impression of seeing blue and white pristine ice and glaciers but all you see is muddy,gritty and ice that has been churned up with thousands of boots trekking through it. The ice cave we saw....well I hardly would call it that. It took a few seconds to get through it and compared to what the leaflets and videos invite you to see there was nothing that exciting up there at all. The guide was informative and knowledgeable and loves his job. But overall I would not recommend or do it again myself. The Heli-hike we did 2 years previous was amazing and worth every penny.

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Awesome experience. The only way to see the glacier.

Doing what: Franz Josef Mountain Scenic Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Unfortunately bad weather cancelled our helicopter flight but our guide, Cliff, was upbeat and enthusiastic nonetheless! We did the glacier walk. The wet-weather gear was excellent and Cliff's informative and witty commentary made our day. Amazing views of the glacier itself. A great way to discover the natural beauty of Fox Glacier. Chris and Sarah, UK.

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

An awesome walk to the foot of the glacier. Had a great guide who told us lots about the glacial valley. Note that you do not walk on the glacier.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Misleading ads. No walking on glacier. Information on vocuher all wrong. This walk can be done on your own. Just need to drive 10 minutes from town. Waste of money and time.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

This was the first and only caravan park we stayed in on our trip and it was poor cramped cabin really no value for money the weather closed in on us and our helicopter flight was cancelled however we saw enough of the bush walk and beautiful surrounds to make us want to return in better weather. This is the only place that we saw the Kiwi. Here is the best tip I can give travelers after being told that we should be extremely quiet as the Kiwi was shy we entered the dark enclosure where we looked for 15 minutes without seeing a Kiwi I let out a low whistle between the teeth and the two kiwis in the enclosure came running up to the fence where we could get a good look at this inquisitive bird so much for shy.

Doing what: Franz Josef Neve Discoverer Helicopter Flight

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The trip was amazing! Couch Tom is professional!

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Pricey but sure worth the money spent. Short 5-10min heli flight, couple of hours on the ice. There are several groups that offer this tour but the glacier is big enough for everyone to enjoy in their own respective areas. When you check in, make sure you're in the correct line, there are a few operators immediately next to each other. Knowledgeable and approachable staff, educational experience and also physically engaging. One member of our group knee problems and couldn't continue. I would suggest doing an early flight before winds/weather pick up. Alas, weather is never guaranteed, so can come down to luck and timing. It was a great experience one of the top highlights of our trip, highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Amazing views, well worth the cost

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

Tour was fun,guide very good ,kids enjoyed walking through creeks on the hike through the valley to the glacier face ,shame u can't get too close nowadays,if you can afford it do the heli hikeon top would be great fun but bit pricey as the only way to get up ontop is helicopter

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message