Insider's Guide to Franz Josef & Fox Glacier

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Located in New Zealand's Westland National Park and Te Wahipounamu World Heritage Area, the Fox and Franz Josef Glaciers are two of the world's most magnificent and accessible glaciers. Echoes of the ice age prevail against the spectacular ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 32 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Great guide Lauren she told us about vegetation and wildlife , it was relaxed and friendly definitely recommend this walk to everyone who visits Franz Joseph glacier

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

The view during the entire trip was truly fabulous! One thing is you would have almost a day off during this trip which you have to plan yourself. I rent a bicycle in Fox Glacier and spend the 1st days' afternoon enjoyed the sun and the Lake Matheson. After the dinner my friend and I went to the nearby forest for glowworm which was so amazing! 2nd day you would only have the valley walk which was interesting and not dangerous at all, so my friend and I went for the helicopter and enjoyed the view of the Glacier during the rest of day which was soooooo awesome! But I have to say helicopter thing cost me a bunch of money, but who cares right! We still got a lot of time left, but my friend was a bit sick so we spend the rest of time relax and wander around the main road and forest. The 3rd day's main point was the TranzAlpine Train! The highlight of the trip! However, I did spend a lot of extra money during the trip as I got a lot of free time while I love to do anything I could possibly do.

Doing what: 3-Day Queenstown to Christchurch including West Coast Glaciers and the TranzAlpine Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

An awesome walk to the foot of the glacier. Had a great guide who told us lots about the glacial valley. Note that you do not walk on the glacier.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Misleading ads. No walking on glacier. Information on vocuher all wrong. This walk can be done on your own. Just need to drive 10 minutes from town. Waste of money and time.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

Tour was fun,guide very good ,kids enjoyed walking through creeks on the hike through the valley to the glacier face ,shame u can't get too close nowadays,if you can afford it do the heli hikeon top would be great fun but bit pricey as the only way to get up ontop is helicopter

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

we ready enjoy the walk

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Vivian
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Well, we changed our mind last minutes before the trip starts. We did the Ice Explorer on Glacier instead by paying extra $250. It was totally worth it. Initially, we didnt want to spend too much on the trip (as it is a big difference) but we were pleased that we made the executive decision to change the trip. The IceExplorer is fabulous and it is definitely an unforgettable life time experience to surrounded and walk around ice for 3+ hours. For those who has chosen this trip, but if you think you are fit enough, please do the Ice Explorer instead. It is remarkable and amazing!! You also get to sit the helicopter to the glacier.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Did we have the right shoes? What if it rained? And what if the eight of us had different paces and abilities?Not to worry. Any gear you needed was provided. Slickers, boots, small packs...and the guides were amenable to splitting the group into a more aggressive and more leisurely groups. So, when it did rain...we had the right gear and enjoyed the walk immensely.
Tomr.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Enjoyed the experience. Leader informative, friendly and supportive.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Very enjoyable. Whilst you can walk to the glacier by yourself it was nice to have a guide who could explain a lot of the geographical features that we were seeing. Being on a tour also meant that we could proceed past the public limits and get that little bit closer to the glacier.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

We had a fun time at Franz Josef ,The valley walk was educational and interesting the whole thing took more or less 3-4 hours. Our guide was friendly and we were able to get closer to the glacier. We were able to hold the glacier and take pictures on it.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Our tour guide was fantastic! Good for all ages, and fabulous local knowledge! I would recommend this tour!

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

We enjoyed the experience a great deal. Our guide made our trip to the glazier one to remember.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Amazing experience our guide took us to the rim of the glacier would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message