Located in New Zealand's Westland National Park and Te Wahipounamu World Heritage Area, the Fox and Franz Josef Glaciers are two of the world's most magnificent and accessible glaciers. Echoes of the ice age prevail against the spectacular ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 54 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Hannah C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The staff are friendly and make sure that you are well equipped for the trip. It was pouring rain when I went, so all the provided gear was muchly appreciated. It was great to have a guide take you through valley and have them share history and science behind such beautiful views. This guided walk gives you a great intro into the area, so that you can go check out the other walking tracks as well.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Keith H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Very disappointed. Expected to get onto ice as per the photo's advertising it shows, however turned out to be just a walk over rocks and through a small wood.
Could have done this trip on our own without incurring any cost.
Not value for money

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Philippa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Had a wonderful guide who was very knowledgeable and enthusiastically shared his delight in the rocks and minerals and fauna as we walked at a comfortable pace. Only a couple of steep parts to the path as he took us off piste but Aaron was very helpful and sure footed helping those of us who were out of our comfort zone.
Awesome scenery.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Daniel D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent and enjoyable

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Keith D

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Great trip and knowledgeable guides.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

suellis31

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Booking a tour allowed us to hike paths in the woods leading to the glacier that the general public walking on their own could not access. The guide's knowledge of various plants and the history of the glacier definitely made it a good deal as opposed to just walking up to the glacier viewpoint on your own. The ticket also included use of the glacier hot water pools which felt great after all the traveling we had been doing.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Shona P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A memorable activity. Loved scrambling along the valley, we waded through a rushing stream, stood so close to the spray of the wonderful waterfalls. Held chunks of ice from the pounding river. Fabulous guide. Joshua. Gave us such a lot if interesting details. He worked so hard to give the group a brilliant time and it certainly was amazing.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Edna J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Truly breathtaking!!! Our guide, Connor went above and beyond professional but still very personable and patient to answer all our one thousand questions. The base where we started from was great too with lots of unexpected amenities like a coffee bar and hot tubs. We wouldn't go with any other company! Experience of a lifetime is an understatement!

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Jean-Pierre V

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

3 fantastic days, perfectly organized.
The scenery is fabulous particularly from the TransAlpine despite very mixed weather

Doing what: 3-Day Queenstown to Christchurch including West Coast Glaciers and the TranzAlpine Train

Jane A Israel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great trip, beautiful scenery and the guide was superb, I didn't want a difficult walk and this was perfect. We had great weather.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Nish

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2016

Too expensive. Since we are doing the walking.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Sharon P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very much enjoyed getting close to the glacier. Guides were fun and informative. Having company's gear to wear was worth the price of the ticket alone-warm, comfortable and protected us against the elements. No drying of boots and outerwear needed after the walk--just returned it to them.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

anne a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

the guides were excellent-- Josh and Peter i think.
They were interested in the guests and keen to share their extensive knowledge throughout the tour.
it was obvious that you could just walk most of the way without the guides but it was worth the money to pay for the added information from the guides.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Linda P

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Tour guide was very knowledgeable but we didn't realise we could have done this walk by ourselves for free! Very overpriced for what it was

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

quachanhkhanh

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

Very bad. Valley Walk and look Glacier River.
Never booking this tour

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Cara B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

When i booked, it advertised that we would walk up to the terminal face of the glacier. On the day we only got the view the glacier from a 300m distance due to safety. I felt like the advertising had mislead us. the guide was very knowledgable and friendly however we could just as easily have done the public walking track ourselves for free.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Wayne B United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Good trip. Could have spent a little less time on the rocky river course.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Ray S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

The guide was a great character and took us of the main path, however the main patch to the glacier was a pulic walk way so we could have done it for free, not good value

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Robert G

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

This was a great hike. Wonderful sunny day and a very knowledgable guide, whose name I forget. Our guide knew the local plants and pointed them out to us. He even went down to the flowing stream and found us a couple pieces of the icy glacier that had broken off. The only negative was when we got back to the shuttle pick up our bus did not arrive for another 45 minutes. We were told the driver had misplace the bus' keys.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Emma P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

While the tour guide was good and interesting, I found the advertising of this difficult walk to be incredibly misleading, a fat asthmatic could have done that walk, especially at the rate we were going. Also the 'need' to get kitted up was unnecessary as we went no where near the ice and the day was quite warm. For what it was - definitely not worth the money!

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Sunicha S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

We were disappointed. Your company made us feel ripped off and stupid !!! The details about the tour on the website and in email that you informed us before the tour start went wrong and made us confused and upset !!! First, you didnt provide hotel pick up and drop off as promised on the first and the last day !!! We just knew that we have to make our own way to bus station before the pick up time one hour !!! And we knew that because we called you !! Your staff told us over the phone that your company mailed by post us two days ago before the tour start to inform the changes !! But we didn't get any mail !!! We have asked the hotel staff ... nobody found any mail !!! I just don't understand why didnt't you call us or email us !!! You asked for those contact detail !!! And my phone was on international roaming service to stand by to get any urgent information from you !!! Second, on website you mentioned that tour will operated by coach. I think it's quite tricky !!! Because coach made us though that you would provide a coach for a specific group of people. But it turn out to be a inter-city bus that opened for the public !! After all, we did research about the cost of everything accommodation, activity, transportation cost and we found out that your company overcharged us 355 per person !!! I know and understand that the travel agent need to make profit from arrangement those kind of things for the customer. But don't you think that too much !!! How can you do that ??? At first I saw your company profile and I though you are a good one. We decided to buy more than one package from you. We bought another two packages Shotover River Extreme Jet Boat Ride from Queenstown Swimming with Dolphins in Akaroa from your company. They were good. And the price are reasonable !!!! However, after experience 3-Day Queenstown to Christchurch including West Coast Glaciers and the TranzAlpine Train
I decided not to recommend anyone to buy your services anymore !!!

Doing what: 3-Day Queenstown to Christchurch including West Coast Glaciers and the TranzAlpine Train

Rhonda M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Great guide Lauren she told us about vegetation and wildlife , it was relaxed and friendly definitely recommend this walk to everyone who visits Franz Joseph glacier

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Andrea L

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

The view during the entire trip was truly fabulous! One thing is you would have almost a day off during this trip which you have to plan yourself. I rent a bicycle in Fox Glacier and spend the 1st days' afternoon enjoyed the sun and the Lake Matheson. After the dinner my friend and I went to the nearby forest for glowworm which was so amazing! 2nd day you would only have the valley walk which was interesting and not dangerous at all, so my friend and I went for the helicopter and enjoyed the view of the Glacier during the rest of day which was soooooo awesome! But I have to say helicopter thing cost me a bunch of money, but who cares right! We still got a lot of time left, but my friend was a bit sick so we spend the rest of time relax and wander around the main road and forest. The 3rd day's main point was the TranzAlpine Train! The highlight of the trip! However, I did spend a lot of extra money during the trip as I got a lot of free time while I love to do anything I could possibly do.

Doing what: 3-Day Queenstown to Christchurch including West Coast Glaciers and the TranzAlpine Train

Nino B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

An awesome walk to the foot of the glacier. Had a great guide who told us lots about the glacial valley. Note that you do not walk on the glacier.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message