• USD ($)
  • English
Insider's Guide to Franz Josef & Fox Glacier

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Located in New Zealand's Westland National Park and Te Wahipounamu World Heritage Area, the Fox and Franz Josef Glaciers are two of the world's most magnificent and accessible glaciers. Echoes of the ice age prevail against the spectacular ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 26 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Vivian
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Well, we changed our mind last minutes before the trip starts. We did the Ice Explorer on Glacier instead by paying extra $250. It was totally worth it. Initially, we didnt want to spend too much on the trip (as it is a big difference) but we were pleased that we made the executive decision to change the trip. The IceExplorer is fabulous and it is definitely an unforgettable life time experience to surrounded and walk around ice for 3+ hours. For those who has chosen this trip, but if you think you are fit enough, please do the Ice Explorer instead. It is remarkable and amazing!! You also get to sit the helicopter to the glacier.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Did we have the right shoes? What if it rained? And what if the eight of us had different paces and abilities?Not to worry. Any gear you needed was provided. Slickers, boots, small packs...and the guides were amenable to splitting the group into a more aggressive and more leisurely groups. So, when it did rain...we had the right gear and enjoyed the walk immensely.
Tomr.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Enjoyed the experience. Leader informative, friendly and supportive.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Very enjoyable. Whilst you can walk to the glacier by yourself it was nice to have a guide who could explain a lot of the geographical features that we were seeing. Being on a tour also meant that we could proceed past the public limits and get that little bit closer to the glacier.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

We had a fun time at Franz Josef ,The valley walk was educational and interesting the whole thing took more or less 3-4 hours. Our guide was friendly and we were able to get closer to the glacier. We were able to hold the glacier and take pictures on it.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Our tour guide was fantastic! Good for all ages, and fabulous local knowledge! I would recommend this tour!

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

We enjoyed the experience a great deal. Our guide made our trip to the glazier one to remember.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Amazing experience our guide took us to the rim of the glacier would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

A lovely valley walk to the glacier on paths dedicated to the tour with two excellent guides (Mike and Jasmine). Thoroughly recommended as a great introduction to the Franz Josef Glacier.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Very informative guide led just the two of us on this interesting walk. We were able to go quite close to the glacier and appreciated it much more as we could ask questions and were shown aspects we wouldn't have noticed on our own.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

This was great value for money - not only did we get a good 3hr hour guided walk but also passes to get into the hot water pools which would have cost us 20 dollars each! We were also given a DVD about Franz Joseph so all in all a wonderful morning spent in a beautiful area of NZ.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Enjoyed this a lot our guide was friendly and full of stories and knowledge

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

I actually wrote this review under the glacier walk. Oops. Both are great. You see totally different things. Loved the small group size able to move quickly and see lots more than expected. Regarding the Glacier walk. Fantastic too...loved helicopter ride up. Do both. Very different.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

This hike was awesome! We also had a fantastic guide which made the trip even more better! All I can say is DO IT! It is fantastic! The scenery is well worth the effort!

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

Excellent walking tour. Recommended

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message