• USD ($)
  • English
Insider's Guide to Franz Josef & Fox Glacier

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Taking a guided walk on a glacier has to be one of the coolest experiences you'll have in New Zealand. Whether hovering over the spectacular ice formations by helicopter or strapping on crampons to hike the ice, Franz Josef and Fox Glaciers are ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 165 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Vivian
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Well, we changed our mind last minutes before the trip starts. We did the Ice Explorer on Glacier instead by paying extra $250. It was totally worth it. Initially, we didnt want to spend too much on the trip (as it is a big difference) but we were pleased that we made the executive decision to change the trip. The IceExplorer is fabulous and it is definitely an unforgettable life time experience to surrounded and walk around ice for 3+ hours. For those who has chosen this trip, but if you think you are fit enough, please do the Ice Explorer instead. It is remarkable and amazing!! You also get to sit the helicopter to the glacier.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Fantastic trip with fantastic weather (sunny day and blue sky). Our guide was very knowledgeable and made it possible to walk through a spectacular ice cave/tube.
The real hiking time was a bit too short in my opiniion, but nevertheless a great adventure.

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was the best day of our holiday. Everyone was professional, the guide was fantastic. Our 10 and 11 year old children (one very nervous on the ice) were encouraged and assisted by our very patient guide Cliff. The glacier was beautiful, the hike challenging but not too strenuous. Don't hesitate!

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Absolutely amazing.
Everyone was lovely to deal with, and made the experience comfortable. They all seemed to still find a huge thrill in showing people "their" glacier, or flying guests to and from it.
Awesome!

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Heli Hike tour was cancelled due to weather conditions. The Helicopter Line let us transfer our booking to a flight over Mount Cook when we were at that location the following week. The snow landing and flight over Mount Cook was one of the highlights of our trip to NZ.

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Great tour - the promotional pictures misrepresented the actual tour as we went no where near the ice caves shown. Views were impressive and a good excursion

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Did we have the right shoes? What if it rained? And what if the eight of us had different paces and abilities?Not to worry. Any gear you needed was provided. Slickers, boots, small packs...and the guides were amenable to splitting the group into a more aggressive and more leisurely groups. So, when it did rain...we had the right gear and enjoyed the walk immensely.
Tomr.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

It was a good expérience but very expensive for what we did!

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We loved it

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

Pascale
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

A must do!

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Enjoyed the experience. Leader informative, friendly and supportive.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

I enjoyed it but my wife didn't. I think we should have walked on the glacier higher up.
The guide was not vigilant enough in caring for the party. As a result my wife fell over twice, she is very fit, the second time dropping into a big hole very close to the path, with a layer of thin ice over it, I hate to think if a child had fallen in. She injured herself as a result and broke her glasses and was most upset from that moment on.

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2014

We were lucky insofar as we went to the information centre the day before to check details and were told we would be unlikely to fly the next day because of the weather but that we could go if we were ready in 2 minutes. Safety procedure and equipment took a while, helicopter flight was fun but we had to stand around for a while on the glacier until everyone was there. Our guide seemed quite disinterested in getting us to actually hike anywhere, would chip/ hack the ice randomly while we did nothing, then would go in a different direction. After taking an hour to walk about 200 yards, we then returned to the helicopter in about 20 minutes. The whole experience felt very staged.

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It was an exciting and memorable experience, and I would recommend all to enjoy the experience.

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message