Insider's Guide to Franz Josef & Fox Glacier

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Taking a guided walk on a glacier has to be one of the coolest experiences you'll have in New Zealand. Whether hovering over the spectacular ice formations by helicopter or strapping on crampons to hike the ice, Franz Josef and Fox Glaciers are ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 181 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great staff and a wonderful adventure.

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Well organized and informative trip. Glacier is shrinking quite a bit so not quite so impressive as in previous years.

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Great guide Lauren she told us about vegetation and wildlife , it was relaxed and friendly definitely recommend this walk to everyone who visits Franz Joseph glacier

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Awesome experience. The only way to see the glacier.

Doing what: Franz Josef Mountain Scenic Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Loved the helicopter ride and glacier hike as well. Totally worth the money!

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

could not do it due to bad weather

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

An awesome walk to the foot of the glacier. Had a great guide who told us lots about the glacial valley. Note that you do not walk on the glacier.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Misleading ads. No walking on glacier. Information on vocuher all wrong. This walk can be done on your own. Just need to drive 10 minutes from town. Waste of money and time.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

it was great, staff was well informed and educated. it was a lot of fun

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Beautiful weather, impressive colors, pleasant guide, exciting cave crawling, romantic experience to celebrate our 30 th wedding anniversary!

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Amazing views, well worth the cost

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

Tour was fun,guide very good ,kids enjoyed walking through creeks on the hike through the valley to the glacier face ,shame u can't get too close nowadays,if you can afford it do the heli hikeon top would be great fun but bit pricey as the only way to get up ontop is helicopter

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The heli-hike was a wonderful experience, the highlight of our trip. It was professionally organised and our guide was very knowledgable. We had a beautiful day on fresh snow. A real treat.

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message