Insider's Guide to Franz Josef & Fox Glacier

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Taking a guided walk on a glacier has to be one of the coolest experiences you'll have in New Zealand. Whether hovering over the spectacular ice formations by helicopter or strapping on crampons to hike the ice, Franz Josef and Fox Glaciers are ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 194 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

Przemyslaw B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Superb! Very friendly and very professional. Thanks

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Great weather made the perfect day. Pilot and staff very personable and professional.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The trip was nice and a good experience with the glacier. The only sad part is the company and guide. Guide is not very interested to assist us.

Good for first time. I will say all good except for the company hospitality

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

This was a great hike. Wonderful sunny day and a very knowledgable guide, whose name I forget. Our guide knew the local plants and pointed them out to us. He even went down to the flowing stream and found us a couple pieces of the icy glacier that had broken off. The only negative was when we got back to the shuttle pick up our bus did not arrive for another 45 minutes. We were told the driver had misplace the bus' keys.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

While the tour guide was good and interesting, I found the advertising of this difficult walk to be incredibly misleading, a fat asthmatic could have done that walk, especially at the rate we were going. Also the 'need' to get kitted up was unnecessary as we went no where near the ice and the day was quite warm. For what it was - definitely not worth the money!

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Awesome!Beautiful ! Great friendly pilot. Fantastic trip -thank you.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fabulous and breathtaking. Guides extremely professional..thank you Rob. Helicopter tour well worth taking. The highlight of our trip todate.

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Amazing experience not to be missed

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

great tour with helicopter line.

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This has absolutely been the highlight of my trip! The teams at The Helicopter Line were really helpful, friendly and reassuring as to what would happen.
Rob our climb leader was really supportive especially to a few people in the group who were not as confident climbing. This is a MUST do!

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great staff and a wonderful adventure.

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message