Taking a guided walk on a glacier has to be one of the coolest experiences you'll have in New Zealand. Whether hovering over the spectacular ice formations by helicopter or strapping on crampons to hike the ice, Franz Josef and Fox Glaciers are ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 249 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mike C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Well organized, good guide, great experience.

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

Hannah C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The staff are friendly and make sure that you are well equipped for the trip. It was pouring rain when I went, so all the provided gear was muchly appreciated. It was great to have a guide take you through valley and have them share history and science behind such beautiful views. This guided walk gives you a great intro into the area, so that you can go check out the other walking tracks as well.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

WARREN M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We arrived well before the scheduled time my 2 Daughters where so looking forward to walking and climbing a Glacier.
We where weighed kitted up and placed clothing on. Then we where told we could not go as the ice was too slippery for my youngest to go on. I am glad that safety is the first concern and the company did go out of there way to get us on at a later time.
I cannot rate the trip but my rating is for the company.
I am sure the trip would have been amazing.

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

Keith H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Very disappointed. Expected to get onto ice as per the photo's advertising it shows, however turned out to be just a walk over rocks and through a small wood.
Could have done this trip on our own without incurring any cost.
Not value for money

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Philippa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Had a wonderful guide who was very knowledgeable and enthusiastically shared his delight in the rocks and minerals and fauna as we walked at a comfortable pace. Only a couple of steep parts to the path as he took us off piste but Aaron was very helpful and sure footed helping those of us who were out of our comfort zone.
Awesome scenery.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Nicole M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Awesome flight, we were lucky to have clear weather which made it even better. Tour was really well organised and the pilot was great.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

Lisa D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Loved it, and would highly recommend as a way to get up close and personal with a glacier. Educational and spectacular.

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

Deleanu C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was amazing and they also changed our booking to the other town that we been on the other side of the glacierwas a GPS bad location from Here Services and we ended up on the other side 50km, now I always double check with Google maps. I would also go with glacier hiking but for fast pace you can use only this helicopter tour.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

Daniel D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent and enjoyable

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Timothy M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Little interaction between pilot and group, but experience was amazing.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

gary g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The staff was very helpful and efficient. Pilot did an excellent job. Loved being on the glacier, getting photos.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight departing Fox Glacier

Christopher B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Heli trip of a lifetime .Pilot was great and his comments only added to the experiance .

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight departing Fox Glacier

Augustin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Very good experience ! It was a beautiful day with a clear blue sky and almost no wind.
The helicopter ride to go onto the glacier could be a little bit longer ... The scenery is so wonderful !
The pilot is great !
Our guide, Nick, on the glacier is a very kind man with touches of humor !
Don't forget to bring some energy bar and some water or at least an empty bottle to drink pure water from the glacier ! We took the tour around 9 o'clock

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

Charles H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We were fortunate to have beautiful weather, so had a fantastic flight!

Doing what: Franz Josef Mountain Scenic Helicopter Flight

Michael R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

awesome fantastic!!!

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

Gillin F

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Very lucky a beautiful day, knowledgable guide and fantastic experience

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

Keith D

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Great trip and knowledgeable guides.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Marvin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Exciting and somewhat difficult for a 79 year old - -but doable. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

suellis31

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Booking a tour allowed us to hike paths in the woods leading to the glacier that the general public walking on their own could not access. The guide's knowledge of various plants and the history of the glacier definitely made it a good deal as opposed to just walking up to the glacier viewpoint on your own. The ticket also included use of the glacier hot water pools which felt great after all the traveling we had been doing.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Shona P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A memorable activity. Loved scrambling along the valley, we waded through a rushing stream, stood so close to the spray of the wonderful waterfalls. Held chunks of ice from the pounding river. Fabulous guide. Joshua. Gave us such a lot if interesting details. He worked so hard to give the group a brilliant time and it certainly was amazing.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Edna J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Truly breathtaking!!! Our guide, Connor went above and beyond professional but still very personable and patient to answer all our one thousand questions. The base where we started from was great too with lots of unexpected amenities like a coffee bar and hot tubs. We wouldn't go with any other company! Experience of a lifetime is an understatement!

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Peter.latimer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent trip. Well organised. Knowledgeable and helpful guides Good value for money.
Only criticism is that we would have appreciated more information before arriving for the HeliHike in relation to the clothing and equipment provided by the tour operator. It would have saved us time in preparing for the trip and saved us bringing our own clothing and shoes that was unnecessary.

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

Kara M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Amazing! We took our family of 5 on this flight and it will be a favorite memory for us. The helicopter office is right on the main street and within walking distance of one of the larger camper van parks. We took heavy coats, gloves and scarves, but those were not needed. We only needed gloves so we could throw snowballs at eachother.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight departing Fox Glacier

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message