• USD ($)
  • English
Insider's Guide to Franz Josef & Fox Glacier

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Taking a guided walk on a glacier has to be one of the coolest experiences you'll have in New Zealand. Whether hovering over the spectacular ice formations by helicopter or strapping on crampons to hike the ice, Franz Josef and Fox Glaciers are ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 162 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Fantastic trip with fantastic weather (sunny day and blue sky). Our guide was very knowledgeable and made it possible to walk through a spectacular ice cave/tube.
The real hiking time was a bit too short in my opiniion, but nevertheless a great adventure.

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Heli Hike tour was cancelled due to weather conditions. The Helicopter Line let us transfer our booking to a flight over Mount Cook when we were at that location the following week. The snow landing and flight over Mount Cook was one of the highlights of our trip to NZ.

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Great tour - the promotional pictures misrepresented the actual tour as we went no where near the ice caves shown. Views were impressive and a good excursion

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Did we have the right shoes? What if it rained? And what if the eight of us had different paces and abilities?Not to worry. Any gear you needed was provided. Slickers, boots, small packs...and the guides were amenable to splitting the group into a more aggressive and more leisurely groups. So, when it did rain...we had the right gear and enjoyed the walk immensely.
Tomr.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

It was a good expérience but very expensive for what we did!

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We loved it

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

Pascale
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

A must do!

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Enjoyed the experience. Leader informative, friendly and supportive.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

I enjoyed it but my wife didn't. I think we should have walked on the glacier higher up.
The guide was not vigilant enough in caring for the party. As a result my wife fell over twice, she is very fit, the second time dropping into a big hole very close to the path, with a layer of thin ice over it, I hate to think if a child had fallen in. She injured herself as a result and broke her glasses and was most upset from that moment on.

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2014

We were lucky insofar as we went to the information centre the day before to check details and were told we would be unlikely to fly the next day because of the weather but that we could go if we were ready in 2 minutes. Safety procedure and equipment took a while, helicopter flight was fun but we had to stand around for a while on the glacier until everyone was there. Our guide seemed quite disinterested in getting us to actually hike anywhere, would chip/ hack the ice randomly while we did nothing, then would go in a different direction. After taking an hour to walk about 200 yards, we then returned to the helicopter in about 20 minutes. The whole experience felt very staged.

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It was an exciting and memorable experience, and I would recommend all to enjoy the experience.

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I will give this company top marks for being understanding and tourist friendly. We had to change our booking due to a road closure caused by a slight landslide driving from Wanaka. They were more than happy to change our time. When we arrived there was cloud cover and our booked time was cancelled and rescheduled two hours later. The flight was excellent and we landed on Fox Glacier for photos etc. There was fresh snow which was very soft and almost every step we went down to our knees in the snow. The pilot was very helpful in assisting me around. We then recorded and flew over the ravines and onto Franz Josef Glacier which was just as spectacular and the whole trip was very memorable.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight departing Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It was awesome! I am very happy I went on the trip

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message