There are two things which make Franz Josef and Fox glaciers such popular New Zealand attractions. The first is that these rivers of ice spill their way through a rainforest, thereby creating a unique scenario where ice is flanked by trees. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 21 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Having never been in a helicopter and also never seen a glacier this was double the excitement for my wife, our 14 year old son and myself. Amazing scenery, the stop on the mountain was also awesome. The day was beautiful weather which helped but it was the highlight of our trip to the South Island. The only thing that would have made it only a little better would be a slightly longer flight over the mountain and glacier, otherwise fantastic!

Doing what: Franz Josef Neve Discoverer Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

A trip not to be missed! The pilot, Andrew, gave an excellent commentary as well as expertly flying the helicopter to ensure a smooth and stunning trip.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

If they had said it was this good we would not have believed them.
The weather forecast was not good but it turned out a lovely morning (at least when we flew). Enough safety management to give confidence but not boring. We had walked to Fox glacier the day before but it did not prepare us for this amazing flight and landing on the Glacier. Can't think of words good enough to describe the experience of helicopter flight, close views of the mountains and glaciers and a great pilot making it exciting but not frightening. Go and experience it if you think this is an exaggeration.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight departing Fox Glacier

Ravi
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

This trip is one of the most amazing scenic journeys I done in my life. Visiting Fox Glacier terminal itself is beautiful but the helicopter ride to the mountain top gives you a spectacular views which un-fortunately can't see from the bottom.

Doing what: Fox Glacier Neve Discoverer Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Family friendly staff and facilities. The helicopter ride to the glacier and commentary was first class.

Doing what: Fox Glacier and Mount Cook Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

The twin glacier helicopter flight was fantastic, we had a beautiful trip.The pilot was very helpful and very good photographer either. altogether would recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

The helicopter trip was awesome and to stand on the glacier was fabulous. Only criticism is that the reception staff at The Helicopter line were very unhelpful and rude and the pilot's commentary was lack lustre. Apart from that brilliant!

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

The twin glacier helicopter flight was brilliant, we luckily had a beautiful day, blue skies, great pilot called Richard, very helpful and not a bad photographer either. altogether would recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

The helicopter flight was absolutely fabulous, glaciers were awesome, the guides friendly lovely people. Only draw back was the flight was about an hour late and we were on a tight schedule. You have a gorgeous country, saving dollars to come back again.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight departing Fox Glacier

Peter B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

The helicopter flight was the highlight of our NZ trip. All the staff were fantastic and looked after us well.

Doing what: Fox Glacier and Mount Cook Helicopter Flight

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

We were very lucky, the weather was not great the few days before our helicopter tour of Franz Josef. But on the day the weather was perfect, the helicopter tour was thrilling, the entire experience was a "must do"! Thanks.

Doing what: Franz Josef Neve Discoverer Helicopter Flight

Jason W
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2009

Sensational trip, we had super blue skies and a fantastic trip up and around Mount Cook. The helicopter company also gave us a free upgrade to the 40 Minute trip!

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

Garry B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Our first helicopter flight! My 80 and 82 year old parents were with us and found the experience awesome. It was probably the highlight of our holiday and would recommend it as a must to anyone. Any age can do it!!!

Doing what: Fox Glacier Mountain Scenic Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

We were blessed with the most perfect day imaginable to take our helicopter flight to the top of the Fox Glacier. The sky was a vivid blue and the snow sparkling white. Our flight took us up and over some stunning mountains and glaciers. Our pilot was so friendly and kept us informed as to what we were viewing as he guided the helicopter up to the point where we landed. The flight and the experience of actually walking on a glacier on the most spectacular of days was the HIGHLIGHT of a wonderful ten days we spent travelling around the south island of NZ.

Doing what: Fox Glacier Mountain Scenic Helicopter Flight

Shiam K
Papua New Guinea

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Fantastic view of the ice and the frozen waterfall from the helicopter! It was a quick way to get up to the top of the glacier and run around, kicking and screaming, on the ice. Time on the ice felt too short, but perhaps its because we were having too much fun!

Doing what: Franz Josef Neve Discoverer Helicopter Flight

Marimel A
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2009

The helicopter flight is absolutely a "must do" activity, especially if you have a very limited time in hand. When we arrived in Franz Josef we were told at the reception of the helicopter office that there were only 2 of us doing the helicopter flight, so we were advised to wait for an hour or come back at 4:15. Each flight requires a minimum of 3 passengers. While waiting we drove around town. Unfortunately, no one showed up to do the Franz Josef Neve Helicopter Flight. We were then asked if we wanted to wait until the next day, have a full refund or upgrade to the 30-minute flight as an option and pay extra NZ150 on top of what we already paid. There was no other choice because we travelled so far to enjoy and not spoil our holiday and we had schedule to leave the next day.

Who said money can't buy happiness? We did upgrade, and it was indeed definitely worth doing and we can't think of a better way of celebrating our silver wedding anniversary. It was a truly enjoyable, incredible, amazing and memorable experience.

We love New Zealand, it is a very beautiful country and the locals are very hospitable and warm. We would love to visit again someday with family and friends and enjoy more of it's spectacular and breathtaking sceneries!

Doing what: Franz Josef Neve Discoverer Helicopter Flight

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2009

It was everything and more! The helicopter flight was so smooth I was not at all worried though this was my first helicopter trip. In good NZ words, "AWESOME."

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

This was the first and only caravan park we stayed in on our trip and it was poor cramped cabin really no value for money the weather closed in on us and our helicopter flight was cancelled however we saw enough of the bush walk and beautiful surrounds to make us want to return in better weather. This is the only place that we saw the Kiwi. Here is the best tip I can give travelers after being told that we should be extremely quiet as the Kiwi was shy we entered the dark enclosure where we looked for 15 minutes without seeing a Kiwi I let out a low whistle between the teeth and the two kiwis in the enclosure came running up to the fence where we could get a good look at this inquisitive bird so much for shy.

Doing what: Franz Josef Neve Discoverer Helicopter Flight

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

Fantastic views and informative piolit but we were squashed in like sardines and found it very uncomfortable. We are photographers and barely had space to raise my arms to take photos in the helicopter. I understand the company has to make the most of the fine weather but the amount we paid I would expect a more comfortable experience.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

We went to the Helicopter Office was escorted across the road to the landing pad flew over the glacier and landed stood around for a few minutes the view of the ice was nice and then flew a short flight back, we sat in the back of the helicopter and was disapointed in the view, I like to take photos but they werent much through the windows, overall a bit boring and personally I wish I would of spent the money eleswhere, but you don't know untill you go, it wasn't awful.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2013

Hi
We were seated in the back seat behind the pilot and could hardly get a decent view throughout the flight. I have registered a complaint with your customer care team. Expected a lot more for the price paid! Would only recommend to others if they were able to get a front see in the helicopter.

Doing what: Fox Glacier Mountain Scenic Helicopter Flight

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message