Insider's Guide to Franz Josef & Fox Glacier

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

There are two things which make Franz Josef and Fox glaciers such popular New Zealand attractions. The first is that these rivers of ice spill their way through a rainforest, thereby creating a unique scenario where ice is flanked by trees. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 20 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Having never been in a helicopter and also never seen a glacier this was double the excitement for my wife, our 14 year old son and myself. Amazing scenery, the stop on the mountain was also awesome. The day was beautiful weather which helped but it was the highlight of our trip to the South Island. The only thing that would have made it only a little better would be a slightly longer flight over the mountain and glacier, otherwise fantastic!

Doing what: Franz Josef Neve Discoverer Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

A trip not to be missed! The pilot, Andrew, gave an excellent commentary as well as expertly flying the helicopter to ensure a smooth and stunning trip.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

If they had said it was this good we would not have believed them.
The weather forecast was not good but it turned out a lovely morning (at least when we flew). Enough safety management to give confidence but not boring. We had walked to Fox glacier the day before but it did not prepare us for this amazing flight and landing on the Glacier. Can't think of words good enough to describe the experience of helicopter flight, close views of the mountains and glaciers and a great pilot making it exciting but not frightening. Go and experience it if you think this is an exaggeration.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight departing Fox Glacier

Ravi
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

This trip is one of the most amazing scenic journeys I done in my life. Visiting Fox Glacier terminal itself is beautiful but the helicopter ride to the mountain top gives you a spectacular views which un-fortunately can't see from the bottom.

Doing what: Fox Glacier Neve Discoverer Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Family friendly staff and facilities. The helicopter ride to the glacier and commentary was first class.

Doing what: Fox Glacier and Mount Cook Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

The twin glacier helicopter flight was fantastic, we had a beautiful trip.The pilot was very helpful and very good photographer either. altogether would recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

The helicopter trip was awesome and to stand on the glacier was fabulous. Only criticism is that the reception staff at The Helicopter line were very unhelpful and rude and the pilot's commentary was lack lustre. Apart from that brilliant!

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

The twin glacier helicopter flight was brilliant, we luckily had a beautiful day, blue skies, great pilot called Richard, very helpful and not a bad photographer either. altogether would recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

The helicopter flight was absolutely fabulous, glaciers were awesome, the guides friendly lovely people. Only draw back was the flight was about an hour late and we were on a tight schedule. You have a gorgeous country, saving dollars to come back again.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight departing Fox Glacier

Peter B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

The helicopter flight was the highlight of our NZ trip. All the staff were fantastic and looked after us well.

Doing what: Fox Glacier and Mount Cook Helicopter Flight

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

We were very lucky, the weather was not great the few days before our helicopter tour of Franz Josef. But on the day the weather was perfect, the helicopter tour was thrilling, the entire experience was a "must do"! Thanks.

Doing what: Franz Josef Neve Discoverer Helicopter Flight

Jason W
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2009

Sensational trip, we had super blue skies and a fantastic trip up and around Mount Cook. The helicopter company also gave us a free upgrade to the 40 Minute trip!

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

Garry B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Our first helicopter flight! My 80 and 82 year old parents were with us and found the experience awesome. It was probably the highlight of our holiday and would recommend it as a must to anyone. Any age can do it!!!

Doing what: Fox Glacier Mountain Scenic Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

We were blessed with the most perfect day imaginable to take our helicopter flight to the top of the Fox Glacier. The sky was a vivid blue and the snow sparkling white. Our flight took us up and over some stunning mountains and glaciers. Our pilot was so friendly and kept us informed as to what we were viewing as he guided the helicopter up to the point where we landed. The flight and the experience of actually walking on a glacier on the most spectacular of days was the HIGHLIGHT of a wonderful ten days we spent travelling around the south island of NZ.

Doing what: Fox Glacier Mountain Scenic Helicopter Flight

Shiam K
Papua New Guinea

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Fantastic view of the ice and the frozen waterfall from the helicopter! It was a quick way to get up to the top of the glacier and run around, kicking and screaming, on the ice. Time on the ice felt too short, but perhaps its because we were having too much fun!

Doing what: Franz Josef Neve Discoverer Helicopter Flight

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message