Fraser Island ATTRACTIONS See all

Great Sandy National Park

The Great Sandy National Park is a coastal national park and encompasses both part of mainland Queensland and Fraser Island, the world’s largest sand island. On the mainland. the river stretches from Rainbow Beach to Noosa Heads, its eastern border ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 24 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Claudia F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Don't search any longer! This is your perfect tour! The tour was so much fun, our driver Darrel gave us so much information about the island very competent and he was very, very friendly! It was like become friends in just two days with him.
Very nice accomodation and awesome food local fish in the evening and perfect wraps to self fill the next day.

BIG THANK to Darrel our driver for these two amazing days we will never forget! We're really happy that we did this tour and didn't rent a car by ourself as we first wantet to do. This would have been a big horror this day, because the sea level was so high self driving would have been absolutly not possible.

Doing what: 2-Day Fraser Island 4WD Tour from Noosa or Rainbow Beach

Sarah C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I really enjoyed this tour. It was a full day. I was picked up from my accommodation at 6.15am and returned at 5.15pm. The guide and driver Edward was fantastic. He was very knowledgeable in regards to Fraser Island and its rich Aboriginal history. Fraser Island is so clean and beautiful. Lake McKenzie has to be seen to be believed. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Fraser Island 4WD Tour from Noosa or Rainbow Beach

Kaila R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Nice accommodations, and well commentated tour!

Doing what: 2-Day Fraser Island 4WD Tour from Noosa or Rainbow Beach

Kristine C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This trip was amazing. Our driver/guide was brilliant and funny. He knew exactly where all the important bits where on Fraser Island, even down to certain trees in the forrest. The vehicle that they use is brilliant and far better than the cars you see other trips using. Accomodation was lovely, better than some of the hotels we had stayed in on the main land. highly recommend this to anyone thinking of booking the trip

Doing what: 2-Day Fraser Island 4WD Tour from Noosa or Rainbow Beach

Linda R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Loved this trip Fraser Island is beautiful. Wild Dingoes on the beach and to be able to swim in Lake McKenzie was the icing on the cake.

Doing what: Fraser Island 4WD Tour from Noosa or Rainbow Beach

Hanisah T Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was an amazing experience. We had so much fun. Our vehicle was very comfortable, accommodation was in excellent condition. Everything was great about the trip. This tour company is highly recommended. Friendly and knowledgable tour guide, Edward. Love everything about this trip!

Doing what: 2-Day Fraser Island 4WD Tour from Noosa or Rainbow Beach

Emily B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Absolutely gorgeous!!

Doing what: Fraser Island 4WD Tour from Noosa or Rainbow Beach

Vanja Radisic Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Brilliant! I've done more than a few tours in Australia and Europe, and this was one of my favourites. Darren was a great guide, informative and entertaining, not to mention an excellent driver. Fraser is stunning, and accommodation took us all by surprise - Happy Valley cabins are all wood, comfy beds, and superbly clean. Seeing eagles, dingos, and even whales in a distance was an added bonus. Would do it again in a heartbeat.

Doing what: 2-Day Fraser Island 4WD Tour from Noosa or Rainbow Beach

Janine W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My favourite date of the holiday, Brock did a wonderful job of driving arranging lunch talking us through the history of the place etc. Loved that he stopped for photos at Rainbow Beach near the coloured sands. I'd recommend this trip to everyone!

Doing what: Fraser Island 4WD Tour from Noosa or Rainbow Beach

Sweetie pie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour guide was excellent and very informative. The scenery was outstanding and beautiful. Lunch was very adequate and swim in lake Mckenzie stunning. Would highly recommend this tour but be aware it is a full day, we started at 6.15 and arrived home 6pm but well worth it. Brock our driver and guide for the day was awesome. Christine UK

Doing what: Fraser Island 4WD Tour from Noosa or Rainbow Beach

Mirjam W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

this tour was awesome! it was organized by the organisation discoverygroup; we had the best guide ever! He told us so many intresting things about the island! Then the lunchs were delicious and the sleeprooms quite luxury (for backpackers). I would do it again!

Doing what: 2-Day Fraser Island 4WD Tour from Noosa or Rainbow Beach

Briona M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Driver was very informative and open to suggestions from passengers about what we'd like to see and do. Very good driving, always felt safe. A great mix of nationalities, all very friendly. Modern and clean overnight accommodation. Plenty of food.

Doing what: 2-Day Fraser Island 4WD Tour from Noosa or Rainbow Beach

Monica O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Amazing trip! Price value superb. Guide Super funny. And the greatest highway ever!!!

Doing what: Fraser Island 4WD Tour from Noosa or Rainbow Beach

Justin W Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

It was a big day, but every part was great. The 'Warrior' is comfy, the drive is good. Fraser is something else, sand, rainforest and Lake Mackenzie is unbelievable!!!. The driver was great, friendly and does a great BBQ lunch. Well worth it, you wont regret it

Doing what: Fraser Island 4WD Tour from Noosa or Rainbow Beach

John B New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Stunning trip. Great set up and knowledgable driver. Really need more time on the island but thats not the fault of the company, just the size of the island.

Doing what: Fraser Island 4WD Tour from Noosa or Rainbow Beach

Caroline K

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Amazing 2 Days Tour with a great guid !! Always funny stories to told us : Food was also good and the hotel too. I think two days are enough to visit the Island. I would definitely recommand you this tour :

Doing what: 2-Day Fraser Island 4WD Tour from Noosa or Rainbow Beach

caoimhe23

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Excellent one day trip to fraser island. Lake Mackenzie and Rainbow beach were particular highlights! slightly rushed in one day.

Doing what: Fraser Island 4WD Tour from Noosa or Rainbow Beach

laurshannon Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We really enjoyed our day trip to Fraser Island. Lake Mackenzie was a huge highlight and the food they provided was very tasty. Robert was a great guide and very helpful. Be prepared for a long day of bumpy driving but overall a great trip!

Doing what: Fraser Island 4WD Tour from Noosa or Rainbow Beach

Charlotta B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Nice trip. Unfortunately no dingos..

Doing what: Fraser Island Day Trip from Hervey Bay

Romina S

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

Fraser Island is beautiful and the tour guide was knowledgeable and interesting. As for the tour itself, it is a LOT of hours sitting in a car -- no other way to do it, obviously, but it's not a factor you can easily ignore.
The food provided in no way resembled that described on viator -- the 'traditional Australian BBQ' and range of salads was actually wraps, a few deli cold cuts and some salad veggies, sauces and grated cheese -- pretty disappointing.

Doing what: Fraser Island 4WD Tour from Noosa or Rainbow Beach

Luciana N

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

It was a good trip but the problem was that our car broke and the entire journey we felt a lot hot because there was air conditioner. The car has no windows to open and everybody was felling bad about it.

Doing what: Fraser Island 4WD Tour from Noosa or Rainbow Beach

MR T W K

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

Staying at Rainbow Beach, we were the last to be picked up and so did not join the tour until 8.00am. Consequently, on the way back we were dropped off first (in a different place to the pick up point) and did not get to see the coloured sands with the rest of the group. This, we realised later, was because the bus travels along the entire beach to Noosa. It would have been nice to have been informed of this and perhaps given the option of travelling part way and making our own way back, especially as the tour includes the coloured sands. Having arrived at Rainbow Beach the evening before the tour, we had not had time to familiarise ourselves with the area and so were unaware that we could walk to the sands.
Once on the Island, we were taken to 75 mile beach where we stopped for about 30 minutes to have a mid morning drink and cake. There were good photo opportunities here. It was then, back on the bus to travel to Lake Mackenzie where the group spent an hour at the lake while the tour guide cooked lunch. The lunch provided was substantial. There were three large bowls of cold dishes: garden salad,potato salad and coleslaw and the hot option of your choice. Bread and a selection of cold drinks were also included. Due to the number of groups visiting the lake, we were on a fairly tight time schedule to eat lunch and move on. Needless to say, the lake was fairly busy too. We then travelled to an area where we had a short walk through the bush (about 15 minutes there and back ) before heading back to the ferry and the mainland.
The journey on the Island was an experience in itself as we were bounced about in the vehicle due to the track conditions. If you suffer from travel sickness you may want to seriously consider this point. It was, however, great fun.
On the whole, this isn't the best tour for anyone departing from Rainbow Beach as your tour is four hours shorter than for those travelling from Noosa but the price is the same. A one day trip will inevitably be rushed.

Doing what: Fraser Island 4WD Tour from Noosa or Rainbow Beach

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message