Insider's Guide to Fraser Island

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Fraser Island is the world’s largest sand island, meaning there’s plenty of space for enjoying fun outdoor activities. Start by spending some time at Seventy-Five Mile Beach. Named for its length of 75 miles (121 kilometers), this stretch of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 13 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Justin W
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

It was a big day, but every part was great. The 'Warrior' is comfy, the drive is good. Fraser is something else, sand, rainforest and Lake Mackenzie is unbelievable!!!. The driver was great, friendly and does a great BBQ lunch. Well worth it, you wont regret it

Doing what: Fraser Island 4WD Tour from Noosa or Rainbow Beach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Even through it was raining most of the weekend, Scott and his wife were amazing tour guides. They knew so much about the island, and I felt as if I was being left into their family for those days. Amazing tour, absolutely beautiful island, and great food. Definitely worth the money and time. Hope to be back one day!!!

Doing what: 3-Day Fraser Island 4WD Tour from Brisbane or the Gold Coast

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed this trip . Fraser Island is so beautiful. Mat was very knowledgeable. We would recommend it highly. Excellent value for money.

Doing what: 3-Day Fraser Island 4WD Tour from Brisbane or the Gold Coast

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had good time. The Reef does not require any advertising - just great, but I would like to mention that the guides we had were friendly, funny and full of interesting stories. Thank you Mats and Harry.
A lot of time is spend in coaches but it is just the size of Australia.
Alex and Ania

Doing what: 5-Day Fraser Island and Great Barrier Reef Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Loved frazer island. A must see tour on the gold coast. Matt, our guide, was very knowledgeable about the island and even did an night astronomy star gazing mini class. Good buffet dinner but for price the buffet breakfast should be included. We only got a Continental breakfast included.

Doing what: 2-Day Fraser Island 4WD Tour from Brisbane or the Gold Coast

John B
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Stunning trip. Great set up and knowledgable driver. Really need more time on the island but thats not the fault of the company, just the size of the island.

Doing what: Fraser Island 4WD Tour from Noosa or Rainbow Beach

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We really enjoyed our day trip to Fraser Island. Lake Mackenzie was a huge highlight and the food they provided was very tasty. Robert was a great guide and very helpful. Be prepared for a long day of bumpy driving but overall a great trip!

Doing what: Fraser Island 4WD Tour from Noosa or Rainbow Beach

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Nice trip. Unfortunately no dingos..

Doing what: Fraser Island Day Trip from Hervey Bay

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

tour guide was good and informative but I feel we didn't do as much as we could on the island which is a shame. most other tourist felt this also.

star gazing was great .

Doing what: 2-Day Fraser Island 4WD Tour from Brisbane or the Gold Coast

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Cute, but overpriced for what was provided. The accommodations are basic, buffet dinner, continental breakfast. Our guide Steve was a lot of fun. Picnic lunch was set up on day two for us to make sandwiches. Free time at the lake, so bring a swimsuit. Also, make sure you have sneakers for the rainforest walk. The truck can get very bumpy when driving! It was a great way to see Fraser Island in a short amount of time.

Doing what: 2-Day Fraser Island 4WD Tour from Brisbane or the Gold Coast

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

It was a good trip but the problem was that our car broke and the entire journey we felt a lot hot because there was air conditioner. The car has no windows to open and everybody was felling bad about it.

Doing what: Fraser Island 4WD Tour from Noosa or Rainbow Beach

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

Staying at Rainbow Beach, we were the last to be picked up and so did not join the tour until 8.00am. Consequently, on the way back we were dropped off first (in a different place to the pick up point) and did not get to see the coloured sands with the rest of the group. This, we realised later, was because the bus travels along the entire beach to Noosa. It would have been nice to have been informed of this and perhaps given the option of travelling part way and making our own way back, especially as the tour includes the coloured sands. Having arrived at Rainbow Beach the evening before the tour, we had not had time to familiarise ourselves with the area and so were unaware that we could walk to the sands.
Once on the Island, we were taken to 75 mile beach where we stopped for about 30 minutes to have a mid morning drink and cake. There were good photo opportunities here. It was then, back on the bus to travel to Lake Mackenzie where the group spent an hour at the lake while the tour guide cooked lunch. The lunch provided was substantial. There were three large bowls of cold dishes: garden salad,potato salad and coleslaw and the hot option of your choice. Bread and a selection of cold drinks were also included. Due to the number of groups visiting the lake, we were on a fairly tight time schedule to eat lunch and move on. Needless to say, the lake was fairly busy too. We then travelled to an area where we had a short walk through the bush (about 15 minutes there and back ) before heading back to the ferry and the mainland.
The journey on the Island was an experience in itself as we were bounced about in the vehicle due to the track conditions. If you suffer from travel sickness you may want to seriously consider this point. It was, however, great fun.
On the whole, this isn't the best tour for anyone departing from Rainbow Beach as your tour is four hours shorter than for those travelling from Noosa but the price is the same. A one day trip will inevitably be rushed.

Doing what: Fraser Island 4WD Tour from Noosa or Rainbow Beach

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message