Freeport ATTRACTIONS See all

Lucayan National Park

This incredible 40-acre park has some of the most spectacular secluded beaches in all of the Bahamas. Filled with mangrove, pine, and palm trees, Lucayan National Park features incredible plants in bloom as well as a plethora of waterbirds and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 22 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The tour was very organized and our driver Biggie told us about the Bahamas and was interesting and informative. As soon as we step of the cruise, we were able to find the tour company and they lead us to our van. The van was pretty new and with AC. Biggie kept us in time to make sure we will return to port. The only thing I would have prefer to spend the time on the beach than looking at the caves. They were not interesting and only 2 of the them. The beach is beautiful, very shallow and gentle waves. It felt rushed just to have 1 hour there. After that, we stopped at a restaurant on the beach for another break. We ate and walk around the shore as well.

Doing what: Bahamas East End and Lucayan National Park Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We really enjoyed this tour with Shamie! He was very knowledgeable about the ecosystems in lucayan national park .We really enjoyed snorkeling in Owls Hole! His snorkeling equipment was top notch and he took us to a great place on the beach for lunch! Would highly recommend the tour operators!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

Dear Viator....I have used you in Europe in 2012 and had a wonderful super time...This time I booked your Bahamas East End
and Lucayan National Park Tour.....Really nice of the company to pick me up at my hotel...I really enjoyed seeing the east end of the island....The trip to Lucayan National Park was really enjoyable , but nothing to shout about ....The "caves" were interesting but nothing out of the ordinary ...They in realty were old sink holes that were full of debris and water...I thought from the description of the tour we would have a guide...To my knowledge we did not have a guide leading us into the "caves"...We had someone I thought was the guide, but the only thing he did was make sure we made it to the coach....He did not give us a running information tour....Across the beach the board walk to Gold Beach was much more interesting ....It ran through a mangrove swamp which was very interesting...We even had a masked beggar come out (a raccoon) ....The beach was really beautiful , but no guide to give us the facts....Wish the beach time was longer ....On the way back we stopped at Banana Bay for lunch...very good place with a million dollar view...Garden of the Groves was next door and I found out later that most all the tour groups stop there...I did not understand why we did not stop there...I would have paid for a full day if we had gone to the Garden off the Groves...Overall it was an enjoyable tour , but nothing to shout about .....

Doing what: Bahamas East End and Lucayan National Park Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

The driver was totally uninterested in making our day enjoyable. He was in a hurry just to close the work day. Next time I'll just pay a taxi driver to drive me there and back.

Doing what: Bahamas East End and Lucayan National Park Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

The tour itself was excellent, however, the Company forgot to pick us up. I had confirmed the day before with the Company agent who has a desk at the Grand Lucayan Hotel. I heard her call the main office and tell them the three of us were going on the tour. She told us to be at the front of the hotel 10 minutes before 10:00. We were there at 9:45. At 20 minutes to 11:00 the bell captain called there office and they sent another small bus to pick us up and we met the tour en route to the caves. The caves were good, but the beaches were spectacular!!

Doing what: Bahamas East End and Lucayan National Park Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

Everything was unorganized . We didn't see any exotic birds or animal. The whole trip was a failure

Doing what: Bahamas East End and Lucayan National Park Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tour is awesome . We learned a lot .Biggie was an excellent instructor and driver. He told us about the island and the history of the island. Its worthy the $50. the beaches are clear blue . You visit 2 beaches and 2 caves . Beautiful sight.

Doing what: Bahamas East End and Lucayan National Park Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2014

Was waiting for the bus/tour guide for almost an hour. Departure was scheduled at 10 am but we actually departed 10:30 from the port and then we had to go pick up some guests at the hotel. Please note that one can actually purchase this tour from the port for half the price which was what the guests at the hotel did.

The last part of our tour had to be cut short because of the late departure. We only had half an hour to go around the Port Lucaya marketplace. Half an hour! That's impossible.

Doing what: Bahamas East End and Lucayan National Park Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Kevin, the tour guide and driver was fantastic. He was funny and interesting. We got a good over view of Freeport. The Lucayan park beach was the best. It was soooooo clear and white sand. The walk around the park was very relaxing. I would take this tour again and highly recommend that anyone who is out doorsy take this tour.

Doing what: Bahamas East End and Lucayan National Park Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

It was great! We really enjoyed the gold rocks beach!

Doing what: Bahamas East End and Lucayan National Park Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Very Educational Biggie was the best and the staff at Forbes H Charter knew their stuff. We left knowing a lot more about the island of Grand Bahama and the city of Freeport.

Doing what: Bahamas East End and Lucayan National Park Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2012

This tour was incredibly disappointing. The tour guide didn't appear to know very much about the area and would simply read off the plaques as we walked by them. I have heard that the beach area is really beautiful, however we were taken there at high tide when only a small strip of beach was visible. The water was also very murky; leaving the large group of tourists that were there with us to bob in the water while waiting for the tour to end.
The restaurant that we were taken to was good; however we arrived with a caravan of 3 buses so seating was difficult to find and the food took forever to arrive. Overall, this tour was a waste of time. We felt like we were on a factory conveyor belt; being moved from one overly crowded area to the next with the rest of the herd.

Doing what: Bahamas East End and Lucayan National Park Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2012

The tour guide "Biggie" was fantastic! Very knowledgable and funny too! The caves were small and not that interesting but the beach was gorgeous. I really enjoyed learning about the history of the island and the restaurant was great as well. Overall, the tour was interesting and I am glad that I booked it. My one regret is that i didn't bring my bathing suit. There is a bathroom to change your clothes at the park.

Doing what: Bahamas East End and Lucayan National Park Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Awesome tour and the most amazing beach I have ever seen. Tour guide was very knowledgeable. Only downsides were the bus was over an hour late to the hotel (not unusual for the Bahamas though) and none of the entrance fees to the park and lunch costs were not included in the tour but it appeared when you purchased the tickets that they were so be prepared to bring extra cash for sure. Loved it and can't wait to go back!

Doing what: Bahamas East End and Lucayan National Park Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message