When you hear a wine name like Châteauneuf-du-Pape, you probably think of how you've seen that on a label in your local wine store. But what many people forget is that like Bordeaux, Champagne, and Burgundy, Châteauneuf-du-Pape is an ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 119 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

JEB
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Every tour is about the guide. Julien was a superstar. He is a native of Avignon and could answer all our questions. Since we had just arrived the night before, he filled us in on the history as we drove to our first winery. It was just Julien and the 2 of us in the AM which was delightful. In the afternoon, our van was full...Julien 8. Still we had a wonderful time, and know it would not have been the same without Julien. He gets 5 stars. The wines were lovely...we were taught how to properly taste, and we learned a lot about the wonderful grapes and blends of the region. Do it!

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Ventoux and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a highlight of our trip to France. Carole was an amazing guide! She is really an historian, not simply a guide - add knowledge to great driving skills. We would HIGHLY recommend this trip!

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our guide,Julien, was friendly, knowledgeable and very professional. We enjoyed learning about terroir, the history as well as the wine tastings themselves. It was a great afternoon and we would recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Loved it. Driver was very informative. Stopped many times so we could take pictures of the beautiful countryside. Wineries we visited were friendly and we loved the rose at Tavel. Would recommend this tour to wine lovers.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was awesome - visited some amazing places that are not easily accessible without a car and the guided tour of the winery was great.
Our tour guide Caroline was very informative, enthusiastic and warm, and used a lot of her own experiences and knowledge to make it very interesting. Do it!

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide, Julien, was very informed about wines, and entertaining as well. Our time together was both educational and entertaining.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The afternoon vineyard tour to Tavel and Chateauneuf du Pape was excellent. The tour guide was knowledgeable, friendly and helpful, and the tastings were superb. I would recommend this to anyone visiting Avignon. My only regret was not buying any Tavel or Lirac.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a tour guide by the name of elody (spell). She was the best. Can't say enough about how good she was. She knew her stuff from history to wine.
Best guide ever. Bob Hewitt, Ketchikan, Alaska.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Ventoux and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Anne was WONDERFUL. We had a fabulous time with some of the best wine in the world and we learned a lot! Totally worth it...we wish we did the full day tour!

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

Lyle B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very good tour. Had time to buy lunch but having something at a nice winery would have been fun,
Very comprehensive tour though.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a wonderful day - lots of driving in a mini van but we visited wonderful picturesque locations. It was also the first wine tour I've ever done where a sommelier instructed you on how to drink and taste wine properly. The guide was very accommodating and knowledgeable. I do think that it would be advisable to build in an opportunity to eat lunch at one of the many quaint little restaurants in Rousillon rather than trying to grab something on the run. Because we travelled so far, it sometimes felt like we had to dash into a village and then dash back to be on time to board the van. The Pont du Gard was awe inspiring! So glad I saw it. Some time could have been taken away from the visit to the amphitheatre in Orange to allow more time in other locations. The amphitheatre is wonderful but it was a fairly lengthy stop because we followed the audio tape. If the guide did the tour herself, this might expedite things somewhat. Loved this tour however as it took you to places that are difficult to reach on your own and yet are considered some of the most beautiful villages in France.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Unbelievable all day tour of Provence. Saw so many wonderful sights in a comfortable, air-conditioned van with 6 other people. Our driver was knowledgeable and personable. A great trip!

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a great tour and included more than I anticipated. The towns and sights were interesting and gorgeous. The guide was informative and dropped us off at the entrances to limit the amount of walking and time. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Loved this tour
Our guide Julien was vey knowledgable and made the tour even better than expected
The wines were superb and the knowledge gained was invaluable
This is a must do tour

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great guide, very helpful and knowledgeable about the area and wine!

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

S and D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent tour with highly personalised service touring interesting, well preserved and restored historical sites from Roman times as well as an enjoyable wine tasting experience.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was a wonderful tour! Our guide picked us up at our hotel and for this tour, it turned out, it was only the two of us and one other person. Our guide, Caroline, was very personable, knowledgeable and enjoyable. She also provided a mini-tour of Avignon as we headed out of town toward the wine country. We first went to a Tavel winery which specializes in Rose wines. We tasted three different wines - a white, a red, and a Rose. All were wonderful. The winery guide provided a lot of interesting information about the Cote-du-Rhone wine region. Very informative. After this visit, we headed to Chateauneuf-du-Pape where we went to another winery. At this winery we received a tour of the winery and the various wine aging areas. After the tour, we tasted 4 or 5 different wines - one white and the rest reds. Also very wonderful. Our winery tour guide was very entertaining and lots of fun. All in all a very enjoyable and worthwhile afternoon. I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We took this tour in September and had the best guide - Vanessa! She was so personable and fun! She was very well versed on everything we saw and did over the whole 10 1/2 hours. I was with my mom and sister and we all loved this tour and can't recommend this tour and Vanessa highly enough!!

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Mike C
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This trip was cancelled, but instead we went to 2 wineries in Chateauneuf-du-Pape, which was very enjoyable

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a very enjoyable trip, lots of variety and heaps to see and do. Solene, our tour guide, was great and helped to make the day interesting and enjoyable

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour guide was the reason for the 5 stars. I certainly enjoyed the sites, but the helpfulness of the leader made it more than worthwhile

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

A fantastic tour of the Southern Cote du Rhone area near Avignon. The guide was very knowledgeable about wine, the region, the local vintners - what's not to like. If you like wine - and want to learn a lot about French winemaking - don't miss this tour!!

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Extremely nice tour. Tour guide was wonderful and very knowledgeable. We would recommend this tour to anyone. Thanks

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Delightful day - Julian was personable, knowledgable and well versed. Our morning wine tasting was exclusive to the three of us and was simply wonderful.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Ventoux and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Enjoy the trip.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message