When you hear a wine name like Châteauneuf-du-Pape, you probably think of how you've seen that on a label in your local wine store. But what many people forget is that like Bordeaux, Champagne, and Burgundy, Châteauneuf-du-Pape is an ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 13 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The afternoon vineyard tour to Tavel and Chateauneuf du Pape was excellent. The tour guide was knowledgeable, friendly and helpful, and the tastings were superb. I would recommend this to anyone visiting Avignon. My only regret was not buying any Tavel or Lirac.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a tour guide by the name of elody (spell). She was the best. Can't say enough about how good she was. She knew her stuff from history to wine.
Best guide ever. Bob Hewitt, Ketchikan, Alaska.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Ventoux and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Anne was WONDERFUL. We had a fabulous time with some of the best wine in the world and we learned a lot! Totally worth it...we wish we did the full day tour!

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Loved this tour
Our guide Julien was vey knowledgable and made the tour even better than expected
The wines were superb and the knowledge gained was invaluable
This is a must do tour

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great guide, very helpful and knowledgeable about the area and wine!

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was a wonderful tour! Our guide picked us up at our hotel and for this tour, it turned out, it was only the two of us and one other person. Our guide, Caroline, was very personable, knowledgeable and enjoyable. She also provided a mini-tour of Avignon as we headed out of town toward the wine country. We first went to a Tavel winery which specializes in Rose wines. We tasted three different wines - a white, a red, and a Rose. All were wonderful. The winery guide provided a lot of interesting information about the Cote-du-Rhone wine region. Very informative. After this visit, we headed to Chateauneuf-du-Pape where we went to another winery. At this winery we received a tour of the winery and the various wine aging areas. After the tour, we tasted 4 or 5 different wines - one white and the rest reds. Also very wonderful. Our winery tour guide was very entertaining and lots of fun. All in all a very enjoyable and worthwhile afternoon. I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

Mike C
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This trip was cancelled, but instead we went to 2 wineries in Chateauneuf-du-Pape, which was very enjoyable

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

A fantastic tour of the Southern Cote du Rhone area near Avignon. The guide was very knowledgeable about wine, the region, the local vintners - what's not to like. If you like wine - and want to learn a lot about French winemaking - don't miss this tour!!

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Delightful day - Julian was personable, knowledgable and well versed. Our morning wine tasting was exclusive to the three of us and was simply wonderful.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Ventoux and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

julien was a fantasic guide, teaching us lots abouttheregion,and most importantly, the wine! His English was very good and he was very knowledgeable and a great sense of humor. He went above and beyond to ensure our needs were met...especially finding a suitable toilette! We loved the 3 wine tastings and the variety of rose and white and red was also appreciated. Had a lot of fun and would highly recommend it!!

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This tour was fantastic! Julien, our tour guide, was very knowledgeable and personable. Since he grew up in Avignon, we left feeling like we got the "insiders" tour of this great wine region. We could not have been more pleased with this tour. It exceeded out expectations.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This wasn't actually the trip we went on as we were asked if we minded changing our date to the next day. This wasn't a problem for us and we went to Orange and Chateauneuf-du-Pape instead. Our tour guide Anna was prompt and very informative. Orange was lovely, well worth a visit.The wine tasting was a good experience. We thought it was good value for money.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

The tour guide was very accommodating We visited 2 wineries and a wine museum and had independent time to visit chateau neuf and walk around. the guide was pleasant but she was not vety knowledgeable but adequate for those who are beginning to learn about wine or who want to enjoiy the scenery

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message