So varied is the native wildlife of Ecuador’s Galapagos Islands that it inspired Charles Darwin’s Theory of Natural Selection and the 19 main islands and numerous smaller isles present a unique microcosm of the world’s spectacularly diverse ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 18 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I really enjoyed it. Most of the time when people say things like "oh the rare so and so lives in these parts and if your lucky you may see it." I take little notice of it as I assume I will not see it... In the Galapagos someone will say that and when you arrive you see 12 of them immediately.

Doing what: Galapagos Islands Explorer Package from Santa Cruz Island

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Not a moment was wasted! We saw so much wildlife! Great hotel too! kNOWLEDGEABLE guiides.

Doing what: Galapagos Islands Explorer Package from Santa Cruz Island

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Very nice trip indeed! We got to see flora and fauna that I have never seen before. The guides were informative and friendly. Both Spanish and English were spoken fluently.

Doing what: Tortuga Bay Tour and Yacht Cruise to La Loberia Island

CTJodi
Greece

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

Well worth it! Why? Title is misleading. There is a 3 hour tour of Tortuga Bay, then a 2 hour lunch break, then another 3 hour cruise (with snorkeling and mask provided free) followed by another beach tour. On the downside, because I misunderstood, I showed up in a bathing suit and coverup at start of trip! ARGH! Highly frowned on, but I honestly thought the entire thing was a 1/2 day boat tour of both Tortuga Bay and La Loberia! So wear tee shirt, shorts and good hiking shoes for first round of trip (which also includes a refreshing swim in Tortuga Bay, so make sure you wear your bathing suit under your hiking clothes), then enjoy lunch and get ready for a great time in the afternoon. The staff was SUPERB! They do speak English but most of your tour mates will speak Spanish, the primary language of the guides. It is worth studying Spanish for a couple of months just to understand and communicate with your tour guides and tour mates. I HIGHLY recommend this! Had no clue I would get this kind of value for my money! Hotel pickup fast and easy; Eduardo in Quito confirmed and doubled confirmed my hotel pickup. There is, however, no "drop off" but guess what? Puerto Ayora is only about 1/4 square miles, so walking back from the main docks (directly across from the only real grocery store) to your flat or hotel is easy as punch. There's no such thing as getting lost in Puerto Ayora. This tour was a great and FULL day of fun and adventure!

Doing what: Tortuga Bay Tour and Yacht Cruise to La Loberia Island

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

value for money! good guides! and good lunches!

Doing what: Galapagos Islands Explorer Package from Santa Cruz Island

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

value for money! good guides! and good lunches!

Doing what: Galapagos Islands Explorer Package from Santa Cruz Island

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Amazing way to see a lot of the Galápagos Islands, but you actually can't choose the islands as it says in the itinerary, it's what's available at that day, plus everyday is with different guides

Doing what: Galapagos Islands Explorer Package from Santa Cruz Island

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

I had a great time and Viator really takes care of you! I booked the trip about 6 weeks in advance for the week of Christmas and while I couldn't go on a yacht tour, Viator got me a land-based tour (staying in a hotel) and taking boats out to the islands. Everything was well taken care of including someone with my name on a card upon arrival to the airport. The guides were great, I met great people and the wildlife viewing was amazing. I saw the giant tortoises each day, snorkeled and swam with sea turtles two of the days, saw booby birds up close, tons of iguanas, etc. It was great! The hotel was nice and included breakfast, probably a 3.5 star quality and a block from Charles Darwin Avenue, a cute touristy town. I'd recommend Viator! The only downside was the 2 hour speedboats to the other islands. Luckily I didn't get sick but others on the boat did. It's a rough ride, so just be aware of that. All in all, a great trip! Thanks, Viator!

Doing what: Galapagos Islands Explorer Package from Santa Cruz Island

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

This was a great way to see the Santa Cruz and North Seymour Islands while staying in Puerto Ayora. Seeing the land tortoises and the Charles Darwin Center the first day started the trip perfectly. The yacht was very nice but had some mechanical issues during our tour of Santa Cruz island. Snorkeling is offered each day but if your not a standard size mask, bring your own with you. We were able to see sharks, sea turtles and plenty of fish in the water in addition to seeing marine and land iguanas, blue-footed boobies and frigate birds on North Seymour Island. The water was cold but manageable for a hour or less without a wetsuit. We stayed at the Red Booby hotel, which was adequate but in a great location. We were given two coupons for local restaurants by Grey Line Ecuador, The Rock and Il Giardino in Puerto Ayora, and tried them both. We did not like The Rock at all but really enjoyed Il Giardino. All of the guides were very knowledgeable and the group tours were given first in Spanish then in English.

Doing what: Galapagos Islands Explorer Package from Santa Cruz Island

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

This tour was amazing. The Galapagos are stunningly beautiful, and I regret that I couldn't stay longer. We were there during mating season for the Blue-Footed Booby, and saw the males dance up close and personal. It does not get better than that. The Grey Line Ecuador team were friendly and knowledgeable, and the Red Booby Hotel was simple, but neat and clean. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is thinking of making the trip.

Doing what: Galapagos Islands Explorer Package from Santa Cruz Island

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

excellent accommodation, and informative guides

Doing what: Galapagos Islands Explorer Package from Santa Cruz Island

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

We loved it with the exception of trip to Isabella. It s/b booked for only for seaworthy travellers. Also, the itinerary in English would be better for English Speaking travellers.

Doing what: Galapagos Islands Explorer Package from Santa Cruz Island

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

nicely paced trip, saw some great location, guides were knowledgeable and helpful

Doing what: Galapagos Islands Explorer Package from Santa Cruz Island

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2013

We enjoyed the Galapagos and met many wonderful people from South America. The unique animals were very special. If we had it to do over I would choose to stay on a boat rather than return to a hotel each afternoon. There was too much time spent going from hotel to an island and then back again.

Doing what: Galapagos Islands Explorer Package from Santa Cruz Island

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message