So varied is the native wildlife of Ecuador’s Galapagos Islands that it inspired Charles Darwin’s Theory of Natural Selection and the 19 main islands and numerous smaller isles present a unique microcosm of the world’s spectacularly diverse ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 24 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I couldn't recommend this trip more! From start to finish it was a massive surprise, hotel Flamingo was great, all daily trips we had arranged were amazing, specially trip to Santa Cruise island were we snorkeled with sea lions and turtles. If I could go back there tmw I woul!

Doing what: Galapagos Islands Explorer Package from Santa Cruz Island

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I really enjoyed it. Most of the time when people say things like "oh the rare so and so lives in these parts and if your lucky you may see it." I take little notice of it as I assume I will not see it... In the Galapagos someone will say that and when you arrive you see 12 of them immediately.

Doing what: Galapagos Islands Explorer Package from Santa Cruz Island

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Not a moment was wasted! We saw so much wildlife! Great hotel too! kNOWLEDGEABLE guiides.

Doing what: Galapagos Islands Explorer Package from Santa Cruz Island

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Very nice trip indeed! We got to see flora and fauna that I have never seen before. The guides were informative and friendly. Both Spanish and English were spoken fluently.

Doing what: Tortuga Bay Tour and Yacht Cruise to La Loberia Island

CTJodi
Greece

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

Well worth it! Why? Title is misleading. There is a 3 hour tour of Tortuga Bay, then a 2 hour lunch break, then another 3 hour cruise (with snorkeling and mask provided free) followed by another beach tour. On the downside, because I misunderstood, I showed up in a bathing suit and coverup at start of trip! ARGH! Highly frowned on, but I honestly thought the entire thing was a 1/2 day boat tour of both Tortuga Bay and La Loberia! So wear tee shirt, shorts and good hiking shoes for first round of trip (which also includes a refreshing swim in Tortuga Bay, so make sure you wear your bathing suit under your hiking clothes), then enjoy lunch and get ready for a great time in the afternoon. The staff was SUPERB! They do speak English but most of your tour mates will speak Spanish, the primary language of the guides. It is worth studying Spanish for a couple of months just to understand and communicate with your tour guides and tour mates. I HIGHLY recommend this! Had no clue I would get this kind of value for my money! Hotel pickup fast and easy; Eduardo in Quito confirmed and doubled confirmed my hotel pickup. There is, however, no "drop off" but guess what? Puerto Ayora is only about 1/4 square miles, so walking back from the main docks (directly across from the only real grocery store) to your flat or hotel is easy as punch. There's no such thing as getting lost in Puerto Ayora. This tour was a great and FULL day of fun and adventure!

Doing what: Tortuga Bay Tour and Yacht Cruise to La Loberia Island

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Enjoyable trip, hotel accommodation was good, guides were very helpful and spoke good English, between snorkelling, swimming with the sea lions, short bushwalking trips, giant tortoises, marine and land iguanas and of course blue - footed boobies was a great experience.

Doing what: Galapagos Islands Explorer Package from Santa Cruz Island

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

value for money! good guides! and good lunches!

Doing what: Galapagos Islands Explorer Package from Santa Cruz Island

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

value for money! good guides! and good lunches!

Doing what: Galapagos Islands Explorer Package from Santa Cruz Island

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Amazing way to see a lot of the Galápagos Islands, but you actually can't choose the islands as it says in the itinerary, it's what's available at that day, plus everyday is with different guides

Doing what: Galapagos Islands Explorer Package from Santa Cruz Island

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

I had a great time and Viator really takes care of you! I booked the trip about 6 weeks in advance for the week of Christmas and while I couldn't go on a yacht tour, Viator got me a land-based tour (staying in a hotel) and taking boats out to the islands. Everything was well taken care of including someone with my name on a card upon arrival to the airport. The guides were great, I met great people and the wildlife viewing was amazing. I saw the giant tortoises each day, snorkeled and swam with sea turtles two of the days, saw booby birds up close, tons of iguanas, etc. It was great! The hotel was nice and included breakfast, probably a 3.5 star quality and a block from Charles Darwin Avenue, a cute touristy town. I'd recommend Viator! The only downside was the 2 hour speedboats to the other islands. Luckily I didn't get sick but others on the boat did. It's a rough ride, so just be aware of that. All in all, a great trip! Thanks, Viator!

Doing what: Galapagos Islands Explorer Package from Santa Cruz Island

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

This tour was amazing. The Galapagos are stunningly beautiful, and I regret that I couldn't stay longer. We were there during mating season for the Blue-Footed Booby, and saw the males dance up close and personal. It does not get better than that. The Grey Line Ecuador team were friendly and knowledgeable, and the Red Booby Hotel was simple, but neat and clean. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is thinking of making the trip.

Doing what: Galapagos Islands Explorer Package from Santa Cruz Island

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

excellent accommodation, and informative guides

Doing what: Galapagos Islands Explorer Package from Santa Cruz Island

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

We loved it with the exception of trip to Isabella. It s/b booked for only for seaworthy travellers. Also, the itinerary in English would be better for English Speaking travellers.

Doing what: Galapagos Islands Explorer Package from Santa Cruz Island

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

nicely paced trip, saw some great location, guides were knowledgeable and helpful

Doing what: Galapagos Islands Explorer Package from Santa Cruz Island

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2013

We enjoyed the Galapagos and met many wonderful people from South America. The unique animals were very special. If we had it to do over I would choose to stay on a boat rather than return to a hotel each afternoon. There was too much time spent going from hotel to an island and then back again.

Doing what: Galapagos Islands Explorer Package from Santa Cruz Island

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2013

Yacht was smaller than expected.Some of the tours were repeation though on different islands.Creatures were same.we could have skipped 1-2 days of 5day tour.Hotel was below standard.Guides were well informed.Pick up drop off was punctual.

Doing what: Galapagos Islands Explorer Package from Santa Cruz Island

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

We were disappointed as we did not see many animals.

Doing what: Galapagos Islands Explorer Package from Santa Cruz Island

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

On half of our tours the guides didn't speak wery good english. One one trip we was walking 2,5 km with a group of wery old people at 12 o'clock where the sun was wery hot, hmmm.

Doing what: Galapagos Islands Explorer Package from Santa Cruz Island

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

The tour included the visit of Isabella island they cancelled that tour. I do not trust what I bought is not real. When we arrived with my husband at the airport in Baltra we felt we were in abandon because nobody came to receive us we had to wait for over an hour until met the tour guide!

Doing what: Galapagos Islands Explorer Package from Santa Cruz Island

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

We sorely missed having an English speaking guide as we were promised. The guide gave us the wrong time for the second part of the tour ( or our translation was in error) which caused us to miss the yacht cruise entirely. We also had difficulty contacting the company (mostly due to holiday hours) so we unsure when to be ready to go in the morning. Loved the hike, the bay and especially the blue-footed boobies. A better explanation of what to expect would have been helpful.

Doing what: Tortuga Bay Tour and Yacht Cruise to La Loberia Island

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

I cannot believe Viator would permit the local tour operator to offer this tour as a "yacht" excursion. Perhaps others were fortunate enough to partake of the tour on a yacht, but my daughter and I were not so lucky. Where the description of this excursion states the vessel will be a yacht, the vessel used in our trip was a single-deck, single out-board engine transporter, equipped with no bathroom, and with a posted passenger limit of 16 (similar in build to the water taxis used in the harbor at Puerto Ayora). The guide spoke some English, but directed most of his commentary to the 14 or so passengers who spoke Spanish. I grew increasingly nervous when I saw the behavior of the boat's captain, who clowned around, standing on the outboard engine, joking and entertaining the crowd in Spanish, while operating the boat.

In addition, I don't know how our guide expected us to sustain a four-hour trip without restroom facilities - so I suspect he planned on allowing those passengers who wanted to snorkel to go to the bathroom while they were swimming. That was not a viable solution for the four of us who chose not to swim.

I am also concerned that the captain set off with 18 passengers, in a boat that was marked with a capacity for 16 passengers. This excursion fell far below what I have come to expect from Viator. If nothing else, the title of this excursion should be changed to reflect that no yacht is involved.

Doing what: Tortuga Bay Tour and Yacht Cruise to La Loberia Island

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2013

Extremely disappointing experience. This is an overpriced tourist trap. We booked this cruise based upon a previous review and Viator's reputation. Our " Yachi" turned out to be a wobbly modified water taxi or an old speed boat, whichever comes first. Our snorkling experience lasted 15 minutes and on our way back, about 1000 yards from the shore, engine was cut and our guide pulled out a satisfaction survey which one of the other passangers filled with a chuckle. Whole process had an effect of a "shotgun wedding" and was extremely inappropriate. We were dropped off at the docks around 12:30PM and were told we would be picked up back at 2PM for a trip to Tortuga Bay. At that time we boarded a bus and five minutes later we were at the entrance to a walkway which leads to Tortuga Bay. It's about a 40 minutes walk but at the end we found ourselves on one of the most beautiful and pristine beaches anywhere. We stayed for a couple of hours and walked back bypassing our tour bus.

Doing what: Tortuga Bay Tour and Yacht Cruise to La Loberia Island

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message