• USD ($)
  • English
Insider's Guide to Galway

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Galway ATTRACTIONS See all

Kylemore Abbey and Gardens

Tucked in the shadows of the mighty Seven Pins Mountain range, Kylemore Abbey cuts a striking figure against its majestic backdrop. A Benedictine monastery founded in 1853, the Abbey took seven years to build and remains in use today as an all ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 79 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Kylemore Abbey is beautiful, you have to see it. Galway is a fun city with lots of shopping and music. The best part of the tour was watching the sheep herding and bogging. Tour guide Bud is the sweetest person you'll ever meet. This was the best tour of my vacation to Ireland.

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Thanks to Laura Gunning (Extreme Ireland), this trip was the highlight of our 10 days in Ireland! My husband and I traveled w/my 79yo mom and Laura paid special attention to her, took her under her wing when mom couldn't join us for things. Because we were there in Feb, the river cruise was out, but lucky us…the trip to sheep farm was ON! We hiked down to bog, saw sheepherding demo, and got to hold and feed baby lambs. We'll never forget it. Stops were well planned and we saw SO MUCH!! Highly recommend this tour. You might want to make sure "Extreme Ireland" is the tour co. that takes you…and ask for Laura! It was a memory-making trip for us.

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Good guide and driver .

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Very short and very sweet tour. Good for someone who do not have much time but would like to see the natural beauty of Irish countryside. Big thanks to our tour guide Gab - he did very good job telling jokes and many interesting stories!!!

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

I prefer to drive and tour in our car, however, this was definitely the best way to see Connemara from Galway.
I could not possibly have seen the wonderful sights in both Galway and Mayo that I saw from our comfortable coach- even if it rained at times!
The main difference from doing your own thing is to have a very experienced, amusing and extremely knowledgeable driver/guide such as Michael O'Malley! How he negotiated some of these narrow roads was amazing as the attached photos show.
We were worried that an 8 hour trip would be too much but actually time flew by and I did not fall asleep once.
Great value for money!

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Connemara is beautiful with the two lakes and the Monastic site. Boat trip of Killarey Harbor was beautiful. Galway City was a fun, hip little village, beautiful park. Wish we had just a bit more time there though to see more of the city instead of just the main drag. Great tour guide!

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

An absolutely breathtaking, beautiful tour. Don't miss this picture book destination! Thank you!!!

Doing what: Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Provides a great opportunity to see countryside. The bonus of stopping to see Quiet Man town and bridge was a nice bonus.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We had a very knowledgeable and informative tour guide (Niall) and enjoyed the trip very much. We had a great group of diverse people and the Irish scenery is amazing. I travel to Ireland frequently for business but always try to go somewhere different each time. This is a fabulous way to tour. Thank you

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We really enjoyed our trip. We originally took the trip to see Cong, the village where The Quiet Man was filmed but truly enjoyed the countryside and Kylemore Abbey. Ross Errilly Friary was an amazing stop for atmospheric photography. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

We had a great tour guide. He gave us so much of the history of Ireland and each area we went through. We thoroughly enjoyed it and the area is beautiful. We were not as much thrilled with the boat trip. More of a repeat of what we had already seen and heard about on the bus tour and it was terribly crowded.

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

So great - loved the sheep dog show - best part of the trip! In addition to watching the skills of the dog, we were able to try our hand at cutting sod. I felt like I was a real Irish-woman! Wonderful wonderful trip and our guide Kevin was fantastic!! Thanks!!!

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

We left Dubln in the early hours by bus. It was a great trip seeing the countryside, and the quiet towns and villages. Damien was a great tour guide. He had many interesting facts and stories to share about the areas. The Pub we stopped at for lunch was excellent. Best Fish and Chips we ever had. The cruise was very nice, the the Abbey stop was so peaceful. The only suggestion I have is to eat before getting to the boat. Their meal selection was very limited. The food they offered was good though.I would recommend this trip to anyone who wants to see the real Ireland and breath in the culture of the land. Try to get Damian as your tour guide, you will learn a lot about Ireland's history, present and future plans. He has great stories to keep you entertained.

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

All aspects of the trip were marvellous. A great day out in beautiful Ireland.

Doing what: Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

A unique and really unforgettable experience!!! Really wish to stay there... Well done to the tour leader and even to Liam the train assistant who was such an interesting person to meet being so informative and nice!!

Doing what: Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message