Galway ATTRACTIONS See all

Kylemore Abbey and Gardens

Tucked in the shadows of the mighty Seven Pins Mountain range, Kylemore Abbey cuts a striking figure against its majestic backdrop. A Benedictine monastery founded in 1853, the Abbey took seven years to build and remains in use today as an all ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 133 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kim L Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a fun tour. We were on the bus a lot, but that is because you need to travel a long distance. The Connemara was amazing and beautiful. As part of the tour, there was a sheep roundup demonstration, which was amazing being on the side of a mountain, with the lake down the bottom and spectacular mountains all around and a sheep dog in the distance being told directions with whistles and calls in the distance. We then proceeded onto the Abbey for lunch, which was great, I just wish we had a little more time there to explore the grounds. Galway was fun, but not enough time to see things.

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

Cate M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The tour was great. The scenery spectacular. Paul was very knowledgeable and a great guide. Only downside was the pouring rain at the abbey

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Juanita S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent way to see the country side and Kylemore Abbey if you do not have a car. Scenery was beautiful. Very good tour.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Tracey h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

we all really enjoyed this tour Mick Dee our driver was brilliant and very entertaining. We got some beautiful photos and would go on a tour again thanks for a great day

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Cynthia O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had the best time. Don't know the name of our driver, but he was funny as well as very informative about the sites we visited. Great trip. Glad we did it!

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

hargrove.laura

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Michael Rooney was an excellent, kind, and generous tour guide. His stories were funny, insightful and very interesting. I would recommend this tour to anyone. It's really the best way to enjoy the West Coast of Ireland.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Billy A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic day trip! One of the best we experienced during our visit to Irland. Our driver Michael with his witty personality made the day all the more fun. I highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Larisa R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Easy pace your, with good driver/guide, and scenic Connemara.
My only wish it will be more time in Cong, so we could explore Ashford Castle - extra 30-40 min. could make a difference.
Definitely a winner tour!

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Kathi G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our driver's name was Ken. Very knowledgeable and explained sites as we traveled. He didn't overwhelm with info - but answered every questioned asked. I would recommend this trip to anyone visiting the area - as a matter of fact I did. Not sure if they booked - but there at our hotel looking for trips to take.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Deborah P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved it ! The boat trip scenery was beautiful. Liked the Quiet Man bridge and the Abbey also. Ended in Galway city and not Galway Bay , there was nothing really to see there. Overall all was well worth it !!!

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

pjswainiac88

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My wife and I went on three day trips while visiting Ireland and this trip was by long and far the best and the most inexpensive! If you picture Ireland as vast rolling green fields, small villages, super friendly people, good food, and picturesque lakes/castles then this is the tour for you! The other two tours where day tours to the Cliffs of Moher this trip was also quite excellent only a bit more generic and to the Giants Causeway and Belfast this tour was rather terrible simply because out tour guide was more interested in meeting ladies than giving a tour. Connemara ended up going from being an interesting time filler to the best day we spent in Ireland. BE SURE to clarify the means of hotel pick up when you call the company to confirm pick up on the phone. We are not sure exactly who or what was going to pick us up but we waited outside our hotel for 30 minutes. We were led to believe a taxi or bus would be picking us up however it appears that it may have actually been an individual that went into the hotel to the lobby, gathered all of the people waiting only those in the hotel, not those outside and walked them to the bus station. Either way, we ran into a different company employee 5 minutes passed the deadline kindly located the driver and got us on the tour just fine! Our Galway Tour Company guide, Mike D there are three Mikes that drive gave 120 and was perhaps the most fun and good hearted Irishman we met, ask for him if you can! Make sure that you actually want to see and pay 7 extra euros per adult Kylemore Abbey for two reasons: 1 It is incredibly beautiful and very interesting 2 because it is 2 hours almost not enough time! of your trip and one of the best highlights for sure. Also if you are looking for unique gifts to bring home as Dublin and Galway are both rather commercialized when it comes to shopping there are some very cool craft shops at Cong village where you stop close to the end of the trip.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Stephen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A long and rewarding day. Some of my best photos of Ireland came from that trip. The driver kept us entertained with a lot of interesting facts about various landmarks and local lore along the way. It beat driving... something I wasn't comfortable with.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Mary D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Spectacular. Driver was charming, witty and knowledgeable. We would recommend this tour to anyone wanting to see these places. We did a bit of driving while in Ireland, but the coach option took the worry out of the travel and we all got to sit back and enjoy the outrageously beautiful landscape. Well done!

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Ricardo L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

great tour and great guide !

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

PAULINE L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A great way to see this beautiful region of Ireland. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Debra L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A fantastic trip. The scenery, the Abbey, everything was delightful. Also enjoyed our guide. He provided so much information and was an absolute blast. Loved everything about. Keep up the great work Viator!

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Ann W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very pretty drive! Tour Guide was great, may suggest incorporating a lunch spot or suggesting bringing a lunch.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

James W B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Loved this tour. When we told some folks in Dublin we were heading to Connemara, they were not excited for us saying it was a barren, un-beautiful area of Ireland. I beg to differ. I thought the terrain was exceptionally beautiful and unspoiled. The boat ride up the fjord was really exciting and you could just picture the vikings traveling down the waterway hundreds of years before and seeing this land for the first time just as we did. Gab, our guide was exceptional. He was funny, enthusiastic and very knowledgeable not to mention he sang us a few Irish favorites to keep us entertained on the drive back. He made our trip very special and personal. Great memories.- The Brennan Family - USA.

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

Chad B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The driver was very charming and the scenery was beyond beautiful. Each stop on the trip was well chosen and very relaxed, and we never felt like we were in some kind of tourist machine, like on so many other trips. The Friary was peaceful and relaxing, the Abbey was expansive and very scenic, and the cherry on top was a 'tea break' in Cong, which is impossibly quaint and charming. Possibly our favorite daytrip of the entire holiday.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Arlene A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

While it was a long day, we had a great time with Sarah as our driver and tour guide on this trip. The small bus was full and the weather was typically Irish, but the scenery and tour stops were perfect. I did enjoy the boat ride on Killary Fjord the best.
A huge thank you to Sarah and the tourist office for contacting us within 30 minutes of leaving the bus when we returned about a package we had left on the bus. We were able to get back to the tourist office and receive it that night before they closed.

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

Havenhse

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We were a small group of 7 n Bud our driver guide is wonderful. He was caring enough to ask if we could take twists n turns so drove with extra care ( I can't take turns but thank heaven for travel pills as well) n took us places not on itinerary as we went along. So we got to see a lot more than a set itinerary. Really appreciated that. We had great experience touring with extreme Ireland thru viator.

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

Lsdsmith

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great excursion! The boat ride on the fjord was perfect.

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

Ann M. N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

M. Rooney was an awesome guide. Very knowledgeable and charming. We appreciated all the extras and it was the perfect way for my elderly parents to have access to this part of Ireland.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message