Insider's Guide to Galway

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Galway ATTRACTIONS See all

Kylemore Abbey and Gardens

Tucked in the shadows of the mighty Seven Pins Mountain range, Kylemore Abbey cuts a striking figure against its majestic backdrop. A Benedictine monastery founded in 1853, the Abbey took seven years to build and remains in use today as an all ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 98 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A fantastic trip. The scenery, the Abbey, everything was delightful. Also enjoyed our guide. He provided so much information and was an absolute blast. Loved everything about. Keep up the great work Viator!

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very pretty drive! Tour Guide was great, may suggest incorporating a lunch spot or suggesting bringing a lunch.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Loved this tour. When we told some folks in Dublin we were heading to Connemara, they were not excited for us saying it was a barren, un-beautiful area of Ireland. I beg to differ. I thought the terrain was exceptionally beautiful and unspoiled. The boat ride up the fjord was really exciting and you could just picture the vikings traveling down the waterway hundreds of years before and seeing this land for the first time just as we did. Gab, our guide was exceptional. He was funny, enthusiastic and very knowledgeable not to mention he sang us a few Irish favorites to keep us entertained on the drive back. He made our trip very special and personal. Great memories.- The Brennan Family - USA.

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The driver was very charming and the scenery was beyond beautiful. Each stop on the trip was well chosen and very relaxed, and we never felt like we were in some kind of tourist machine, like on so many other trips. The Friary was peaceful and relaxing, the Abbey was expansive and very scenic, and the cherry on top was a 'tea break' in Cong, which is impossibly quaint and charming. Possibly our favorite daytrip of the entire holiday.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

While it was a long day, we had a great time with Sarah as our driver and tour guide on this trip. The small bus was full and the weather was typically Irish, but the scenery and tour stops were perfect. I did enjoy the boat ride on Killary Fjord the best.
A huge thank you to Sarah and the tourist office for contacting us within 30 minutes of leaving the bus when we returned about a package we had left on the bus. We were able to get back to the tourist office and receive it that night before they closed.

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We were a small group of 7 n Bud our driver guide is wonderful. He was caring enough to ask if we could take twists n turns so drove with extra care ( I can't take turns but thank heaven for travel pills as well) n took us places not on itinerary as we went along. So we got to see a lot more than a set itinerary. Really appreciated that. We had great experience touring with extreme Ireland thru viator.

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great excursion! The boat ride on the fjord was perfect.

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

M. Rooney was an awesome guide. Very knowledgeable and charming. We appreciated all the extras and it was the perfect way for my elderly parents to have access to this part of Ireland.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I would like to thank Jim who gave me the taste and history of Ireland. Thanks to Viator I had a spectacular day in this special heart of Ireland. I have always been backpacking so I hesitate to book at first.
No regrets: in the contrary! Would love to do it again!

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Kylemore Abbey is beautiful, you have to see it. Galway is a fun city with lots of shopping and music. The best part of the tour was watching the sheep herding and bogging. Tour guide Bud is the sweetest person you'll ever meet. This was the best tour of my vacation to Ireland.

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Thanks to Laura Gunning (Extreme Ireland), this trip was the highlight of our 10 days in Ireland! My husband and I traveled w/my 79yo mom and Laura paid special attention to her, took her under her wing when mom couldn't join us for things. Because we were there in Feb, the river cruise was out, but lucky us…the trip to sheep farm was ON! We hiked down to bog, saw sheepherding demo, and got to hold and feed baby lambs. We'll never forget it. Stops were well planned and we saw SO MUCH!! Highly recommend this tour. You might want to make sure "Extreme Ireland" is the tour co. that takes you…and ask for Laura! It was a memory-making trip for us.

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Good guide and driver .

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Very short and very sweet tour. Good for someone who do not have much time but would like to see the natural beauty of Irish countryside. Big thanks to our tour guide Gab - he did very good job telling jokes and many interesting stories!!!

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

I prefer to drive and tour in our car, however, this was definitely the best way to see Connemara from Galway.
I could not possibly have seen the wonderful sights in both Galway and Mayo that I saw from our comfortable coach- even if it rained at times!
The main difference from doing your own thing is to have a very experienced, amusing and extremely knowledgeable driver/guide such as Michael O'Malley! How he negotiated some of these narrow roads was amazing as the attached photos show.
We were worried that an 8 hour trip would be too much but actually time flew by and I did not fall asleep once.
Great value for money!

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Connemara is beautiful with the two lakes and the Monastic site. Boat trip of Killarey Harbor was beautiful. Galway City was a fun, hip little village, beautiful park. Wish we had just a bit more time there though to see more of the city instead of just the main drag. Great tour guide!

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message