One of Ireland’s most unique and photogenic landscapes, stretching over 160 square km, the Burren, derived from the Gaelic word Boireann meaning ‘rocky place’, is one of the most visited attractions in the Shannon region. Aptly named, the karst ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 38 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

dor62

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was great. Wish I could remember the tour guide's name, but he was very informative and had a great sense of humor. It's amazing how well he maneuvered the bus on the very narrow roads especially when another bus was sharing same roads. I drove most of Ireland myself, but highly recommend doing this tour to maximize your time and get the history of the sights. The cave was very cool and, of course, the Cliffs of Moher were spectacular.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher and Burren Day Trip Including Dunguaire Castle, Aillwee Cave and Doolin from Galway

Margaret V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was my first trip to Ireland and I decided to take it solo. What a smart decision to book through Viator. The tour staff were knowledgeable and helpful. The tour was always on time and the transportation was top notch. I realized how important it was to have a tour guide when the train from Galloway to Dublin was delayed due to an accident. Our guides were there for us problem solving and informative. Thank goodness for the local tour company and their team. I can't wait to book my next return trip to Ireland thru Viator!

Doing what: Best 2-Day Western Ireland Tour from Dublin by Train: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway

Kirsten C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wonderful experience with amazing views. Our driver was great at giving us the history of all the towns as we traveled through making the it even more enjoyable. Also not having to drive and navigate ourselves through those narrow roads allowed us to take in more of the scenery in and take in all the beautiful landscapes. Thanks again for everything.
Ben and K

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher and Burren Day Trip Including Dunguaire Castle, Aillwee Cave and Doolin from Galway

Tabitha R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour guide. Amazing B and B. Well worth it.

Doing what: 5-Day Highlights of Ireland Tour: the Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Ring of Kerry

Julia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour guide, beautiful sites,...would highly recommend.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher and Burren Day Trip Including Dunguaire Castle, Aillwee Cave and Doolin from Galway

Cindy L USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was the best tour to take if you have limited time in Ireland. My friends said the train trip was fantastic. They loved the dinner at Bunratty and the hotel accommodations were perfect. They loved the time in Galway and also were lucky with the weather. The lunch at the pub was perfect, with the waiter helping one of them charge their cell phone and he brought back candy to their table. What a perfect gentleman. Hard to find such superior customer, but this tour met all expectations and beyond. If you are visiting Ireland, do not miss this one!

Doing what: Best 2-Day Western Ireland Tour from Dublin by Train: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway

Beena T India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I had a fabulous time on this tour. We were a small group of 10 people - from different parts of the world. All very friendly.

The trip was well organised. The B and Bs I stayed at in Galway and Killarney were centrally located and very comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Our driver-cum-guide, John Dowling, was very knowledgeable about the area and had a great sense of humour. He kept us amused all the time.

The scenery was lovely and the weather was great. Didn't rain on us at all.

Will definitely plan another trip with the local tour operator.

Doing what: 5-Day Highlights of Ireland Tour: the Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Ring of Kerry

Beth C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

My husband Oliver and I recently took a 2-Day Western Ireland Tour from Dublin and had a fabulous time. The train trip from Dublin to Galway was very comfortable and relaxing. We had about 4 hours to tour Galway and found it to be very compact and easy to get around. We also had lunch at a traditional pub and the food and atmosphere were enjoyable. We then met the coach for our trip to the Bunratty Castle Hotel. In fact, we were the only people on the coach! We arrived at our destination and checked into the hotel. We were very pleased with the quality of the room and the hotel itself. We walked the short distance to the Bunratty Castle for our medieval banquet. What a wonderful evening! The food was great and the entertainment wonderful. The next morning we met the rest of the group for our tour of the castle and grounds. It was very interesting to hear about the history of the castle and explore on our own. We then boarded the coach for our trip to the Cliffs of Moher. Our guide, Brendan was very knowledgeable and pleasant. He told us all about the Cliffs and about the town of Doolin where we would be stopping for lunch. We were then back on the coach on our way to the Cliffs. We were fortunate that we had a beautiful day for our visit as we learned that the previous day was rainy and overcast and not great for visiting. The Cliffs are spectacular and the Visitors Center very informative. We especially enjoyed the Postcard from the Edge exhibit. We then continued on our way to visit the Burren. What an unusual landscape. It felt like we were exploring the surface of the Moon. After a brief stop to see Galway Bay we were back in Galway for our train trip back to Dublin. Our guide, Brendan accompanied us on the train and continued to give us tidbits of information. We had an absolutely fabulous time and would highly recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: Best 2-Day Western Ireland Tour from Dublin by Train: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway

Robin R Mexico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

If you are going to the Republic of Ireland, this is the only way to see it. We had the very best tour guide named Patrick Foley who knew everything, was accomodating, and really made the tour happen. We saw everything in a very comfortable way and Patick taught us about local customs, language, history, anthropology, agiculture, etc. I would say that this has been my best Viator tour. Thank you.

Doing what: 5-Day Highlights of Ireland Tour: the Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Ring of Kerry

Maris E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Perfect combination of free time and structure. We saw a lot over the course of just two days, and it felt relaxing at the same time. Friendly escorts and guides. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The bus drivers maneuvered narrow roads with finesse. So glad and grateful that I did this tour.

Doing what: Best 2-Day Western Ireland Tour from Dublin by Train: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway

Alexander P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We toured in mid-June 2015 and had an amazing time. Our guide, Patrick Foley, was an Irish farmer who imparted his out-going personality on every aspect of our trip. We learned a lot, got to see even more, and had excellent drop off/pick up service from our lodging each morning and evening. Patrick even gave us an introduction to each stop where we'd be staying, complete with restaurant, bar, and activities recommendations that never led us astray!

- We opted for the B and B Double Room accommodations and felt everything was clean and well within a 5-10 minute walking distance to the town centers for food and entertainment.

We had great weather, and thank to Patrick's expertise, were able to see and do much more than if we had attempted to do the same trip ourselves, as we had originally planned. In addition to his great personality, Patrick was very concerned with making sure that everyone was involved in the decision making process and what they wanted to see. He did his best to make sure that everything was accounted for, and was even able to add some special stops that weren't a part of the original itinerary! Overall, the trip was well worth the money and I would highly recommend this tour if you have the available days to spend in Ireland.

Doing what: 5-Day Highlights of Ireland Tour: the Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Ring of Kerry

James S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was a jam packed day, but lots of fun! We started out stopping at Dunguaire Castle which was a quick stop.
Aillwee Cave. It was good to see, but if you've been in a cave before, it's nothing special. Just a pretty ride to get up there. Doolin was a nice stop. Quick, organized lunch, accompanied with some wonderful Trad music.
Cliffs of Moher were beautiful. We were lucky to have a beautiful day and could see everything. The bus driver was charming. I would recommend if you have the time when visiting Galway. The Cliffs are a must!

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher and Burren Day Trip Including Dunguaire Castle, Aillwee Cave and Doolin from Galway

AnnAlise B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour I went on ended up only having 7 people because a flight was canceled and the rest of the people couldn't make it. The tour guide was very funny and made the day awesome for our small group. There was a lot of driving, as the cliffs are completely across the country, but it was worth it

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher tour from Dublin

Susan V M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The trip was well worth the money. Our guide, Seamus, was extremely well informed on the history of the places we drove through as well as the Burren and Galway. Although we were tired at the end of the day, we felt that we had been able to see and do so much on our trip.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher tour from Dublin

Marinela M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The trip was amaizing given the genuine beauty of the sites. One special note to the driver / trip guide and excellent conversationalist. May 29th trip. True irish spirit enpersonated.
THANK YOU.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher tour from Dublin

jacqueline r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was utterly amazing. The Bed and Breakfasts, the awesome sights and experiences, and our amazing tour guide Patrick Foley completed my wonderful tour Ireland. Amazing history, resilience of the Irish people, and spectacular country. Well Done and Highly recommended!

Doing what: 5-Day Highlights of Ireland Tour: the Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Ring of Kerry

Phoebe C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The guides were helpful and there was plenty of time to explore on your own. The train/coaches were comfortable.

The feast at Bunratty was really fun. Good food and entertainment...Way better than I expected. Great adventure!

Doing what: Best 2-Day Western Ireland Tour from Dublin by Train: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway

misticat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My wife and I took this tour the first week of September and it was all that it was advertised to be. Our tour guide/driver John, a real Irish good guy, was extremely informative about the attractions/locations we visited. The accommodations (BnB) were first class. John went beyond what was expected during this tour, providing insight and historical lore about the areas visited. Highly recommend this tour for a good overview of the west coast of Ireland.

Doing what: 5-Day Highlights of Ireland Tour: the Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Ring of Kerry

Kevin F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was an excellent tour, and the guide (John) was one of the best! There are a lot of sites visited on this five day tour and the guide does a great job providing information and background. The hotels were nice and the size of the group was perfect. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Ireland.

Doing what: 5-Day Highlights of Ireland Tour: the Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Ring of Kerry

glassman3355

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

great tour John our tour guide was wonderful. he went above and beyond to be sure that we
got a lot of information on Ireland and all the sights. Only problem was that the first van was really nice
they traded half way thru and the van was way to small- very cramped and they made John wear a
head piece to speak to us so we missed most of what he said. only worked when his mouth was right in front of the mike

Doing what: 5-Day Highlights of Ireland Tour: the Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Ring of Kerry

Ian USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Superb driver/guide who set the pace for us, shared his knowledge of Ireland, and made sure we all had a great experience.
The B and B experience in Killarney (Kingfisher Lodge) was excellent, with the hosts determined to show us true hospitality.
Tour size was perfect (10 in a 18 seater) to let us stop wherever, and the group were all determined to see all we could without rushing.
Yes, we would certainly do a tour again

Doing what: 5-Day Highlights of Ireland Tour: the Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Ring of Kerry

alice t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

It was one of the best trips I have been on. The sites are just amazing! All of the people that were on the tour bonus were so friendly we had a blast together. I loved the small group. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: 5-Day Highlights of Ireland Tour: the Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Ring of Kerry

Ann R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Did this tour with our 15 year old daughter and it was all great. The guides were wonderful, Patrick was informative and so friendly. The cliffs were lovely and luckily it was almost sunny!! The Abbey was the highlight, we were not excepting that and it was beautiful, wish we had more time there! Staying over in Galway was a nice break, might need to go back and see that again! Our guide ( Sean) at the end of the tour made sure we knew where we were going and got off at the tram stop to make sure, made the trip even more special.
Would highly recommend this tour, even families with teenagers!! Viator was a positive experience again. Thank you

Doing what: Best 2-Day Western Ireland Tour from Dublin by Train: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway

Carol H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour was so much fun and we saw so many things in a short time, but got a real feel for the area, both by train and bus. The guides we had on each had us well prepared for the things we experienced. One was Robbie and the other Jim, bus driver was Mike. We saw Galway, a charming city, The Cliffs of Moher, the Burren, and even enjoyed a great medieval banquet at Bunratty Castle, and explored Bunratty Village before we left the next day. Had lunch at a Pub in a little village and gorgeous scenery along the way. Viator is very well organized and take care of everything so you can just enjoy the trip. When I needed to change the day of a trip departure, I was able to reach someone quickly on the phone. They were very accommodating and took care of it right away.

Doing what: Best 2-Day Western Ireland Tour from Dublin by Train: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message