Insider's Guide to Galway

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

One of Ireland’s most unique and photogenic landscapes, stretching over 160 square km, the Burren, derived from the Gaelic word Boireann meaning ‘rocky place’, is one of the most visited attractions in the Shannon region. Aptly named, the karst ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 18 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My wife and I took this tour the first week of September and it was all that it was advertised to be. Our tour guide/driver John, a real Irish good guy, was extremely informative about the attractions/locations we visited. The accommodations (BnB) were first class. John went beyond what was expected during this tour, providing insight and historical lore about the areas visited. Highly recommend this tour for a good overview of the west coast of Ireland.

Doing what: 5-Day Highlights of Ireland Tour: the Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Ring of Kerry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was an excellent tour, and the guide (John) was one of the best! There are a lot of sites visited on this five day tour and the guide does a great job providing information and background. The hotels were nice and the size of the group was perfect. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Ireland.

Doing what: 5-Day Highlights of Ireland Tour: the Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Ring of Kerry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

great tour John our tour guide was wonderful. he went above and beyond to be sure that we
got a lot of information on Ireland and all the sights. Only problem was that the first van was really nice
they traded half way thru and the van was way to small- very cramped and they made John wear a
head piece to speak to us so we missed most of what he said. only worked when his mouth was right in front of the mike

Doing what: 5-Day Highlights of Ireland Tour: the Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Ring of Kerry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Superb driver/guide who set the pace for us, shared his knowledge of Ireland, and made sure we all had a great experience.
The B and B experience in Killarney (Kingfisher Lodge) was excellent, with the hosts determined to show us true hospitality.
Tour size was perfect (10 in a 18 seater) to let us stop wherever, and the group were all determined to see all we could without rushing.
Yes, we would certainly do a tour again

Doing what: 5-Day Highlights of Ireland Tour: the Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Ring of Kerry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

It was one of the best trips I have been on. The sites are just amazing! All of the people that were on the tour bonus were so friendly we had a blast together. I loved the small group. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: 5-Day Highlights of Ireland Tour: the Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Ring of Kerry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Did this tour with our 15 year old daughter and it was all great. The guides were wonderful, Patrick was informative and so friendly. The cliffs were lovely and luckily it was almost sunny!! The Abbey was the highlight, we were not excepting that and it was beautiful, wish we had more time there! Staying over in Galway was a nice break, might need to go back and see that again! Our guide ( Sean) at the end of the tour made sure we knew where we were going and got off at the tram stop to make sure, made the trip even more special.
Would highly recommend this tour, even families with teenagers!! Viator was a positive experience again. Thank you

Doing what: 2-Day Western Ireland Tour from Dublin by Train: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour was so much fun and we saw so many things in a short time, but got a real feel for the area, both by train and bus. The guides we had on each had us well prepared for the things we experienced. One was Robbie and the other Jim, bus driver was Mike. We saw Galway, a charming city, The Cliffs of Moher, the Burren, and even enjoyed a great medieval banquet at Bunratty Castle, and explored Bunratty Village before we left the next day. Had lunch at a Pub in a little village and gorgeous scenery along the way. Viator is very well organized and take care of everything so you can just enjoy the trip. When I needed to change the day of a trip departure, I was able to reach someone quickly on the phone. They were very accommodating and took care of it right away.

Doing what: 2-Day Western Ireland Tour from Dublin by Train: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Very enjoyable tour made all the better by John the driver and Irelands lovely weather(thank god).
Got to see what we wanted with a great mix of natural beauty and old heritage sites. Accomodation very good and well located.
But the highlight was John's Irish wit and knowledge and not bad voice.

Doing what: 5-Day Highlights of Ireland Tour: the Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Ring of Kerry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This tour was my first tour of Ireland, but it will not be my last. It was everything I had expected and much more thanks to our great and very experienced guide John with his beautiful voice and love of Ireland.

Doing what: 5-Day Highlights of Ireland Tour: the Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Ring of Kerry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This is the way to see some of the most scenic locations in Ireland! Viator's contract partner, Rabbies Trail Burners, was outstanding. There was only 14 of us on the luxury bus which made it very comfrontable. John Dowling, our bus driver and tour guide for the 5 days did everything and more to make certain we understood everything along the route. This included history, culture, folk lore and funny stories that helped us to understand every town, village, scenic site along the way. John also keep all commentary clean and in good taste. The hotels that were booked were very good and the Irish breakfast at the Arbutus Hotel was incredible. Betty, the head waitress and all the staff made you feel most welcome. My wife and I have told family and friends that this Viator Ireland vacation ranks as one of the best we've had.

Doing what: 5-Day Highlights of Ireland Tour: the Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Ring of Kerry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Absolutely amazing! I enjoyed every moment of it! Our guide John was the best and we had such a nice group. The Cliffs of Moher, The Ring of Kerry, The Dingle Peninsula and all the other countless cities, towns and villages were breathtakingly beautiful! This tour is a must do if you're going to Ireland.

Doing what: 5-Day Highlights of Ireland Tour: the Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Ring of Kerry

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The tour exceeded my expectations. The tour guide was very informative and the views were spectacular. I would recommend this to my friends and family

Doing what: 2-Day Western Ireland Tour from Dublin by Train: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Ireland is a beautiful country and the best way to do it is not drive yourself so you can really enjoy the landscape.. The tour hit all the sites and John A, our driver did a great job and showed us lots of things not on the itinerary and explained a lot of the history of Ireland. Would recommend this as a great way to see the country. Also the smaller van allowed us to get places that the big buses could not get into.

Doing what: 5-Day Highlights of Ireland Tour: the Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Ring of Kerry

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

John, our guide and driver, was excellent. His knowledge of the sites and Irish history made the trip that much more enjoyable. There was a small mix-up with our room that Viator fixed as soon as we let them know of the issue.

Doing what: 5-Day Highlights of Ireland Tour: the Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Ring of Kerry

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message