A popular day trip from Geneva, the village of Chamonix, or Chamonix-Mont-Blanc, lies on the French side of the France-Switzerland border at the foot of the imposing Mont Blanc – Western Europe’s highest peak. The resort, one of the oldest and most ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 354 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The trip was excellent. Fortunate that the weather was good and the views from the top of the mountain were amazing.

Doing what: Chamonix French Alps Day Tour from Geneva by Open-Top Bus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I thought the entire experience was well worth the money and the views from the top were absolutely exquisite. It was truly a breathtaking experience!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

very nice

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Highly recommend the place but not the tour in itself as we felt there was really no tour but just a bus ride to the place!
Chamonix was awesome! Love the midway of Aiguille du Midi - great place for a short hike. The 2nd cable car towards the top was closed when we got there and wasn't sure when it will open. It was then opened in the afternoon and we had to choose whether to go to the top or to go to Mer de Glace and we chose to go to the top and didn't regret it!
We took the whole package but the lunch was cancelled and we were only informed on the bus and no other restaurant was recommended. The guide was not really great - he did not have the right energy to inspire/excite the tourists. He looked grumpy and down.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was great experience! We enjoyed every bit of it. We will take our kids next time we are in Geneve.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

An excellent day out, one to add to the bucket list, the tour was very well organised, queues were short and the whole experience outstanding

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This tour was a long day, but well worth it! our tour guide Neil was very entertaining, and informative, and sometimes long-winded, with a very dry sense of humour. first stop was Mont Blanc. you take two gondolas to get to the top. we had a somewhat cloudy day, which was fine because if i had seen the heights this gondola was taking me i'd be alot more worried. however, the end result was spectacular! the sun periodically poked out and gave amazing views. just before we started our ascent, Neil mentioned how it is normal to be sick, have a headache, general wonkiness at the top due to the reduced amount of oxygen especially for kids and older folks. he also mentioned that if you're feeling wonderful at the top, be aware...you may quickly just pass out. he said a good remedy for this was to get some hot chocolate, which you can buy at the top. the gondola lets you off at its highest stop, but there is a bridge that spans the two peaks that you can walk across where you can go to the top (the last 100ft?). be aware...this bridge is right when you get off the gondola. i didn't plan to go on it, but as you follow everyone off you end up on it nearly right away. we did take a few pictures while on it, and quickly got off. there is a chasm underneath it that seems to never end. as with all of switzerland, everything to purchase at the restaurant and gift shop is quite pricey, so be aware. we picked an option that included lunch with our day. it was a simple salad course and pasta dish as well as a non-alcholic drink. you could get alcohol, but at your expense. the next portion of the trip was the tour of Mers de Glace...a glacier. fantastic, beautiful, well worth the trek! from the time you get to where the gondola lets you off you have around and hour to decend (400 stairs; approx 15 min), walk through the glacier (which our girls 13 and 14 thought was awesome; approx, 15min), and climb (400 stairs; approx 1/2 hour). spectacular experience, glad we did it! layers

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The tour by itself was very interesting. The weather was not very good, it was raining and very foggy, so views from the peak were very poor. But it is outside of tour guide control. The only complain would be that tour guide did not provide enough information about the destination, attractions, places we visited. He kept tour on schedule, which was great, but more info about visited area could have been provided.

Doing what: Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Its a great trip. No doubt.

I would give 10/10 had you provided a tourist guide, who could explain on the way about things we cross on bus ride. Of course it comes with a price, which I don't mind paying a bit more. This way the trip is very wholesome one.

Gopi Krishna

Doing what: Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

This tour is only getting to Chamonix and then up to Mont Blanc with a decent lunch.
I think you could do it on your own if you figure out the time Schedule for the trains.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

Ill start with the positive. The coach was clean and comfortable. The town of Chamonix is lovely. Thats it.
Now the negative. This should be a full day trip!!! we never got to the top of the mountain. We spent hours on the bus to and from. We went straight to the mountain,and got up to the second landing of the mountain and were handed a ticket for a return down the mountain at 4pm. we were told our bus leaves at 4:30. a missed bus would result in a 2 hundred Euro cab fare or 3 hour train ride back. It takes an hour just to get down the mountain! We had no choice but to try and get down without going to the top. We explained our situation to a worker, and he could care less. we were told its not their problem. My wife was very cold, I was told to buy her a coat!. My wife had to fake pregnancy, and sickness to get off the mountain. No one on our trip mad it to the top!!! This was our second trip to France, and once again we found the French to be less than friendly. As empty nesters we are traveling with much appreciation of what Europe and the rest of the world has to offer. France unfortunately will not see us again. This was a wasted trip, we are still waited to hear from Viator.

Doing what: Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The trip was amazing ... It is one of the best trip that I did in my life... I recommend everyone to make it ... It was sooooo organised and the trip a divisor was fabulous 'friendly, patient,helpful ...' . I give the tour unlimited stars

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very good and knowledgable guide. Traditional lunch was tasty.
Bus was very comfortable.
On the whole, definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very well organized worth taking it.
Highly reccomend it.
It was more than what I had expected.

Doing what: Chamonix French Alps Day Tour from Geneva by Open-Top Bus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Neil was a great guide and a very friendly guy! He provided clear instructions and kept things moving along, even in spite of the crowds. I highly recommend taking this day trip for a breathtaking experience!!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message