A popular day trip from Geneva, the village of Chamonix, or Chamonix-Mont-Blanc, lies on the French side of the France-Switzerland border at the foot of the imposing Mont Blanc – Western Europe’s highest peak. The resort, one of the oldest and most ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 562 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Bhushan V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I highway recommend this tour

Doing what: Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva

Miss A J P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I was sceptical to book this tour because previous reviews on Trip Advisor regarding the local tour operator and the tour leader had me worried but I can honestly say that this tour was really good.
You meet at the bus station in Geneva, easy to locate and you can clearly find the tour office if you cant locate the bus. You check in, hop on board, across the border to France and on the way there you get your itinerary, tickets and any other useful information.
I am well-travelled and don't need somebody to babysit me so this tour was what we were after. I travelled with my boyfriend, we stuck to the itinerary and felt that we had plenty of time for all activities. Unfortunately we just had to rush for the Glacier Cave as they changed the timing of the mountain train and therefore we only had 1hr to trek down the 450 steps to the glacier and then back up, it was snowing but managed it in no time at all you also need to take a small cable car down part-way but that was quick this was not the tour companys fault btw. Some people missed the 4pm train due to it being overcrowded but the tour leader/driver waited the 30mins for them to arrive on the next train as it was not their fault for not be allowed to board the 4pm train.
We got the full day package with lunch and it was very nice, all you can eat soup, salad and then you got a main i.e chicken, fish or veg and then dessert and a soft drink/juice all included. If you don't want to do the lunch there are plenty of other places to eat.
Overall if you want an organised tour where you can go off on your own but not have the hassle or buying tickets, getting to Mont Blanc, looking for a tourist map etc then this tour is for you. Yes Neil is pretty blunt at times but in all fairness we did have a load of people who weren't listening to him and it can get very old but he is super helpful, speaks like 5 languages and was always seen in Chamonix in case you get lost - but Chamonix is small.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Amy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic trip to Mont Blanc and Mere de Glace. We were lucky enough to have great weather (only the ice cave was inaccesible to us!). It really is a self-guided tour, but this works out great as you are free to do what you want when you want (as long as you and #39;re back on time!)

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Neffel U

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The view was amazing but we expected a guided but actually it is not. We are provided a private transportation bus and then ticket / pass and a map and time when to meet. Still it was a great experience but I wasn and #39;t prepared to discover the place on my own.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

CarolineS Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Positives: Transfers to and from Chamonix. Guide to tell you about some geography and geology on the mountains. Scenic route. Charming Town.
Negatives: the tour guide does not come with you during the day - you are on your own from about 10am to 5pm apart from a couple of meeting times. Guide tells you most facts while on the bus he did not come up the mountains with us.
Tips: dont get the lunch option as you will have little time to see the town. if possible try to go on a clear day otherwise you will see little atop of the mountain.
Overall: Good trip that was worth the money we paid instead of organizing everything ourselves. if you want to organise yourself you may be able to find transfers for 40fr and day lift ticket for 75fr.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

ADITYA S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wow! The tour was fantastic. The scenery view with the ropeway and cogwheel train ride were ecstatic. If in Geneva, one must take this tour for sure.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

jaigalliott .

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I read all of the bad reviews about the Chamonix tour and was a bit worried, but actually had a wonderful trip. Neil, the guide, was very helpful at every step. His humour was perhaps a little politically incorrect, but I found it funny. His dry humour could be taken as condescending, but you have to go in with an open mind and understand the British. The tour itself was wonderful. In the morning, the main cable car was closed due to high winds, so Neil made some quick changes and had us doing the train and glacier in the morning, instead. By afternoon, the cable car was still closed and covered in clouds, so Neil directed us to an alternative cable car. Not as high, which is a bit disappointing, but it was still a wonderful experience and nobody can control the weather! We made the best of the day's mixed weather.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Susan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a wonderful excursion this was! A must see for everyone. The beauty of this trip is beyond what you expect. Our guide Neil was very knowledgeable and helpful with everything. My husband and I both agree that this trip was so worth it. We are very glad we took the time to do this. Great job Key Tours!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Mekenna H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was amazing! The tour guide was great - so helpful and friendly. And of course the Alps were breathtaking. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Ross M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Tour was fantastic. Enjoyed the drive getting to Chamonix, and our guide was very helpful and informative.
Unfortunately the wind did not allow us doing the Aguille de Midi section but our arranged an alternative which very good.
The mountain train trip to the glacier was outstanding.
A must tour for everyone in the region.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Peter D

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Overall a wonderful day trip. Neil the guide was very informative. Cable-car ride was hairy but well worth it for the wonderful views at the top.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Amazing day would well recommend it to do

Doing what: Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva

ayman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

beautiful location and excellent guide and organization

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Kimmo P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The trip to Aiguille du Midi is absolutely a must, especially if you are lucky with the weather and the sky is clear. The views are breathtaking, as is the lack of oxygen! The trip to Mer de Glace is nice even though the attraction itself is not necessarily that amazing. Pretty views though. Chamonix as town doesn't offer too much, but is a good stop-over for lunch.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

D-J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I had a great time - stunning views of Mont Blanc, the Alps and Chamonix from above, and I really enjoyed seeing the Mer de Glace, Ice Caves and Montenvers too. The tour guide Nigel was friendly and approachable, and the trip went very smoothly. Since all transport was included and timings were organised in advance, this meant that we didn't have to worry about the logistics and we could just focus on the sights and natural beauty!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Asish H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Was in Geneva for the weekend and so glad I took this tour. Wouldn't hesitate if the weather is good - easily one of the best days of my life. The Aix du Midi and Mer de Glace was plain fabulous.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Nuno R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Highly recommend! the tour is great, the place is absolutely outstanding, don't miss the train to the glaciar and a hot chocolate on the top of the mountain!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Deena

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour was wonderful! Beautiful location and a knowledgeable tour guide. The only issue was with the trip back to Geneva - we ended up on a different bus with another group, which was late and quite crowded. However, the day was great!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

DEREK H

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

excellent day trip, unfortunately some of the lifts where closed, which was very dissapointing however, Neil the tour guide, did his very best to entertain us.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Madison R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I had been traveling around Europe for two months straight and planning everything by myself, so it was great to finally have everything planned for me. It was also great to get out of the city. I love the mountains. I had been in Europe for 4 months and this was my favorite day. I also had enough time to explore the town. Getting hot chocolate at the top of the mountain was great because it was -23F up there.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Kasie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was an absolutely amazing tour. Our tour guide was very prompt with leaving and returning to Geneva. He even gave us tips on other things to do in the city. I highly recommend this trip if you have a day to spare. One of the most incredible places I've ever been

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Robert G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The trip was very good, the only downside was the weather wind which prevented the cable car from running. As it was, we did the train ride to the glacier and took an alternative cable car to another mountain nearby. Overall a wonderful day out in the mountains. As an added bonus it snowed all day.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Frank L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great way to get a taste of Chamonix skiing from Geneva. Drop off at Planards around 10am for equipment and there and #39;s a beginners slope there. Take the free 15min shuttle to Brevent where the real action is and you can return to Planards early to walk around Chamonix town a bit before bus pick up at 5pm.

Doing what: Chamonix Ski Resort Day Trip from Geneva with Optional Aiguille du Midi Cable Car Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message