A popular day trip from Geneva, the village of Chamonix, or Chamonix-Mont-Blanc, lies on the French side of the France-Switzerland border at the foot of the imposing Mont Blanc – Western Europe’s highest peak. The resort, one of the oldest and most ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 484 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour with plenty of free 'unguided' time. Managed to do a lot: 1. Go up the mountain to spectacular views and snow 2. Go up in a mountain train and see a glacier and 3. Spend time wandering around in Chamonix which is very charming.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was a lifetime experience!...the tour was very good organized, the guide was awsome. Visiting the Mont Blanc was the most wonderful experience in this trip. The lunch was very good, the transportation was very comfortable...My group really have good things to say about this tour and we hightly recommend it to everyone!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was pretty much everything I wanted. You get to go up to the cable car and spend time on the Mont Blanc Observatory, and then later ride the train to the ice cave area. This was probably my favorite single excursion that I took while in Europe, I would recommend anyone going to Geneva to do this.

Doing what: Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

An excellent tour! Enjoyable, informative and Neil was an awesome guide. Worth every Aussie dollar!

Doing what: Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

I would like to clarify the reason I am giving this tour 3 stars and not 5 is that it didn't meet my definition of a guided tour. For me a guided tour generally means the guide will be with you at all stages of the day and you will be traveling in a group. As I was traveling solo, this was my main reason for picking this tour - as I thought it would be an opportunity to meet some new people and also would be a shared experience. The guided portion of the tour refers to the guide acting as a bridge to enhance the experience for all by meeting us and shepherding us to the starting points throughout the day.

However, this being said - our guide Neil was fantastic. He was very forthcoming with his knowledge and expertise and extremely friendly. Neil was extremely patient and waited for the last group of stragglers before taking us to the next destination so that they weren't left behind. He gave us expert advice on timings, which helped ensure we made the final bus of the day.

Chamonix and Mont Blanc are beautiful and well worth the day trip. The meal at the restaurant was fantastic, however, if you want to gain a bit more time for exploration I would advise maybe skipping the meal and picking up some food to go. If you look around online you can get a Chamonix Rapid card - basically this is a day ski pass which gives you 24hour access to everything the tour does and do the day trip via the independent option.

I would definitely recommend going and the company was fantastic in their assistance. However, it wasn't quite what I was expecting in terms of a guided tour. That being said, if you are traveling in a group, with someone else or find time management slightly more difficult to plan for, you may appreciate the itinerary pace of the day.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

The views are great and it's definitely worth doing but I wouldn't go with this company again. It's not what I expected: really they provide coach transportation there and back and a pass for the cable car and train. Our guide was excessively grumpy and he doesn't come with you on the car or train.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

The half-day excursion was ideal for seeing Chamonix with limited time. Our tour guide on the bus had a terrible head cold, and one of us fell ill with the same symptoms the next day for the duration of our stay in Geneva.

Doing what: Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Chamonix was beautiful but the tour company had difficulties. The manager at Key Tours was very disrespectful to three female passengers when boarding the bus blonde, curly haired man. Also we left a half hour late due to the tour company and disorganization at the bus terminal. When we arrived it was very rushed. We did the half day tour and when we arrived to meet our ride back the bus had broken down. We waited another twenty minutes until we had a chance to talk to the tour operator who finally made a decision and found us a ride back.

Doing what: Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

Disappointed with this experience. Online description of the tour was completely misleading because the timing and agenda were unrealistic. It took 4 hours to ride the aerial cable car to the top of Mont Blanc. We quickly viewed the mountains and then took the cable car down in hopes of doing the second half of the agenda - The Glacier train. We were wrong. Because of the time spent on the cable car, we did not have enough time to go on the Glacier train. Again, disappointed!
We were only able to spend 2 hours walking around the city and seeing the sights.

Our tour guide did not provide any information to us about Chamonix or Mont Blanc. He was more concerned with explaining logistics of the trip time and location of drop off and pickup and did not go into any detail about the actual city we were visiting. Again, disappointing!

If the purpose of the trip is for transportation only, without any guidance, then describe it that way on the website. Also, let people know that there is a long wait for the cable car and therefore, you will be unable to do everything.

Overall a horrible experience.

Pathetic.

Doing what: Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Neil the driver was the perfect host. His knowledge of the area was fascinating and could not have done more to have made the day special was our Wedding Anniversary. Nothing was any trouble for him and he would go that extra mile to make the day memorable. Aiguille du Midi was, literally, breath taking and well worth the price. One of these 'must do's'. As for Chamonix simply delightful.

Doing what: Chamonix French Alps Day Tour from Geneva by Open-Top Bus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very nice tour. Definitely worth visiting and the tour guide was excellent.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

If you are on holiday in Geneva, then this tour should be on the top of your list of things to do. It's a day full of beautiful sights, good eating, and comfortable travel. Seeing Mont Blanc from one of its peaks is truly breathtaking. You'll never forget it. I also loved seeing the glacier and the surrounding valley. Lunch was excellent and we had at least an hour to walk around Chamonix to do a little shopping and enjoy the views. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Absolutely breathtaking. This tour was one of the top highlights of our 25 day European adventure. The bus driver was knowledgeable and provided a great impromptu narrative during our drive to Chamonix when the recording was not working. The tour was very well-organized and the sites themselves gondola to mountaintop and ice caves were fabulous. As an aside, we used Viator for several Europe tours and each one was of great quality. Viator will remain on our favorites for future travels.

Doing what: Chamonix French Alps Day Tour from Geneva by Open-Top Bus

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

It's worth taking the tour when traveling alone. View was magnificent. It would be nice to have more time there. A note of temperature at the mountain would have been useful to prepare the necessary clothing.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The visit to Mont Blanc was amazing and I would definitely recommend this tour! Our tour guide wasn't as helpful as could be and even stated he would just direct us to our itinerary if we had questions. But we didn't need much guidance during this tour and enjoyed the spectacular view.

Doing what: Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This tour was really good! It wasn't very guided, which was fine for me, but it is good to know that you are kind of on your own to explore! I loved all of the included gondola rides and train ride to the glacier. Definitely recommend everything! Worth it for the views!

Doing what: Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Beautiful! Breathtaking views and really an amazing experience. The restaurant was a little challenging to find, and the food was a little disappointing. I'd recommend not paying for the lunch portion and grabbing something to eat at one of the amazing cafes in the area.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Good tour, despite a barely average guide.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

It was well organized,educated guide,breath taking view

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Very nice tour. Bus was comfortable and guide was nice. He was knowageble and told us economical places to go for food and other stuff to buy. I liked in this tour that they distributed the tickets in the bus itself that saved our time at the destination. I wish Mount Titlis tour from Zurich learn this way of conducting from this tour. Soup at the guide recommended restaurant was really good. And the best part was when we told the waitress that we are in rush and requested to put a rush on it. She was there within 5 minutes or so with our order. We were really impressed with that guesture. I have only one suggestion with all these mountain tour that they can cut a bit time of lunch and time at the base village and a bit more time at the top of the mountain. There are so much to do and a bit less time compared. They can increase the tour by hour will help too. The ice cave is a must. The most awesome cave and well worth going 400 stairs going down and same coming up. Kids they loved it so did we. We missed the suspension bridge because of time crunch.

Doing what: Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Not enough time for cable car ride. Could only go halfway. Bus 1 1/2 hours late. Kept telling us ten minutes. No where to wait with seats. Hot sun. Not offfered any kind of refreshment while waiting. Basically a 200 dollar bus ride.

Doing what: Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva

Purvi
France

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

very good guide and planning. everything on time. keep up the good work.

Doing what: Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very nice trip, the tour guides are friendly and helpful

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message