A popular day trip from Geneva, the village of Chamonix, or Chamonix-Mont-Blanc, lies on the French side of the France-Switzerland border at the foot of the imposing Mont Blanc – Western Europe’s highest peak. The resort, one of the oldest and most ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 473 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Neil the driver was the perfect host. His knowledge of the area was fascinating and could not have done more to have made the day special was our Wedding Anniversary. Nothing was any trouble for him and he would go that extra mile to make the day memorable. Aiguille du Midi was, literally, breath taking and well worth the price. One of these 'must do's'. As for Chamonix simply delightful.

Doing what: Chamonix French Alps Day Tour from Geneva by Open-Top Bus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very nice tour. Definitely worth visiting and the tour guide was excellent.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

If you are on holiday in Geneva, then this tour should be on the top of your list of things to do. It's a day full of beautiful sights, good eating, and comfortable travel. Seeing Mont Blanc from one of its peaks is truly breathtaking. You'll never forget it. I also loved seeing the glacier and the surrounding valley. Lunch was excellent and we had at least an hour to walk around Chamonix to do a little shopping and enjoy the views. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Absolutely breathtaking. This tour was one of the top highlights of our 25 day European adventure. The bus driver was knowledgeable and provided a great impromptu narrative during our drive to Chamonix when the recording was not working. The tour was very well-organized and the sites themselves gondola to mountaintop and ice caves were fabulous. As an aside, we used Viator for several Europe tours and each one was of great quality. Viator will remain on our favorites for future travels.

Doing what: Chamonix French Alps Day Tour from Geneva by Open-Top Bus

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

It's worth taking the tour when traveling alone. View was magnificent. It would be nice to have more time there. A note of temperature at the mountain would have been useful to prepare the necessary clothing.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The visit to Mont Blanc was amazing and I would definitely recommend this tour! Our tour guide wasn't as helpful as could be and even stated he would just direct us to our itinerary if we had questions. But we didn't need much guidance during this tour and enjoyed the spectacular view.

Doing what: Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This tour was really good! It wasn't very guided, which was fine for me, but it is good to know that you are kind of on your own to explore! I loved all of the included gondola rides and train ride to the glacier. Definitely recommend everything! Worth it for the views!

Doing what: Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Beautiful! Breathtaking views and really an amazing experience. The restaurant was a little challenging to find, and the food was a little disappointing. I'd recommend not paying for the lunch portion and grabbing something to eat at one of the amazing cafes in the area.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Good tour, despite a barely average guide.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

It was well organized,educated guide,breath taking view

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Very nice tour. Bus was comfortable and guide was nice. He was knowageble and told us economical places to go for food and other stuff to buy. I liked in this tour that they distributed the tickets in the bus itself that saved our time at the destination. I wish Mount Titlis tour from Zurich learn this way of conducting from this tour. Soup at the guide recommended restaurant was really good. And the best part was when we told the waitress that we are in rush and requested to put a rush on it. She was there within 5 minutes or so with our order. We were really impressed with that guesture. I have only one suggestion with all these mountain tour that they can cut a bit time of lunch and time at the base village and a bit more time at the top of the mountain. There are so much to do and a bit less time compared. They can increase the tour by hour will help too. The ice cave is a must. The most awesome cave and well worth going 400 stairs going down and same coming up. Kids they loved it so did we. We missed the suspension bridge because of time crunch.

Doing what: Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Not enough time for cable car ride. Could only go halfway. Bus 1 1/2 hours late. Kept telling us ten minutes. No where to wait with seats. Hot sun. Not offfered any kind of refreshment while waiting. Basically a 200 dollar bus ride.

Doing what: Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva

Purvi
France

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

very good guide and planning. everything on time. keep up the good work.

Doing what: Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very nice trip, the tour guides are friendly and helpful

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing, especially the guide and travel agency. I highly recommend, amd it's worth for every peny you paid...

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The office staff were very cordial and helpful. The tour guide was very pleasent and informative. We had a very beutiful and memorable experience. Unfortunately I cannot thank him for the weather. I leave my thanks for another person above.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This trip was amazing! We had some weather issues but our guide was able to rearrange a couple of thing and allow us to take full advantage of the day. Even though we didn't get to go to the top at Chamonix it was still worth the money.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour - time for all activities. Did not feel rushed. Beautiful spot - just make sure you have a good day in order to see surroundings.

Doing what: Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The trip to Mont Blanc up the cable car was absolutely amazing, our guide Neil was brilliant and let us have the best seats on the coach up front with the driver, we had the most fantastic views driving from Geneva to Chamonix, it was a lovely clear day. Would definitely recommend this day tour

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was one of the best tours I have had. It was flexible with time on your own and a tour guide full of knowledge and experience. The trip is well worth the money. Truly an amazing experience.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I cannot say enough good about this tour. It was outstanding. The day we took this tour was my wife's 40th birthday, so we needed something really great, and this experience really came through. My wife and I met the tour at the bus station in Geneva. There were about 50 people overall. We went by bus through beautiful mountain country to the town of Chamonix, a very quaint little place. We immediately went to the cable car and up to the top of the Aiguille du Midi, which is VERY high up there the highest point in Europe, we were told. The cable car was pretty crowded, but you're not on it for very long. The views are breathtaking and our weather happened to be the best possible -- extremely clear. It was outstanding. Bring a jacket with you because it'll be chilly at the top. After a little while, we came back down on the cable car and had lunch in the town. It was chicken with some vegetables. Quite good, and my wife's vegetarian meal was also very good same thing without the chicken. After lunch we headed to the train station down the road a short walk. The train took us on a beautiful scenic ride to the Mer de Glace glacier. Again, more great views. There is a cable car at the train station that you can take down to the glacier, and we recommend doing it. At the end of the cable car ride, there are some ice caves that you can go in after taking some further steps to the very bottom. Once done looking around Mer de Glace, we took the train back down and had a few minutes in the town to look around. My only criticism of this tour might be that we could have used a bit more time in the town. But overall, this tour is excellent. Can't really go wrong unless the weather is uncooperative. Highly, HIGHLY recommended! There's also a luge-type ride in the town near the train station that looked like it would've been a lot of fun, but we didn't get a chance to do it. But with a little planning you might be able to do it during lunch or after the 2nd train ride.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had perfect weather and a helpful guide. The views were amazing. Ample time to explore Chamonix.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing trip - definitely would recommend the full tour!

Doing what: Chamonix French Alps Day Tour from Geneva by Open-Top Bus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour is very nice. I recommend to many of friends who are visiting geneva

Doing what: Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message