A popular day trip from Geneva, the village of Chamonix, or Chamonix-Mont-Blanc, lies on the French side of the France-Switzerland border at the foot of the imposing Mont Blanc – Western Europe’s highest peak. The resort, one of the oldest and most ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 365 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour. I broke my toe the day before the tour but still was able to
do everything on the tour. It was FANTASTIC.....A must see for sure....

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic tour ..are guide Neal was supper informative. ..he stayed behind with us for lunch since we opped out of the train ride ...and we learned so much ...thanks ..

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

Joydeep Das
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

One of the best guided tours i have taken, right from the experience of visiting Chamonix to Mt. Blanc and the Tour guide (Neel) giving us so many insights and details it was overall value for money experience. must do tour when in GENEVA.

Doing what: Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We wandered around the village and relaxed.....the views were amazing. Absolutely loved Chaminex. Enjoyed the trip back with the top of the bus open.

Doing what: Chamonix French Alps Day Tour from Geneva by Open-Top Bus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Chamonix is the most beautiful place I have visited. This was an amazing trip with picture postcard views from every corner and we took lots of amazing photos. It is the best trip we have done. The only complaint was the lunch was terrible. A limp lettuce salad with no dressing which had been sitting on the table all morning. The main course was very ordinary and so was dessert. The hotel toilets were smelly and horrible. I suggest you either find another place for lunch or take it off so that people can go where they want. A pity it almost spoilt the day.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a wonderful trip. The weather cleared leaving us magnificent views. Lunch was good in Chamonix and enjoyed walking around the city on our free time. Our guide gave us ideas for enjoying other city sights by taking the 8 bus and the 12 tram as well as the free boats on Lake Geneva. Not knowing the next day was a national holiday and everything was closed, we took advantage of all his suggestions.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

Totzys
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

A fantastic tour but our lunch was canceled and refunded later.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Wonderful experience and scenery.
Booked lunch was disappointing with a chicken dish that was overlooked.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Chamonix is a small and nice French city. All I want is to Thank our guide Mr Neil for his professionalism and caring nature. If not for him I will give only 2 stars. There was no connection travelling facility to return half day (as originally planned) and Neil provided me options to make the best of the situation. His numerous tips on Geneva was quite useful too.

Doing what: Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

It really MATTERS when you have a friendly tour guide; but unfortunately this tour was a terrible experience and our rude tour guide (NEIL) had a horrible sense of humor (making jokes that are uncalled for, some of which I prefer not to mention due to the sensitivity of their topic). Second of all, the tour was completely unorganized. We got to Chamonix for the cable car and it was extremely crowded which was understandable but then, the frustrating thing, was that we were divided into groups and we were among the people that had to join the last group, which delayed our time and made us miss lunch (something we paid for but didn't get and for something that isn't even our fault) and when explained it to our terrible tour guide, he would tell us that it's difficult manage and that it's a difficult day, gave us the cold shoulder and whatnot. He then makes a joke about other elderly guests that were also late for lunch, also not theit fault, saying they were too old to walk on their feet and it that it would be better for them to miss the ice cave because it's not easy on elderly people. In addition to that, the timing distributed for the places visited were over-extended, for example: 1 hour and a half on Mont Blanc was way too much where you get views of the mountains and snow and an over-crowded cafeteria to rest at (because after a short while, it's way too cold to stay outside). The tour guide went off-topic all the time and made unnecessary comments and jokes constantly. Also, when we entered the bus, we went to the seats that were at the back of the bus, he comes over to us and tells us to move to the front ("because there are children at the back, it's better for you") when there was not even a child at the time and moments later, other tourists got in and sat at the back and he just let them. We did not pay all this money to be treated that way, not have our lunch, have a horrible tour experience and a very cold-blooded tour guide. NEVER AGAIN.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The trip was excellent. Fortunate that the weather was good and the views from the top of the mountain were amazing.

Doing what: Chamonix French Alps Day Tour from Geneva by Open-Top Bus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I thought the entire experience was well worth the money and the views from the top were absolutely exquisite. It was truly a breathtaking experience!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

very nice

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

Cha
Netherlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Highly recommend the place but not the tour in itself as we felt there was really no tour but just a bus ride to the place!
Chamonix was awesome! Love the midway of Aiguille du Midi - great place for a short hike. The 2nd cable car towards the top was closed when we got there and wasn't sure when it will open. It was then opened in the afternoon and we had to choose whether to go to the top or to go to Mer de Glace and we chose to go to the top and didn't regret it!
We took the whole package but the lunch was cancelled and we were only informed on the bus and no other restaurant was recommended. The guide was not really great - he did not have the right energy to inspire/excite the tourists. He looked grumpy and down.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was great experience! We enjoyed every bit of it. We will take our kids next time we are in Geneve.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message