Geneva ATTRACTIONS See all

Château de Chillon (Chillon Castle)

Jutting out off the shore of Lake Geneva, close by the French border, Switzerland’s most fairytale-like castle is a vision of Gothic grandeur, entirely encircled in water and reachable via the reconstructed remains of an ancient drawbridge. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 114 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was one the best tours that we took on the Trip to Switzerland besides Mt. Titlis and many others. Since we had the Swiss Pass it acted as the bonus for us with access to most of the museums for no charge.

Doing what: Best Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Brilliant tour guide Maggie, really knowledgeable and really friendly and helpful.
Beautiful views of Lake Leman, Alps, and castle was fascinating. Great trip, well worth it.
Had a great time, met lots of lovely people. Even saw Freddie Mercury!!

Doing what: Best Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a perfect day. There were only 18 of us on the tour and our guide, Yolanda was wonderful.
One of the highlights of the tour was a trip to the Olympic Museum. It's interactive and fun. We were a little rushed for lunch we had less that 45 minutes to find a restaurant, eat and meet at the boat for a short cruise to the Chateau. The Chateau de Chillon was very interesting, you take a self-guided tour so you can do as much as you want. In Montreux we walked around the lake which was magnificent. It was a great day.

Doing what: Best Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A great full day tour with Maggie as guide and Mauritis the driver. Chillon Castle was amazing.

Doing what: Best Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent trip. All sites were remarkable. Outstanding views of the nature and especially of the lake. The guide, Yolanda I hope the spelling is correct, was just wonderful: very sociable, kind, careful, knowledgeable and very charming. Highly recommended trip and you're lucky if you do it with Yolanda.

Doing what: Best Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I booked four tours while in Switzerland and this was was by far my favorite! The Olympic Museum was one of the highlights of the trip and I typically don't care much for Museums. The boat ride toward the end of the day had breathtaking views, especially on a beautiful clear day. The tour guide that day was Yolanda and you could feel her passion for what she does and she spoke very clearly. The only down side is you spend very little time in the city of Lausanne actually only really driving through it. If I had more time in Geneva, I would have taken a train trip into Lausanne for a full day.

Doing what: Best Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic tour. Iur guide Maggy was excellent. Would recommend highly this all day tour.

Doing what: Best Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Stunning scenery all day! Wonderful guide. Very interesting going on the bus around the new and old city, United Nations area and the Olympic Games museum in Luasanne recommend having lunch there in the restaurant Amazing Chateau with another great guide. Relaxing steam boat trip on the lake - didn't want to get off! Absolutely worth every cent ! A great way to go to lots of places near Geneva without having to figure it all out yourself and hire a car expensive Just do it !!!!!!

Doing what: Best Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Absolutely fabulous day long tour. Took with 4 adults and 4 children. Everyone had an excellent and saw amazing things all in one day -- a cathedral, vineyards, boat tour. Our tour guide Maggie was exceptional! This tour made seeing Switzerland possible. Without it we could have never done this much in one day! Our first time using Viator and we will certainly continue with great experiences like this!

Doing what: Best Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Perfect day with magnificent views. Lausanne, Montreux and the Chateau are not to be missed. You also visit the Olympic Museum in Lausanne which is truly impressive. A small wonderful lake cruise from Vevey to Chateau Chillon included. The view of the Alps is lovely on a clear day.

Doing what: Best Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Beautiful sights, interesting history

Doing what: Best Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

I participated this tour in late December. When I booked it, I was not sure if it was the best option because boat trip sounded nice, too. But this trip proved to be definitely better because it snowed on that day and boat trip was not possible. The guide was wonderful and I really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Christmas at Montreux and Chillon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We started looking for organized trips during our very brief visit to Switzerland and were pleasantly surprised to find an excellent offer on your website. Booking was very easy.
We booked two trips. Yolanda was our guide during both trips. She is an an excellent guide very knowledgeable about Switzerland its history, customs, politics, wine... She answered all our questions. She is also fluent in many languages.
Weather was beautiful and we enjoyed beautiful views and our scheduled program very much

Doing what: Winter Tour to Montreux and Tour of Château de Chillon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A great, full day of touring. I definitely recommend it, you can see way more this way than on your own. Tour guide is very friendly and knowledgeable. The weather was absolutely perfect on the Saturday I went. Lausanne was interesting. Montreaux was very pretty and the Chateau is breathtaking. If you have a free day while visiting Geneve, this is a great way to spend it.

Doing what: Best Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The guide is knowledge and Chateau de Chillon is an interesting castle to visit. Montreux is a beautiful city. A fun day,

Doing what: Best Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This trip was an all day trip and this was clear in the description. The guide was friendly and very engaging. Going into the Olympic Museum was an option worth taking. Our group was very small and the guide was able to answer all questions. There was a nice mix of guided tour and free time.

Doing what: Best Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

great day. castle and boat ride were awesome. topped off by wine tasting in a beautiful setting. Lausanne was great too. would have been fun to spend a little longer in market area if you go on Saturday.

Doing what: Best Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour guide was excellent, and the boat ride to the Castle of Chillon was a particularly enjoyable experience. My only comment is that potential participants in the tour should be notified in advance of the need to descend from the cathedral in Lausanne to the current marketplace by negotiating one hundred and ninety-six steps - yes, I counted them; but I am glad I took the tour, despite having had bi-lateral knee replacement surgery eighteen months ago.

Doing what: Best Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Trip to the Swiss Riviera was amazing ! Perfect weather complimented the perfect tour!

Doing what: Best Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had an fun guide and bus driver was Xavier from Key Tours. The Chalet was a lot of fun. The guide there was really good too.

Doing what: Best Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This trip was absolutely fantastic! It far exceeded my expectations. The guide was extremely knowledgable about Lausanne and Switzerland in general. The tour guide at the Castle Chillon was very good (although not as good as the Viator guide). The driver of our coach was also excellent, knowing how and when to slow down, etc. The tour opened my eyes to unexplored and beautiful part of Switzerland. I have already recommended the trip to another friend who is taking the tour (today or tomorrow). I will take this same trip again when I return to Geneva. Thank you very much.

Doing what: Best Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was worth an tour. We covered so may things during a single day and our facilitator, Maggie was very knowledgeable about all the places we visited.

Doing what: Best Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message