Geneva’s Old Town (Vieille Ville) contains some of the city’s foremost attractions, including the Barbier-Mueller Museum, the Cathédrale St-Pierre and the Maison Tavel. It is also the site of the International Museum of the Reformation, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 28 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Geneva is beautiful, great value for money trip, saw loads and learnt loads. Calvin and reformation, Old town and boat cruise wonderful. Just do it!

Doing what: Geneva City Tour and Boat Cruise

thiscozyskull
United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

This tour was a great introduction to the history and geography of Geneva. Bus picked us up at a central location and started in a timely manner. Guide was very informative. We stopped and got off at United Nations for 5 minutes for photos and then again in the pictoresque hillside next to Villa Diodati where Lord Bryon and Mary Shelley stayed to take photos of the lake. We also boarded a mini train that took us into Old Town where we stopped in front of St. Pierre's cathedral. Knocked off one star since the stops for photos were so short. There was the option to stay in Old Town or return to the starting point as well after the tour.

Doing what: Best Geneva City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Very extensive and informative tour, starts with bus tour then a mini train around old town, finally a boat cruise at lake Geneva.

Doing what: Geneva City Tour and Boat Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic tour.Really loved it as youre on the bus for about 1.5 hours then you switch to old mini train to take you round old town for 30 minutes and then you go on Lake Geneva boat cruise for about an hour.Our guide was superb and very informative.You do get time to get off for photos.A real gem.

Doing what: Geneva City Tour and Boat Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great overview of Geneva old town area. The tour guide was knowledgeable and helpful. The tour was by bus, mini train, and boat. The bus and mini train were my favorite. The boat cruise was OK. The commentary was pre-recorded in 5 languages and the transition sound in between the attractions was very annoying.

Doing what: Geneva City Tour and Boat Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great way to get an overview of Geneva in just 3 hours.... Do all 3 parts. Tour of city and world organization buildings by bus, then old town by tram, and finally Lake Geneva by boat. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Geneva City Tour and Boat Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We booked our trip whilst still in the UK, everything ran very smoothly regarding the booking. Coach on time very friendly and informative tour guide. The tour included coach then little road train up into the old town, and defo worth a walk back there for lunch later. Then we did the boat on the lake all very enjoyable

Doing what: Geneva City Tour and Boat Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Very interesting tour. Worth doing especially the boat trip to Geneva Lake and the old town centre!

Doing what: Geneva City Tour and Boat Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was a very pleasant trip through Geneva and its neighborhoods. The guide, Maggie, was very knowledgable and made everything exciting and enjoyable. We particularly liked the little train through the old town. The drive through the UN areas was interesting. We took a cruise after the trip since it was not available with this tour in April. Overall, a wonderful way to get to know Geneva.

Doing what: Best Geneva City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Very enjoyable and informative tour. Starting with a coach ride around the UN /international area and around the lake shore,then into the old town to board a little train that takes you around the smaller streets of the old town. All accompanied by an informative and friendly guide, who narrates the tour with information and anecdotes. Recommended for a short tour and orientation of this lovely city.

Doing what: Best Geneva City Tour

HC
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

There were mixed reviews on this tour, so I was deciding between this tour and another all-day tour. Because I want time to explore places on our own, I ended up choosing to do this 3-hour tour. I'm glad we did, especially since we had a short stay in Geneva and we probably saw more than we would otherwise on our own. This tour consists of a tour on the bus where some of the key attractions are pointed out, the train ride (the best part of the tour, I think where we visited the old town area) and the boat ride. You don't actually get out and do anything; it's more of a bus/tram/boat tour, which is perfectly fine. The boat ride was relaxing but it was carved out with another vendor (not led by the tour company) and that was just OK - it was something we could skip in hindsight. Overall, it was well organized and this tour was one of the highlights of my trip to Geneva. If you are pressed for time, I would recommend this tour.

As a tip: even though you can check in electronically or with a paper voucher with this tour, I saw another couple with some minor problems when checking in electronically (they still need the voucher number). I'd suggest folks to print out a copy of their voucher for this tour.

Doing what: Geneva City Tour and Boat Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

We didn't get the mini train tour of old town it was disappointing.
The tour is ok.

Doing what: Best Geneva City Tour

Julius H
Indonesia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

This tour is great to see the highlight of Geneva when you have limited time. We may see the old town part of the city by taking an old train and also see the modern parts of the city where many world organization headquarters are located. It should be very comprehensive sightseeing tour, however due to the summer event in Geneva during our visit, many road access was closed, which made us not stopping at the lakeshore of Lake Geneva nor visiting the famous fountain on the lake (which was also not operating that time). It is not the fault of the tour operator, though. I believe we may see more parts of the city during the normal time. The room for improvement is the very limited time when we visited the old town of Geneva, it was only 5 minutes stop, so we could not explore more the grandeur of St Peter's Cathedral and other old buildings in the old town. As for the tour guide, she is friendly and informative. It is still a recommended tour, though.

Doing what: Best Geneva City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

A wonderful journey in Bus around Geneva to see the various HQs of International Organisations like UN, WTO, ILO, UNICEF etc. The toy train ride around Geneva's old town the Boat cruise offered wondeful photo ops.

Doing what: Geneva City Tour and Boat Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

The boat cruise was the saving grace. It was a wonderful way to see some spectacular sights and views after a rather lacklustre bus tour in a very hot bus with air-conditioning that has seen better days. The little train ride through old town was the only highlight of the bus tour portion.

Doing what: Geneva City Tour and Boat Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I like the trolley ride to the old town. Boat ride was also very relaxing and can bring you to remote shores for another view of the Geneva lake.

Doing what: Geneva City Tour and Boat Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

This tour we did on the first day we landed in the airport, our Thanksgiving morning 2012. Our hotel was not far from the meeting place, perfect. Our guide was very knowledgeable. WE had no recollection of the fact that there would be so many world-relevant organizations headquarters to see, and we wouldn't have gone up north of our hotel to see them had we not been on this tour. The cute little train which took us around the Old Town was a perfectly intimate way to see it (the first time). They really got quite a lot in in such a short time. I can't say enough about this tour. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Best Geneva City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

The City tour was a great way to see and learn about the major world organizations based in Geneva. The mini train into Old Town worked well to give us an overview of what we wanted to return to. I would have liked to be able to depart the tour in Old Town rather than go back down the hill to the fountain and then back to the bus station. Good value if you take it upon arriving in the city.

Doing what: Best Geneva City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

This was a good tour. The tour guide was very good and the old town is a very nice walk. This really improved our opinion of Geneva.

Doing what: Best Geneva City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

This was a lovely trip , well organised, right on time, confortable, the whole trip covered the city, old town and the lake cruise. we had two kids , was very educative , accomodate the children well.the sits enable us to see everything. to sum it up Geneva city tour and boat cruise do a splended job, with passion and quality, keep up the god work. will use your company for future travels. Herbert wood

Doing what: Geneva City Tour and Boat Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

The first part round the international buildings was a waste of time, plain buildings which will be filled with far more people than are really needed. The "Old Town" was wonderful, and the commentary good.

Doing what: Best Geneva City Tour

Alfred K
Thailand

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

It is a good trip. 2 things were not so perfect:
1. The walking was limited to 5 min visit of a church; not really a walk in the old town
The group was too big: The guide had a difficult job to talk to 50 people in "Schloss Schönbrunn"
Neverthe less I liked the trip: well english speakimg guide, good organisation, nice overview

Doing what: Geneva City Tour and Boat Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Very nice day , enjoyed the bus tour. Our guide provided a lot of interesting information about Geneva. Our small train ride through old town Geneva was very overcrowded and not all that interesting. the boat ride was super enjoyable!

Doing what: Geneva City Tour and Boat Cruise

Tamara J
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

It was very interesting to see the HQ of so many world organisations; we would not have been able to do this on foot. As far as the history of the old town goes I would have liked more stories of the famous individuals involved in founding the city, and more information about the city's main industried today. The commentary was lacking depth and warmth. In the end we didn't feel connected to Geneva.

Doing what: Best Geneva City Tour

Marie Yell E
Philippines

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2010

I am not fully satisfied with the tour. I was a customer of Viator for several tours in the past, however, this time I am quite disappointed. (1) In the catalog, it says "dig even deeper into the Old Town with your guide on a walking tour" - There was no walking tour at all. (2) The Guide was just saying her piece and no interaction with the tourists. The only thing I like is the mini-train tour & the 5 minute bus stop in front of United Nations to take a picture at least. I hope they will improve next time and provide value for money to customers. Thanks.

Doing what: Best Geneva City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message