Geneva’s Old Town (Vieille Ville) contains some of the city’s foremost attractions, including the Barbier-Mueller Museum, the Cathédrale St-Pierre and the Maison Tavel. It is also the site of the International Museum of the Reformation, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 24 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great way to get an overview of Geneva in just 3 hours.... Do all 3 parts. Tour of city and world organization buildings by bus, then old town by tram, and finally Lake Geneva by boat. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Geneva City Tour and Boat Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We booked our trip whilst still in the UK, everything ran very smoothly regarding the booking. Coach on time very friendly and informative tour guide. The tour included coach then little road train up into the old town, and defo worth a walk back there for lunch later. Then we did the boat on the lake all very enjoyable

Doing what: Geneva City Tour and Boat Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We booked our trip whilst still in the UK, everything ran very smoothly regarding the booking. Coach on time very friendly and informative tour guide. The tour included coach then little road train up into the old town, and defo worth a walk back there for lunch later. Then we did the boat on the lake all very enjoyable

Doing what: Geneva City Tour and Boat Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Very interesting tour. Worth doing especially the boat trip to Geneva Lake and the old town centre!

Doing what: Geneva City Tour and Boat Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was a very pleasant trip through Geneva and its neighborhoods. The guide, Maggie, was very knowledgable and made everything exciting and enjoyable. We particularly liked the little train through the old town. The drive through the UN areas was interesting. We took a cruise after the trip since it was not available with this tour in April. Overall, a wonderful way to get to know Geneva.

Doing what: Geneva City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Very enjoyable and informative tour. Starting with a coach ride around the UN /international area and around the lake shore,then into the old town to board a little train that takes you around the smaller streets of the old town. All accompanied by an informative and friendly guide, who narrates the tour with information and anecdotes. Recommended for a short tour and orientation of this lovely city.

Doing what: Geneva City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

There were mixed reviews on this tour, so I was deciding between this tour and another all-day tour. Because I want time to explore places on our own, I ended up choosing to do this 3-hour tour. I'm glad we did, especially since we had a short stay in Geneva and we probably saw more than we would otherwise on our own. This tour consists of a tour on the bus where some of the key attractions are pointed out, the train ride (the best part of the tour, I think where we visited the old town area) and the boat ride. You don't actually get out and do anything; it's more of a bus/tram/boat tour, which is perfectly fine. The boat ride was relaxing but it was carved out with another vendor (not led by the tour company) and that was just OK - it was something we could skip in hindsight. Overall, it was well organized and this tour was one of the highlights of my trip to Geneva. If you are pressed for time, I would recommend this tour.

As a tip: even though you can check in electronically or with a paper voucher with this tour, I saw another couple with some minor problems when checking in electronically (they still need the voucher number). I'd suggest folks to print out a copy of their voucher for this tour.

Doing what: Geneva City Tour and Boat Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

We didn't get the mini train tour of old town it was disappointing.
The tour is ok.

Doing what: Geneva City Tour

Julius H
Indonesia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

This tour is great to see the highlight of Geneva when you have limited time. We may see the old town part of the city by taking an old train and also see the modern parts of the city where many world organization headquarters are located. It should be very comprehensive sightseeing tour, however due to the summer event in Geneva during our visit, many road access was closed, which made us not stopping at the lakeshore of Lake Geneva nor visiting the famous fountain on the lake (which was also not operating that time). It is not the fault of the tour operator, though. I believe we may see more parts of the city during the normal time. The room for improvement is the very limited time when we visited the old town of Geneva, it was only 5 minutes stop, so we could not explore more the grandeur of St Peter's Cathedral and other old buildings in the old town. As for the tour guide, she is friendly and informative. It is still a recommended tour, though.

Doing what: Geneva City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

A wonderful journey in Bus around Geneva to see the various HQs of International Organisations like UN, WTO, ILO, UNICEF etc. The toy train ride around Geneva's old town the Boat cruise offered wondeful photo ops.

Doing what: Geneva City Tour and Boat Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

The boat cruise was the saving grace. It was a wonderful way to see some spectacular sights and views after a rather lacklustre bus tour in a very hot bus with air-conditioning that has seen better days. The little train ride through old town was the only highlight of the bus tour portion.

Doing what: Geneva City Tour and Boat Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I like the trolley ride to the old town. Boat ride was also very relaxing and can bring you to remote shores for another view of the Geneva lake.

Doing what: Geneva City Tour and Boat Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

This tour we did on the first day we landed in the airport, our Thanksgiving morning 2012. Our hotel was not far from the meeting place, perfect. Our guide was very knowledgeable. WE had no recollection of the fact that there would be so many world-relevant organizations headquarters to see, and we wouldn't have gone up north of our hotel to see them had we not been on this tour. The cute little train which took us around the Old Town was a perfectly intimate way to see it (the first time). They really got quite a lot in in such a short time. I can't say enough about this tour. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Geneva City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

The City tour was a great way to see and learn about the major world organizations based in Geneva. The mini train into Old Town worked well to give us an overview of what we wanted to return to. I would have liked to be able to depart the tour in Old Town rather than go back down the hill to the fountain and then back to the bus station. Good value if you take it upon arriving in the city.

Doing what: Geneva City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

This was a good tour. The tour guide was very good and the old town is a very nice walk. This really improved our opinion of Geneva.

Doing what: Geneva City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message