Geneva ATTRACTIONS See all

Lake Geneva (Lac Leman)

Lake Geneva (Lac Léman to the locals) is land-locked Switzerland’s largest body of water, though most of its southern shore is in French territory. The lake is ringed by Alps and almost any point along the shore offers jaw-dropping scenery, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 32 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Enjoyed this tour very much. Mixture of coach ,walking and boat ride to see the lake, Lausanne and the castle, which is fantastic inside and out

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very enjoyable
Bring a hat or anything to cover your head and body during the lake cruise

Doing what: Geneva City Tour and Boat Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

I was somewhat disappointed by this tour. The itinerary was fine but the guide's heavily accented English was very difficult to understand as were her instructions. It would have been nice to get off the bus to take pictures but we simply drove by them. They stopped once but you had to take the pictures through the bus window. She also did things like say, "coming up on the right" and what we were supposed to see was actually on the left. The boat ride along the lake was pleasant as it was a hot day but it would have been nice to be offered a bottle of water. We had to pay 4 euros to get one at a stand before we boarded the boat.

Doing what: Geneva City Tour and Boat Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

nice lake, nice castle, nice guider!

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

This was a wonderful trip. The Geneva Lake and views of the Alps is simply amazing and the weather for the boat ride could not have been better. I would have rated this a 5 Star recommendation, but didn't for a few reasons only. I felt the guide we had, although very nice, had a strong accent which made it difficult to understand her while speaking in English and I think a younger person would have come across as more enthusiastic. The epic point for the trip was the Casino de Montreux and finding out the meaning of Deep Purple's "Smoke on the Water".

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Excellent tour. The autumn climate was well suited to this tour of the shores of Lake Geneva and boat trip on the lake. We were well served by an excellent guide

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Loved this tour. The Lake Geneva countryside is absolutely beautiful. It made me want to come back and spend even more time in Lausanne and Montreux.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

We had booked this tour to give me a comprehensive look at Geneva, and boy was I impressed!

The tour was comprehensive and excellent.

We started off from Gare Routiere in Geneva and boarded a tourist bus which was comfortable and air-conditioned. We went all around geneva and got to look at many important buildings such as the WTO , UN , UNAIDS and others!

Then we were transferred to a mini train through which we went through the tiny little streets of Geneva that were not accessible by the Bus. Again we saw interesting landmarks and places! got to know a lot of stuff!

Finally, at the final leg of the tour, we were transferred to a boat to go around lake geneva. And I can say is this was by far that most mesmerising and heavenly experience of the tour!

It was a great sunny and clear day, and to spend on the lake was simply dazzling. One can not get enough of the fantastic views of the geneva city and its shores and monuments.

The boat trip lasted about an hour where we went through an anti clockwise patter starting off from the Jet D'eau and concluding at the chinese embassy and light house.

Overall, I really do recommend anyone who is coming first time to geneva to take this tour!

Doing what: Geneva City Tour and Boat Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

Overall the whole tour was a little disappointing. On the bus portion, our guide talked about the city and important buildings as we drove by. However, it was very difficult to see everything she was talking about since the bus was going quite fast; and almost impossible to take photos. The boat tour is a separate event. The boat itself was small and a little warm inside. You are given a brochure that shows a numbered map to several key attractions around lake Geneva. As the boat goes around the lake, a pre-recorded narration gives you a little more information about the attractions (in 4-5 languages). The whole set-up was marginal, at best, and the boat was very crowded. At the end of the tour, you are dropped off at a different place than where the tour started. It's OK if you want to get an idea of Geneva and it's history, but you might as well watch a documentary film on Geneva in the comfort of your living room.

Doing what: Geneva City Tour and Boat Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Lady tour guide was very nice and had lots of info on the sites. Chocalate factory tour was fun and had a wonderful smell of chocolate. The drive to the factory was amazing. Mtns , the lake, the beatiful green hills. We went to a local cheesemaker who provided us a lunch of cheeses , local meats and wine. Then we made fondue which was yummy. Next we took the panoramic train, which half way through was foggy, but thats no fault of the tour. Overall a wonderful experience and the highlight of my 3 day trip to Switzerland !

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I like the trolley ride to the old town. Boat ride was also very relaxing and can bring you to remote shores for another view of the Geneva lake.

Doing what: Geneva City Tour and Boat Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

A delightful tour. This is such a pretty small city. The lake cruise is definitely the best part.

Doing what: Geneva City Tour and Boat Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The tour was interesting and informative. The mini-train was fun, but a little bone-rattling :) The cruise on the lake was great fun, but we often missed things because the translation was so long in coming that the site of interest had passed.

Doing what: Geneva City Tour and Boat Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The boat trip was excellent, a very pretty day out on the lake and saw many beautiful places - good to see the city from the water. The bus trip gave a good look at the United Nations, but given Geneva is so small - was very short. Tour guide seemed more interested in her friends that were on the tour, giving them pick of the best seats etc.

Doing what: Geneva City Tour and Boat Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Antoinette was terrific. Everything was done right: the tour of the Caille chocolate factory, the lunch at the farm, with fondue we made at the table, the visit to the town of Gruyere, the panoramic train, and the final drink at the restaurant high overlooking Lake Geneva. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message