Set on the banks of Switzerland’s largest lake, with the French border just minutes away, Geneva offers an abundance of choice for day-trippers. Whether you fancy cruising along the Swiss Riviera, scaling the snowy peaks of the French Alps or ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 94 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was pretty much everything I wanted. You get to go up to the cable car and spend time on the Mont Blanc Observatory, and then later ride the train to the ice cave area. This was probably my favorite single excursion that I took while in Europe, I would recommend anyone going to Geneva to do this.

Doing what: Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Absolutely brilliant and a real taste of Switzerland in a day. Yolanda was an excellent and arresting guide who really knows her stuff about Geneva and Gruyeres, and what can I say about the sights only delicious chocolate factory, fondue and wine, fascinating our journey out of Geneva and memorable Lake Geneva, Gruyeres castle and the panoramic train journey. One of the best tours I have ever been on and I learned so much in one day.

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

If you are on holiday in Geneva, then this tour should be on the top of your list of things to do. It's a day full of beautiful sights, good eating, and comfortable travel. Seeing Mont Blanc from one of its peaks is truly breathtaking. You'll never forget it. I also loved seeing the glacier and the surrounding valley. Lunch was excellent and we had at least an hour to walk around Chamonix to do a little shopping and enjoy the views. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

There are a few options to visit Chamonix but the benefit to this one is definitely the lunch, do NOT skip the lunch option. Not only is it about 1/2 price of what a meal out in Geneva will cost you, but it was the best meal of my entire trip through Switzerland. I was treated like royalty at a Michelin star restaurant and if I was eating some of the dishes in the privacy of my own home, I would have licked the plate.
This tour offers the open top bus which is, I believe, the only tour company that does from Geneva. The bus wasn't really the highlight of my trip and I recommend a hat or sunglasses because the sun does beat down on you in the morning through the glass.
The only real downside to this tour was there just wasn't a lot of time. I booked it up to the mountain by speaking to the guide while everyone was in the bathroom and was able to get a jump start on the line up to Mont Blanc, which helped moved the day along faster, but time really flew all day. Between waiting in lines and the transportation time for the round trip cable cars and trains don't expect to get much shopping in. In order to fully appreciated the village of Chamonix you have to cruise through the mountain and the ice cave. If you prefer a day of shopping in Chamonix, you can skip the ice cave. It's quite a hike to get down and back up to it. But I will say, my photos from the cave got the biggest reaction from my friends. It really was a unique experience.

Doing what: Chamonix French Alps Day Tour from Geneva by Open-Top Bus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I booked four tours while in Switzerland and this was was by far my favorite! The Olympic Museum was one of the highlights of the trip and I typically don't care much for Museums. The boat ride toward the end of the day had breathtaking views, especially on a beautiful clear day. The tour guide that day was Yolanda and you could feel her passion for what she does and she spoke very clearly. The only down side is you spend very little time in the city of Lausanne actually only really driving through it. If I had more time in Geneva, I would have taken a train trip into Lausanne for a full day.

Doing what: Best Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour is very nice. I recommend to many of friends who are visiting geneva

Doing what: Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Stunning scenery all day! Wonderful guide. Very interesting going on the bus around the new and old city, United Nations area and the Olympic Games museum in Luasanne recommend having lunch there in the restaurant Amazing Chateau with another great guide. Relaxing steam boat trip on the lake - didn't want to get off! Absolutely worth every cent ! A great way to go to lots of places near Geneva without having to figure it all out yourself and hire a car expensive Just do it !!!!!!

Doing what: Best Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I cannot say enough good about this tour. It was outstanding. The day we took this tour was my wife's 40th birthday, so we needed something really great, and this experience really came through. My wife and I met the tour at the bus station in Geneva. There were about 50 people overall. We went by bus through beautiful mountain country to the town of Chamonix, a very quaint little place. We immediately went to the cable car and up to the top of the Aiguille du Midi, which is VERY high up there the highest point in Europe, we were told. The cable car was pretty crowded, but you're not on it for very long. The views are breathtaking and our weather happened to be the best possible -- extremely clear. It was outstanding. Bring a jacket with you because it'll be chilly at the top. After a little while, we came back down on the cable car and had lunch in the town. It was chicken with some vegetables. Quite good, and my wife's vegetarian meal was also very good same thing without the chicken. After lunch we headed to the train station down the road a short walk. The train took us on a beautiful scenic ride to the Mer de Glace glacier. Again, more great views. There is a cable car at the train station that you can take down to the glacier, and we recommend doing it. At the end of the cable car ride, there are some ice caves that you can go in after taking some further steps to the very bottom. Once done looking around Mer de Glace, we took the train back down and had a few minutes in the town to look around. My only criticism of this tour might be that we could have used a bit more time in the town. But overall, this tour is excellent. Can't really go wrong unless the weather is uncooperative. Highly, HIGHLY recommended! There's also a luge-type ride in the town near the train station that looked like it would've been a lot of fun, but we didn't get a chance to do it. But with a little planning you might be able to do it during lunch or after the 2nd train ride.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The trip to Mont Blanc up the cable car was absolutely amazing, our guide Neil was brilliant and let us have the best seats on the coach up front with the driver, we had the most fantastic views driving from Geneva to Chamonix, it was a lovely clear day. Would definitely recommend this day tour

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

we took 4 viator tours in Geneva and while they were all good this was far and away THE BEST EVER!!!
I would do this tour again in a heart beat. Well worth the money -- a phenomenal family experience. We had 4 children and two grandparents with us. Everyone loved everything -- the cheese, chocolate and wine were all great! Thank you Maggie for a great experience!

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Loved the open top bus. Yolanda our guide was fantastic. She shared lots of info and seemed to speak many languages so everyone felt comfortable. The tour starts at 10 which is a much easier start time and as we had 24 hours in Geneva this was the perfect tour. It is well planned and a good day out. You don't feel rushed. The weather for us was perfect, which made the scenery all the more beautiful.

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères with Cheese and Chocolate Tastings

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Yolanda who was the tour leader, she really has done a beautiful job! Taking care of our trip from Geneva to Mont Blanc!! I was blown away by the sight seeing in Chamonix- Mont Blanc it was truly fascinating!! Best Christmas ever!!! I will never forget our lovely trip. Thank you Yolanda :)

Doing what: Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour itself was fantastic, everything went by so smoothly. I was a bit early when I arrived and the other earlybirds and I were allowed to board the bus whilst we're waiting and after a bit, the bus departed on time. We were given maps and information of the different sights both in Geneva and in Geneva, which was really good. The sights and the views were beyond fantastic - the price of taking the Aiguille du Midi cable car was so worth it. Our guide, Simon, was very knowledgeable. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very well managed and thanks for the tour guide the overall trip experience was fantastic.
The guide was polite and the bus was full and we covered all the attractions - cable car ride to Aguille di Midi, Montveners Train until return to Geneva.

Overall good memorable trip with my family.

Doing what: Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an amazing tour to Chamonix and Mont Blanc, France. The guide at KeyTours in Geneva was very informative and pleasant. The bus departed the station on time, the ride to France and back to Geneva was quick/comfortable and the town Chamonix exceptionally beautiful. It’s a must for anyone heading to Geneva!

Doing what: Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a wonderful trip. The weather cleared leaving us magnificent views. Lunch was good in Chamonix and enjoyed walking around the city on our free time. Our guide gave us ideas for enjoying other city sights by taking the 8 bus and the 12 tram as well as the free boats on Lake Geneva. Not knowing the next day was a national holiday and everything was closed, we took advantage of all his suggestions.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Joydeep Das
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

One of the best guided tours i have taken, right from the experience of visiting Chamonix to Mt. Blanc and the Tour guide (Neel) giving us so many insights and details it was overall value for money experience. must do tour when in GENEVA.

Doing what: Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This trip was absolutely fantastic! It far exceeded my expectations. The guide was extremely knowledgable about Lausanne and Switzerland in general. The tour guide at the Castle Chillon was very good (although not as good as the Viator guide). The driver of our coach was also excellent, knowing how and when to slow down, etc. The tour opened my eyes to unexplored and beautiful part of Switzerland. I have already recommended the trip to another friend who is taking the tour (today or tomorrow). I will take this same trip again when I return to Geneva. Thank you very much.

Doing what: Best Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Tour was very well worth it. The countryside was beautiful, and the Chateau de Chillon was really breathtaking when we approached it by boat. Montreux was lovely as well...a very nice day trip if you want to see something other than Geneva.

Doing what: Best Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tour was definitely worth it, our guide was very informative. From the moment we left Geneva, she was pointing things out all along the way - no need for a City tour after taking this! Switzerland's landscape is incredible, breath taking!

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères with Cheese and Chocolate Tastings

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Very worthwhile trip. We did this in March and the area was beautifully covered in snow. The top of Mont Blanc can be quite cold and windy so don't forget to dress warmly. There's always a heated facility nearby so you don't have to be outside if you don't want to. The views from the top of Mont Blanc are unbelievable. It feels like you're on top of the world. The Mer de Glace glacier (basically a river of ice) was pretty cool too.

Like everything in Geneva, this tour is costs twice what it should, but it's an experience you'll never forget.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Awesome trip. The view from the top is insane. The trip is just the right length; we had enough time to not feel rushed but not too much that we got bored. Everyone spoke English too which was useful; even though both of us spoke French sometimes there can be some translational issues so being able to switch back and forth was extremely helpful. At the top, there's both a restaurant and a cafeteria. The cafeteria is cheap but the food is pretty good. If you're in Geneva, you'd be insane not to head out to Chamonix for a day.

Doing what: Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed this excursion and would do it again if I get back to Geneva. It was well organized, and the views were truly breathtaking. Neil is a superb guide. When our meals were delayed at the restaurant, he actually went into the kitchen and hustled out the food. I enjoyed everything about this trip and would highly recommend it. I agree with others who commented that at times we were a bit rushed, but that's because they packed so much into the day and there was so very much to see.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My boyfriend and I did this tour on the 25th of August and we both had a fantastic time.

The tour was well organised, and every item on the itinerary was on time. You don't really feel like you are part of a group most of the day! We particularly enjoyed the views from Auguille du Midi and the ice caves inside the glacier.

With regards to the package itself, we felt that all of the information provided by the tour operator and the guide was helpful and very clear. We knew exactly where to be when, thanks to a map, written itinerary and the tour guide's instructions. We also felt it was great value for money, considering the transport to and from Chamonix, guide, lunch, and all-inclusive ticket to Aiguille du Midi, train ride to Montenvers (glacier) and the ice caves.

The view from the top of Aiguille du Midi was absolutely stunning and very photogenic. They advise that due to the altitude (12,000ft) you walk and breathe slowly but this must affect only very sensitive people as we didn't have any problems. Once you are up there and have disembarked the cable car we would definitely recommend that you catch the lift to the summit. You have to go inside the mountain for this and is a lot less crowded than near the cable car stop.

If you catch the train to Montenvers, you should definitely take the walk down to the ice caves. It may be a gondola ride and 432 steps but it's well worth the hike - the ice caves are amazing! They are a set of tunnels carved into the glacier and lit up in different colours. You won't regret climbing down there.

All in all, we had a wonderful day on this trip that we will always remember. A highly recommended tour - definitely a must-do if you are in the Geneva area and fancy a snowy adventure.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Loved this tour. The Lake Geneva countryside is absolutely beautiful. It made me want to come back and spend even more time in Lausanne and Montreux.

Doing what: Best Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message