Set on the banks of Switzerland’s largest lake, with the French border just minutes away, Geneva offers an abundance of choice for day-trippers. Whether you fancy cruising along the Swiss Riviera, scaling the snowy peaks of the French Alps or ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 106 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kasie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was an absolutely amazing tour. Our tour guide was very prompt with leaving and returning to Geneva. He even gave us tips on other things to do in the city. I highly recommend this trip if you have a day to spare. One of the most incredible places I've ever been

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

SOLOMON T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Never leave Geneva without visiting Chamonix, the best experience ever!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Kathryn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We are so glad that we read and listened to all of the positive reviews. MOST INCREDIBLE VIEWS IN THE WORLD. This trip is a MUST if you are in Geneva. It was the highlight of our long weekend in Switzerland and France. The tour was well run and worth the money. I have traveled a lot in Europe, and Chamonix quickly became my favorite village town. The people are friendly, food is delicious and the views are out of this world. Don't miss out on this tour of a lifetime.

Doing what: Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva

Lynn R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This is an excellent sight-seeing day trip from Geneva! One gets to travel to France and see the French Alps. The village is charming and quaint and the cable car ride to the top of Mont Blanc is invigorating and breathtaking. There is a glass box at the top that allows you to step out and on a clear day, the pictures are phenonmenal! Our guide took us for a hike and we did the cable car to the top of the mountain. I would highly recommend it as a day trip out of Geneva.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

dien.let United Arab Emirates

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Chamonix was a great place to visit. Seeing the ice capped mountains on a crystal clear day was amazing. Our tour guide Neil was very knowledgeable and gave us a lot more information than just about our tour, such as details about Geneva which was very helpful.

The only negative about this tour is the 3-course lunch. Give this a miss as the 2 options for main course chicken or vegetarian was quite average. Instead, go to the same restaurant and order your own meal from their extensive menu, that way you have more choices for lunch.

The ice caves were interesting but we thought they were a bit gimmicky... i.e. created as a tourist attraction only. So if you are fit and healthy and like a little exercise, then have fun with the stairs.

Remember to pack some very warm clothes.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Huddo Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A full bus load of tourists left on time from central Geneva with our tour guide who was knowledgeable and personable but often tried too hard to be entertaining and witty, confusing many with his instructions as a result. Nevertheless, the day was one to remember for all the right reasons. The cable car ride to Aiguille du Midi was sensational and although a mild blizzard struck the mountain whilst we were there, drastically hampering visibility and reducing the temperature, it was still spectacular. Given ample time at the top to bang off as many photos as possible, we then descended the mountain to Chamonix for a very satisfying lunch and free time in the town. The clouds cleared to a crystal clear blue sky and we then boarded the train to inspect the glacial ice cave. The train trip was fabulous and the ice cave suitably spectacular BUT very hard work up and down with the amount of steps. If you are too old, too young, feeble, sickly or have bad knees - forget it. My knees recovered after 2 days. A memorable day out and a highlight of our travels.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

GLORY N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was excellent, I pre-book a half day Independent tour to village of Chamonix and decided to upgrade to full day and the Aiguille du Midi aerial cable car ride to the spectacular mountain summit, and a train ride up to the Mer de Glace glacier.Going up to the top and see the magnificent view up there is just one of a lifetime experience. The day was a little rush because it was very busy up there in the summit, i only had time to ride the train to the mer de glace after and no time to go to the cave before we had to get back to the meeting point for the bus back to Geneva. Our tour guide was good and tried to make sure everyone was accounted for but some people did not make sure to be on time for the bus pick up back and we had to wait and the guide tried to find them before bus had no choice and leave without a couple of people. Fully recommend this tour, it's well organized.

Doing what: Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva

Nicholas W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was pretty much everything I wanted. You get to go up to the cable car and spend time on the Mont Blanc Observatory, and then later ride the train to the ice cave area. This was probably my favorite single excursion that I took while in Europe, I would recommend anyone going to Geneva to do this.

Doing what: Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva

Michael D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Absolutely brilliant and a real taste of Switzerland in a day. Yolanda was an excellent and arresting guide who really knows her stuff about Geneva and Gruyeres, and what can I say about the sights only delicious chocolate factory, fondue and wine, fascinating our journey out of Geneva and memorable Lake Geneva, Gruyeres castle and the panoramic train journey. One of the best tours I have ever been on and I learned so much in one day.

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Eric V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

If you are on holiday in Geneva, then this tour should be on the top of your list of things to do. It's a day full of beautiful sights, good eating, and comfortable travel. Seeing Mont Blanc from one of its peaks is truly breathtaking. You'll never forget it. I also loved seeing the glacier and the surrounding valley. Lunch was excellent and we had at least an hour to walk around Chamonix to do a little shopping and enjoy the views. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Stephanie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

There are a few options to visit Chamonix but the benefit to this one is definitely the lunch, do NOT skip the lunch option. Not only is it about 1/2 price of what a meal out in Geneva will cost you, but it was the best meal of my entire trip through Switzerland. I was treated like royalty at a Michelin star restaurant and if I was eating some of the dishes in the privacy of my own home, I would have licked the plate.
This tour offers the open top bus which is, I believe, the only tour company that does from Geneva. The bus wasn't really the highlight of my trip and I recommend a hat or sunglasses because the sun does beat down on you in the morning through the glass.
The only real downside to this tour was there just wasn't a lot of time. I booked it up to the mountain by speaking to the guide while everyone was in the bathroom and was able to get a jump start on the line up to Mont Blanc, which helped moved the day along faster, but time really flew all day. Between waiting in lines and the transportation time for the round trip cable cars and trains don't expect to get much shopping in. In order to fully appreciated the village of Chamonix you have to cruise through the mountain and the ice cave. If you prefer a day of shopping in Chamonix, you can skip the ice cave. It's quite a hike to get down and back up to it. But I will say, my photos from the cave got the biggest reaction from my friends. It really was a unique experience.

Doing what: Chamonix French Alps Day Tour from Geneva by Open-Top Bus

Stephanie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I booked four tours while in Switzerland and this was was by far my favorite! The Olympic Museum was one of the highlights of the trip and I typically don't care much for Museums. The boat ride toward the end of the day had breathtaking views, especially on a beautiful clear day. The tour guide that day was Yolanda and you could feel her passion for what she does and she spoke very clearly. The only down side is you spend very little time in the city of Lausanne actually only really driving through it. If I had more time in Geneva, I would have taken a train trip into Lausanne for a full day.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

Riad E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour is very nice. I recommend to many of friends who are visiting geneva

Doing what: Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva

cathyellis55

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Stunning scenery all day! Wonderful guide. Very interesting going on the bus around the new and old city, United Nations area and the Olympic Games museum in Luasanne recommend having lunch there in the restaurant Amazing Chateau with another great guide. Relaxing steam boat trip on the lake - didn't want to get off! Absolutely worth every cent ! A great way to go to lots of places near Geneva without having to figure it all out yourself and hire a car expensive Just do it !!!!!!

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

Mark K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I cannot say enough good about this tour. It was outstanding. The day we took this tour was my wife's 40th birthday, so we needed something really great, and this experience really came through. My wife and I met the tour at the bus station in Geneva. There were about 50 people overall. We went by bus through beautiful mountain country to the town of Chamonix, a very quaint little place. We immediately went to the cable car and up to the top of the Aiguille du Midi, which is VERY high up there the highest point in Europe, we were told. The cable car was pretty crowded, but you're not on it for very long. The views are breathtaking and our weather happened to be the best possible -- extremely clear. It was outstanding. Bring a jacket with you because it'll be chilly at the top. After a little while, we came back down on the cable car and had lunch in the town. It was chicken with some vegetables. Quite good, and my wife's vegetarian meal was also very good same thing without the chicken. After lunch we headed to the train station down the road a short walk. The train took us on a beautiful scenic ride to the Mer de Glace glacier. Again, more great views. There is a cable car at the train station that you can take down to the glacier, and we recommend doing it. At the end of the cable car ride, there are some ice caves that you can go in after taking some further steps to the very bottom. Once done looking around Mer de Glace, we took the train back down and had a few minutes in the town to look around. My only criticism of this tour might be that we could have used a bit more time in the town. But overall, this tour is excellent. Can't really go wrong unless the weather is uncooperative. Highly, HIGHLY recommended! There's also a luge-type ride in the town near the train station that looked like it would've been a lot of fun, but we didn't get a chance to do it. But with a little planning you might be able to do it during lunch or after the 2nd train ride.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Joanne D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The trip to Mont Blanc up the cable car was absolutely amazing, our guide Neil was brilliant and let us have the best seats on the coach up front with the driver, we had the most fantastic views driving from Geneva to Chamonix, it was a lovely clear day. Would definitely recommend this day tour

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Christine A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

we took 4 viator tours in Geneva and while they were all good this was far and away THE BEST EVER!!!
I would do this tour again in a heart beat. Well worth the money -- a phenomenal family experience. We had 4 children and two grandparents with us. Everyone loved everything -- the cheese, chocolate and wine were all great! Thank you Maggie for a great experience!

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Amanda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Loved the open top bus. Yolanda our guide was fantastic. She shared lots of info and seemed to speak many languages so everyone felt comfortable. The tour starts at 10 which is a much easier start time and as we had 24 hours in Geneva this was the perfect tour. It is well planned and a good day out. You don't feel rushed. The weather for us was perfect, which made the scenery all the more beautiful.

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères with Cheese and Chocolate Tastings

Hee Won J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Yolanda who was the tour leader, she really has done a beautiful job! Taking care of our trip from Geneva to Mont Blanc!! I was blown away by the sight seeing in Chamonix- Mont Blanc it was truly fascinating!! Best Christmas ever!!! I will never forget our lovely trip. Thank you Yolanda :)

Doing what: Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva

Lara V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour itself was fantastic, everything went by so smoothly. I was a bit early when I arrived and the other earlybirds and I were allowed to board the bus whilst we're waiting and after a bit, the bus departed on time. We were given maps and information of the different sights both in Geneva and in Geneva, which was really good. The sights and the views were beyond fantastic - the price of taking the Aiguille du Midi cable car was so worth it. Our guide, Simon, was very knowledgeable. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva

Venkataraman D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very well managed and thanks for the tour guide the overall trip experience was fantastic.
The guide was polite and the bus was full and we covered all the attractions - cable car ride to Aguille di Midi, Montveners Train until return to Geneva.

Overall good memorable trip with my family.

Doing what: Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva

Hennessy3864

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an amazing tour to Chamonix and Mont Blanc, France. The guide at KeyTours in Geneva was very informative and pleasant. The bus departed the station on time, the ride to France and back to Geneva was quick/comfortable and the town Chamonix exceptionally beautiful. It’s a must for anyone heading to Geneva!

Doing what: Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva

Linda K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a wonderful trip. The weather cleared leaving us magnificent views. Lunch was good in Chamonix and enjoyed walking around the city on our free time. Our guide gave us ideas for enjoying other city sights by taking the 8 bus and the 12 tram as well as the free boats on Lake Geneva. Not knowing the next day was a national holiday and everything was closed, we took advantage of all his suggestions.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Joydeep Das United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

One of the best guided tours i have taken, right from the experience of visiting Chamonix to Mt. Blanc and the Tour guide (Neel) giving us so many insights and details it was overall value for money experience. must do tour when in GENEVA.

Doing what: Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva

Miriam B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This trip was absolutely fantastic! It far exceeded my expectations. The guide was extremely knowledgable about Lausanne and Switzerland in general. The tour guide at the Castle Chillon was very good (although not as good as the Viator guide). The driver of our coach was also excellent, knowing how and when to slow down, etc. The tour opened my eyes to unexplored and beautiful part of Switzerland. I have already recommended the trip to another friend who is taking the tour (today or tomorrow). I will take this same trip again when I return to Geneva. Thank you very much.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message