• USD ($)
  • English
Set on the banks of Switzerland’s largest lake, with the French border just minutes away, Geneva offers an abundance of choice for day-trippers. Whether you fancy cruising along the Swiss Riviera, scaling the snowy peaks of the French Alps or ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 58 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tour was definitely worth it, our guide was very informative. From the moment we left Geneva, she was pointing things out all along the way - no need for a City tour after taking this! Switzerland's landscape is incredible, breath taking!

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères with Cheese and Chocolate Tastings

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Very worthwhile trip. We did this in March and the area was beautifully covered in snow. The top of Mont Blanc can be quite cold and windy so don't forget to dress warmly. There's always a heated facility nearby so you don't have to be outside if you don't want to. The views from the top of Mont Blanc are unbelievable. It feels like you're on top of the world. The Mer de Glace glacier (basically a river of ice) was pretty cool too.

Like everything in Geneva, this tour is costs twice what it should, but it's an experience you'll never forget.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Awesome trip. The view from the top is insane. The trip is just the right length; we had enough time to not feel rushed but not too much that we got bored. Everyone spoke English too which was useful; even though both of us spoke French sometimes there can be some translational issues so being able to switch back and forth was extremely helpful. At the top, there's both a restaurant and a cafeteria. The cafeteria is cheap but the food is pretty good. If you're in Geneva, you'd be insane not to head out to Chamonix for a day.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Chamonix and Mont Blanc from Geneva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed this excursion and would do it again if I get back to Geneva. It was well organized, and the views were truly breathtaking. Neil is a superb guide. When our meals were delayed at the restaurant, he actually went into the kitchen and hustled out the food. I enjoyed everything about this trip and would highly recommend it. I agree with others who commented that at times we were a bit rushed, but that's because they packed so much into the day and there was so very much to see.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My boyfriend and I did this tour on the 25th of August and we both had a fantastic time.

The tour was well organised, and every item on the itinerary was on time. You don't really feel like you are part of a group most of the day! We particularly enjoyed the views from Auguille du Midi and the ice caves inside the glacier.

With regards to the package itself, we felt that all of the information provided by the tour operator and the guide was helpful and very clear. We knew exactly where to be when, thanks to a map, written itinerary and the tour guide's instructions. We also felt it was great value for money, considering the transport to and from Chamonix, guide, lunch, and all-inclusive ticket to Aiguille du Midi, train ride to Montenvers (glacier) and the ice caves.

The view from the top of Aiguille du Midi was absolutely stunning and very photogenic. They advise that due to the altitude (12,000ft) you walk and breathe slowly but this must affect only very sensitive people as we didn't have any problems. Once you are up there and have disembarked the cable car we would definitely recommend that you catch the lift to the summit. You have to go inside the mountain for this and is a lot less crowded than near the cable car stop.

If you catch the train to Montenvers, you should definitely take the walk down to the ice caves. It may be a gondola ride and 432 steps but it's well worth the hike - the ice caves are amazing! They are a set of tunnels carved into the glacier and lit up in different colours. You won't regret climbing down there.

All in all, we had a wonderful day on this trip that we will always remember. A highly recommended tour - definitely a must-do if you are in the Geneva area and fancy a snowy adventure.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Loved this tour. The Lake Geneva countryside is absolutely beautiful. It made me want to come back and spend even more time in Lausanne and Montreux.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Excellent tour. The autumn climate was well suited to this tour of the shores of Lake Geneva and boat trip on the lake. We were well served by an excellent guide

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Amazing tour! The Mont Blanc surroundings take your breath away.Neil was a very knowledgeable guide and gave us many tips on Chamonix and Geneva.The power of this mountain is incredible.Don't miss the chance to take this tour you won't be sorry!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Fantastic experience, did not like tour guide (Neil). He tried to provide a map / guide (I assume it is because in the past people have gotten lost or missed the bus home) but spoke to you like you were in kindergarten and actually made the day and meeting points so confusing. Also when walking with the group would not wait for anyone, simply said "Don't worry about them, I gave them instructions just follow me". My new friends we met on the bus, we did not let that deter us. The over all excursion, Chamonix and cable car ride to Mont Blanc was fantastic. Felt we needed more time (30 min) on top of mountain, as I was rushed to make it back on time and could not get to the 2nd part of the mountain without 'racing' through. Same with the trip to the ice glaciers, needed 20-30 min more for those that wanted to walk down and BACK UP 430 stairs....well worth the climb but we had to race to make the mountain train back to meeting spot. After the stair climb, treat yourself to some Fondue back in Geneva :-)

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This trip provided great views of the French Alps and the countryside between Geneva and Chamonix. The tour director was organized and informative. Due to the popular nature of the trip to view Mont Blanc we had a little less time than I would have liked at the final viewing platform, we were well prepared for the altitude changes by our guide and no one seemed to have any serious difficulty at the top. The lunch was quite good with plentiful portions of well prepared local foods. It was a very enjoyable day!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

It was amazing and worth every penny. Our guide was witty funny and very informative. The view up on the summit was breathtaking, in both respects because we were so high up. We were taken then to the ice caves too, which was absolutely amazing. WIth the tour came a 3 course meal that was authentically french. The meal alone would have been worth the trip, but to add mont blanc and the ice caves to it too, is just spectacular. Would recommend to anyone visiting geneva

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

It is worth the visit, 20 minutes ride on the cable car to over 3000m on Mont Blanc, scenery you thought you can only see in pictures. But be prepared to feel dizzy and out-of-breath. Return trip on cable car may force you to stay up for an hour or two up there. Previous complaints about unable to find the bus to return to Geneva, is no longer a problem, as the tour has obviously seen the comment and have been very informative about it.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Chamonix and Mont Blanc from Geneva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The culmination of an awesome vacation. Honestly the Alps were a dream come true. The ride up from Geneva wasn't that bad and the weather was beautiful .So on our tour we had the snow capped peaks with warm weather and lots of sunshine. The coolest thing was the cable car ride to the top, breath taking. Great tour.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Antoinette was terrific. Everything was done right: the tour of the Caille chocolate factory, the lunch at the farm, with fondue we made at the table, the visit to the town of Gruyere, the panoramic train, and the final drink at the restaurant high overlooking Lake Geneva. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Fantastic day trip from Geneva. The guide was very helpful as well. Well done!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message