Geneva is a fine base to explore the nearby Alps, whether they're in Switzerland, France or even Italy. There's public transport access by train and bus to nearby mountain destinations where the hiking in summer is as tantalizing as the skiing in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 629 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour with plenty of free 'unguided' time. Managed to do a lot: 1. Go up the mountain to spectacular views and snow 2. Go up in a mountain train and see a glacier and 3. Spend time wandering around in Chamonix which is very charming.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was a lifetime experience!...the tour was very good organized, the guide was awsome. Visiting the Mont Blanc was the most wonderful experience in this trip. The lunch was very good, the transportation was very comfortable...My group really have good things to say about this tour and we hightly recommend it to everyone!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Absolutely brilliant and a real taste of Switzerland in a day. Yolanda was an excellent and arresting guide who really knows her stuff about Geneva and Gruyeres, and what can I say about the sights only delicious chocolate factory, fondue and wine, fascinating our journey out of Geneva and memorable Lake Geneva, Gruyeres castle and the panoramic train journey. One of the best tours I have ever been on and I learned so much in one day.

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour is a fantastic way to see parts of Switzerland you probably wouldn't otherwise. Definitely have to be a certain type of traveler to enjoy this tour though - the luxury hotels are awesome, but be sure you enjoy being on the road, too! Which you should, the twists and turns are INCREDIBLE. Our tour guide, Phillip, was very knowledgeable, spoke multiple languages, and funny. You usually arrive at each overnight destination by 5 or 6 pm, and don't leave until 10 or 11 am the next day, so there is still time to do some wandering around or lounging. Some people didn't like the Liechtenstein part too much - yes, there's not much to see or do there, but it's only an hour stop, and I think it's worth going just to say you've been to the 4th smallest country in the world! All in all, had a great time, would recommend.

Doing what: 4-Day Switzerland Tour from Geneva to Zurich Including Italy and Liechtenstein Visits

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent trip, and the tour guide was perfect too. Most important, tour started on time and finished on time.
Thank you

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Brilliant tour guide Maggie, really knowledgeable and really friendly and helpful.
Beautiful views of Lake Leman, Alps, and castle was fascinating. Great trip, well worth it.
Had a great time, met lots of lovely people. Even saw Freddie Mercury!!

Doing what: Best Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a perfect day. There were only 18 of us on the tour and our guide, Yolanda was wonderful.
One of the highlights of the tour was a trip to the Olympic Museum. It's interactive and fun. We were a little rushed for lunch we had less that 45 minutes to find a restaurant, eat and meet at the boat for a short cruise to the Chateau. The Chateau de Chillon was very interesting, you take a self-guided tour so you can do as much as you want. In Montreux we walked around the lake which was magnificent. It was a great day.

Doing what: Best Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was one the best tours that we took on the Trip to Switzerland besides Mt. Titlis and many others. Since we had the Swiss Pass it acted as the bonus for us with access to most of the museums for no charge.

Doing what: Best Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Busy day with some excellent experiences - so essentially Swiss in nature. Chocolate factory, Fondue for lunch, cheese farm, and a glass of wine in a local shop. It was a very hot day and the mini bus did not have adequate air conditioning - the driver and guide chose to open up the top which only made it worse in the heat. However 35 degree days are rare in that region, so I would think this is a rare occurrence.

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our day tour of Gruyeres. Besides the beautiful scenery, we toured a chocolate factory where there was PLENTY of chocolate to sample, made cheese fondue in the mountains, and rode the panoramic train. Our tour guide was knowledgeable, funny, and made the day very enjoyable.

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

I would like to clarify the reason I am giving this tour 3 stars and not 5 is that it didn't meet my definition of a guided tour. For me a guided tour generally means the guide will be with you at all stages of the day and you will be traveling in a group. As I was traveling solo, this was my main reason for picking this tour - as I thought it would be an opportunity to meet some new people and also would be a shared experience. The guided portion of the tour refers to the guide acting as a bridge to enhance the experience for all by meeting us and shepherding us to the starting points throughout the day.

However, this being said - our guide Neil was fantastic. He was very forthcoming with his knowledge and expertise and extremely friendly. Neil was extremely patient and waited for the last group of stragglers before taking us to the next destination so that they weren't left behind. He gave us expert advice on timings, which helped ensure we made the final bus of the day.

Chamonix and Mont Blanc are beautiful and well worth the day trip. The meal at the restaurant was fantastic, however, if you want to gain a bit more time for exploration I would advise maybe skipping the meal and picking up some food to go. If you look around online you can get a Chamonix Rapid card - basically this is a day ski pass which gives you 24hour access to everything the tour does and do the day trip via the independent option.

I would definitely recommend going and the company was fantastic in their assistance. However, it wasn't quite what I was expecting in terms of a guided tour. That being said, if you are traveling in a group, with someone else or find time management slightly more difficult to plan for, you may appreciate the itinerary pace of the day.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

The views are great and it's definitely worth doing but I wouldn't go with this company again. It's not what I expected: really they provide coach transportation there and back and a pass for the cable car and train. Our guide was excessively grumpy and he doesn't come with you on the car or train.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Neil the driver was the perfect host. His knowledge of the area was fascinating and could not have done more to have made the day special was our Wedding Anniversary. Nothing was any trouble for him and he would go that extra mile to make the day memorable. Aiguille du Midi was, literally, breath taking and well worth the price. One of these 'must do's'. As for Chamonix simply delightful.

Doing what: Chamonix French Alps Day Tour from Geneva by Open-Top Bus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A really fantastic tour, our tour guide was excellent, not too many people which was also great and overall a wonderful experience. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very nice tour. Definitely worth visiting and the tour guide was excellent.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

If you are on holiday in Geneva, then this tour should be on the top of your list of things to do. It's a day full of beautiful sights, good eating, and comfortable travel. Seeing Mont Blanc from one of its peaks is truly breathtaking. You'll never forget it. I also loved seeing the glacier and the surrounding valley. Lunch was excellent and we had at least an hour to walk around Chamonix to do a little shopping and enjoy the views. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Lauren O
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I really enjoyed the whole day - Yolonda is so knowledgable about the country and conveys so much during the otherwise down times. The chocolate tour is surprisingly really well done, the cheese farm is fantastic and such a unique experience, and the train was incredible...I personally would've liked more time at the vineyard, but it was already the favorite day of my trip. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent trip. All sites were remarkable. Outstanding views of the nature and especially of the lake. The guide, Yolanda I hope the spelling is correct, was just wonderful: very sociable, kind, careful, knowledgeable and very charming. Highly recommended trip and you're lucky if you do it with Yolanda.

Doing what: Best Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent. Remarkable sites, outstanding views of the nature and lake. Great time and food in Gruyeres cheese factory. Our guide, Yolanda, luckily the same as in the previous trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Chillon Castle, was just wonderful and perfect. Highly recommended trip, you will have unforgettable views and impressions.

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Absolutely breathtaking. This tour was one of the top highlights of our 25 day European adventure. The bus driver was knowledgeable and provided a great impromptu narrative during our drive to Chamonix when the recording was not working. The tour was very well-organized and the sites themselves gondola to mountaintop and ice caves were fabulous. As an aside, we used Viator for several Europe tours and each one was of great quality. Viator will remain on our favorites for future travels.

Doing what: Chamonix French Alps Day Tour from Geneva by Open-Top Bus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A great full day tour with Maggie as guide and Mauritis the driver. Chillon Castle was amazing.

Doing what: Best Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had an amazing 10 hour day, which felt like an entire holiday on its own. Yolanda our guide sustained her energy and enthusiasm the entire time. We felt informed and well taken care of from the start to the finish. We would recommend this to any travellers who want to get a feel for a diverse set of experiences

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

It's worth taking the tour when traveling alone. View was magnificent. It would be nice to have more time there. A note of temperature at the mountain would have been useful to prepare the necessary clothing.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message