Geneva is a fine base to explore the nearby Alps, whether they're in Switzerland, France or even Italy. There's public transport access by train and bus to nearby mountain destinations where the hiking in summer is as tantalizing as the skiing in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 757 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Emily S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Absolute highlight of my trip, a total must see! Breathtaking

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Carmel Lynne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is a fabulous tour! I learned a lot of Geneva and the way of living - thanks to Kimmay!

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Amit T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour and really worth the money spent.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Martin D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Was a quite bank holiday so had the tour all to ourselves! Great tour guide and really interesting to have a chat

Doing what: Chamonix French Alps Day Tour from Geneva by Open-Top Bus

xenogearz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The weather was nice and sunny and the scenery throughout the trip was nothing short of spectacular. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

bhudson1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great trip! This one day tour gives you the opportunity to see the Swiss countryside, enjoy a Swiss tradition - the cheese fondue - as well a chocolates and locally made wine. The addition of the train ride give one the opportunity to see the landscape from a different view. The tour guide, Maggie, was friendly and knowledgeable and made everyone feel welcome. I highly recommend the tour.
Southslope

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Janet K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a brilliant day out we had. Neil the driver was good fun and also gave us great tips time wise so we wouldn't miss out on anything and still be back for the return journey-well worth the money for once in a lifetime mountain summit and glacier visit

Doing what: Chamonix French Alps Day Tour from Geneva by Open-Top Bus

Diana M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a wonderful trip. My husband was attending a trade show so I had the day to myself. The coach was comfortable, the guide was informative, the scenery was amazing, the chocolate, cheese, and wine unforgettable.

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Kristina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Such a wonderful tour, well worth the day trip from Geneva!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Lynn D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour Guide Marie did an excellent job managing 40 people on this trip which was a full day of activities. Unfortunately the weather wasn and #39;t great whilst we were on the train so visibility was limited in places but didn and #39;t stop us enjoying the day. Chocolate and cheese - what and #39;s not to love?!

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Xiao Yan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

AZLINA H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

fantastic tour..thanks a lot for this unforgettable trip..

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Kevin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a wonderful tour, the weather was extra warm that day so the sky was a beautiful colour and the paragliders were wonderful to see flying over the snow tipped mountains. Our tour guide was excellent and very willing to give us any information we needed. We found the experience fantastic in every aspect.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Kevin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a wonderful tour, the weather was extra warm that day so the sky was a beautiful colour and the paragliders were wonderful to see flying over the snow tipped mountains. Our tour guide was excellent and very willing to give us any information we needed. We found the experience fantastic in every aspect.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Giuseppe C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I took that full day with the Aiguille du Midi cable car. It was money well spent. Loved the excursion and Neil was a great your guide.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Ida K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour! Loved the scenery and the artisinal cheese making

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

6lidewell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

If you have never been to the alps before, this is a great way to get familiar. This tour is more about the beautiful scenery than history so I didn't expect a lot of dialogue from our guide. What we got was a reliable escort to each of the attractions with our tickets provided. I would highly recommend the lunch, it was wonderful. We went up the cable cars to Aguille du Midde, had lunch, visited the glacier, and had time to wonder around Chamonix. Chamonix is very pretty but I am glad we did the glacier. I had enough time to get a taste of Chamonix afterwards.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

MARCUS J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent experience. The guide was very helpful giving all the information necessary for a safe and successful trip. He also made our trip be fun, talking about the environmental and also giving us technical information, as needed. The trip is amazing. The scenario is beautiful and varied. The bus was on time.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Kathy B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great experience. It was good to be able to walk around and essentially take your time to do what you want to do. The scenery will take your breath away.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Jonathan S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This was a great day trip and tour. Neil was great and very polite and informative. I managed to get some great photos and memories to take back with me. Id go for the option to eat lunch on your own rather than have it included, there are so many little places that could please the appetite.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

hardijabir

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

It was a good trip, The only shortcoming was from the guide, who did not be with us full time and also did not come up to the top of Mont Blanc. If he was with us, it would have been better, to guide us to maximize the trip - Hardi - from Sri Lanka

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Allyson W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

I loved this tour, but depending on your interest at the Olympic museum there could be less time here and more time elsewhere. There is no lunch included and not much time for lunch. The café at the Olympic museum doesn't open until 12 noon and the coach leaves at 12 noon. I had 20 minutes in Vevey to find somewhere for lunch before getting on the ferry. And there is no food or drink allowed on the bus. I would have liked more time at Vevey for a look around the town. But it was still a great day, lots of sightseeing from the bus, the Chillon Castle was fabulous but again only one hour to look through the entire castle - not long enough!. Could have been brilliant if there was sufficient time to see all the stops and for me less time at the museum at the beginning of the day.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

Allyson W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Chamonix was a great place to look around and lunch at the restaurant included with the tour was brilliant. The best mushroom soup ever! The cable car trip to the top of the mountain was a highlight and so was the opportunity to have a drink at the bar part way up in the snow. The disappointment of the tour - catching the train to the glacier, once we got there the cable car down to the glacier was not operating and also the cave was closed. this should have been advised to us before paying for the full tour and at no time we were advised, even on the way to the glacier in the train. So that was a wasted part of the tour and probably the tour should have been discounted appropriately.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message