Geneva is a fine base to explore the nearby Alps, whether they're in Switzerland, France or even Italy. There's public transport access by train and bus to nearby mountain destinations where the hiking in summer is as tantalizing as the skiing in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 528 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

A trip to Montreux and Chateau de Chillon took you back to the past. Could have more times to explore to see it all. Nevertheless, it was good.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was very well organised,what we saw on our way and during our tour was stunning,this will always be a very sweet and memorable experience for me and my wife.

Doing what: Chamonix French Alps Day Tour from Geneva by Open-Top Bus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This trip was an all day trip and this was clear in the description. The guide was friendly and very engaging. Going into the Olympic Museum was an option worth taking. Our group was very small and the guide was able to answer all questions. There was a nice mix of guided tour and free time.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Tour and tour guide were outstanding!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Highly recommended. It was a fantastic experience to visit Aiquille du Midi, the top of Europe, and to see unforgettable views of the Alps. Neil, our quide is the best ever seen. Special thanks to him for his entertaining care. The trip is professionally organized, good product.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The guide is knowledge and Chateau de Chillon is an interesting castle to visit. Montreux is a beautiful city. A fun day,

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We did not have the perfect weather but the trip was nice.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

one of the best tours I took through my 3 week Europe trip. yes I felt the altitude, but when you reach the top you know it was all worth it. The bus meet up place was ok, but please make sure you are on time, because they wont tolerate tardiness, on the way back I believed we left a passenger or two and the ride back is about 200 euros in a taxi. we barely made it. also the food that came with the deal was good. I ended it by trekking to the glaciers, which were amazing, 400 stairs up and 400 down can be a workout and before you go down the stairs you can either trek or go on the little red cars that will take you down to the glaciers. bring a good jacket and a scarf because its cold! I didn't have gloves or a hat and I was ok. gloves would be made it harder to take pictures through my phone or camera. and I would've been afraid to drop them. by the time you are heading back you will be tired after walking soo much. oh one more thing I highly recommend good boots or shoes, because it can get very slippery.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent. However, I would recommend more time to be allowed in Chamonix for shopping. Additionally, the restaurant kept the whole group waiting for nearly 20 minutes because they did not prepare the desert.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It is worth it. It is a life experience, which you might not encounter again.

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Overall, I rally enjoyed the chocolate factory, and the trip to Gruyeres. I was a bit disappointed with the Golden Panoramic Express Train, I found the views to be pretty, but different than I was expecting. The drinks on the terrace in the vineyard are well worth it. The views were absolutely breath taking.

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Castle was too hard to navigate. Tour guide was very good.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This was a well arranged trip but could have been run a little better. We left Geneva at 8:30am and reached Chamonix at 9:50am. The plan was to take the 10am cable car to the top. Due to the crowd we only could take the 10:30 car and it takes about 30 minutes to the top and were asked to take the 11:30 car down. This did not allow sufficient time to enjoy the truly breathtaking views. The clouds play hide and seek , so you need to allow some more time at the top. Also, the guide went away for about 30 minutes to attend to another group while we were made to wait in the gift shop at the street level. It was a somewhat crowded day since it was a weekend with good weather but better planning could have easily given us maybe, another hour at the top. The views above are stunning and it shouldn't be missed.

We had also elected to have lunch with the guide in Chamonix. They had arranged lunch at a nice restaurant and our vegetarian food was very good. The trip to Montenvers was Mer de Glace was also good. We returned back to Geneva at 6pm.

If we had had more time at the top, I would have given this trip higher than five stars but this is a nice and convenient Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva. The tour organizer should be asked to assign a tour guide for this tour alone with no responsibilities for other groups. We also could have left earlier if weekends are busier. I would still highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

I should rate this tour a five because the beauty of Chamonix and Mont Blanc is absolutely breathtaking. Unfortunately the guide we had Neil almost spoiled the experience for us. Neil left us stranded because the Gondola we took was a few minutes late waiting for people to board it.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

It was good trip and well organised. Down side we did not get all the trip we paid for and was only told this once we were on the bus which was disappointing.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message