Geneva is a fine base to explore the nearby Alps, whether they're in Switzerland, France or even Italy. There's public transport access by train and bus to nearby mountain destinations where the hiking in summer is as tantalizing as the skiing in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 558 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Awesome is all i can say!!!!!!!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Here I can say that this tour of 4 days from Geneva to Zurich via Zermatt, Lugano, St Moritz, Davos - was very much pleasant journey, very well organised, 4-5 stars hotels have been provided.
During the trip we visited Italy twice. In Dogana was raining, but that did not stop us enjoying the town. Also we were in Vaduz where, at the time of arrival, there was some loud event for children where I felt tenderness watching little ones 2-3 years of age, who was competing each other in running faster.
Guide of our tour Fillip-was acting in a very good manner and been attentive to everyone. And he was very knowledgeable and gave us a lot of interesting information.
Overall pleasure - was amazing.
Oh...I did not mentioned of the nature... Incredible picturesque...Switzerland is the best country...
Thank you to Viator and Meier Tours company.

Doing what: 4-Day Switzerland Tour from Geneva to Zurich Including Italy and Liechtenstein Visits

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Yolanda was a wonderful guide. Very enjoyable. Saw a lot of Switzerland.

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

its superb excellent. We really enjoyed the trip. Our tour guide was very helpful and caring.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Perfect day with magnificent views. Lausanne, Montreux and the Chateau are not to be missed. You also visit the Olympic Museum in Lausanne which is truly impressive. A small wonderful lake cruise from Vevey to Chateau Chillon included. The view of the Alps is lovely on a clear day.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

What a lovely day! Great views, and amazing tastes of chocolate, cheese and wine. Definitely not to be missed. Also, make sure to pass by the HR Giger Museum Café at Gruyeres for an out of this world experience and unlikely in such a part of Switzerland. The Panoramic Express Train is also so lovely and worth it, shame it could not be longer.

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Absolutely fabulous day long tour. Took with 4 adults and 4 children. Everyone had an excellent and saw amazing things all in one day -- a cathedral, vineyards, boat tour. Our tour guide Maggie was exceptional! This tour made seeing Switzerland possible. Without it we could have never done this much in one day! Our first time using Viator and we will certainly continue with great experiences like this!

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

A bit disappointed did not get to the peak glass void as the cable car to peak was halted due to weather condition. The ice cave was closed for maintenance too. Moreover, the bus multi languages audio system was not working and glass roof was never opened. Overall a so-so experience only.

Doing what: Chamonix French Alps Day Tour from Geneva by Open-Top Bus

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

We did the Chamonix French Alps Day Tour from Geneva by Open top Bus 18th May 2015.
It was so disappointing!

From the very beginning, the bus was late for 10 mins. We were all waiting outside the hotel in the cold for more than half an hour. We were told to arrive at least 15mins earlier before the schedule pick up time at 8.15am and most of us were there earlier.

Then, we have to wait for some of the pax to go back to their hotel to take their passports and there was another delay of at least 20mins.

With all the delays, we were late by schedule for about 45mins.

And why bother to even send a faulty bus with no audio available. We can't even hear what the guide/driver was saying when he had to drive and give explantations at the same time on a stuffy bus with no ventilation.

The void on the french alps was closed. The ice cave on the Mer de Glace was closed as well. And your guide can tell us, usually around this time of the year, it's closed for maintenance.
Meaning to say, this is kinda expected and yet we were not inform before hand if we would like to opt out the Mer de Glace.
Come on, i really feel shortchanged.

This trip was the worst we ever had. Not only with irresponsible group of pax that keep making us wait for them the WHOLE Trip, faulty bus, one guide / driver and he look like he can't cope that well and with half of the attractions closed.
I really feel shortchanged for this trip and it did ruin our day.

Doing what: Chamonix French Alps Day Tour from Geneva by Open-Top Bus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

WORTH THE MONEY! Seriously,the most incredible experience with an amazing view. You also get to go into a glacier cave. Delicious buffet lunch with lots of variety. I would do this all over again.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Tour was great, the guide was exceptionally helpful

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Youlanda was amazing making our tour such a memorable trip. We love everything that being arrange and the lunch is great. We took the package that included all which really convinience and the food is delicious. Thank You we make the right choice choosing this tour. Recomended

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was an amazing unforgettable trip... the best trip ever !

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Beautiful sights, interesting history

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Lovely!! Being at the top of the mountain is the best experience ever !

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The experience was excellent. It was exactly as advertised online. The guide, Neal was helpful and informative and the tour bus quite comfortable with an excellent driver. I have already recommended this trip to friends. Quite a memorable day!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our guide Carolyn was very knowledgeable and friendly. It was really good that the tour was in English most of the time which makes it more enjoyable not waiting through 4 languages. The weather was perfect which made that one of the best days.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Wonderful. Maybe just a little too long for what you see.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Beautiful views and amazing mountains, definitely worth the trip

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Unfortunately, the only situation that no one can manage is weather, and on this day it was quite grey and snowy with some wid, thus disabling access to some planed points.
Otherwise, Chamonix is a charming vilage, our guide Nile was very friendly and good chat. And for those who can not disconnect from the world, wi-fi available from our departure, on the bus and at arrival except on the hills of course.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2015

The tour guide is absolutely terrible, she tried to pass off the Brevent lift as Aiguille! She didnt even bother coming up, she was just staying on the bottom talking on the phone. When we got to the top and there was nothing open, we promptly went down and confronted her. She tries to defend herself by saying we didn't find the lift that goes higher than Aiguille on Brevent. If you simply google Brevent, you'll see the mountain itself is only 2550 meters. Simple common sense should tell you she is swindling you.

She tries to get us to go skiing because of her own incompetence -- as if I'm going to spend an additional few hundred euros to salvage a day ruined by an apathetic tour guide.

After lunch, we tried to stay positive and try to go see the glacier. I asked the tour guide if it will be worth going to the glacier via train. She checked the webcam for the train and said the weather looks bad but the train is still running, thats it. I asked if everything at the top is open and she just said the train is running.

The train gets to the top after 40 minutes and then literally EVERYTHING except the souvenir shop and cafe are closed. Everyone in the train goes back down on the same train 15 minutes later. This terrible tour guide once again didn't go up and just stayed at the bottom of the mountain ignoring everyone.

Upon getting back and accusing her of sending us on a wild goose chase, she tries to tell us no everything is open, you just have to walk through the snow. We asked staff up at the top and they told us it wasn't. This woman just makes up lies to get out of doing any actual work.

At the end of the day, look at the description of this tour. We:

DID NOT go on Aiguille Du Midi
DID NOT see/go on the glacier or ice caves, etc

How this terrible tour company tries to continue profiting by ruining people's vacations is beyond me. STAY FAR AWAY!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The tour ead fabulous! Best bus tour that I have been on! Out guide, Yolande, made it great!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Excellent

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

Although visiting the city and mountain was nice, but it didn't worth this money. First of all, the tour guide was an inpatient old man, who was not even keen to answer our questions. He didn't accompany us in visiting places! Moreover, he didn't provide precious information about the last train to the final pick-up point; he said that the last train is at 15:30, but I was successful to get the one at 16:00, I was close to get a heart attack because I thought I lost the bus at 16:45, but I didn't!!! Another thing was that at the end of the tour, he had some struggles with some passengers who lost their vehicle! All together, I didn't like the way he treated us.
The restaurant they booked for us in Chamonx called "gustavia" was totally strange, they put us in a gloomy room separated from other customers of that restaurant. Soup was pretty poor, the salad was just lettuce! main meal was two small pieces of chicken and potato. I was wondering is it a French restaurant?! We paid for this meal and the guide tour 50 Euro! Unbelievable!
Furthermore, when they say what is included in the package, they don't provide exactly what they are offering to you. Actually, they just give you a bus commute and a day pass for chamonix. It might some promised places to visit in the package would not be open, as it happened to us. I didn't find it honest the information they put in the tour package.
In my opinion, this tour including everything doesn't worth more than the transportation cost. I think this tour company needs to work on customer relationship more.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message