Geneva is a fine base to explore the nearby Alps, whether they're in Switzerland, France or even Italy. There's public transport access by train and bus to nearby mountain destinations where the hiking in summer is as tantalizing as the skiing in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 499 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour. I broke my toe the day before the tour but still was able to
do everything on the tour. It was FANTASTIC.....A must see for sure....

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic tour ..are guide Neal was supper informative. ..he stayed behind with us for lunch since we opped out of the train ride ...and we learned so much ...thanks ..

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour is well organized and you will have some special experience that is hardly available to normal travellers. For example, guided tour in chocolate factory, eating foundue in a local farm as well as a visit to Gruyeres. Moreover, the golden panoramic train is fantastic!

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We wandered around the village and relaxed.....the views were amazing. Absolutely loved Chaminex. Enjoyed the trip back with the top of the bus open.

Doing what: Chamonix French Alps Day Tour from Geneva by Open-Top Bus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Chamonix is the most beautiful place I have visited. This was an amazing trip with picture postcard views from every corner and we took lots of amazing photos. It is the best trip we have done. The only complaint was the lunch was terrible. A limp lettuce salad with no dressing which had been sitting on the table all morning. The main course was very ordinary and so was dessert. The hotel toilets were smelly and horrible. I suggest you either find another place for lunch or take it off so that people can go where they want. A pity it almost spoilt the day.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a wonderful trip. The weather cleared leaving us magnificent views. Lunch was good in Chamonix and enjoyed walking around the city on our free time. Our guide gave us ideas for enjoying other city sights by taking the 8 bus and the 12 tram as well as the free boats on Lake Geneva. Not knowing the next day was a national holiday and everything was closed, we took advantage of all his suggestions.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

Totzys
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

A fantastic tour but our lunch was canceled and refunded later.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Fabulous trip the guide was very knowledgable , packed so much in a thoroughly enjoyable day that did not disappoint

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Wonderful experience and scenery.
Booked lunch was disappointing with a chicken dish that was overlooked.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Good guide.very clear cut instructions at the beginning of the tour,especially with regard to timing and activities.too much information at the start.it would be good to give information before the start of each aspect of excursions

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

What a wonderful tour. Everywhere you looked was a photo moment. The mini bus was comfortable with minimal people. The reason I rated 4 stars was because the lunch was very poor. It should be removed or relocated to another location. The hotel it was in the salad on the table when we arrived was obviously sitting on the table for a very long time with no dressing. The main and dessert was pretty much unedible. Going to the toilets were dirty and smelly. Would have been 5 star experience without the lunch.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The tour was good, visited beautiful places such as the Chateau de Chillon. The boat trip was also worth doing! The only negative comment is the simultaneous use of 3 different languages by the tour guide which was very tiring and boring. By the time she switched back to English we felt bored to follow what she was actually saying!

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

The time arrangement for this tour is just a total mess, lots of time wasted! They gave almost 2 full hours just to take a ride to the top and then just to see the view ! We got bored quickly but we had to stay on top for two hours, then, when we arrived to Chamonix, we did not have enough time to discover it. Plus, the place was packed with tourists ( top of the mountain, during the ride ), although it was not a weekend but the place was very crowded and we did not get enough space ! Add to that, the tour guide, Neil, was not helpful at all and rude all the time with the group!!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

The time arrangement for this tour is just a total mess, lots of time wasted! They gave almost 2 full hours just to take a ride to the top and then just to see the view ! We got bored quickly but we had to stay on top for two hours, then, when we arrived to Chamonix, we did not have enough time to discover it. Plus, the place was packed with tourists ( top of the mountain, during the ride ), although it was not a weekend but the place was very crowded and we did not get enough space ! Add to that, the tour guide, Neil, was not helpful at all and rude all the time with the group!!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message