Geneva is a fine base to explore the nearby Alps, whether they're in Switzerland, France or even Italy. There's public transport access by train and bus to nearby mountain destinations where the hiking in summer is as tantalizing as the skiing in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 496 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour. I broke my toe the day before the tour but still was able to
do everything on the tour. It was FANTASTIC.....A must see for sure....

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic tour ..are guide Neal was supper informative. ..he stayed behind with us for lunch since we opped out of the train ride ...and we learned so much ...thanks ..

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour is well organized and you will have some special experience that is hardly available to normal travellers. For example, guided tour in chocolate factory, eating foundue in a local farm as well as a visit to Gruyeres. Moreover, the golden panoramic train is fantastic!

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We wandered around the village and relaxed.....the views were amazing. Absolutely loved Chaminex. Enjoyed the trip back with the top of the bus open.

Doing what: Chamonix French Alps Day Tour from Geneva by Open-Top Bus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Chamonix is the most beautiful place I have visited. This was an amazing trip with picture postcard views from every corner and we took lots of amazing photos. It is the best trip we have done. The only complaint was the lunch was terrible. A limp lettuce salad with no dressing which had been sitting on the table all morning. The main course was very ordinary and so was dessert. The hotel toilets were smelly and horrible. I suggest you either find another place for lunch or take it off so that people can go where they want. A pity it almost spoilt the day.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a wonderful trip. The weather cleared leaving us magnificent views. Lunch was good in Chamonix and enjoyed walking around the city on our free time. Our guide gave us ideas for enjoying other city sights by taking the 8 bus and the 12 tram as well as the free boats on Lake Geneva. Not knowing the next day was a national holiday and everything was closed, we took advantage of all his suggestions.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

Totzys
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

A fantastic tour but our lunch was canceled and refunded later.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Fabulous trip the guide was very knowledgable , packed so much in a thoroughly enjoyable day that did not disappoint

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Wonderful experience and scenery.
Booked lunch was disappointing with a chicken dish that was overlooked.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The tour was good, visited beautiful places such as the Chateau de Chillon. The boat trip was also worth doing! The only negative comment is the simultaneous use of 3 different languages by the tour guide which was very tiring and boring. By the time she switched back to English we felt bored to follow what she was actually saying!

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

The time arrangement for this tour is just a total mess, lots of time wasted! They gave almost 2 full hours just to take a ride to the top and then just to see the view ! We got bored quickly but we had to stay on top for two hours, then, when we arrived to Chamonix, we did not have enough time to discover it. Plus, the place was packed with tourists ( top of the mountain, during the ride ), although it was not a weekend but the place was very crowded and we did not get enough space ! Add to that, the tour guide, Neil, was not helpful at all and rude all the time with the group!!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

It really MATTERS when you have a friendly tour guide; but unfortunately this tour was a terrible experience and our rude tour guide (NEIL) had a horrible sense of humor (making jokes that are uncalled for, some of which I prefer not to mention due to the sensitivity of their topic). Second of all, the tour was completely unorganized. We got to Chamonix for the cable car and it was extremely crowded which was understandable but then, the frustrating thing, was that we were divided into groups and we were among the people that had to join the last group, which delayed our time and made us miss lunch (something we paid for but didn't get and for something that isn't even our fault) and when explained it to our terrible tour guide, he would tell us that it's difficult manage and that it's a difficult day, gave us the cold shoulder and whatnot. He then makes a joke about other elderly guests that were also late for lunch, also not theit fault, saying they were too old to walk on their feet and it that it would be better for them to miss the ice cave because it's not easy on elderly people. In addition to that, the timing distributed for the places visited were over-extended, for example: 1 hour and a half on Mont Blanc was way too much where you get views of the mountains and snow and an over-crowded cafeteria to rest at (because after a short while, it's way too cold to stay outside). The tour guide went off-topic all the time and made unnecessary comments and jokes constantly. Also, when we entered the bus, we went to the seats that were at the back of the bus, he comes over to us and tells us to move to the front ("because there are children at the back, it's better for you") when there was not even a child at the time and moments later, other tourists got in and sat at the back and he just let them. We did not pay all this money to be treated that way, not have our lunch, have a horrible tour experience and a very cold-blooded tour guide. NEVER AGAIN.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had an fun guide and bus driver was Xavier from Key Tours. The Chalet was a lot of fun. The guide there was really good too.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was worth an tour. We covered so may things during a single day and our facilitator, Maggie was very knowledgeable about all the places we visited.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message