Geneva is a fine base to explore the nearby Alps, whether they're in Switzerland, France or even Italy. There's public transport access by train and bus to nearby mountain destinations where the hiking in summer is as tantalizing as the skiing in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 618 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour with plenty of free 'unguided' time. Managed to do a lot: 1. Go up the mountain to spectacular views and snow 2. Go up in a mountain train and see a glacier and 3. Spend time wandering around in Chamonix which is very charming.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Busy day with some excellent experiences - so essentially Swiss in nature. Chocolate factory, Fondue for lunch, cheese farm, and a glass of wine in a local shop. It was a very hot day and the mini bus did not have adequate air conditioning - the driver and guide chose to open up the top which only made it worse in the heat. However 35 degree days are rare in that region, so I would think this is a rare occurrence.

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

I would like to clarify the reason I am giving this tour 3 stars and not 5 is that it didn't meet my definition of a guided tour. For me a guided tour generally means the guide will be with you at all stages of the day and you will be traveling in a group. As I was traveling solo, this was my main reason for picking this tour - as I thought it would be an opportunity to meet some new people and also would be a shared experience. The guided portion of the tour refers to the guide acting as a bridge to enhance the experience for all by meeting us and shepherding us to the starting points throughout the day.

However, this being said - our guide Neil was fantastic. He was very forthcoming with his knowledge and expertise and extremely friendly. Neil was extremely patient and waited for the last group of stragglers before taking us to the next destination so that they weren't left behind. He gave us expert advice on timings, which helped ensure we made the final bus of the day.

Chamonix and Mont Blanc are beautiful and well worth the day trip. The meal at the restaurant was fantastic, however, if you want to gain a bit more time for exploration I would advise maybe skipping the meal and picking up some food to go. If you look around online you can get a Chamonix Rapid card - basically this is a day ski pass which gives you 24hour access to everything the tour does and do the day trip via the independent option.

I would definitely recommend going and the company was fantastic in their assistance. However, it wasn't quite what I was expecting in terms of a guided tour. That being said, if you are traveling in a group, with someone else or find time management slightly more difficult to plan for, you may appreciate the itinerary pace of the day.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Neil the driver was the perfect host. His knowledge of the area was fascinating and could not have done more to have made the day special was our Wedding Anniversary. Nothing was any trouble for him and he would go that extra mile to make the day memorable. Aiguille du Midi was, literally, breath taking and well worth the price. One of these 'must do's'. As for Chamonix simply delightful.

Doing what: Chamonix French Alps Day Tour from Geneva by Open-Top Bus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A really fantastic tour, our tour guide was excellent, not too many people which was also great and overall a wonderful experience. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very nice tour. Definitely worth visiting and the tour guide was excellent.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

If you are on holiday in Geneva, then this tour should be on the top of your list of things to do. It's a day full of beautiful sights, good eating, and comfortable travel. Seeing Mont Blanc from one of its peaks is truly breathtaking. You'll never forget it. I also loved seeing the glacier and the surrounding valley. Lunch was excellent and we had at least an hour to walk around Chamonix to do a little shopping and enjoy the views. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Lauren O
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I really enjoyed the whole day - Yolonda is so knowledgable about the country and conveys so much during the otherwise down times. The chocolate tour is surprisingly really well done, the cheese farm is fantastic and such a unique experience, and the train was incredible...I personally would've liked more time at the vineyard, but it was already the favorite day of my trip. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent trip. All sites were remarkable. Outstanding views of the nature and especially of the lake. The guide, Yolanda I hope the spelling is correct, was just wonderful: very sociable, kind, careful, knowledgeable and very charming. Highly recommended trip and you're lucky if you do it with Yolanda.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent. Remarkable sites, outstanding views of the nature and lake. Great time and food in Gruyeres cheese factory. Our guide, Yolanda, luckily the same as in the previous trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Chillon Castle, was just wonderful and perfect. Highly recommended trip, you will have unforgettable views and impressions.

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Absolutely breathtaking. This tour was one of the top highlights of our 25 day European adventure. The bus driver was knowledgeable and provided a great impromptu narrative during our drive to Chamonix when the recording was not working. The tour was very well-organized and the sites themselves gondola to mountaintop and ice caves were fabulous. As an aside, we used Viator for several Europe tours and each one was of great quality. Viator will remain on our favorites for future travels.

Doing what: Chamonix French Alps Day Tour from Geneva by Open-Top Bus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A great full day tour with Maggie as guide and Mauritis the driver. Chillon Castle was amazing.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had an amazing 10 hour day, which felt like an entire holiday on its own. Yolanda our guide sustained her energy and enthusiasm the entire time. We felt informed and well taken care of from the start to the finish. We would recommend this to any travellers who want to get a feel for a diverse set of experiences

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

It's worth taking the tour when traveling alone. View was magnificent. It would be nice to have more time there. A note of temperature at the mountain would have been useful to prepare the necessary clothing.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Beautiful! Breathtaking views and really an amazing experience. The restaurant was a little challenging to find, and the food was a little disappointing. I'd recommend not paying for the lunch portion and grabbing something to eat at one of the amazing cafes in the area.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Good tour, despite a barely average guide.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

It was well organized,educated guide,breath taking view

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Great scenery, comfortable lodging,inadequate guide, great driver and unnecessary stop in Lichtenstein!

Doing what: 4-Day Switzerland Tour from Geneva to Zurich Including Italy and Liechtenstein Visits

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Actually in this tour things started very well as the tour left Geneva on time in a small 26 passengers bus at 9:10 A.M., the weather was nice around 18 dc and we drove to Lausanne.
We reached Lausanne and upon leaving Lausanne we found that the driver has opened the Roof of the bus but we kept quiet as the temp. was still around 20 dc and after that we took the boat to reach Chateau de Chillon.
after visiting the Cheatu de Chillon it was the afternoon time and when we went to the bus we asked the Guide and the driver to close the Roof as the temperature was reaching almost 30 dc, but the guide replayed that it is only a 5-10 minutes drive to Montreux and we kept quiet again.!!
After finishing the visit to Montreaux at around 5:00 P.M. we went back to the bus and the temp. as per the bus Thermometer was 32 dc.!
We informed the guide that the driver should close the Roof and start the air conditioning as we can't set exposed to the sun and in a temp. of 32 dc..!! only when we insisted on the same she replayed that sorry if we close the Roof it will be very hot inside the bus as there is no A/C in the bus...!!!!
Actually for the Guide, the driver and the people setting in the first 2-3 raws of the bus there was no problem.! as the front third of the bus Roof was covered but the other 2/3 where me and my family setting along with another almost 8 passengers was not covered and there was no A/C.!!
Anyway, we were forced to accept this unacceptable fact and we set in a temp. almost 32 dc and directly exposed to the sun for 2 hours and 6 minutes until reached Geneva at 7:18 P.M.
This has caused for me and most of my family sun burns in our hands and faces also myself and my two young daughter have suffered from a headache for the next two days..!!
what has happened is not acceptable at all..!! taking into consideration that Transport by air-conditioned coach..!! was included as per the voucher sent to me for this tour.!

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very nice trip, the tour guides are friendly and helpful

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing, especially the guide and travel agency. I highly recommend, amd it's worth for every peny you paid...

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The office staff were very cordial and helpful. The tour guide was very pleasent and informative. We had a very beutiful and memorable experience. Unfortunately I cannot thank him for the weather. I leave my thanks for another person above.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This trip was amazing! We had some weather issues but our guide was able to rearrange a couple of thing and allow us to take full advantage of the day. Even though we didn't get to go to the top at Chamonix it was still worth the money.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

excellent itinerary greatly enhanced by Phillip, the Swiss tour guide - well worth!

Doing what: 4-Day Switzerland Tour from Geneva to Zurich Including Italy and Liechtenstein Visits

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message