Geneva is a fine base to explore the nearby Alps, whether they're in Switzerland, France or even Italy. There's public transport access by train and bus to nearby mountain destinations where the hiking in summer is as tantalizing as the skiing in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 677 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sabba R

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Really enjoyed this tour. Sadly the cable cars werent up and running but we still had a fantastic time! Would definitely recommend, the views are amazing!!!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

henrik.sylvan

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Fantastic location but very bad arrangement with rented ski gear. Very bad ski rental shop. No possibility to upgrade gear.

Doing what: Chamonix Ski Resort Day Trip from Geneva with Optional Aiguille du Midi Cable Car Ride

dod

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fantastic views and snow

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Matthew S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The tour was fantastic! Beautiful views, comfortable bus ride, very knowledgeable and polite tour guide, Simon. He made sure we stopped in picturesque areas of town to take pictures which was great. Ferry ride to castle was spectacular! Would highly recommend!

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

ALI M A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent trip unforgettable. The tour guide was excellent, knowledgeable, and cooperative.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Janet V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fabulous, Neil was a good tour guide, would have liked a bit more information though

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Abbey N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was one of the highlights of my European winter trip! Reaching the summit of Mont Blanc was the best experience! The glacier walk was also well worth the 450 steps! However, because of the high altitude take your time you will be puffed out!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Catherine M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

A full, fabulous day out with a knowledgeable guide. Chamonix is picture perfect and the cable car ride is the best I've ever done. The views were breathtaking! I loved every moment.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Jim Z

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

It was raining and snowing. We were only able to see about 1/3 of the items of purchased. Somewhat disappointed. The tour company should arrange more alternatives for this kind of weather condition.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

SOLOMON T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Never leave Geneva without visiting Chamonix, the best experience ever!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Martin M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2015

Not worth it the money- basically you were left alone 90 of the time. The tour guide is not coming with you to the glacier or showing you around in the village - all we received was some explanations during the bus ride. Furthermore the glacier cave was closed when we were there and nobody of the tour told us! Don't book here.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

K J H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

An awesome day which we thouroughly enjoyed from beginning to end. The coach was comfortable and clean and our tour guide was very knowledgable and witty. On arrival in Chamonix we were given our ski passes which enabled us easy access onto the cable cars and the train up to the glacier. Crystal clear blue skies allowed us to witness the most breathtaking views. The lunch was also delicious. Overall a highly recommended and well organised day trip. We shall definitely be returning.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Mei Lin K

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

In overall, the trip was good. Tour guide - Valerie was excellent and provided good information throughout the entire trip. Itinerary could be a little hectic for the elderly - my parents found it to be rather tiring and the altitude did not help. Just a note of caution.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

YIN KI L

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The scenic view is marvelous too bad the glass lift was not in working order so unable to go up to the peak.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Elizabeth H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Overall, I thought it was a fun trip although the 'winery tour' left me wanting for a bit more. Next go around, please bring travelers to an actual winery/wine tasting instead of stopping on the side of the road and passing out store-bought grape juice and wine.

On another note, I LOVED the chocolate tour and the dairy/cheesemaker/fondue experience. It was great tasting all those great yummy foods and then being able to walk it off in Gruyere. Not sure if it was the food or the train, but most people in my group slept through the whole train ride. Might've been more convenient if we had just stayed on the bus.

Would definitely recommend to others who are looking for a fun day trip.

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Robert H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Our guide was very attentive looked after us as a sheep dog. We could not do the cable because it was shut down until Dec. 20 for installing new cables. Lots of useful information from our guide. Enjoyed it very much.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

MUKESH P

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

very nice landscape and tour except no panorama train for which we took the trip. said closed for maintenance.

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Nicholas S. W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

The company website should provide up-to-date information. We booked a tour that included a cable car ride up Mont Blanc, only to discover when we showed up for the tour that the cable car is closed annually for maintenance at this time of year. Next, when we took the train to see the glacier, the cable car there was closed also, preventing us from being able to go down to see/touch the glacier for ourselves. Finally, Neil, our guide, provided false information as to why tree leaves change color in the fall. This made us wonder if we could believe anything else he said about the geology, climate, etc. Also, several people on our tour did not speak English as their first language. He spoke so quickly that we overheard them saying to one another that they missed a lot of what he had to say.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Anil G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

I was quite disappointed with this outing. The main problem was that at least 4 and a half hours was spent doing NOTHING but waiting for buses at various times. Although the tour guide was quite knowledgable, he would ensconce himself in a study area of the hotel with nothing planned. An afternoon hike was a complete waste, and the itinerary would of been better served with going to Geneva for further touring. Not only did I waste money, but more importantly most of this day was a waste of time and I was in Switzerland for only one week. Not what I expected from Viator and I will think again before considering their tours.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

xrysas

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

In the morning were told that both the red train and cable car rides were closed for maintenance. We ended up taking an alternative cable car to a much lower summit (Brevent peak) and took a short walk along a mountain. Spent half the time (4.5 hours!) wondering in Chamonix pointlessly. Waste of £s

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

josef United Kingdom

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

wouldn't class this as a tour/ group day out, was more like a bus ride we got picked up then was dropped off in france. was just told to be at the bus stop for 5:30 then me and my friend was just left to find our own way

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Joan Lopez A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was more than I expected. The views are spectacular.
I highly recommend it to every one.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Michael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very nice - enjoyed it very much.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

hannah-alexander

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour, jam packed day full of the best of Switzerland. Beautiful views, delicious food, comfortable bus and amazing tour guide. If you only do one thing in Switzerland, do this!

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message